The Club PlayStation 3

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
Buy On
  1. The Club is a lot like junk food—it initially tastes good but it won’t leave you satisfied for long.
  2. The Club is pretty ballsy, and tears up the shooters' rule book to provide something unique. The arcade-style blasting is instantly fun and it looks and feels meaty, but the enjoyment quickly wears thin due ot a lack of variety. [Feb 2008, p.74]
  3. 72
    It’s a one-off that mostly succeeds, but by concentrating only on function and never on form, it denies itself greatness. If the Club 2, should there be one, can stop to laugh at itself occasionally, it’ll be a far finer game.
  4. The Club is a fresh take on the shooter. It has a core concept that is truly engaging; it just feels as if it needs to be fleshed out a bit more. The single player Tournament mode is an absolute blast that will keep you occupied for a few hours. Unfortunately, the multiplayer features, though varied, are poorly executed.
  5. The Club is a bold attempt at trying something new in the next gen arena while prodding and poking us older gamers with joys of an almost forgotten age, however whether this title actually works is far more dependent on your perceptions of enjoyment.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    Play it looking for depth and you'll come away feeling cheated; play it for points and you'll relish memorising the location of every last high-scoring kill zone, passing the pad between clammy-handed mates as you become unstoppable kill-crazed machines. But in a good way. [Feb 2008, p.92]
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    Underneath the mundane masculinity and grimy gun-toting clichés lies a heavily structured and well-considered score-attack game – one that’s worth excavating for all the short-lived interest it holds. [Feb 2008, p.88]
  8. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    70
    Straight arcade action with no depth; play for points, though, and you'll relish it. [Feb 2008, p.103]
  9. Bizarre Creations delivers a different kind of shooter that will attract a specific kind of gamer. The boring setting and combo-system don't bring this game to the absolute top, but the addicting gameplay makes up a lot. If they put more effort in a possible sequel, it might become a classic in this new subgenre.
  10. 70
    It's the weak multiplayer that keeps us from recommending The Club with full enthusiasm.
  11. The Club provides some old-school single-player thrills, but it fails to live up to its initial promise.
  12. 70
    The Club is a game you want to master but might find the lasting appeal is lacking. The multiplayer stands out as being the shining feature of the game but the single-player will be a love/hate relationship.
  13. I really disliked the single player aspect, but the multiplayer saved the game in my eyes.
  14. I can't say that I would recommend spending your money on The Club if you aren't already an action fan, but if you are just looking for a fast-paced game with lots of shooting you might want to give it a shot.
  15. There's stacks of fun to be had here, but you'll need focus and determination to dig the best bits out - we like it, but know what you're getting into before handing over the £50.
  16. 69
    I didn't find the hook all that appealing and felt left with a glorified shooting gallery. The idea is sound. There just isn't much to be excited about in the final product.
  17. While the game is a fast and furious stylized shooter, one of the biggest faults the title has is with how muddy the controls feel.
  18. 65
    I can't recommend the weak single-player mode, but the multiplayer left me surprisingly satisfied.
  19. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    62
    The Club certainly brings nothing innovative to the venerable shooter genre. [Mar 2008, p.83]
  20. 60
    Sadly, The Club probably would’ve made a bigger splash had it been released in the early part of this decade, when games like this were all the rage.
  21. Play Magazine
    50
    This is one club people might not want to join. [Mar 2008, p.58]
  22. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    50
    Unfortunately, the all-too-brief stints of white-knuckle action don't deliver the memorable impact required for us to recommend The Club. [Apr 2008, p.84]
  23. The hideous load times serve the player well, allowing him or her to reflect on what they could better be doing with their time than such run of the mill drudgery. Something enriching, perhaps, because life’s short enough as it is.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Grant
    May 27, 2008
    9
    Really, really fun multiplayer. This game has gotten mediocre reviews for being too similar to a bunch of other fun games, something I'veReally, really fun multiplayer. This game has gotten mediocre reviews for being too similar to a bunch of other fun games, something I've never understood. Two fun games is better than one fun game. You can't give one game good reviews and whine and complain when an identical game comes along later. Also, the graphics look great on my TV, maybe those who are complaining don't have the right equipment to take advantage of the PS3. The game advertises 48 single-player levels, so if I ever stop playing multiplayer with my friends I should still have enough to entertain me for a couple of days. Full Review »
  2. DJM
    Apr 9, 2008
    8
    This game is quite addictive, it has great level design, good gunfights online and I have to say that I instantly fell in love with that This game is quite addictive, it has great level design, good gunfights online and I have to say that I instantly fell in love with that chase camera when you run, absolutely awesome. The game is a solid arcade shooter with a different levels of challenge, from "casual" to "real", and they do a great job in keeping the game fresh offering a good challenge. Try the demo, and see that chase camera, see the game flow, see the graphics and then decide. I bought this game for cheap and I don't regret it. Full Review »
  3. MartinB.
    Feb 24, 2008
    9
    This game is underrated. It seems like reviewers who gives bad reviews for "The Club" judge the score they gives base on the fact that they This game is underrated. It seems like reviewers who gives bad reviews for "The Club" judge the score they gives base on the fact that they do not like the arcade style of the game. You cannot rate a game on the fact that you do not like this type of game. This game is awesome, it's well done, it's pure adrenaline rush, it's full of fun. Read the good reviews and base your decision on them, it's a great game. If you like fast pace arcade 3rd shooter game at home, "The Club" is the game you want. Good job to Bizarre Creations & SEGA. Full Review »