Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Test Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievements and creations online. Unlike any other driving game, TDU2 blends the open world experience with realistic vehicles and performance dynamics and for the first time, TDU2 features vehicle damage, weather effects, day and night cycles, and a brand new island to explore. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    86
    This new episode takes you to Ibiza instead of Hawaii and the gameplay is as usual extremely grotesk. The game is full with exotic cars, has a lot of roads to race on and of course fun! This time you can do more with the racing-clubs and there is also a pretty decent level-system. Did you like the first part? Or are you looking for a fine racing game, then Test Drive Unlimited 2 is the one to get.
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    80
    Not without its issues, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is definitely a step forward for the series, and in absolutely the right direction.
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    76
    The AI is silly, there's little challenge – and little urgency or tension – concerning the regular competition, and the technical elements don't have that extra "oomph." But the developers worked hard on that singular environment and atmosphere, the online mode and community offer a wealth of options and freedom, building up your rank and social status can be pretty darn fulfilling, and sometimes, it's just fun to drive around in your favorite car and watch the sunset.
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Please Eden, next time just focus on the driving.
  5. 70
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is the narrow margin between travelling for pure enjoyment in the late afternoon and finding invitations to race in pursuit of those tunes as a favorite radio station.
  6. Mar 21, 2011
    62
    The most vapid, materialistic and all-around terrible representations of humanity we have ever seen. [Issue#203, p.90]
  7. It's best a limited test drive. [March 2011, p.74]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    The thing that prompted me to go straight out and buy this game were the bad reviews. While that may sound rather silly, I had a good reason, which was the fact that it sounded like fun, in part because of the bad things about it. Pretty much every negative thing said about this game is true to some extent or another, and the result is absolute hilarity. That, to me, is what makes it so fun. When I'm barrelling down the road at 120 mph for no good reason at all, slip off on a corner, hit a pebble, and flip and fly through the air like an acrobatic crystal meth user, or when I drive a VW Golf to the top of a mountain and hurl it off the other side, or when a group of online players start up an impromptu demolition derby in the middle of a field, it's extremely funny. In the 6 hours I spent playing last night, I laughed out loud more than I ever have at a game. A lot of the people playing online seem to feel the same way, because people were just zooming around, driving off mountains, going offroad and just screwing around, which is exactly what I want the option to do in a multiplayer game; just have fun for no reason at all other than for some laughs. So basically, if you like driving games at all and want something that is just completely crazy and fun, this is for you. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love GT5 and serious racing games of that nature, but sometimes I just want to be silly, and this game is the perfect option for that.

    One final note about the car handling: it's not BAD, it's just really STRANGE. I say that because once you get used to the bizarre handling, it's easy to control your car, you just need to remember that the world you exist in in this game is pretty damn weird to begin with, so why would your car handle even the least bit normally? I actually found myself taking advantage of the oddness of it after awhile.

    Oh, and the graphics: While pretty terrible at times, they're also absolutely gorgeous at others. Overall I'd call it a pretty good looking game, considering the scope of it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Misunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. In this game, whole Oahu and Ibiza is open. I'd hope for a better physic/collision system, but it doesn't spoil the fun. I general, no other racing games provide a realistic world with progression system like this one. Presentation and story is far from good, but in this game it doesn't matter. It's not an adventure game, it's a driving game - story doesn't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere, and if I read the review before I bought it, I wouldn't have bought it. I'm so glad I pre-paid this game. I'll spend much more time with this game than GT5. I'll easily defend a 9. Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    8
    unlike the previous review from Miz3k, I have had no trouble at all playing online, so that was not an issue, maybe its because Im in the UK? Im not sure, but really hasnt been a problem at all.

    the game is solid. at first I was disappointed in the graphics, but then I had come straight from GT5, and lets face it all car games look lame after GT5. But after ten days of playing this I can honestly say that at worst the graphics are PS2 sims like, as in the characters are badly animated, really are third rate... but this is a driving game, so I will judge by that genre because at its best this game looks amazing. the sunrise, sunset.. thunder and lightning... just wow! When you first start off you will be looking at the back of your car thinking that it looks rubbish, and its true, the first cars you start off with have nothing great about them, but as you progress throughout the game you will grow to like these graphics a lot, I know I did. seriously I have to ram this down your throats that for what this game offers and the speed of the loading between events, the graphics are really very good.

    yes the loading, after the PS3s install its very quick, anyone coming from GT5 will be very happy. loading to the map screen takes a lil longer mainly because its online and it has to calculate EVERYTHING and EVERYONE around you. when you see a lil plane flying across your map, its there in real (game) life.. all those drivers racing around.. you can see them, they're there. this map screen is great, but it just take a small amount of time to fire up.

    cars and the driving, this isn't GT5.. this is TDU2. and the driving is a lil unique in the way that if you get used to it then its fine!! a lot of people and winging about the controls, well personally I come from an age that we didn't have driving games that mapped out like you were driving a real car, so guess what!?!?!? I adapt, no seriously.. because its a game, and that is what I can do! lol... controls are fine, just adapt! using the pad is cool, tho Im sure a wheel would be nicer!

    the map is huge, both maps are huge!! im tlaking HUGE, with races, events and most importantly as this is a Racing MMO, community racing and interaction is really good and will keep you playing for a long time!!

    I could spend days typing here, because whats on offer is rich and deep and well worth it. I would advise anyone to rent before they buy if a little unsure because this isn't the sort of game that I would say you would be crazy if you didn't like, I think you should try it.. but I hope you will like it..

    I have given it an 8/10. the fanboy in me at times wants to shell out an 9/10 and the guy in me who is frustrated when I keep failing that race or time trial wants to give it a 7/10.
    Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    After initially completing what could be described as the career part of the game, I had a figure of seven out of ten for this game - looks nice enough, good range of cars but lacks story, handling is weird and I've heard numerous woeful tales regarding the online servers. However, after playing a little more, this game has left me completely empty. It was a strange sensation - I looked at my Bugatti gleaming in the sun and suddenly felt like a void. I'd amassed a selection of cars in a stunning mansion - the dream of a glassy eyed, middle class person such as myself. But after considering how vacuous and loathesome the characters were in this game, I couldn't help but be slightly repulsed by the materiality of this game and how it had manipulated me into becoming greedy for more cars and houses . Many have poked fun at the voice acting - but I think it's spot on - these playboy jet set types probably all look and sound just like they do in TDU2. To that end, I cannot help but feel repulsed by the fact that I possess any material ambitions after seeing what these characters are like - I know they are not real, but there are people like that in this world - and I do not want any part of it. Suddenly I feel as though wealth and possession leave those who have them devoid of any substance or worth. I may be being a little histrionic here, but this game has taught me to be content with what I have, and to enjoy my own wealth consisting of friends, family and passions. Thanks TDU2, you've changed my outlook on life. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2011
    4
    The pros: - Lots to explore and be found. - Amazing changes in weather
    - Easy to pick up and start playing

    The bad:
    - Quite possibly the
    worst plot and voice acting not just in a racing game but in a video game ever
    - Really wonky handling that isn't sim or arcade but ends up being frustrating
    - Buggy online servers that have crashed across all platforms several times since the game was released.

    I had high hopes for this game when it was released, but ultimately the steering gets way too touchy in the better cars and you'll spin out in a moment's notice. Not to mention a horribly story and seam bustingly bad lines ("I'm feeling in top form!" being one of my favorites, when you're in a SINGLE PLAYER race!).

    This game needed between 3-6 more months in development. As is, it can't hold a candle to the 6 best racing games on the PS3 (in no particular order: Blur, Split/Second, NFS:HP, Modnation Racers and NFS: Shift & GT5)
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2011
    2
    A game that stopped in the time, lacks everything, graphical, game play, history, is a shame that a game with a history , fail in everything, other reviews say this game is beautiful lol , in Ps2 ; xbox, yes , in xbox 360 no , not buy this game , there are more game cars and all are better than this garbage. 1.0 Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    What a waste of money!

    I have both a ps3 and an xbox 360, i had TDU1 on the 360 but i orderd TDU2 on the PS3 and i sold it 2 weeks before
    the release date thats how bad it is. I thought that TDU1 was really good so i was looking forward to this, if your thinking of getting this READ MY REVIEW!


    The graphics are baddddddddd worse then playing a few ps2 or even ps1 games NO JOKE


    the handling of the cars just WTF>? the story is a joke, a bum gets offered to drive a £250k supercar to see if he is any good at driving and from there its like a really REALLY bad GTA. I am sorry to even mention grand theft auto on this game review, but i think this is the same company who are making the new driver so i might stay far away from it.



    a 4-5 year wait for a game that is 4-5 years BEHIND the first game. nearley as bad as the 5 year wait for alan wake's 6 hour story.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews