Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Test Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievementsTest Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievements and creations online. Unlike any other driving game, TDU2 blends the open world experience with realistic vehicles and performance dynamics and for the first time, TDU2 features vehicle damage, weather effects, day and night cycles, and a brand new island to explore. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    86
    This new episode takes you to Ibiza instead of Hawaii and the gameplay is as usual extremely grotesk. The game is full with exotic cars, has a lot of roads to race on and of course fun! This time you can do more with the racing-clubs and there is also a pretty decent level-system. Did you like the first part? Or are you looking for a fine racing game, then Test Drive Unlimited 2 is the one to get.
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    80
    Not without its issues, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is definitely a step forward for the series, and in absolutely the right direction.
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    76
    The AI is silly, there's little challenge – and little urgency or tension – concerning the regular competition, and the technical elements don't have that extra "oomph." But the developers worked hard on that singular environment and atmosphere, the online mode and community offer a wealth of options and freedom, building up your rank and social status can be pretty darn fulfilling, and sometimes, it's just fun to drive around in your favorite car and watch the sunset.
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Please Eden, next time just focus on the driving.
  5. 70
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is the narrow margin between travelling for pure enjoyment in the late afternoon and finding invitations to race in pursuit of those tunes as a favorite radio station.
  6. Mar 21, 2011
    62
    The most vapid, materialistic and all-around terrible representations of humanity we have ever seen. [Issue#203, p.90]
  7. It's best a limited test drive. [March 2011, p.74]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    The thing that prompted me to go straight out and buy this game were the bad reviews. While that may sound rather silly, I had a good reason,The thing that prompted me to go straight out and buy this game were the bad reviews. While that may sound rather silly, I had a good reason, which was the fact that it sounded like fun, in part because of the bad things about it. Pretty much every negative thing said about this game is true to some extent or another, and the result is absolute hilarity. That, to me, is what makes it so fun. When I'm barrelling down the road at 120 mph for no good reason at all, slip off on a corner, hit a pebble, and flip and fly through the air like an acrobatic crystal meth user, or when I drive a VW Golf to the top of a mountain and hurl it off the other side, or when a group of online players start up an impromptu demolition derby in the middle of a field, it's extremely funny. In the 6 hours I spent playing last night, I laughed out loud more than I ever have at a game. A lot of the people playing online seem to feel the same way, because people were just zooming around, driving off mountains, going offroad and just screwing around, which is exactly what I want the option to do in a multiplayer game; just have fun for no reason at all other than for some laughs. So basically, if you like driving games at all and want something that is just completely crazy and fun, this is for you. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love GT5 and serious racing games of that nature, but sometimes I just want to be silly, and this game is the perfect option for that.

    One final note about the car handling: it's not BAD, it's just really STRANGE. I say that because once you get used to the bizarre handling, it's easy to control your car, you just need to remember that the world you exist in in this game is pretty damn weird to begin with, so why would your car handle even the least bit normally? I actually found myself taking advantage of the oddness of it after awhile.

    Oh, and the graphics: While pretty terrible at times, they're also absolutely gorgeous at others. Overall I'd call it a pretty good looking game, considering the scope of it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Misunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy aMisunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. In this game, whole Oahu and Ibiza is open. I'd hope for a better physic/collision system, but it doesn't spoil the fun. I general, no other racing games provide a realistic world with progression system like this one. Presentation and story is far from good, but in this game it doesn't matter. It's not an adventure game, it's a driving game - story doesn't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere, and if I read the review before I bought it, I wouldn't have bought it. I'm so glad I pre-paid this game. I'll spend much more time with this game than GT5. I'll easily defend a 9. Collapse
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    Test Drive Unlimited is an ambitious game that in some respects achieves its mandatory goals of providing a fun and exaggerated experience.Test Drive Unlimited is an ambitious game that in some respects achieves its mandatory goals of providing a fun and exaggerated experience. Immediately i was alerted by the high sensitivity of the driving mechanics often resulting in erratic driving and many head on collisions. Whilst this can be frustrating with persistent efforts the physics can easily be overcome, bringing into focus the enormity of the game and how good it really is. I was pleasantly surprised by the design of the island which by the way is probably the largest virtual world ever. The island emanates prestige and affluence, giving you a sense of power as you cruise along the country roads in a BMW X5 with the windows down absorbing the amazing depth of field and meticulous attention to detail. The graphics are incomparable in some areas of the game, such a buildings which deport you back to the early days of the Ps2. (Good Times) when taking into account the landscape that Eden games have created. The online portion also facilitates further depth in that the island becomes populated with thousands(possibly) of human opponents, which im only too happy to chase down and force them of the road just to establish my superiority. The servers at the moment are not functioning, but im sure this will be resolved so, I wouldnâ Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    Well at the beginning I was like everyone, I hated it. The graphics aren't incredible, the handling is **** and the servers aren't working. AsWell at the beginning I was like everyone, I hated it. The graphics aren't incredible, the handling is **** and the servers aren't working. As I've progressed I'm now in Hawaii, I have 4 houses and I'm currently finishing the Ibiza Cup. I've sunk probably 15-20 hours into this game and it's getting a lot better. I'm pissed at the devs for not having servers up which eliminates a lot of the game but I just found out that I have a gaming guarantee on this game which means I can trade it in within a week for the trade in value of what I paid ($50). That makes me like the game more lol, I'm just going to put the $50 on need for speed shift 2. I'd like to keep the game but I think by the time my week is up (friday), I'll have beaten all the main story and the servers probably still won't be up. Anyways back to the review. There really is quite a bit that you can do and I haven't even touched decorating my house. The scenes are pretty cool in the cool even though the graphics aren't breathtaking. The trophies are pretty stupid for this game as they force you to do stupid things but there have been worse trophies. I'd buy the game because it's a good price and it's deep but hold off for a month until Atari gets their **** together and fixes the servers. I can't wait for the club portion of this game. This game will make you rage at time but overall it's a good game, it just had some bugs and was poorly constructed. The ideas are there but they just don't come together great right now but the problems are nothing that a patch can't fix. Pros:
    Game concept
    Cool cars
    Scenery
    Depth
    Exciting to win events (not just, oh I won an event, it's actually fun)
    Price

    Cons:
    Kinda cheesy voice acting but not terrible
    Online is non existent Atari seem to be ignoring the community
    Graphics
    Handling is **** in the beginning (bit of a learning curve)

    Final Verdict:
    Buy the game in a month when everything gets sorted out. Until then, enjoy Dead Space 2, LittleBigPlanet 2 (awesome game) and Killzone 3 when it comes out.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    The best adjectives I can use for describing this game are: boring and anonymous: yes, there are two BIG islands and a lot of cars (and a lotThe best adjectives I can use for describing this game are: boring and anonymous: yes, there are two BIG islands and a lot of cars (and a lot to do), but I got tired of this game after 5 hours of playing; for many reasons, firstly I hate the gameplay of TDU 2: driving the car is very very annoying (have you in mind how it's enjoying to drive in "Driver San Francisco", well, in TDU 2 it's completely the opposite). The other deep problem of this game is how the same is technically realized (for which I'd give the game a 2 out 10), only licensed cars are good to look at. Nothing to complain about the music (even though it becomes repetitive after a few time) as well as longevity.This game has a lot to offer, but that is offered in a very bad way. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    This is really embarrassing for me. After reviewing some good solid games today, I decided to come to this one. This game took a turn for theThis is really embarrassing for me. After reviewing some good solid games today, I decided to come to this one. This game took a turn for the worse, and I thought it would be good. The mechanics of the driving in this game are screwed up, it gets somewhat irritating whenever you turn your vehicle and it makes it like the car doesn't make marks or anything, it just turns. Although the feature of the windows coming down, and you being able to fire up cars in a shop is cool, the game itself lacked terribly. The driver coarse challenges also got irritating when I tried to do it nearly twenty times, and failed at it dramatically on every one. I gave up on this game and decided it wasn't for me. I just can't continue to play a game that just isn't realistic. If you want a real driving game, go to my Driver: San Francisco review, that game is much better and is continuing to do good. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    What a waste of money!

    I have both a ps3 and an xbox 360, i had TDU1 on the 360 but i orderd TDU2 on the PS3 and i sold it 2 weeks before
    What a waste of money!

    I have both a ps3 and an xbox 360, i had TDU1 on the 360 but i orderd TDU2 on the PS3 and i sold it 2 weeks before the release date thats how bad it is. I thought that TDU1 was really good so i was looking forward to this, if your thinking of getting this READ MY REVIEW!

    The graphics are baddddddddd worse then playing a few ps2 or even ps1 games NO JOKE

    the handling of the cars just WTF>? the story is a joke, a bum gets offered to drive a £250k supercar to see if he is any good at driving and from there its like a really REALLY bad GTA. I am sorry to even mention grand theft auto on this game review, but i think this is the same company who are making the new driver so i might stay far away from it.

    a 4-5 year wait for a game that is 4-5 years BEHIND the first game. nearley as bad as the 5 year wait for alan wake's 6 hour story.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews