Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1962. John F. Kennedy is the U.S. President and the Cold War has the nation gripped with fear – but a far more viscous and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a scant few, a covet government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing aIt's 1962. John F. Kennedy is the U.S. President and the Cold War has the nation gripped with fear – but a far more viscous and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a scant few, a covet government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing a series of mysterious attacks by an alien enemy. As special agent William Carter, you make the decisions, pull the trigger and lead your squad in a third-person tactical shooter set within a high-stakes, covert war to defend the human race. The Bureau’s mission is clear – survive, adapt and overcome the enemy threat (Heartbreak Ridge-style) to protect the citizens from the truth. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    81
    This adventurous title from 2K Marin is a very good example of a tactical shooter game. In spite of some unpolished details, the fans of the saga will not be disappointed with The Bureau.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    The Bureau has occasional problems with pacing, it could do with a little more polish and it doesn’t revolutionise shooters but it does adroitly step sideways into a totally unfamiliar genre and it expands the greater fiction while doing so. Another successful XCOM mission.
  3. Starts slow then builds into a time sink, and each victory feels like a monumental win. Tacticians and action fans finally have something in common to obsess over. [October 2013, p80]
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    70
    Undoubtedly a game that has been through development hell, but nonetheless a surprisingly entertaining - if flawed - Mass Effect style shooter.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    67
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified isn’t a bad game by any stretch, but it fails to live up to its predecessor. It has the aesthetic personality but it doesn’t have the gameplay personality. The control is fine, the music is a fantastic touch, and the fulfillment one feels after a properly executed mission is significant. But the story, despite glimpses of greatness, lets you down, and there’s just a general feeling of monotony that permeates the entire experience.
  6. 65
    A Frankenstein monster of gameplay sensibilities, The Bureau: XCOM Declassified is a good origin story for series fans but doesn't do third-person shooting or real-time strategy well enough to compel enthusiasts of either genre.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    50
    At times the narrative is incomprehensible and the characters are uninteresting and unlikeable, but it's the mismatch of borrowed gameplay mechanics that really lets The Bureau: XCOM Declassified down. Truly embodying the spirit of the phrase 'jack of all trades, master of none', this is another unfortunate victim of rampant focus testing.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I don't understand the bad reviews

    Solid Third person shooter, not very innovative in this department but gets the job done and is very
    I don't understand the bad reviews

    Solid Third person shooter, not very innovative in this department but gets the job done and is very enjoyable(why take points away for that)

    The tactics are fun and different the game took a lot of risk and i applaud that rather than just being a mass effect 2 clone. I will add the tactics in battle may not be for everyone but if your not a fan of tactics don't rate this game badly because your not good at it

    The story is entertaining enough and made me want to finish the game what else could you ask for? i see too much complaining about what the game isn't but it does not get any credit for what it is

    reviewers rather give games like Saints Row 4 which was just a clone of saints row the third with super powers great scores because its simple minded and easy. I give a game like SR4 a 4-5 its the same thing as saints row the third with annoying super powers i did not even want them in the game wish they were optional.

    Thank you 2k Marin for trying something different the game is solid and fun I hope these biased reviews don't completely mess up your sales game is worth the money
    Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Critics are wrong. It has the most expensive polygons i've ever seen. It is wonderfully voiced. It's gorgeously tactical yet perfectly firstCritics are wrong. It has the most expensive polygons i've ever seen. It is wonderfully voiced. It's gorgeously tactical yet perfectly first ''persony''. Theres even a perk/upgrade system not unlike Mass Effects.

    If i made this game i'd have expected better reviews.

    I suspect the people reviewing this game were chosen by the editors for their expertise in reviewing tactical games. This game is half tactical ergo the half-hearted reviews.

    This game failed to disappoint me and im saddened it took me so long to play it because of my respect for the average metacritic review score. Lesson learned
    Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    I can't say that the overall gameplay dynamics are as clean as I would want them to be, but the background and story of this game areI can't say that the overall gameplay dynamics are as clean as I would want them to be, but the background and story of this game are absolutely genius. I'm glad they are deciding to move away from strictly WWII and actually tap into more current and interesting American political struggle. Really great game. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2014
    8
    I really liked this one. Its a solid cover and shoot third-person-shooter with a cool setting. Sure the AI could be better but you can workI really liked this one. Its a solid cover and shoot third-person-shooter with a cool setting. Sure the AI could be better but you can work around it. Graphics are nice, enemies look good. I also liked the strategic hub, it really worked for me. Overall i would recommend it. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    Good game, very fun. Just like everybody here says, it could be more polished. The reviews are too low, this game really deserves at least aGood game, very fun. Just like everybody here says, it could be more polished. The reviews are too low, this game really deserves at least a 8. Buy it, you won´t be disappointed. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    The Bureau is a solid built and enjoyable game that will appeal to all of those that are fans of the XCOM games, but it must be noted thatThe Bureau is a solid built and enjoyable game that will appeal to all of those that are fans of the XCOM games, but it must be noted that this is a distant relation to the usual strategy gameplay of Enemy Unknown. The art and presentation are well put together and the story itself is a joy to play out. The problems come with clunky controls and squadmates that need constant instruction. I spent most of the game feeling as I had killed everything and I had 2 people with me to keep me company. The other floor is that the research system seems totally absent and the XCOM HQ itself feels like it could of had so so much more to keep you active between missions.

    Overall its playable and XCOM fans will get something from this.
    Collapse
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    You walk around your base, talk to people, and nothing else. after that, you go to a mission, where you take cover and shoot things, then moveYou walk around your base, talk to people, and nothing else. after that, you go to a mission, where you take cover and shoot things, then move to the next combat zone and do the same thing until the mission is over. That's it! Nothing else. Nothing that makes this into an X-COM game. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews