The Cave PlayStation 3

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    74
    Despite its flaws, The Cave is a unique experience that explores a genre that few other games on the market dare to touch.
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    It's a Ron Gilbert Game, without any doubt. The Cave has his irony and his typical gameplay, but it doesn't set a new standard for adventure games. Is it sufficient? For us, it is.
  3. Living up to its developer's name, this puzzler is double fine value at £9.99. Just be warned that its own see-saw of fun counterbalances every five belly laughs with a mildly exasperating headache.
  4. Play UK
    Mar 21, 2013
    71
    It's not as good as other Double Fine efforts like Stacking and Costume Quest, but there's enough character and intrigue in The Cave to see you past the iffy platforming and sometimes dull puzzles. [Issue#229, p.79]
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    62
    The Cave tries to reinvent something that didn't need reinvention. Whenever it yields a smile or a chuckle with its sadistic sense of light-hearted humor, it slips right back into drudgery by being devoid of meaningful traversal mechanics. The Cave is not a bad game, but it fails to execute on its initial promise by creating an unnecessary tug-of-war between outdated and stale puzzle-platforming and a delightfully twisted sense of humor.
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    60
    Think of it as a modern-day underground refresh of Maniac Mansion with the wit of Guybrush Threepwood's adventures (with a much smaller inventory) and you're probably not too far off.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    70
    It’s a pity the backtracking mars an otherwise clever title. [March 2013, p78]
  8. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    The script and puzzles are quite good, but this is not the brilliant return from Ron Gilbert that we expected.
  9. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    While The Cave doesn't succeed as a pure platformer, it certainly makes up for that with charm and humor The character specific areas are great and somewhat manages to undermine the fact that the main tasks have to be repeated three times for you to see everything the game has to offer.
  10. Feb 8, 2013
    60
    Good 2D platform/puzzle games are scarce nowadays and it almost looked like Double Fine had that part covered. Almost. False advertising made us think that we would be drooling over this game, while now all we do is cry over it. Admitted: the Monkey Island-ish humour is still hilarious and in coop play we had a few laughs over stupid things, but that’s not enough to make up for the high hopes we had, that now lie in ashes.
  11. Jan 28, 2013
    72
    Upon entering The Cave, we will face some original and very difficult puzzles. Although they can become repetitive, some of the most complicated challenges that are present in this place will require us to use the cunning of all seven characters available. We will get through a number of characteristic levels, realizing how they are plot-connected with each of our singular adventurers.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's partThe Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    A charming, but frustrating game. The great thing about this game is its dark humor mixed with the cuteness of the cartoony atmosphere. TheA charming, but frustrating game. The great thing about this game is its dark humor mixed with the cuteness of the cartoony atmosphere. The narrator is my favorite part of the game. The thing that messes up the flow of the game is the constant frustration and backtracking of the puzzles. Its a game best played in short bursts. I also had to restart the game twice because of glitches. Its really a disappointment that the game doesn't play as well as it could have. Instead of a fun escape, it becomes a grueling frustrating experience that makes you want to smash your controller against the floor Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    It's a good game but there are parts of it that are definitely frustrating. I would have liked even minor cutscenes in comparison to havingIt's a good game but there are parts of it that are definitely frustrating. I would have liked even minor cutscenes in comparison to having just pictures to tell the story but I suppose it's a very simple game in the end. Worth playing if you can get it cheap. It's good but not great. You must like platformers and puzzle games to love this game. Otherwise, you will hate it or get bored easily. Full Review »