User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 73
  2. Negative: 7 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gamingThe Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet. Collapse
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    A charming, but frustrating game. The great thing about this game is its dark humor mixed with the cuteness of the cartoony atmosphere. The narrator is my favorite part of the game. The thing that messes up the flow of the game is the constant frustration and backtracking of the puzzles. Its a game best played in short bursts. I also had to restart the game twice because of glitches. ItsA charming, but frustrating game. The great thing about this game is its dark humor mixed with the cuteness of the cartoony atmosphere. The narrator is my favorite part of the game. The thing that messes up the flow of the game is the constant frustration and backtracking of the puzzles. Its a game best played in short bursts. I also had to restart the game twice because of glitches. Its really a disappointment that the game doesn't play as well as it could have. Instead of a fun escape, it becomes a grueling frustrating experience that makes you want to smash your controller against the floor Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    It's a good game but there are parts of it that are definitely frustrating. I would have liked even minor cutscenes in comparison to having just pictures to tell the story but I suppose it's a very simple game in the end. Worth playing if you can get it cheap. It's good but not great. You must like platformers and puzzle games to love this game. Otherwise, you will hate it or get bored easily.
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Great game! Beyond my expectations. I'm a big fan of point click games of the 90s. Good to see Ron Gilbert coming back. Very funny, beautiful graphics, cool characters and level design (puzzles).
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    Having played Cod and Far Cry 3 to death, I decided to take a trip into the unknown. This game is really addictive, especially if you like puzzles. I'm still in the early stages of the game (fairground), and I'm already stuck, trying to get one more token to get out. The game has elements of humour, and can also be a little confusing if you're tired, so I suggest you 'switch on' beforeHaving played Cod and Far Cry 3 to death, I decided to take a trip into the unknown. This game is really addictive, especially if you like puzzles. I'm still in the early stages of the game (fairground), and I'm already stuck, trying to get one more token to get out. The game has elements of humour, and can also be a little confusing if you're tired, so I suggest you 'switch on' before playing. All the characters have their own unique powers, so look for opportunities to exploit them. Even though I've just started, I'm loving it. Superb game!! Well done Ron G. Expand
  6. May 7, 2013
    9
    Fun, charming, clever, funny, nice aesthetic, great price, good puzzles. I find some of the middling reviews puzzling. Anyhow, I recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of old school point and clicks, combined with a kiss of platforming.
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    The Cave has a very dark plot (especially The Twins' story), but somehow it's fun at the same time! The main reason for this is because the narrator is just so funny. About the gameplay, well, if you enjoy puzzle platformers you gonna love it. Also, the game remind me a lot of Maniac Mansion, which old school gamers like myself enjoyed a lot. I have not much to say, just go and play it.
  8. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gamingThe Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. It’s a pity the backtracking mars an otherwise clever title. [March 2013, p78]
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    40
    To its credit, The Cave has amusing writing and a neat visual style – but charm alone cannot make up for its many technical flaws.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    71
    It's not as good as other Double Fine efforts like Stacking and Costume Quest, but there's enough character and intrigue in The Cave to see you past the iffy platforming and sometimes dull puzzles. [Issue#229, p.79]