Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    75
    I'm impressed by the effort on the part of Digital Extremes to deliver a satisfying sequel that builds on the ideas of the first game. Jackie's empowering abilities encourage players to experiment and try different tactics, and ultimately allow every player to discover combat techniques that they think work best. His world is realized through a remarkable graphic style and nuanced and meaningful character interactions.
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    68
    The Darkness II is a fun romp for the brief duration that it lasts. Multiplayer is clever, but not enough to make up for the short, mediocre campaign. Definitely worth a serious look if you played and enjoyed the first Darkness game but note that a weekend rental might be all you need out of it.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    75
    More of a rebirth for the series than the sequel it's trying to be. The action is mindless and fevered, and Jackie has transformed from a vengeful protagonist into someone who probably listens to "Dream Weaver" as he cries himself to sleep. I found it to be an interesting journey. [Mar 2012, p.91]
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Jackie Estacado is back in a new mission of vengeance that manages to elevate itself from the majority of other FPS games thanks to a surprisingly well told story and extremely brutal gunplay.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Levels are linear and predictable, focused on ushering you from one straightforward encounter to another so that you can go crazy with those deranged arms of yours. If you are a fan of the original game, bear this in mind: The Darkness II is a fun, very short FPS without the authentic atmosphere and subtle touches that made its predecessor so intriguing. Still, if you've got a lust for virtual blood, The Darkness II leaks enough of it to satiate you.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    Going into The Darkness II, I wasn't really sure what to expect, especially considering the change of developers and the fact that the last game was released nearly 4 years ago. I'm glad to say that Digital Extremes has done a really nice job modernizing the series and following up where Starbreeze left off. So if you're looking for something a little different from your typical modern combat or science fiction-themed first person shooters, The Darkness II is a great alternative.
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    85
    Jackie is back – with a new storyline, some new features and an all new graphic style. There are some major improvements on the controls front and more depth thanks to the skill system. Also, some gameplay changes help make The Darkness II exciting and entertaining.
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    The combat in The Darkness II is vastly superior to that of its predecessor, but the story takes time to warm up.
  9. Feb 22, 2012
    85
    The Darkness II is a total bloodbath that delights in its own malevolence. Highly enjoyable and of course highly recommended.
  10. 70
    The Darkness II is a good game, but whether you consider it a good sequel will depend entirely on what you liked best about the original. If it was the storytelling and exploration then you may find this disappointing, if it was the OTT violence and bizarre Darkness powers then this is still a hell of a lot of fun.
  11. Feb 7, 2012
    83
    The Darkness II is a frantic shooter with a great freedom to decide how to kill your enemy using the Darkness' powers, your weapons or the tentacles. The real problems are in the lack of a deep plot as the first Darkness and in the shortness of the single player campaign.
  12. Quad wielding is The Darkness II biggest selling point. Nothing is more fun than shooting two enemies off a balcony with your Uzi's, while one of your tentacles grabs another of their buddies by the leg and the second one tears him apart. [March 2012, p.86]
  13. Feb 13, 2012
    82
    So violent and over the top gory that it's appropriate that it's moving to the cel-shading. It's also appropriate for its comic origins. In ways Darkness II feels quite dated. Luckily the options one has during combat (because of the four arms) make it an unique experience. [Feb 2012]
  14. Mar 4, 2012
    76
    It's not as clever or as remarkable as the game it follows, but The Darkness II is still a great deal of fun for its six hours running time. [Issue#215, p.78]
  15. 75
    The Darkness II feels very much like a sequel in transition. Digital Extremes tried to bring back components that made the original Darkness successful, while trying to improve upon the game and add their own voice in as well. The result is a solid success that is fun and very enjoyable, but doesn't improve drastically on the original.
  16. The Darkness II is a radical departure from Starbreeze's old template. Gone is the effortless noir cool, plus the old stealth sections and overworld exploration have been given the barest of lip services here. [March 2012, p72]
  17. There are esteemed shooters to draw loose comparisons with, but The Darkness II essentially exists in a field of one – no graphic novel has been bought to life in such a deliciously gory manner, with offing goons turned an art form. It's the game your inner darkness has waited years for.
  18. 75
    A bloody and entertaining experience that offers a nice break from traditional war-style first-person shooters, The Darkness II may be a bit too linear and short for some, but the action never gets old.
  19. The sequel bests the original in just about every way while maintaining the same story-focus that helped the first game rise above the average shooter. [Apr 2012, p.76]
  20. Feb 20, 2012
    86
    Who wouldn't like the powers The Darkness has to offer? Okay, maybe our priest wouldn't. The Darkness II provides even more gruesome and gory fun than its predecessor and is overall the better game. Unfortunately, the often underwhelming enemy AI and the insultingly short length of the campaign somewhat spoil the fun.
  21. Feb 6, 2012
    81
    A stylish, violent shooter wrapped up in a touching plot and lovely graphic-novel visuals. Not perfect, but deeply satisfying to blast through. [March 2012, p.106]
  22. Feb 7, 2012
    83
    In some ways, The Darkness II feels like a more straightforward, less ambitious and less well-rounded title when compared to the original. And I'm sure that's where much of the criticism lies.
  23. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    The Darkness II is absolutely worth your investment: its rich sense of style, gratuitous twist on standard first-person gunplay and legitimately engaging plot separate it from its peers, but there's a serious lack of substance here that diminish from the game's overall value.
  24. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    The fact that The Darkness II is a sequel to a game with its roots entrenched in a fairly-twisted comic-book canon is irrelevant. There are no barriers to entry here, no homework to catch up with, just a fantastically pieced together tale coupled with a refreshingly creative take on the ever-staling FPS formula. It handles well, looks great, and sounds even better.
  25. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    The Darkness II is the ideal rental game. It's a fun shooter with a decent amount of combat variety and has a fast pace that guarantees players won't be bored any time soon, but it lacks lasting appeal and can be beaten within a weekend easily.
  26. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    It doesn't quite capture the pathos of the first game, but it DOES tighten up the gameplay and keep the action moving all the way through. It won't go down as a cult classic like the first, but there is plenty of fun this time around.
  27. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    Still, a few minor flaws aren't enough to keep me from recommending The Darkness 2. The single-player portion is tightly structured, and the brutal combat is unbelievably satisfying while still, at its best, providing plenty of options. The well-told story helps this first-person shooter stand out from the crowd. While the co-op multiplayer should really be viewed as a bonus to the game's campaign rather than a major selling point on its own, it's a rather nice bonus to have, and it helps to round out an enjoyable title.
  28. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    The Darkness II lets players embark on another emotional adventure. The looks of the game are absolutely amazing and wielding the Darkness has never felt better. Fans of the original game will love this sequel.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Every time I pre-order a game, don't pay attention to any critic reviews, bring a game home on launch day, the game ends up either stinking or being blah. That's what I am feeling with The Darkness II. It starts off good, but after an hour it becomes just another shooter. Only this game has a gimmick. The darkness powers are cool, the story so far is pretty good. But, I just can't seem to feel as though this game is missing something. Maybe, i'm used to playing games like Skyrim, or Batman. Those games constantly dangle a carrot in front of your face the whole ride. They provide unbelievable replability. I just don't understand how developers nowadays continue to pump out these 8 - 10 hour games, charge you $60 and complain when people get their games off the second hand market. It's because,(and i'm comfortable stating this), your not giving the gamer any incentive to return to your world. I want hiddens, unlockables, and level ups, and multiple playthroughs. Guess what, I don't get rid of games like that. This is an argument for another day. Bottom line is, i'm a few hours in and am not sure if I even feel like putting a few hours more in. I wish I bought reckoning today, at least that game lets me level up and loot treasure. For their efforts, I will give The Darkness II a respectable 7 Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This game has one of the best stories of any game iv'e ever played. The gameplay is incredible and the story touches all the right notes. just if u buy it watch after the credits, btw don't get deceived by the darkness or if you do play the game again. watch after the credits. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    This game, imho, sucks.
    The mechanics are not fun, it doesn't feel right. The graphics are ugly, and the story is so boring I can't stand to
    watch it. It is sort of a little bit like that kianu movie where he's an angel, constantine, except this character isn't kianu and whoever made that movie had a lot more talent than these devs.

    The game is an egg.
    Full Review »