Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    70
    While not quite a lemon, Test Drive Unlimited 2 proves to share a similar fate to its predecessor in that it possesses a host of flaws under its shiny coat of paint that make for one frustrating ride.
  2. 70
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is the narrow margin between travelling for pure enjoyment in the late afternoon and finding invitations to race in pursuit of those tunes as a favorite radio station.
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Please Eden, next time just focus on the driving.
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    76
    Though the production value leaves a lot to be desired, Test Drive: Unlimited 2 has a lot of content, and maxing out your stats and gaining levels in the game provides a fresh take on progression in the automotive genre.
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    80
    Pick up an arcade racing game and mix it with little bits of RPG and MMO. Blend them together and you'll have a juicy cocktail called Test Drive Unlimited 2.
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    With two immensely large islands to explore and dozens of cars to use, TDU lives up to its legacy. Too bad the graphics look so outdated.
  7. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    For all the added modes and interaction, simply strapping yourself into the seat of a Bugatti Veyron and unleashing power on the asphalt roads to no pre-destined destination is what makes Unlimited 2 memorable.
  8. Mar 3, 2011
    75
    TDU2 is an incredible toy box full of racing, exploring, car collection and the lifestyle of the fast and famous. But the rough start has probably made the rest of the game's experience a lot less than it could have been.
  9. 80
    A ridiculous amount of playtime and enjoyment. We poured over 15 hours into TDU2, having only pushed through a small sliver of the mulitplayer experience, and just a sixth of the way through the game's leveling system (60 total). As frustrating as the first hour or so may be, the sheer amount of content and scope of the islands is enough to warrant a thumbs up from us.
  10. Mar 1, 2011
    60
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 has brilliant potential with loads of driving content and all the necessary grounds for a brilliant MMO. However, the game delivers a really bad driving experience and the servers are more often offline than online. It's still worth buying if you enjoyed the last game of the series though, but be aware that it doesn't stand a chance against rival series like Gran Turismo, Need for Speed and Forza.
  11. Feb 28, 2011
    75
    At it stands, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is like a used Ferrari with a broken passenger seat - a solid ride as long as the player doesn't mind some of the nicks and bumps and is willing to drive mostly alone.
  12. Feb 28, 2011
    67
    A patch is due out in early March to rectify many issues, and we'll take a look at the game after that to see just how many issues are fixed. However, in the state the game is presently in, I can't recommend a purchase. $60 is simply too much to pay for the game as it is now.
  13. Feb 27, 2011
    70
    This title is very rough around the edges, but in spite of that, it's also still very fun.
  14. Feb 25, 2011
    70
    Eden Games innovative spirit might have got the best of them as Test Drive Unlimited 2 stays true to its "unlimited" mindset, but wavers in its execution, which ends up feeling more like "semi-unlimited."
  15. Feb 25, 2011
    60
    We played through the PS3 version and noted several bugs with the network along with large loading times. Although these problems didn't distract us from enjoying the game, dropping connection during a race can cause extreme virtual road rage.
  16. Feb 23, 2011
    86
    This new episode takes you to Ibiza instead of Hawaii and the gameplay is as usual extremely grotesk. The game is full with exotic cars, has a lot of roads to race on and of course fun! This time you can do more with the racing-clubs and there is also a pretty decent level-system. Did you like the first part? Or are you looking for a fine racing game, then Test Drive Unlimited 2 is the one to get.
  17. Feb 23, 2011
    60
    Doesn't live up the hype. It has licensed cars, good ideas and beautiful scenarios, but the game just fails compared to other options in this genre.
  18. Feb 23, 2011
    73
    On top of the irritating cinematics and clunky non-driving gameplay elements, the game continues to feature some unpredictable AI when racing computer drivers.
  19. Feb 22, 2011
    60
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is an example of a good idea gone wrong. The first game was such a huge step in the innovation of the genre but, since then, online implementation has come so far, and the team behind this series seems to have fallen behind.
  20. Feb 18, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  21. Feb 17, 2011
    60
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is not a racing game, it's an MMO with racing elements. There is a lot to discover on the two islands and it can keep you occupied for dozens of hours, but it fails to live up to its predecessor. The controls are sluggish and the graphics outdated.
  22. Feb 16, 2011
    55
    I'm a fan of games that give you control of your character's life (see: buying houses, decorating, pimping sweet rides), but the driving is missing the raw energy it needs to stay interesting and the rest of the experience is bug-ridden.
  23. Feb 16, 2011
    60
    The more things change, the more they stay the same.
  24. Feb 16, 2011
    75
    The game is good, if you are looking for a different driving experience then this may be it, if you are willing to overlook some of the shortcomings you will become completely drawn into the world, you will want the best house, clothes and most importantly, car. With the right mindset and a wanting to like and enjoy the journey of TDU2 you will.
  25. Feb 15, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  26. Feb 15, 2011
    76
    The AI is silly, there's little challenge – and little urgency or tension – concerning the regular competition, and the technical elements don't have that extra "oomph." But the developers worked hard on that singular environment and atmosphere, the online mode and community offer a wealth of options and freedom, building up your rank and social status can be pretty darn fulfilling, and sometimes, it's just fun to drive around in your favorite car and watch the sunset.
  27. Feb 14, 2011
    69
    Good points: Massive amount of area, long-term motivation thanks to 100+ cars and a sophisticated online experience. Negative points: Handbrake is useless, the handling is next to unexpectable, the streets seem to be pretty empty, you can't drive over bushes ... oh, and it's ugly, too. I'd say: Taking a test drive is okay, but buying is not (yet) an option.
  28. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    It's incredibly filled with content, and free roaming is motivated with many options and stuff to do. It's a shame that the driving model doesn't look polished at all, and some minor bugs and flaws don't let it shine as a masterpiece. It's still a fun and rich game, which you'll enjoy if you fancy arcade racing with a strong community support.
  29. Feb 14, 2011
    60
    Sure, the car collecting is addictive and the races are quite entertaining. But the graphics are mediocre and that feeling of freedom never sets in.
  30. Feb 14, 2011
    77
    Enormous and ambitious, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game and a truly unique gameplay-experience. It's a step forward for the series.
  31. Feb 13, 2011
    80
    Not without its issues, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is definitely a step forward for the series, and in absolutely the right direction.
  32. Feb 13, 2011
    70
    Developer Eden Studios has put way too much time in creating a good online experience. This is probably the reason why the gameplay hasn't really improved on its predecessor. Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game, but can't challenge the greater racing games of our generation.
  33. Feb 11, 2011
    79
    TDU2 has insane potential and offers a truly unique gameplay-experience, that's nowhere to be found elsewhere. But it's not free of flaws - like the extremely dull single-player story and the mediocre graphics and sound effects. Still: If you consider yourself a gearhead with a thing for socialising, go get it!
  34. Feb 11, 2011
    85
    With two islands, a good number of luxury cars, cool environments and lots of races, Test Drive Unlimited 2 follows the path of the previous installment, and improves on it, although it doesn't change the formula.
  35. Feb 10, 2011
    75
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 will most likely receive a cult following for its kooky characters and general offbeat atmosphere, and the solid multiplayer options will keep many coming back. A word of warning, however - give this one a rent before you go the whole hog, as the baffling physics and numerous technical oddities are sure to kill this ride for many.
  36. 80
    While TDU2 isn't quite as polished as we hoped it would be, there's more than enough content on offer to keep us coming back for more.
  37. Feb 1, 2011
    85
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 might be lacking in some areas, but this is one instance where the sheer quantity of features prevails since their structure is thoughtful enough to make this game more than just a lazy vacation.
  38. May 24, 2011
    67
    We were really looking foreward to TDU 2. The controls of the cars and the AI are really poor. Online multiplayer is more offline than online.
  39. The longer you play it, too, the more enjoyment you'll get out of it, but only because you start to accept TDU2's many shortcomings and instead enjoy its endless possibilities. [Apr 2011, p.116]
  40. Mar 21, 2011
    62
    The most vapid, materialistic and all-around terrible representations of humanity we have ever seen. [Issue#203, p.90]
  41. Each time it wows you with a neat touch it dashes your enthusiasm with something else. For instance, we get working convertibles but we don't get working windscreen wipers (odd in a game with cabin view and wet weather effects). Just when you're getting into the driving an unskippable cutscene full of people who share more in common with trust-fund babies and hotel heiresses than actual racing drivers yanks you away from the open road. And why is everyone on Ibiza American, including the police? It's jarring and cringe worthy. [April 2011, p.74]
  42. Mar 13, 2011
    71
    Nasty controls and clumsy visuals mask a truly entertaining game. [Apr 2011, p.76]
  43. It's best a limited test drive. [March 2011, p.74]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Feb 27, 2011
    4
    The pros: - Lots to explore and be found. - Amazing changes in weather
    - Easy to pick up and start playing
    The bad: - Quite possibly the
    The pros: - Lots to explore and be found. - Amazing changes in weather
    - Easy to pick up and start playing

    The bad:
    - Quite possibly the worst plot and voice acting not just in a racing game but in a video game ever
    - Really wonky handling that isn't sim or arcade but ends up being frustrating
    - Buggy online servers that have crashed across all platforms several times since the game was released.

    I had high hopes for this game when it was released, but ultimately the steering gets way too touchy in the better cars and you'll spin out in a moment's notice. Not to mention a horribly story and seam bustingly bad lines ("I'm feeling in top form!" being one of my favorites, when you're in a SINGLE PLAYER race!).

    This game needed between 3-6 more months in development. As is, it can't hold a candle to the 6 best racing games on the PS3 (in no particular order: Blur, Split/Second, NFS:HP, Modnation Racers and NFS: Shift & GT5)
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Misunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy aMisunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. In this game, whole Oahu and Ibiza is open. I'd hope for a better physic/collision system, but it doesn't spoil the fun. I general, no other racing games provide a realistic world with progression system like this one. Presentation and story is far from good, but in this game it doesn't matter. It's not an adventure game, it's a driving game - story doesn't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere, and if I read the review before I bought it, I wouldn't have bought it. I'm so glad I pre-paid this game. I'll spend much more time with this game than GT5. I'll easily defend a 9. Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    Test Drive Unlimited is an ambitious game that in some respects achieves its mandatory goals of providing a fun and exaggerated experience.Test Drive Unlimited is an ambitious game that in some respects achieves its mandatory goals of providing a fun and exaggerated experience. Immediately i was alerted by the high sensitivity of the driving mechanics often resulting in erratic driving and many head on collisions. Whilst this can be frustrating with persistent efforts the physics can easily be overcome, bringing into focus the enormity of the game and how good it really is. I was pleasantly surprised by the design of the island which by the way is probably the largest virtual world ever. The island emanates prestige and affluence, giving you a sense of power as you cruise along the country roads in a BMW X5 with the windows down absorbing the amazing depth of field and meticulous attention to detail. The graphics are incomparable in some areas of the game, such a buildings which deport you back to the early days of the Ps2. (Good Times) when taking into account the landscape that Eden games have created. The online portion also facilitates further depth in that the island becomes populated with thousands(possibly) of human opponents, which im only too happy to chase down and force them of the road just to establish my superiority. The servers at the moment are not functioning, but im sure this will be resolved so, I wouldnâ Full Review »