Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    57
    It has lost a good opportunity to become one of the surprises of the year because it has good ideas in its proposal, between a movie and a game. The story is typical, but able to engage us, but its gameplay is too lackluster and repetitive.
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    55
    At best, The Cursed Crusade is mediocre. The plot is bland, but the cut scenes try to shove the story down your throat at every opportunity, causing an adverse reaction
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    50
    The Cursed Crusade is a mediocre hack-and-slash with serious technical and playable issues.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2011
    70
    The curse of this crusade is hurry, which can be seen in almost every aspect of the game. The historical premise is interesting and the fundamentals of the fighting system are in order, but there is no finishing touch. Glitches, frustrating level design, dumb AI and screwed up damage modelling are sure signs of unnecessary haste. With proper finishing this crusade would have triumphed. [Nov 2011]
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 13, 2011
    60
    Too technically deficient to get a high score, but the over-the-top voiceovers, evolving combat and ripping yarn make this worth a look anyway. [Dec 2011, p.111]
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    3
    oh boy I knew I had to review this at some point. Well, here we go!

    Ah yes the Cursed Crusade, it seems more like it should be called the
    oh boy I knew I had to review this at some point. Well, here we go!

    Ah yes the Cursed Crusade, it seems more like it should be called the cursed game. but before we get into what is so bad about this game, let's talk about the good aspects of the game.

    Story:

    I'm not going to waste words telling you the story. All I am going to tell you about the story, is that it's the cross between a history lesson and Dante's Inferno. Not really much else I need to say about it.

    Gameplay:

    I am going to talk about the best part of the game(combat) the combat system itself is pretty basic. First let's talk about the shooter sections.

    You will sometimes use a crossbow to kill enemies from a distance like a third person shooter. And like almost any third-person shooter, you can hide behind cover. Sad thing is that it will take about 2-3 hits to kill someone, which is slowed down because you're using a crossbow.

    The combat system mainly contains a mix of three-hit combos with different weapons and weapon styles. When the enemy is just about finished off you can use a finishing move that is acquainted with your current weapon style. The coolest thing about the weapons you use in the game, is the fact that if you use them too frequently, the weapons will break. This would be annoying at times, but I just finished talking about everything good.

    DESIGN:

    Oh boy. Where to begin.

    There is very little challenge here. The reason for this is not the game's controls or the way it plays, it's that the A.I is f*cking retarded. I'm serious. Most of the enemies will just stand motionless waiting for you to hit them saying (to quote one of the worst Family Guy episodes) "Wake up. We're fighting!" Your AI partner is actually smarter than your enemy, though sometimes share the same stupidity, but not as often. The bosses that you encounter are smarter than the common enemy of course, but still usually easy because of your AI partner who can revive you (who of which you must also revive.)

    There is also the fact that this is the second ugliest game I have seen this year.(Yes, it is true that graphics don't make the game, but the game should be appealing to look at anyway, especially if the game itself isn't good.) And if you want a medieval gorefest, you're not going to find this game enjoyable.

    Conclusion:

    The game is basically something that could have been better.(much like another game I will eventually get to.) The game is rushed, broken, and unfinished making it seem like the companies cared more about the money than the consumers paying for it.(this has been done many times before)

    What should you do if you want the game: Pass!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    Certainly not the best game there is, but still a bit under-rated. Graphically unimpressive with a boring plotline. But if you can find thisCertainly not the best game there is, but still a bit under-rated. Graphically unimpressive with a boring plotline. But if you can find this game on a discount (which is easy considering its reviews) and you have a friend to play it with, it's certainly worth picking up if you don't mind the serious lack of difficulty, and you can appreciate Esteban for his comedic, yet stereotypic, value. It's a fun game, but I would suggest something among the lines of Demon's Souls, (or Dark Souls) or Dragon's Dogma instead. Full Review »
  3. Dec 18, 2016
    6
    The cursed crusade is one of those games you realize was put strong effort on and has great visuals with an attempt of good storytelling,The cursed crusade is one of those games you realize was put strong effort on and has great visuals with an attempt of good storytelling, nevertheless falls short on it.

    Nevertheless even with its flaws it is fun to play and definitely recommended if you accept its flaws. I cannot comment on Co-op or Online modes because I did not try them.

    Positive:
    - Visuals: The strongest point, quite good graphics for a simple title
    - Fighting and animation: Movements and animations feel authentic
    - Re-playability/Collectives: For the completionist people this might be a bonus

    Could have been better:
    - Storyline: feels shallow
    - Characters: personality overload, do not generate connection like weak jokes
    - Weapon systems: Great effort put on weapons combination, but it feels incomplete
    - Bugs: Graphics out of place and character gets stuck.
    Full Review »