Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    83
    When it's all said and done, The Cursed Crusade is a great hack'n'slash which has some treats like RPG elements, lots of weapons and the awesome co-op mode. A gem best enjoyed with a friend.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    76
    A solid adventure despite some significant issues, The Cursed Crusade is well worth a look this holiday.
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    70
    The curse of this crusade is hurry, which can be seen in almost every aspect of the game. The historical premise is interesting and the fundamentals of the fighting system are in order, but there is no finishing touch. Glitches, frustrating level design, dumb AI and screwed up damage modelling are sure signs of unnecessary haste. With proper finishing this crusade would have triumphed. [Nov 2011]
  4. Too technically deficient to get a high score, but the over-the-top voiceovers, evolving combat and ripping yarn make this worth a look anyway. [Dec 2011, p.111]
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    57
    It has lost a good opportunity to become one of the surprises of the year because it has good ideas in its proposal, between a movie and a game. The story is typical, but able to engage us, but its gameplay is too lackluster and repetitive.
  6. Oct 25, 2011
    55
    At best, The Cursed Crusade is mediocre. The plot is bland, but the cut scenes try to shove the story down your throat at every opportunity, causing an adverse reaction
  7. Oct 20, 2011
    50
    The Cursed Crusade is a mediocre hack-and-slash with serious technical and playable issues.
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    40
    Not the worst game ever made, just doing a very good job of mimicking it on first impressions. [Issue#211, p.96]
  9. 40
    Ultimately, The Cursed Crusade suffers from something far worse than the characters within – the curse of boredom. By the end, I no longer cared about whether or not Denz finds his father, or if he and Estaban managed to break the curse, and only cared that I could turn the game off.
  10. Oct 25, 2011
    40
    It's too bad, because Cursed Crusade has fleetingly interesting ideas, like forcing you to push a very slow-moving mantlet towards an enemy's defensive line, or the way the timing of tapping out combo strings actually encourages thoughtful player response. Co-op can actually be fun in short bursts with a friend, and even the detailed aesthetic is surprisingly competent.
  11. Oct 19, 2011
    40
    The Cursed Crusade certainly had potential, and if Kylotonn spent more time on the flow and diversity of combat a number of the smaller issues such as the lack of a checkpoint system or stiff ranged gameplay could easily have been overlooked. However the studio decided to add variety through other means, unknowingly underpinning the rest of the game.
  12. Oct 12, 2011
    40
    The Cursed Crusade is a perfect example of the sort of game that's being squeezed out nowadays: badly produced, cheaply made and full of tired clichés, both in gameplay and in its story.
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    40
    It's just a waste of time. Too clumsy to satisfy any action gaming urge, and too wrapped up in its own turgid mythology to realise it's getting things so badly wrong, releasing it right before the onslaught of massive winter releases is a decision more audacious than any design choices in the game itself.
  14. Even for a budget title the combat system is nothing short of a clunky mess, with slow animations and unsatisfying combos. [Holiday 2011, p.83]
  15. Nov 4, 2011
    30
    The sheer realism of the combat might make you fall a little bit in love at first, but as enemies never seem to die, and the controls never seem to respond well to what you do, you quickly lose interest.
  16. Oct 13, 2011
    30
    The Cursed Crusade is a repetitive hack-and-slash that is marred by clumsy combat, poor dialogue, and some serious technical issues.
  17. Dec 1, 2011
    23
    A real dog of a historical slasher. [Christmas 2011, p.107]
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    3
    oh boy I knew I had to review this at some point. Well, here we go!

    Ah yes the Cursed Crusade, it seems more like it should be called the
    cursed game. but before we get into what is so bad about this game, let's talk about the good aspects of the game.

    Story:

    I'm not going to waste words telling you the story. All I am going to tell you about the story, is that it's the cross between a history lesson and Dante's Inferno. Not really much else I need to say about it.

    Gameplay:

    I am going to talk about the best part of the game(combat) the combat system itself is pretty basic. First let's talk about the shooter sections.

    You will sometimes use a crossbow to kill enemies from a distance like a third person shooter. And like almost any third-person shooter, you can hide behind cover. Sad thing is that it will take about 2-3 hits to kill someone, which is slowed down because you're using a crossbow.

    The combat system mainly contains a mix of three-hit combos with different weapons and weapon styles. When the enemy is just about finished off you can use a finishing move that is acquainted with your current weapon style. The coolest thing about the weapons you use in the game, is the fact that if you use them too frequently, the weapons will break. This would be annoying at times, but I just finished talking about everything good.

    DESIGN:

    Oh boy. Where to begin.

    There is very little challenge here. The reason for this is not the game's controls or the way it plays, it's that the A.I is f*cking retarded. I'm serious. Most of the enemies will just stand motionless waiting for you to hit them saying (to quote one of the worst Family Guy episodes) "Wake up. We're fighting!" Your AI partner is actually smarter than your enemy, though sometimes share the same stupidity, but not as often. The bosses that you encounter are smarter than the common enemy of course, but still usually easy because of your AI partner who can revive you (who of which you must also revive.)

    There is also the fact that this is the second ugliest game I have seen this year.(Yes, it is true that graphics don't make the game, but the game should be appealing to look at anyway, especially if the game itself isn't good.) And if you want a medieval gorefest, you're not going to find this game enjoyable.

    Conclusion:

    The game is basically something that could have been better.(much like another game I will eventually get to.) The game is rushed, broken, and unfinished making it seem like the companies cared more about the money than the consumers paying for it.(this has been done many times before)

    What should you do if you want the game: Pass!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    Certainly not the best game there is, but still a bit under-rated. Graphically unimpressive with a boring plotline. But if you can find this game on a discount (which is easy considering its reviews) and you have a friend to play it with, it's certainly worth picking up if you don't mind the serious lack of difficulty, and you can appreciate Esteban for his comedic, yet stereotypic, value. It's a fun game, but I would suggest something among the lines of Demon's Souls, (or Dark Souls) or Dragon's Dogma instead. Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    This game is filled with good intentions. But, as we say in my country: "hell is filled with good intentions". And this is, literally, the case here. The Cursed Crusade is a bad game with occasional fun. It's badly programmed, the art design is poor, the gameplay is clunky as hell and it feels, looks and plays like a rushed, lazy, dirty, unfinished product that I would be ashamed of putting my name on. It screams "low budget" from start to finish. That being said, it is not a broken game, which means you can have some fun with it if you have NOTHING else to play. This is a cursed game. Cursed to be forever on the 10 dollar bin shelves, until the stores decide to give it for free. In my honest opinion, they should just recall this game. Full Review »