Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cave is an adventure from Ron Gilbert, and Double Fine Productions. Assemble your team of 3 from 7 unlikely adventurers, each with his own unique personalities and stories. Then descend into the mysterious depths to explore a variety of locations including a subterranean amusement park and a medieval castle, not to mention a fully armed and ready-to-launch nuclear tipped ICBM. The Cave awaits. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    82
    The Cave is a great adventure with a narrator who knows the fine arts of black humor. If you like that and some nice adventure puzzles The Cave is the right game for you.
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    I can forgive the little issues, though, because of what all is done obviously right: engaging NPCs who both help and hinder the tasks of each puzzle, the stylized world, the voice-overs of both the NPCs and the Cave itself, and the $15 price point. The voice-overs and plays on words, especially in the Time-Traveler's section, had me laughing out loud, and the voices themselves are surprisingly fitting. A single playthrough might not be very long, but be prepared to keep playing… you're gonna. And you'll enjoy it!
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    The Cave is a unique title, difficult to categorize. All who's looking for something different and original do not let themselves miss the opportunity to enjoy the atmosphere of least Double Fine game.
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    72
    Upon entering The Cave, we will face some original and very difficult puzzles. Although they can become repetitive, some of the most complicated challenges that are present in this place will require us to use the cunning of all seven characters available. We will get through a number of characteristic levels, realizing how they are plot-connected with each of our singular adventurers.
  5. It’s a pity the backtracking mars an otherwise clever title. [March 2013, p78]
  6. Living up to its developer's name, this puzzler is double fine value at £9.99. Just be warned that its own see-saw of fun counterbalances every five belly laughs with a mildly exasperating headache.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    40
    To its credit, The Cave has amusing writing and a neat visual style – but charm alone cannot make up for its many technical flaws.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Great game! Beyond my expectations. I'm a big fan of point click games of the 90s. Good to see Ron Gilbert coming back. Very funny, beautiful graphics, cool characters and level design (puzzles). Expand
  2. May 7, 2013
    9
    Fun, charming, clever, funny, nice aesthetic, great price, good puzzles. I find some of the middling reviews puzzling. Anyhow, I recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of old school point and clicks, combined with a kiss of platforming. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    The Cave has a very dark plot (especially The Twins' story), but somehow it's fun at the same time! The main reason for this is because the narrator is just so funny. About the gameplay, well, if you enjoy puzzle platformers you gonna love it. Also, the game remind me a lot of Maniac Mansion, which old school gamers like myself enjoyed a lot. I have not much to say, just go and play it. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    Having played Cod and Far Cry 3 to death, I decided to take a trip into the unknown. This game is really addictive, especially if you like puzzles. I'm still in the early stages of the game (fairground), and I'm already stuck, trying to get one more token to get out. The game has elements of humour, and can also be a little confusing if you're tired, so I suggest you 'switch on' before playing. All the characters have their own unique powers, so look for opportunities to exploit them. Even though I've just started, I'm loving it. Superb game!! Well done Ron G. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    It's a good game but there are parts of it that are definitely frustrating. I would have liked even minor cutscenes in comparison to having just pictures to tell the story but I suppose it's a very simple game in the end. Worth playing if you can get it cheap. It's good but not great. You must like platformers and puzzle games to love this game. Otherwise, you will hate it or get bored easily. Collapse
  7. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    A charming, but frustrating game. The great thing about this game is its dark humor mixed with the cuteness of the cartoony atmosphere. The narrator is my favorite part of the game. The thing that messes up the flow of the game is the constant frustration and backtracking of the puzzles. Its a game best played in short bursts. I also had to restart the game twice because of glitches. Its really a disappointment that the game doesn't play as well as it could have. Instead of a fun escape, it becomes a grueling frustrating experience that makes you want to smash your controller against the floor Expand

Trailers