The Darkness II PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 125
  2. Negative: 11 out of 125
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has one of the best stories of any game iv'e ever played. The gameplay is incredible and the story touches all the right notes. just if u buy it watch after the credits, btw don't get deceived by the darkness or if you do play the game again. watch after the credits. Expand
  2. May 11, 2012
    8
    Really enjoyed this game, so it's not Patch on the original, yet not quite what I expected it to be either. Not a huge fan of cel shaded graphics, however it worked well here, the story is decent, yet a little on the short side, but moved onto the extra missions for awhile, allowing for some extra characters to be played.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    The Darkness II, i have waited for a long time for a sequel after i played the first one, and boy the wait was really worth it and i can't wait for another sequel too.
    The game shines in excellent Voice Acting, Unique Style of Graphics giving it a comic book feel, High Replay Value, the Vendetta campaign option gives a back story to the main storyline.
    The issues this game has, is
    The Darkness II, i have waited for a long time for a sequel after i played the first one, and boy the wait was really worth it and i can't wait for another sequel too.
    The game shines in excellent Voice Acting, Unique Style of Graphics giving it a comic book feel, High Replay Value, the Vendetta campaign option gives a back story to the main storyline.
    The issues this game has, is sometimes i feel that there is something wrong with the controls as if there was a few seconds delay, it happened rarely and i wish that the storyline was longer
    Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    THIS ISA GREAT GAME, NOT LIKE ANYTHING I'VE SEEN OR PLAYED FOR A WHILE, IT'S SO ENTERTAINING AND, THE STORYBOARD WAS SIMPLE BUT THE TWISTS THEY PUT IN IT MADE IT OUTSTANDING.It's not long as the first one but it's also not short as they say,all i can say is that it's a great game,not a 7,but 8.5.story in the game is awesome and i enjoyed every minute of it.
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    The Darkness II makes you feel like the most destructable anti-hero in gaming. The Darkness tentacles are gateways for the most bloody, grusome, violent, gory and sick executions in an FPS game let alone any shooter. It's great to have the feeling that you have ample empowerment over your rank and file foes. Even the guns pack a mean and devastating punch which sits very well alongside theThe Darkness II makes you feel like the most destructable anti-hero in gaming. The Darkness tentacles are gateways for the most bloody, grusome, violent, gory and sick executions in an FPS game let alone any shooter. It's great to have the feeling that you have ample empowerment over your rank and file foes. Even the guns pack a mean and devastating punch which sits very well alongside the grotesque decapitations. The story also become very interesting. Jackie constantly struggles to cope with what is real and what is imaginary. The ending serves the intensity of this dichotomy very well. The only sticking points are that it does what loads of FPS games do, and pulls you from checkpoint to checkpoint without any interesting diversions save for relics. Not that Jackie should be wasting time when he's after the Brotherhood, but something more engaging than the typical. Also, whilst the chances of walking around freely are good, there should be more distractions to further sink you into this gloomy world. The asylum in particular needs much more interaction. Never the less, this is still a great sequel and Digital Extremes should be commended. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    This game definately doesnt reinvent the shooter genre for gaming but what it does bring is a lot of fun and a half way decent story line for a first person shooter. I enjoyed using the darkness powers and leveling them up to unleash more carnage. the story managed to keep my attention through it and i wanted to find out what happens even if it was a little far fetched. The game is aThis game definately doesnt reinvent the shooter genre for gaming but what it does bring is a lot of fun and a half way decent story line for a first person shooter. I enjoyed using the darkness powers and leveling them up to unleash more carnage. the story managed to keep my attention through it and i wanted to find out what happens even if it was a little far fetched. The game is a little short, i think i beat it in like 6-7 hours or something like that, and besides the coop there's no multiplayer or anything to keep you once your done Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    A solid 8
    The gameplay is great and very fun, and the demon arms are very bad ass. But, lacks some fine tuning. Everything else is great, from graphics to lasting appeal. However, it doesn't take the leap to Amazing.
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Campaign was awesome and challenging on hitman level. There are many things to do like finding relics, leveling your talent tree, coming up with different gruesome ways to kill people. But the best part was the ending. Great stroy line. A little slow at times like RPG but tolerable. Just listen to Johnny and examine all the relics in the office. Graphics are cartoonish, not the bestCampaign was awesome and challenging on hitman level. There are many things to do like finding relics, leveling your talent tree, coming up with different gruesome ways to kill people. But the best part was the ending. Great stroy line. A little slow at times like RPG but tolerable. Just listen to Johnny and examine all the relics in the office. Graphics are cartoonish, not the best and the campaign is short but very good. Coop multiplayer was a little cheesy. Play with people you know and it is fun. The Jimmy character is hilarious. Expand
  9. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    The gameplay is awesome for sure. I dont think I ever played a FPS that used all bumper buttons for different attacks. The different methods of annihilation are numerous and make you think on the fly of the best way to slaughter in the gory most bad a$$ way possible and for that I commend digital extremes. I think this four button shooter is the future for gamers. The way they did theThe gameplay is awesome for sure. I dont think I ever played a FPS that used all bumper buttons for different attacks. The different methods of annihilation are numerous and make you think on the fly of the best way to slaughter in the gory most bad a$$ way possible and for that I commend digital extremes. I think this four button shooter is the future for gamers. The way they did the graphics like a borderland type cartoony look, looks good in environment details but the character models and believe me for a mobster story its all about characters so there is alot, they look no good to me. Better off using graphics like battlefield or call of duty not borderland type but it all works out for a solid 8.5. Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I found this game to be surprisingly better than the last I loved the shell shaded graphics basically resembling that it is off of a comic book the hardcore executions leave a grim smile on my face.
  11. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, great storytelling, great pacing. Yes, it was short but all the better for it. If it would have been longer the story would have felt stretched. I like it better this way. It improved the first one on every account in my opinion. I was sceptical about the graphic style but even that worked.
  12. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    this game was awesome, great graphics, gunplay is superb, headshots, demon arms, total action, big boss battle, co op, for some missions, very violent, fatality like gratification killing enemies, ripped a guys spine out their ass, alll different type of executions, all fast and quickly executed, i'd say this might be my fav of the year, def will never trade this in,
    10 out of 10 i can't
    this game was awesome, great graphics, gunplay is superb, headshots, demon arms, total action, big boss battle, co op, for some missions, very violent, fatality like gratification killing enemies, ripped a guys spine out their ass, alll different type of executions, all fast and quickly executed, i'd say this might be my fav of the year, def will never trade this in,
    10 out of 10 i can't say how awesome this game was
    Expand
  13. May 4, 2013
    8
    Good game if you're lookin for some good bloody combat, a good comic book style look and lots of sick upgrades for even more blood and guts! and its got a pretty good story to top it all off
  14. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so thanA TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    A great game. Very fun and a joy to play. It builds off the 1st game witch is very nice to those who know the story line. A few let downs from the 1st Darkness gives it a 9 not a 10. No Side missions, hidden notes, or pay phones to play with.
  16. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    When i played The Darkness i thought it was a descent game. Going into the second one i didint really know what to expect. The Darkness II has amazing voice acting and a killer soundtrack. The graphics in this game make you feel like your in a really violent comic book and its awesome. The Quad-Wielding in this game is addicting and satisfying, the upgrading system helps make your powersWhen i played The Darkness i thought it was a descent game. Going into the second one i didint really know what to expect. The Darkness II has amazing voice acting and a killer soundtrack. The graphics in this game make you feel like your in a really violent comic book and its awesome. The Quad-Wielding in this game is addicting and satisfying, the upgrading system helps make your powers and weapons more powerful and make you feel like a total badass. The story is unique and one of the best out their, Jackie Estacado and Jenny are two of my favorite videogame characters of all time. This game also has a co-op campaign, its really good but it would have been better if it let you play two players through split screen but you can only play with people online. Ths is one hell of a sequel, and diserves a sequel of its own. Collapse
  17. May 22, 2016
    10
    The first Darkness is amazing and I was thought the first one is the best but I was wrong! The Darkness II is one of the best, the graphics and faces is realistic, game-play is very action and story is Insanely good.
    Excellent masterpiece.
  18. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    When i played The Darkness i thought it was a descent game. Going into the second one i didint really know what to expect. The Darkness II has amazing voice acting and a killer soundtrack. The graphics in this game make you feel like your in a really violent comic book and its awesome. The Quad-Wielding in this game is addicting and satisfying, the upgrading system helps make your powersWhen i played The Darkness i thought it was a descent game. Going into the second one i didint really know what to expect. The Darkness II has amazing voice acting and a killer soundtrack. The graphics in this game make you feel like your in a really violent comic book and its awesome. The Quad-Wielding in this game is addicting and satisfying, the upgrading system helps make your powers and weapons more powerful and make you feel like a total badass. The story is unique and one of the best out their, Jackie Estacado and Jenny are two of my favorite videogame characters of all time. This game also has a co-op campaign, its really good but it would have been better if it let you play two players through split screen but you can only play with people online. Ths is one hell of a sequel, and diserves a sequel of its own. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    The Darkness II is the ideal rental game. It's a fun shooter with a decent amount of combat variety and has a fast pace that guarantees players won't be bored any time soon, but it lacks lasting appeal and can be beaten within a weekend easily.
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    It doesn't quite capture the pathos of the first game, but it DOES tighten up the gameplay and keep the action moving all the way through. It won't go down as a cult classic like the first, but there is plenty of fun this time around.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    80
    The sequel bests the original in just about every way while maintaining the same story-focus that helped the first game rise above the average shooter. [Apr 2012, p.76]