The Bureau: XCOM Declassified PlayStation 3

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    81
    This adventurous title from 2K Marin is a very good example of a tactical shooter game. In spite of some unpolished details, the fans of the saga will not be disappointed with The Bureau.
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    80
    After everything I've written, it should be quite clear to XCOM fans that The Bureau: XCOM Declassified is an entirely different kettle of fish despite sharing a few superficial elements. If the developers hadn't tried to connect the two, I suspect that more people might be pleasantly surprised by what it offers—a fantastically detailed 60's setting, an interesting approach to squad-based shooting, and a genuinely surprising sci-fi story that's told with panache.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    80
    Starts slow then builds into a time sink, and each victory feels like a monumental win. Tacticians and action fans finally have something in common to obsess over. [October 2013, p80]
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    A strategical third person shooter that fits perfectly within the bigger XCOM universe. It's a shame then that the regularly stuttering framerate and the mediocre graphics put somewhat of a damper on this otherwise impressive party.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    The Bureau has occasional problems with pacing, it could do with a little more polish and it doesn’t revolutionise shooters but it does adroitly step sideways into a totally unfamiliar genre and it expands the greater fiction while doing so. Another successful XCOM mission.
  6. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    The Bureau is a though game to get into, not because of the difficulty but because of the unreliable Battle Focus, which you use to issue commands to your two companions. Another problem are the seemingly unending waves of enemies bearing down on you. [September p.50]
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    The Bureau tries to be many things, and succeeds only moderately at most of them. Even so, I’m happy this long-in-gestation project has finally seen the light of day.
  8. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    While XCOM is a giant in the turn-based strategy genre, The Bureau: XCOM Declassified has trouble keeping up with most modern third-person shooters. It's not one of the best shooters out there, but it is one of the most tactical and challenging ones. Gamers looking for action, strategy and real consequences would do well to check out this flawed, yet very rewarding game.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I don't understand the bad reviews

    Solid Third person shooter, not very innovative in this department but gets the job done and is very
    I don't understand the bad reviews

    Solid Third person shooter, not very innovative in this department but gets the job done and is very enjoyable(why take points away for that)

    The tactics are fun and different the game took a lot of risk and i applaud that rather than just being a mass effect 2 clone. I will add the tactics in battle may not be for everyone but if your not a fan of tactics don't rate this game badly because your not good at it

    The story is entertaining enough and made me want to finish the game what else could you ask for? i see too much complaining about what the game isn't but it does not get any credit for what it is

    reviewers rather give games like Saints Row 4 which was just a clone of saints row the third with super powers great scores because its simple minded and easy. I give a game like SR4 a 4-5 its the same thing as saints row the third with annoying super powers i did not even want them in the game wish they were optional.

    Thank you 2k Marin for trying something different the game is solid and fun I hope these biased reviews don't completely mess up your sales game is worth the money
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    This is overall been a good game so far. Not as good as Enemy Unknown, but still awesome. If this game had been named something else, came outThis is overall been a good game so far. Not as good as Enemy Unknown, but still awesome. If this game had been named something else, came out three years ago instead of the end of the current generation of systems or had not been associated with the original concept of an FPS, it would have scored better. Controls were solid, game play so far is good and story is decent. Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    I can't say that the overall gameplay dynamics are as clean as I would want them to be, but the background and story of this game areI can't say that the overall gameplay dynamics are as clean as I would want them to be, but the background and story of this game are absolutely genius. I'm glad they are deciding to move away from strictly WWII and actually tap into more current and interesting American political struggle. Really great game. Full Review »