Terraria Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for
    Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for everyone here.

    Dig, fight, explore, build! Nothing is impossible in this action-packed adventure game. The world is your canvas and the ground itself is your paint.

    Grab your tools and go! Make weapons to fight off a variety of enemies in numerous biomes. Dig deep underground to find accessories, money, and other useful things. Gather resources to create everything you need to make the world your own. Build a house, a fort, or even a castle. People will move in to live there and perhaps even sell you different wares to assist you on your journey.

    But beware, there are even more challenges awaiting you... Are you up to the task?

    Key features:

    - Sandbox Play
    - Randomly generated worlds
    - Free Content Updates
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    The console versions make subtle but welcome improvements over its PC predecessor in some areas, even though inventory management is definitely more fluid with a mouse and keyboard. Still, this experience is no less entrancing once you dig into it.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    88
    All this digging can be frustrating until you have mastered the right technique. Once you do, you will be hooked for a long time. Exploring a surprisingly large system of caverns underneath the surface of this colourful world, searching for that precious gold nugget. [June 2013, p.94]
  3. Play UK
    Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Wonderful stuff. [Issue#232, p.84]
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a simple game that is hard to master, and one that can easily consume your time. The only stories here are the ones you create, either by yourself or with others, and there’s a chance to construct some real masterpieces.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    Aside from that and the lagging-loading moments between day and night, there really isn't anything I could find "wrong" with this game… but then again, it's more of a sim than a "game" in the first place.
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Terraria is just as magical and content-rich on consoles as it is on the PC, although the controls aren't ideal for every situation.
  7. Apr 8, 2013
    67
    The whole 16-bit SNES thing may be a little overdone these days, but Terraria captures the vibe of that era so perfectly that it's almost impossible to not love its aesthetic. A pleasing aesthetic, however, does not a great game make. You need to have compelling gameplay as well, and — while I can certainly see where some people may disagree with me on this — Terraria just doesn't have that.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Can't rate it anything below a straight A. It feels great, it's great fun to play with friends and there's a vast amount of content. It'sCan't rate it anything below a straight A. It feels great, it's great fun to play with friends and there's a vast amount of content. It's currently the most played game in my PS3's game collection, and the smooth local multiplayer make this an incredibly good game. In terms of value to quality it really shines as well. It's only $15 and it's definitely an amazing value. If you have a friend and a spare controller, get both of them to your house and play the hell out of this game. It's absolutely worth it. Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    One of the most addicting games i have ever played. Boss after boss, things after things....It seems like the game is going to end, but theyOne of the most addicting games i have ever played. Boss after boss, things after things....It seems like the game is going to end, but they always throw something new into the fix. Almost 150 different weapons you can use not including the other 1000 items you can find, collect, and craft with to make even more items.(lightsaber) They even include Cloud's sword in the game!!! Awesome Awesome Awesome game. 10+++. If you own a ps3 or any console/PC. Buy this game. Highly recommended Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Even on PC this game is fantastic and the control are a little bit more confusing on console this game is still freaking fantastic. TerrariaEven on PC this game is fantastic and the control are a little bit more confusing on console this game is still freaking fantastic. Terraria is the best game I've every played so far with it's minecraft like theme. This game is a must buy, hopefully they do not update the game with useless updates that ruin the game like many other games out there. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    I'm surprised on how much they worked on this game, I expected it to have so much less content, like in the minecraft 360 version, but no,I'm surprised on how much they worked on this game, I expected it to have so much less content, like in the minecraft 360 version, but no, they've added much more than the pc version, not only that, but somehow it feels like a PC game, which is the point, and it makes this game so much fun. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This game is amazingly deep, considering there is no story. The controls are tough to learn but after an hour you'll be an expert. TheThis game is amazingly deep, considering there is no story. The controls are tough to learn but after an hour you'll be an expert. The tutorial is fantastic and for newbies it is critical. I will admit that I'm not a fan of 8-bit graphics and I've never played minecraft so I can't make comparisons but I do enjoy this game. I won't tell you its a must buy title and honestly it shouldn't cost $15 but I do recommend the demo. its not a game everyone will like and it is over priced on PSN. Collapse
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    I love this game. Spent dozens of hours on it already. I had not heard of it until coming by it on the psn store. Its very much like an epicI love this game. Spent dozens of hours on it already. I had not heard of it until coming by it on the psn store. Its very much like an epic NES game. The worlds are HUGE and there are tons of stuff to find and experiment with. Sort of has a Rygar/Kid Chameleon meets Minecraft vibe to it. Be warned though, if you plan on playing this with a buddy online, it has some major connection issues which have yet to be addressed. Expand
  7. May 16, 2014
    0
    This game is straight up awful. I can't believe that I wasted 15 dollars on a game just so I could have it on ps3, and then get greeted withThis game is straight up awful. I can't believe that I wasted 15 dollars on a game just so I could have it on ps3, and then get greeted with stupid **** When I tried to build, it was utterly IMPOSSIBLE because of the stuped **** joystick controls. Everything else is **** impossible because you CANT PLACE OR DESTROY ANYTHING WHERE YOU WANT. This game is so awful I'm giving it a 1. **** 505 for making a great game a ****ty ass port. **** you. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers