The Bureau: XCOM Declassified PlayStation 3

The Bureau: XCOM Declassified Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1962. John F. Kennedy is the U.S. President and the Cold War has the nation gripped with fear – but a far more viscous and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a scant few, a covet government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing aIt's 1962. John F. Kennedy is the U.S. President and the Cold War has the nation gripped with fear – but a far more viscous and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a scant few, a covet government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing a series of mysterious attacks by an alien enemy. As special agent William Carter, you make the decisions, pull the trigger and lead your squad in a third-person tactical shooter set within a high-stakes, covert war to defend the human race. The Bureau’s mission is clear – survive, adapt and overcome the enemy threat (Heartbreak Ridge-style) to protect the citizens from the truth. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    81
    This adventurous title from 2K Marin is a very good example of a tactical shooter game. In spite of some unpolished details, the fans of the saga will not be disappointed with The Bureau.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    The Bureau has occasional problems with pacing, it could do with a little more polish and it doesn’t revolutionise shooters but it does adroitly step sideways into a totally unfamiliar genre and it expands the greater fiction while doing so. Another successful XCOM mission.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    80
    Starts slow then builds into a time sink, and each victory feels like a monumental win. Tacticians and action fans finally have something in common to obsess over. [October 2013, p80]
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    70
    Undoubtedly a game that has been through development hell, but nonetheless a surprisingly entertaining - if flawed - Mass Effect style shooter.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    67
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified isn’t a bad game by any stretch, but it fails to live up to its predecessor. It has the aesthetic personality but it doesn’t have the gameplay personality. The control is fine, the music is a fantastic touch, and the fulfillment one feels after a properly executed mission is significant. But the story, despite glimpses of greatness, lets you down, and there’s just a general feeling of monotony that permeates the entire experience.
  6. 65
    A Frankenstein monster of gameplay sensibilities, The Bureau: XCOM Declassified is a good origin story for series fans but doesn't do third-person shooting or real-time strategy well enough to compel enthusiasts of either genre.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    50
    At times the narrative is incomprehensible and the characters are uninteresting and unlikeable, but it's the mismatch of borrowed gameplay mechanics that really lets The Bureau: XCOM Declassified down. Truly embodying the spirit of the phrase 'jack of all trades, master of none', this is another unfortunate victim of rampant focus testing.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I don't understand the bad reviews

    Solid Third person shooter, not very innovative in this department but gets the job done and is very
    I don't understand the bad reviews

    Solid Third person shooter, not very innovative in this department but gets the job done and is very enjoyable(why take points away for that)

    The tactics are fun and different the game took a lot of risk and i applaud that rather than just being a mass effect 2 clone. I will add the tactics in battle may not be for everyone but if your not a fan of tactics don't rate this game badly because your not good at it

    The story is entertaining enough and made me want to finish the game what else could you ask for? i see too much complaining about what the game isn't but it does not get any credit for what it is

    reviewers rather give games like Saints Row 4 which was just a clone of saints row the third with super powers great scores because its simple minded and easy. I give a game like SR4 a 4-5 its the same thing as saints row the third with annoying super powers i did not even want them in the game wish they were optional.

    Thank you 2k Marin for trying something different the game is solid and fun I hope these biased reviews don't completely mess up your sales game is worth the money
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Xcom enemy uknown. игру?
    Конечно лунатиками.
    Еще DLC приходится.
    Ну
    Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    I can't say that the overall gameplay dynamics are as clean as I would want them to be, but the background and story of this game areI can't say that the overall gameplay dynamics are as clean as I would want them to be, but the background and story of this game are absolutely genius. I'm glad they are deciding to move away from strictly WWII and actually tap into more current and interesting American political struggle. Really great game. Collapse
  4. Dec 19, 2014
    8
    I really liked this one. Its a solid cover and shoot third-person-shooter with a cool setting. Sure the AI could be better but you can workI really liked this one. Its a solid cover and shoot third-person-shooter with a cool setting. Sure the AI could be better but you can work around it. Graphics are nice, enemies look good. I also liked the strategic hub, it really worked for me. Overall i would recommend it. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    The Bureau is a solid built and enjoyable game that will appeal to all of those that are fans of the XCOM games, but it must be noted thatThe Bureau is a solid built and enjoyable game that will appeal to all of those that are fans of the XCOM games, but it must be noted that this is a distant relation to the usual strategy gameplay of Enemy Unknown. The art and presentation are well put together and the story itself is a joy to play out. The problems come with clunky controls and squadmates that need constant instruction. I spent most of the game feeling as I had killed everything and I had 2 people with me to keep me company. The other floor is that the research system seems totally absent and the XCOM HQ itself feels like it could of had so so much more to keep you active between missions.

    Overall its playable and XCOM fans will get something from this.
    Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2015
    6
    The Bureau made a lot of people mad when it was announced. Taking XCOM, a series known for its turn-based strategy gameplay and turning itThe Bureau made a lot of people mad when it was announced. Taking XCOM, a series known for its turn-based strategy gameplay and turning it into a third person shooter wasn't a smart decision when it came to appealing to its hardcore fan base. Despite games like Fallout 3 succeeding in this regard, the Bureau is just not one of those titles that ends up being what everybody was afraid of.

    The game's plot is simple enough. You are William Carter and you have been recruited into an organization called XCOM as a senior agent, meant to lead your men into battle alongside you to repel the alien threat attacking Earth.

    The gameplay is like a mixture between XCOM: Enemy Unknown and the Mass Effect series. You're able to command both of your men on the battlefield, using a command wheel with a layout very similar to Mass Effect's. This slows down time and you are able to issue commands to your squad, placing them on the battlefield and commanding them from that point. Basic abilities like move and focus work well, but what truly makes each class of ally stand out is the unique abilities. By leveling up your allies in the field, they'll unlock abilities like shields, critical shots, and even turrets, which can all really turn the tide in a heated battle. This is great when written on paper, and could've worked if it weren't for one critical element the developers got wrong.

    The AI in this game is atrocious. While your allies may follow most of your orders competently, leaving them to themselves often causes your whole team to fall apart. Your teammates' overall lack of aggression means they can't take care of themselves when left to their own devices, and it creates so much babysitting and micromanaging for you as a player. This wouldn’t be so bad if your allies’ health and wellness wasn't such a concern, but the gameplay centers around coordinating your team tactically. Without your teammates, it is ridiculously easy to be overrun or killed by the enemy, more so because of the enemies unfair charge tactics rather than just pure punishment. But if that wasn't enough to annoy you, any ally that goes down in the field permanently dies if you don’t revive him in time. Annoying as they are, seasoned soldiers are more formidable than new recruits, so the only real motivation to save them is so that you don't have to deal with someone even weaker. In reality, I could see flashes of how this gameplay would've worked, but the terrible AI completely ruins the formula.

    The game’s only saving grace is the solid shooting/cover mechanics implemented here. Despite the AI’s drawbacks, the core gameplay is ultimately what keeps this game from being boring. The solid shooting makes this an equally fun and frustrating experience, with the AI being the biggest drawback.

    Along with this, there is also the hub world that you explore in between missions which is just a small little base for XCOM to set up shop, but it does feel good to come back there between missions. From it you can recruit new soldiers, send troops out on dispatch missions to increase their level and unlock new abilities. It’s also where you can access some minor operations which are just small side quests that are short and provide experience. Often, these minor operations will give you access to new weapons before the main campaign will, so there’s always little things to motivate you to complete them.

    Your protagonist also levels up since you have your own experience system as well, with some very useful abilities. There’s only one class of abilities to choose from, but they have some of the best powers in the game. I can even count the times these powers – like lift, drones, and heal – saved me and my allies throughout the game.

    The game’s second big weak point though is the story. While the lack of any character development in any of the main cast is already disappointing, the story’s biggest problem is actually in the main character. William Carter is the walking stereotype of that guy who was the best of the best but fell apart because of some tragedy that takes place before the game starts. Despite the attempts, there's a huge lack of sympathy for the guy, with his constantly negative attitude and badass tough exterior, all coated with the tough guy rasp in his voice.

    If you were willing to look past it all, the last level just ensures you'll hate the game to pieces. The game simply sticks you in one area and throws waves of enemies at you for ten minutes, and if you die once in this level, it's straight back to the beginning. It's an infuriating send off to what was already a frustrating game.

    Overall, the Bureau just isn't that good. It has great ideas in place, but they're not executed well, and the weak story only adds to this problem. Plus, with an already better additional title to the XCOM series out the previous year, there's just no real reason to pick this game up. Despite your love for shooters or XCOM, it's best to steer clear of this one.
    Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    You walk around your base, talk to people, and nothing else. after that, you go to a mission, where you take cover and shoot things, then moveYou walk around your base, talk to people, and nothing else. after that, you go to a mission, where you take cover and shoot things, then move to the next combat zone and do the same thing until the mission is over. That's it! Nothing else. Nothing that makes this into an X-COM game. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews