User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 543

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game that set the standards for RPG's that followed. There's literally 100's of hours of content, along with many dungeons and caves to explore. For people saying that all the caves look the same: Well, so do the ones in real life, and you wouldn't have known anyways because you're spending your whole life on your 360 trying to prestiege. Also, the terrain is varied, unlike what people have said before. There are mountains, snow capped mountains, forests, valleys, plains, wastelands, and even swamps. This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content. This version in particular has the best loading times and graphics improvements. Bethesda is an amazing game maker and completely blew me off track with this game. This game actually got me through the pains i had in real life, and kept me occupied during frustrating times. I salute this game and all who have made it. If you haven't played this game, go play it. Don't listen to all these fanboy haters that are mad because the PS3 version is more smooth. Overall, definately the #1 game on my list. Good luck.
    Expand
  2. DionysusJ.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Superior to the 360 version in every way: Better loadtimes, better draw distances, better textures, better character models, and most importantly better A.I. Anyone who says any different, is lying for the sake of being loyal to their precious Xbox 2.
  3. G.Cayto
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    It's great. And the downloads are great too!!! I downloaded Shivering Isles. How excellent! And it even loads incrementally faster than the 360 version! That and all the downloadable content! Wow!
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you wantI love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you want to follow the main story line you can, or if you'd like to do loads of side quests you can or if you just want to wander around and do whatever the heck you like, you can. The world they've created is the best and most realistic to date I've ever seen in a video game with the trees, lakes, fields and landscape wonderful in places. Often during the game I would literally just stop for a while to look at a beautiful sunset as I just simply couldn't ignore it. The music and sound effects are all spot on and really help you to feel immersed in the world you're in and you can get so involved in your travels in Cyrodil that you are reluctant to come back to the real world! I enjoyed both the main story and the various side quests and I loved they way you could buy your own houses and fill them full of treasures you've found in your explorations. The inventory although fairly complex is set up in a way that's easy to use and also checking out your spells and talents and keeping a tab on that is simple enough. The voice acting is also well done and I love the way you can listen in on people chatting as you're passing. I also love how after you have completed certain parts of the game people will actually comment on it when they see you walk by. The only slight flaws with this game I found were a few bugs in places and some of the caves look a bit similar so could have done with a few changes here and there to make them more individual but all the things that are great about this game far, far outweigh the flaws. Overall I give the game 9.8 but seeing as I have to put an even number, I'll say ten. Keep up the good work Bethesda, long may the Elder Scrolls continue. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  6. Phalange
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it quite the game. You could join guilds, turn invisible, make spells, become the supreme fighter etc.. It does have glitches like almost any game, so you may have to be slightly careful what you do (e.g. review the glitches of the game before you play so you don't fall into them). One issue I had was the fact that if you made a spell with a silly name, you could not delete it. Also, it was pretty annoying choosing the skills you major and minor in - you have to balance it so you don't level too quickly. Overall, I would recommend this to everyone to try atleast once! Expand
  7. DustinM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    7
    Same as 2 other version in practically every way, One MAJOR flaw with this version is the lack of extra content which is available on other consoles. This due to the fact that the ps3 doesn't have sufficient ram to load all the content. Still a must own for PS3 users, I mean, theres really only 1 other must own for the system, so you might as well own them both.
  8. FrodoB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    Oblivion is a must have! You use magic, swords, do quests... it goes on for a very long time! Now, there is huge downside to this game that preventen a 10. I had to start again once, , (and almost twice) because of glitches. The amount of bugs and glitches is horrendous! Buy this game if it's worth the risk. Note: i managed to lvl back up to my bugged account on a new account.
  9. SeraphymD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is unreal and amazingly amusing!
  10. CrimD
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. Regarding flaws which have been brought up by many reviewers, i have to agree with "Thomas S" because with a game like this it is understandable, the world is absolutely HUGE so it would be extremely difficult to pick them out and get the dev's to fix them. This is a true masterpiece that all RPG fans should embrace. Fantastic achievement by Bethesda! Expand
  11. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a few glitches here and there and the load times can be a bit annoying, but who cares - when a game offers you this much it's easy to overlook a few small complaints. Expand
  12. IanS
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the sides of roads, and fuck some people up.

    I've got to go. I'm going to rob a niggas house.
    Expand
  13. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    One of the nicest role playing games for gaming-console ever! astonishing graphics, many quests, months, days and hours of fun :)
  14. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do those things, which is an odd concept for an online gamer. Ignore all fanboy comments though, if you own a ps3 and like immersive RPGs get this game, you will find something to like about it i promise. Expand
  15. Liam
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game of its kind. It has a massive world to explore and loads of things to do. Best of all its completely freeform besides the starting dungeon you don't have to do anything. Amazing but i would still buy it for PC because of the added fun of mods.
  16. TimP.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing Game made even more amazing with it's Superior PS3 Verision.
  17. MichelS.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I have this Game Of The Year Edition for this game on the PS3 and I puted full RGB, Super Whiter and Cross Color Reduction filter. The result: Pure and superior graphics over the 360 and PC versions and one of the best RPG I bought for the PS3!
  18. vidman
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    The world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeingThe world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeing its great graphics in the meantime. Expand
  19. GraemeDario
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever made. It is huge, brilliant, and once you start playing, there's no turning back. Only one problem - it will most likely make you into a social outcast, it takes up far too much of your life. GTA IV? Stuff that, this is the game for me!
  20. TureS
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is the best game I've ever played, and probably the best I'll EVER play. While it does not have certain elements Morrowind has, I enjoyed this game FAR more than I enjoyed Morrowind. The fighting system is awesome, the graphics are amazing and the voice acting is wonderful...
  21. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people andI have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people and locations. Not only can you find a quest round every corner but you can shape who you are in terms of skills and abilities and interact with the hundreds of people whether they are merchants or beggars. The landscape is incredibly expansive, ranging from snow capped mountains to sandstone caverns. Yes the graphics are not state of the art but you must remember that it was made in 2007, a time where the quality and complexity of computer graphics and computers for that matter was half of that of the present day. I highly recommend this ingenious game which will guarantee you hundreds of hours of a fulfilling gaming experience. Expand
  22. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done,I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done, and there was still some small quests left over. If you don't own this game, you must. Stop what you're doing and go buy it, right now. Expand
  23. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    i love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored thei love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored the graphics arent the best but that is because of the sheer size of the world you play in and can easily be forgivin and i can't wait for Skyrim to come out in november Expand
  24. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    This game started me with RPG's, it is awesome, I loved open mapped games, ignore the negative votes, This type of games is where you have to find the main missions or misc missions, not for them too come to you! Awesome swords, spells etc, simply best :)
  25. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    This game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as youThis game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as you work up into the master skill, you can knock over, or even paralyze others to give yourself an advantage in combat.
    Secondly, The people are interesting and have a personality (yes it's sometimes inconsistent when you click rumors they speak like normal people which ruins some of the crazy personalities of some people, and aside from that it is pretty nice to see people talk to each other and even travel from city to city.
    It isn't perfect, especially compared to the PC and Xbox 360, you can't get a lot of the DLC, some of the quests are buggy as sh*t, especially being cured of vampirism. I won't spoil what happens though. anyways, other than that, I really like it
    Expand
  26. Feb 27, 2014
    4
    This is what happens when people lose the ability to expect quality for what they purchase. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion happens to be an absolute mess...a very glitched and bugged mess. No doubt there is fun to be found within this game, though many can find entertainment in watching staged wrestling, so the argument goes back to quality. There is a lot to do in The Elder Scrolls IV:This is what happens when people lose the ability to expect quality for what they purchase. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion happens to be an absolute mess...a very glitched and bugged mess. No doubt there is fun to be found within this game, though many can find entertainment in watching staged wrestling, so the argument goes back to quality. There is a lot to do in The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, though it's mostly repetitive fetch quests. Very simple, though not a bad thing...The Elder Scrolls series is the R.P.G. series for the simplistic player or the casual gamer. Expand
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    I bought the Game of the Year edition. It was great. Herping and derping killing people and demons. Running away from the law with a stolen horse. Then I got turned into a vampire...apparently there's a glitch on the Game of the Year PS3 version that prevents you from turning back human. I couldn't stand all the multi-tasking that came with being a Vampire. You would think after all theseI bought the Game of the Year edition. It was great. Herping and derping killing people and demons. Running away from the law with a stolen horse. Then I got turned into a vampire...apparently there's a glitch on the Game of the Year PS3 version that prevents you from turning back human. I couldn't stand all the multi-tasking that came with being a Vampire. You would think after all these years they would have patched this glitch, but noooo. Quit after I found a demonic artifact for that monk. Expand
  28. JohnS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    1
    This game sucks on all systems, from PC to PS3 to 360. The AI is TERRIBLE, the gameplay is SLOW as hell, and you can't attack whoever you want!! Morrowind is a better game than this.... Then again Daggerfall was better than Morrowind, I guess this is just another good example of the watering-down of a series.
  29. AnonymousMC
    Sep 9, 2007
    0
    I HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping theI HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping the praise solely on the PS3 version in their reviews, rather than just the game in general and then addressing the differences in the game versions. And I also think it's a testament to the weakness of the PS3 so far that it's two highest-rated games are both ports of games that have been out for a long time. Please, just stop acting like this is only on the PS3 and trying to give credit to the PS3 rather than Bethseda for the game. For my honest opinion of the multiple versions, I would just go with whichever system you have, since the PS3 version has KNights of the Nine included on it, but none of the other downloadable content, especially Shivering Isles, a true expansion to the game. But the PS3 does have slightly longer draw-distance, but it's really not like it's that big of a difference. Really, if you have an incredible computer, just buy the game for that. Expand
  30. FongV
    Nov 13, 2009
    2
    I rented this game and I'm glad I didn't buy it. Really, I grew up on RPGs and have enjoyed them for their fun factor, story line, techniques, and battle scenes. This game never engaged me enough to play it past the dungeons. The graphics sucked in comparison to ...say GTA4. It looks like it has the graphics of a regular PS2 game (I own an HDTV and it enhances the poor graphics. I rented this game and I'm glad I didn't buy it. Really, I grew up on RPGs and have enjoyed them for their fun factor, story line, techniques, and battle scenes. This game never engaged me enough to play it past the dungeons. The graphics sucked in comparison to ...say GTA4. It looks like it has the graphics of a regular PS2 game (I own an HDTV and it enhances the poor graphics. Try playing a PS2 game on a 1080p TV and you'll see what I mean). Next, the characters and monsters are not perfectly drawn and have edges on them. Heck, I spent over 30 minutes trying to make my character look half decent. A lot of ways to make your character have a face of a deformed rat. The rooms and walls are flat and poorly detailed. What bothered me a ton was that the sword attacks are slow and did not give an indication if my slashes made contact or made any damage at all. I mean, what RPG doesn't show hit points when they're hit? The character menu screen doesn't tell you if a new weapon/armor is better than the one you have equipped. You only see how it looks like in your hand. Also when you're walking around (first-person), you don't know there are coins and items in front of you. The only way to know is if you move the focus point on the screen directly onto the items and only then will it tell you what it is. When I saw coins on the floor, I gave up after 3 because I had to individually pick each one up. There would've been more to complain about but I got bored and stopped playing after I ate rat meat and hacked at the king and his two soldiers. Lame game. Expand
  31. MichaelZ
    Nov 6, 2009
    3
    I was hoping for a decent RPG when I got this (some time ago). Very disappointed. The stills might look 'nice' but in action the graphics are slow and clunky and not really that pretty anyway. And that pretty much sums up the rest of the game. Combat is an exercise in frustration of unresponsive jerky controls, sound is pretty bland, as are the character models. And when you I was hoping for a decent RPG when I got this (some time ago). Very disappointed. The stills might look 'nice' but in action the graphics are slow and clunky and not really that pretty anyway. And that pretty much sums up the rest of the game. Combat is an exercise in frustration of unresponsive jerky controls, sound is pretty bland, as are the character models. And when you finally win a battle you're fighting with an awful unresponsive clunky inventory system. Dull dull dull. Avoid. Expand
  32. Aug 19, 2010
    1
    II bought this game based on the good critics, came home and played it
    for 2 hours.... Then I walked over to my PS3 and pushed the eject
    button, sat on the ground in disbelieve. I just survived the most horrible gaming experience ever. In 2 hours nothing happened... I created a character, fought some rat, fought some dogs, got caught picking a lock, died while trying to swing my sword in
    II bought this game based on the good critics, came home and played it
    for 2 hours.... Then I walked over to my PS3 and pushed the eject
    button, sat on the ground in disbelieve. I just survived the most
    horrible gaming experience ever.

    In 2 hours nothing happened... I created a character, fought some rat,
    fought some dogs, got caught picking a lock, died while trying to
    swing my sword in all directions butt the enemies.

    I just wandered about in some boring land with a butt ugly character
    who seems to hover over the land in stead of walking, the collision
    detection is just horrible. When the guy jumps it goes almost in
    slow-motion.

    If you are like me and would like to try a RPG in stead of your
    regular doses casual gaming -> InFAMOUS, God Of War, Red Dead
    Redemption, Uncharted etc etc .. AVOID ... DO NOT TOUCH. You will die
    out of boredom.
    Expand
  33. Ryencoke
    Apr 4, 2007
    3
    I've always hated this series of game. It's so horribly boring and lame. I don't understand why everyone is saying why it's so much better no PS3 than 360. The load times are a fraction faster than 360. The graphics are the exact same, it's the same game on a different consoles. Anybody comparing this is relating their "Fan-boyism" to their favorite console.
  34. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    2
    There are so many problems with this game.. The graphics are ugly and cluttered, the physics engine is way off modern standard, the character, regardless of first person or third person view feels like its hovering above ground (what a surprise that this problem occurs in Fallout 3 also). It really just doesn't work, on any console. It seems to have a severe refresh rate problem, There are so many problems with this game.. The graphics are ugly and cluttered, the physics engine is way off modern standard, the character, regardless of first person or third person view feels like its hovering above ground (what a surprise that this problem occurs in Fallout 3 also). It really just doesn't work, on any console. It seems to have a severe refresh rate problem, along with lag.. in an OFFLINE game. Most melee attacks will hit at random and you spend a lot of your time looting worthless junk that only clutters your inventory, making you walk like a turtle. The complexity of making your class is beyond me, it shouldn't be so hard to just pick up and play the game, that said, this is NOT a game for casual gamers, be prepared to be bored out of your life customizing your ugly character. Given it is open world, there are no incentives. Theres no point the world being so big if you can click on your map to get 3 million miles away in a second. Most enemies are impossible to hit because of the lack of a targeting system, you spend more time spinning the camera around, waving your worthless melee weapon around until for the love of God you finally kill the enemy. Finally, when you talk to people, the camera zooms in on that person, freezing all background animation (coincidentally, Fallout 3 does this too), WHY DOES THE GAME HAVE TO DO THIS? Whats wrong with talking to them as they are? It sucks all the realism out of the scene, making you remember you're playing a [terrible] game. It's just really bad I mean I know its been reduced to what.. $30 on shelves now? Still not even worth that.. Expand
  35. Pete
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    A great game, but is there ANY must have game that is exclusive to PS3? Unless you're a loser, you can get this for one of your other systems.
  36. MatthewS
    Feb 23, 2009
    5
    Too big world, too much side quests - not that its bad, but you need at least SOME guidness in games. This was just too chaotic...just go and kill whole town (isnt fun at all).
  37. JaredK.
    Sep 21, 2007
    6
    I loved this game for a while -- many hours, in fact, on the PS3. Unfortunately, I noticed that there seemed to be some bad port issues. And, eventually, I got to a quest where I couldn't continue because I kept falling through solid objects (trying to close an oblivion gate, going up one of the spiky elevators). After half an hour of frustration, I gave up, popped the disc out, and I loved this game for a while -- many hours, in fact, on the PS3. Unfortunately, I noticed that there seemed to be some bad port issues. And, eventually, I got to a quest where I couldn't continue because I kept falling through solid objects (trying to close an oblivion gate, going up one of the spiky elevators). After half an hour of frustration, I gave up, popped the disc out, and have decided I'm just gonna have to bite the bullet and get the PC version. (I rented Oblivion so I'd be able to play it on my big ol' HDTV, with my home stereo for audio). In general, the physics engine for the PS3 version seems to have mediocre capacity when it comes to coping with solid objects. Not having played it on other platforms, I'm assuming it's a problem specific to the PS3 port -- and that they did a half-arsed job because of the limited market size for the PS3. Expand
  38. PecchioniG.
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    A RPG on a console that isn't a Nintendo DS it's a deep insult to the Role-Play essence itself. The only saga which saves from this is Final Fantasy,that is divine. Oblivion should exist only for PC.For XboX360 and PS3 it's ridicolous and without meaning,as Fallout3 in consoles.
  39. SteveW.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Fantastic, a hugh world to explore. I never get tired of playing it.
  40. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Roll playing games are not my favorite genre in gaming but I did find this one to be one of the most ambitious offerings I'd ever taken on. The scope and scale of this game is overwhelming. 99% of the game goes off without a hitch but there was one key bug that really impacted my game (the "cure vampirism" quest). Other than that the ability to customize your character, what seems likeRoll playing games are not my favorite genre in gaming but I did find this one to be one of the most ambitious offerings I'd ever taken on. The scope and scale of this game is overwhelming. 99% of the game goes off without a hitch but there was one key bug that really impacted my game (the "cure vampirism" quest). Other than that the ability to customize your character, what seems like a nearly unlimited number of quests and side quests, and a world that is so large it kept me engaged as long as any game I can remember. I'd give it a 96 out of 100 it it weren't for the "bug" that really impacted the game for a while. I still give it a 93 out of 100 all things considered and the best RPG game I ever played. Can't wait for TES 5!!! Expand
  41. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  42. dpc
    Jun 3, 2013
    10
    1st generation graphics? Nothing to do? Whether or not you like the game is your call, but to give it a 0 or 1 is ludicrous. There is simply too much excellence involved in the production of the game to "bomb" it. The music alone should elevate a hater's score to 8. All these years later, Oblivion is still a masterpiece, incredible to play and utterly spectacular to get lost in.
  43. Nov 19, 2012
    2
    Utter **** I'll stick the with Final Fantasy games on the ps1, they piss all over this rubbish. Wandering around with nothing really happening is not my idea of a good time. Awful
  44. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    Though, despite the huge hype and respect for this game, I find it to be quite terrible. It's just simply not my kind of game. I found the game play to be disturbingly horrible, the graphics are what you would expect to see on a first generation console. I can't say to much for the story line, sense I could not get more then 10 minutes into the game without turning it off in absoluteThough, despite the huge hype and respect for this game, I find it to be quite terrible. It's just simply not my kind of game. I found the game play to be disturbingly horrible, the graphics are what you would expect to see on a first generation console. I can't say to much for the story line, sense I could not get more then 10 minutes into the game without turning it off in absolute sickness. So all around, I don't really have a right to review this game sense I could not even get close to finishing it. I understand that a lot of people love this game, and completely understand those who are wanting to send me bomb threats for my huge hatred towards this game. I just though I should let others know that this games is not worth paying any attention to, and should be forgotten as soon as possible. Except for those who already love the game. Expand
  45. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    I played this game for hours, days, weeks and months. But I never got anywhere. And seeing as there is no compelling storyline here to keep you going, I just stopped. I never got past the first oblivion gate (I didn't even know there would be more then one if it wasn't for friends telling me). So I don't get the appeal of this game, I have no idea how to play it. I never had the feeling myI played this game for hours, days, weeks and months. But I never got anywhere. And seeing as there is no compelling storyline here to keep you going, I just stopped. I never got past the first oblivion gate (I didn't even know there would be more then one if it wasn't for friends telling me). So I don't get the appeal of this game, I have no idea how to play it. I never had the feeling my character was getting stronger.
    Together with LittleBigPlanet this is the worst game of this generation I've played.
    Expand
  46. Oct 31, 2011
    5
    I bought this game because I loved Fallout 3 so much, and it's amazing how similar yet different the games can be. Fallout 3 made me a fan with the storyline, the character development, and the sheer creativity of the post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. So, I thought Oblivion would be equally awesome. And was I ever wrong. Oblivion is the same big environment, free-roam idea, but it hasI bought this game because I loved Fallout 3 so much, and it's amazing how similar yet different the games can be. Fallout 3 made me a fan with the storyline, the character development, and the sheer creativity of the post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. So, I thought Oblivion would be equally awesome. And was I ever wrong. Oblivion is the same big environment, free-roam idea, but it has no heart. It's technically impressive in terms of the sheer massiveness of it all, but there's nothing about it that made me want to see where it would all end. The combat system is clunky and unsatisfying, and if you aren't a fan of medieval times, this won't make a convert. Very disappointing. If they had been able to put a little soul into this huge body of work, it could have been a giant of a game. Expand
  47. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    Oblivion disappointed me. I bought it in 2010 and I was really looking forward to playing it. When I put the disc in my PS3 I was happy, I thought this game was going to be really good. I made my character and I started the story. After I got out of the sewer, I did my first quest, after that I was bored. I got the GOTY edition, so I decided to go over to the strange gate that opened and IOblivion disappointed me. I bought it in 2010 and I was really looking forward to playing it. When I put the disc in my PS3 I was happy, I thought this game was going to be really good. I made my character and I started the story. After I got out of the sewer, I did my first quest, after that I was bored. I got the GOTY edition, so I decided to go over to the strange gate that opened and I started the Shivering Isles expansion. I was still bored. Does this mean that Oblivion was a bad game? No. I just wasn't playing it right. But when I finally realised that It was an open-world RPG I decided to play it as one. So after not playing for months, I started the game and started exploring. And I was still bored. I didn't find it fun exploring the massive open-world and I was never really compelled to do any more exploring. In the end I just gave up on Oblivion and waited for Skyrim, which I was sceptical about after my time with Oblivion, but I bought Skyrim and it was an incredible game. I guess Skyrim was just made better than Oblivion. Or maybe it was something to do with me. I don't know. But Oblivion certainly is a good game. Just not a great game in my opinion. Expand
  48. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    This game is not quite Skyrim but it is still very well done, especially for its time. The story is excellent, the graphics are amazing for a 2006 game, and the customization is almost as good as Skyrim, plus there's gambling. If you want other games like Skyrim, it would make sense to stay in the same franchise.
  49. Mar 29, 2015
    5
    Well this is a disappointing game.The graphics were not that bad and the voice acting was okay but the story,the gameplay and the controls were horrible.Oblivion and Skyrim are definitely not my kind of game.
  50. Vault
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Simply awesome. There's practically limitless content and absolute freedom, at any point you can start anything.
  51. FedorH.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made!
  52. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    7
    OMG!!! why are there so many 10s on here?! OK the game is good, it has a massive world to explore, a huge number of side quests, and a massive amount of customisation (as with many rpgs) The game does have some fairly serious issues however, all of the npc's are voiced by a crowd of about 2 people and the AI has a few flaws, it is also possible to accidentally get thrown in jail and OMG!!! why are there so many 10s on here?! OK the game is good, it has a massive world to explore, a huge number of side quests, and a massive amount of customisation (as with many rpgs) The game does have some fairly serious issues however, all of the npc's are voiced by a crowd of about 2 people and the AI has a few flaws, it is also possible to accidentally get thrown in jail and mess ur characters stats up. Expand
  53. CodyB.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    Over all game of the year winner of 2006 and THE greatest RPG to ever grace any platform to date since final fantasy 8. A rich and compelling storyline, the most BEAUTIFUL graphics I have ever seen in a playstation 3 game (besides grand theft auto 4 and metal gear solid 4), and a finely crafted gaming world where gamers can "live another life in another world", be who they wanna be, and Over all game of the year winner of 2006 and THE greatest RPG to ever grace any platform to date since final fantasy 8. A rich and compelling storyline, the most BEAUTIFUL graphics I have ever seen in a playstation 3 game (besides grand theft auto 4 and metal gear solid 4), and a finely crafted gaming world where gamers can "live another life in another world", be who they wanna be, and do whatever the hell they want. OMG I could rant on for more than 24 hours about how georgeous the outside world is (the WHOLE gaming world), but that would be a waste of time, lol. Just do yourself a favor and GET THIS GAME and experience another life!!! The only game in 2006 that could beat okami for game of the year. Expand
  54. MatthewS
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Too big world, too much side quests - not that its bad, but you need at least SOME guidness in games. This was just too chaotic...just go and kill whole town (isnt fun at all).
  55. MatthewJ
    Aug 6, 2009
    7
    Solid graphics. Some reasonable quests. Still major problems and this genre has a way to go before you really feel immersed in a world. The most annoying feature is that after an action the whole populace is aware. If you wish to infiltrate a guild and destroy from the inside foget it. Programming still too basic to accomodate this. After a while like morrowind you can easily take care of Solid graphics. Some reasonable quests. Still major problems and this genre has a way to go before you really feel immersed in a world. The most annoying feature is that after an action the whole populace is aware. If you wish to infiltrate a guild and destroy from the inside foget it. Programming still too basic to accomodate this. After a while like morrowind you can easily take care of most creatures. I expected better but the game is not a total disaster. Expand
  56. ChrisSteinberg
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    I enjoy playing Oblivion, it has great mechanics. The story is a little boring (main story line) and things in the environment are too distracting when trying to complete the main quest line. Character aging engine is terrible, simply terrible. The character models are just plain ugly. This can be annoying when you have ugly females in the game hitting on you because you have charmed them.I enjoy playing Oblivion, it has great mechanics. The story is a little boring (main story line) and things in the environment are too distracting when trying to complete the main quest line. Character aging engine is terrible, simply terrible. The character models are just plain ugly. This can be annoying when you have ugly females in the game hitting on you because you have charmed them. This has been a gripe of mine since Elderscrolls 1 Arena. Also, stealing in the game has too few consequences and is too easy to accomplish.

    see more of my reviews at
    http://dkgamestudios.blogspot.com
    Expand
  57. georgeb.
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Awesome. For those who have played RPGs before, this will be the best of the best. But for those who haven't played a RPG then you might be lost. Pecchioni: I don't know why a RPG shouldn't be on a consil, Oblivion works fine on my ps3. John: this game is near 3 years old, the game play is a fast as you want it to be ( RPGs take time, their not fps's) and you can Awesome. For those who have played RPGs before, this will be the best of the best. But for those who haven't played a RPG then you might be lost. Pecchioni: I don't know why a RPG shouldn't be on a consil, Oblivion works fine on my ps3. John: this game is near 3 years old, the game play is a fast as you want it to be ( RPGs take time, their not fps's) and you can attack 99% of every body in the game Pete: why did you rate the game a 1 based on the system, you yourself said it was great Ryencoke: The ps3 loads are faster (even if its a fraction you load alot in the game). Expand
  58. JamesG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    My biggest issue is that this game suffers massively from content over form problems...There is a massive world to explore, and it's initially almost inspiring to do so. However, I found myself really put of of actually enjoying the content because the gameplay was so weak. The combat is simply a joke. Combat is horribly simplistic and wooden. A fact that is significantly worsened by My biggest issue is that this game suffers massively from content over form problems...There is a massive world to explore, and it's initially almost inspiring to do so. However, I found myself really put of of actually enjoying the content because the gameplay was so weak. The combat is simply a joke. Combat is horribly simplistic and wooden. A fact that is significantly worsened by the total primacy of melee combat in actually playing the game. Anyway, long story short, the gameplay is so bad that I simply stopped wanting to do things in the massive, engrossing worlse that I inhabited. Expand
  59. FPSMaster
    Mar 21, 2007
    7
    Plays exactly like the 360 version other than the controller having weird button assignments and no downloadbale content as of yet. Now to the differences: the PS3 version loads quicker, runs smoother outdoors, looks less like plastic in the distance and has less pop-up. But here's why: they took out all the texture detail out of every single blade of grass and leaf on every tree and Plays exactly like the 360 version other than the controller having weird button assignments and no downloadbale content as of yet. Now to the differences: the PS3 version loads quicker, runs smoother outdoors, looks less like plastic in the distance and has less pop-up. But here's why: they took out all the texture detail out of every single blade of grass and leaf on every tree and bush in the game. Play the 360 version and look at the leaves and grass...it's very, very detailed and very high res making it look absolutely realistic. The PS3 version's grass and leaves are flat green blobs that look like a leaf or blade of grass from a 32 bit game. I'm not joking. The rock and brick textures look the same as the 360 version, but the foliage is a joke and takes out a lot of the believability of the world. And anyone that's played this game will tell you that you see more grass and foliage than anything else so it's very important to making the world seem like a real place because you see so much of the foliage throughout the game. So it's obvious now why it loads quicker and runs smoother...they took out so many textures in the game and so much info the console would have to process that it has no choice but to run smoother. And we all thought it was taking so long to come out because they were making it look batter. They did in certain areas, but at the expense of other more important areas. I'll take lower framerates in a better looking game anyday over a game that's been so butchered in textures PS2 games textures look better. The world doesn't look plasticy anymore, now it looks extremely outdated. Another crap port for PS3...and this time from a quality developer. Makes me wonder if there will ever be a game on PS3 that looks better than the same game on 360. Because if a quality dev like Bethesda can't do it, it probably can't be done. Expand
  60. GizmoL.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Wow! Great game. Graphics looks better on the PS3 than the 360 version. The game play is the same except for some missing downloadable content. But that will probably be available later. Finally, a PS3 game that actually look better than the 360's version! PS3 for life!
  61. [Anonymous]
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Don't believe the lies about this version of Oblivion. Even the developers of the game said the graphics on ps3 are a bit better. The game also loads more quickly on ps3 than 360. Other than that the two versions are pretty much the same. Great game regardless.
  62. MorkB.
    Mar 27, 2007
    9
    You are probably confused by the argument with both the Xbox fans and PlayStation 3 fans below. Let me clear it up for you (I own both a DX10 PC, Xbox360, and PS3). Essentially, this is exactly the same as the PC and X360 versions, gameplay wise. I don't like the controls as much, but thats probably because I have had a PS3 for only one month and am not used to the controller. You are probably confused by the argument with both the Xbox fans and PlayStation 3 fans below. Let me clear it up for you (I own both a DX10 PC, Xbox360, and PS3). Essentially, this is exactly the same as the PC and X360 versions, gameplay wise. I don't like the controls as much, but thats probably because I have had a PS3 for only one month and am not used to the controller. Content wise, it comes with Knights of the Nine free, so thats a plus. Where it falls short is in graphics. Stuff farther away in the view distance looks better than in the previous versions, it runs a bit smoother outdoors, and it doesn't have the annoying "loading area" reading. Unfortunately, thats been replaced with just regular old lag when the game loads, so it really isn't clear which is the better trade off. Also, the PS3 using a Geforce 7 Series GPU, can't render AA and HDR (AA = less jaggies, HDR means a more lifelike, colorful, vivid world and bloom aka shinyness) at the same time. The Devs chose to render AA and not HDR, so compared to the other two versions, the game looks grayed out and a bit last gen. Bloom is still done, but the games lack of extra colors really hurts the overall next-gen look of the game and the atmosphere. I also noticed a downgrade in vegetation. Overall, the graphics, thanks to the lack of HDR and the outstanding vegetation make it look like a PS "2.7 or 8" game. But it still rocks. Anyone with a Playstation 3 must get it. If you can live with the fact that your version simply looks great instead of mindblowing, you will have the time of your life! And the fact it comes with Knights of the Nine doesn't hurt! Expand
  63. KyleT.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Having played both versions, I didn't really notice a difference, but seeing them side by side really did it for me. The random PS3 hate present in just about every forum/rating site/social site is a bit over the top and the anonymous reviews given to Oblivion PS3 (even before it was out) show that fact. This game plays incredibly smoothly, the load times are negligible, and the Having played both versions, I didn't really notice a difference, but seeing them side by side really did it for me. The random PS3 hate present in just about every forum/rating site/social site is a bit over the top and the anonymous reviews given to Oblivion PS3 (even before it was out) show that fact. This game plays incredibly smoothly, the load times are negligible, and the scenery is beautiful with very little noticeable pop-in. The draw distance was pushed back quite a bit for the PS3 version and the trees look a lot nicer on the scenery (don't ask my why I noticed). This game is just as incredible as it's other consoled/PC counterparts. It's engrossing, it's long, and if you haven't played Oblivion before, it's just the kind of game your PS3 needs. Only negative I can really think of is the fact that we have no downloadable content as of yet, but from what I understand, the developers are working on it. Expand
  64. KevinC.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    It has some advantages and some disadvantages over the xbox 360 version. Either way who cares, Oblivion is still a must have game for either system and now everybody gets to play this amazing game. I'll admit I am partial to xbox, however competition will bring out the best from both the xbox 360 and the ps3. Also, the more ppl who purchase this game,(regardless of platform) the more It has some advantages and some disadvantages over the xbox 360 version. Either way who cares, Oblivion is still a must have game for either system and now everybody gets to play this amazing game. I'll admit I am partial to xbox, however competition will bring out the best from both the xbox 360 and the ps3. Also, the more ppl who purchase this game,(regardless of platform) the more extra content likely to be released. So xbox fanboys, we still have Halo 3, Mass Effect, Blue Dragon, Lost Odyssey, Gears of War, Fable 2, Forza 2, and PS3 fanboys you guys still have FFXIII, God Of War 3, Heavenly Sword, MGS4. Both lineups seem amazing. Expand
  65. JayN.
    Apr 10, 2007
    7
    The load times are not fast at all. If they are faster than the 360 it's by 1/10 of a sec. Just another good reason why I should of just stuck with my 360. I don't see any difference in the visuals, and I have a Pioneer Elite top of the line plasma. Pity, I was really hoping they would finally have one game.
  66. KennyL.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Great game on any platform. The graphics can get a bit choppy at times which is odd considering how powerful the ps3 is.
  67. PS3ROCKS!
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    A brilliant game. graphics are amazing and about 150 hours of playing and soooo much to do! its the best RPG out there.
  68. JackNeglit
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    I see you all have your minds but... For one, The PS3 is a Monster, if you put it next to the XBOX 360, it makes the XBOX look like a mouse... The PS3 Features 8 Processors with 2 "Standby" Processors on the side, waiting to be used if any other processor fails or needs a lift if too much is put in to it. All the Collision, Sound, Graphics, etc... are divided amoungst the 6 usedI see you all have your minds but... For one, The PS3 is a Monster, if you put it next to the XBOX 360, it makes the XBOX look like a mouse... The PS3 Features 8 Processors with 2 "Standby" Processors on the side, waiting to be used if any other processor fails or needs a lift if too much is put in to it. All the Collision, Sound, Graphics, etc... are divided amoungst the 6 used Processors, therfore making it superior in many diffrent prespectives. Also, Blu-Ray IS the Next-Gen Drive for not only games but also movies. "I don't like the fact that XBOX 360, Core and Elite have a HD-DVD, we cant fit as much in it as we can with the PS3 and that limits our creativity with our games" Stats GTA Head Designer Kotaku. Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion, The runs much, much smoother on a PS3 than on any sort of XBOX 360, that's all the proof anyone needs to state that Oblivion on PS3 makes Oblivion on XBOX 360 obsolete. The only reason most people hate PS3 is because its so expensive or because it does not have alot of games... For one, the Blu-Ray retails over $1,200, you get the PS3 with all its features for half that price, clearifing that the Ps3 IS cheaper than Xbox, Xbox 360, Xbox Core, Xbox Elite and even the PS2. To spice things up, "The Ps3 will deffinitly take over in sales and popularity agianst the Xbox 360 by the end of 2008" EGM Game Magazine, "PS3 is without a doubt the next-gen consol of gaming, and it's Blu-Ray is the next-gen for harddrives, period." Gamefromer, "The Xbox is a beast... but the PS3... Thats something of a Monster." EA Head President Don Mattrick... No wonder Sony isnt so worried about the ShitBox... Eh? Expand
  69. JasonH.
    Jul 8, 2007
    7
    A REALLY GOOD RPG, but WAY, WAY TOO OVERWHELMING and COMPLICATED for me. I want to play this game, I want to like this game, it has an incredible world, a great story, and basically a never ending amount of stuff to do. But it is just too overwhelming for me. I wish I could set the game to auto level and auto mix spells, and I could just concentrate on the mission and gameplay at hand. I A REALLY GOOD RPG, but WAY, WAY TOO OVERWHELMING and COMPLICATED for me. I want to play this game, I want to like this game, it has an incredible world, a great story, and basically a never ending amount of stuff to do. But it is just too overwhelming for me. I wish I could set the game to auto level and auto mix spells, and I could just concentrate on the mission and gameplay at hand. I feel like there is a perfect way to set up your armor, outfit, abilities, and life but I just want to play the game and not deal with any of that like a first person shooter like Half Life 2. Oblivion is just not for me. Expand
  70. SebM.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    One of the most incredible gaming experiences ever. I was sceptical at first but after 30 minutes spent creating a character I was absolutley smitten. If there's one game you buy this year (with a few exceptions) make it this one.
  71. RodB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Oblivion is a must have! I am a shooter fan, but anyone will like this game. Also, I would recommend it for kids! There is some blood and scary stuff, but no sex or language. My daughters, age 10 and 13 love this game! My 10 year-old bought a horse and has been riding it all over Cyrodill. There is so much to do, and the graphics are wonderful.
  72. MichaelT
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is everything a gamer could want, and then more. If you don't like this game, sell you PS3 and live under the overpass.
  73. NehmeG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    First few hours playing the game were horrendous, i remember wanting to give up on the game and throw it on the shelf quickly, but kept on saying that the great reviews of the game can't be possibly that wrong... Now i can't stop playing the game, it's been over a month and i can't stop playing it. barely even started through the main quest, with so many quests that First few hours playing the game were horrendous, i remember wanting to give up on the game and throw it on the shelf quickly, but kept on saying that the great reviews of the game can't be possibly that wrong... Now i can't stop playing the game, it's been over a month and i can't stop playing it. barely even started through the main quest, with so many quests that come up your way, am starting to wonder if it's possible to finish the game in the complete sense of the word!!! Expand
  74. Panda
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    The game is worthy of a 10, but the glitching can be ridiculous. Set in a huge (and gorgeous) world where you can spend hours on end just wandering, there are too many quests to count and you can get your money's worth from this game without even touching the main quest line. With the expansion packs there's never a dearth of things to do and people to kill (get Shivering Isles The game is worthy of a 10, but the glitching can be ridiculous. Set in a huge (and gorgeous) world where you can spend hours on end just wandering, there are too many quests to count and you can get your money's worth from this game without even touching the main quest line. With the expansion packs there's never a dearth of things to do and people to kill (get Shivering Isles dammit!), and even without them... well, I hope you don't mind game addiction. A must-have for any console (PC modding is fun, though) if you're a fan of, well, awesomeness. Expand
  75. Maurice
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is a must have! It's fun, inmersive, beautiful, epic, balanced.Qne of the rare games you'll be playinh over 100-200 hours.I never get tired of playing it.
  76. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    WOW! Only get this game if you wish to commit social suicide because you won't see your friends and family for months on end while you are engrossed in this rich detailed world.
  77. Ostaf
    Oct 8, 2009
    8
    This is probably my favorite game ever made. The graphics kind of suck (people suck environment awesome) There is soooooo much to do. I have put in well over 100 hours and I haven't even scratched the surface. This is what I like in a game....get my moneys worth. If you don't like medieval fantasy type games then don't get this. the only people that I know that don't This is probably my favorite game ever made. The graphics kind of suck (people suck environment awesome) There is soooooo much to do. I have put in well over 100 hours and I haven't even scratched the surface. This is what I like in a game....get my moneys worth. If you don't like medieval fantasy type games then don't get this. the only people that I know that don't like this game are people that don't like this type of game. Expand
  78. AnonymousMC
    Mar 21, 2009
    7
    its an epic game with cool characters and tons of hours of gameplay...but there is one flaw that really pist me off, the fact that the game slows down when theres more than 5 people/creatures on screen at one time, i dont know if its just my game or if its the ps3 but...it really ruins the gaming experience and doesnt really make me want to play very much after it happens
  79. Marc
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    As much as I love this game it still has some annoying faults that bring the overall rating down. For instance the game has a vast array of characters but the majority of them all have the same voice and look the same. Sometimes you will find that a quest is ruined due to glitches in the game play (this seems very common in certain quests such as 'Spring Heeled Jack') and that As much as I love this game it still has some annoying faults that bring the overall rating down. For instance the game has a vast array of characters but the majority of them all have the same voice and look the same. Sometimes you will find that a quest is ruined due to glitches in the game play (this seems very common in certain quests such as 'Spring Heeled Jack') and that line of quests becomes unplayable unless you're willing to start over. However, it is engrossing and will provide countless hours of game play and many late nights. Expand
  80. AndrewL.
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    The reason i give this game a 10 isn't because it was released as an AMAZING game, but the way bethesda made it left it 100% open for player modding. I see alot of people saying that the graphics suck... well, if you own the game for PC and have a sold system, download Quarl's Texture Pack 3 and some mods that reduce tilling effects and bam, HD textures, HD distant land/objects. The reason i give this game a 10 isn't because it was released as an AMAZING game, but the way bethesda made it left it 100% open for player modding. I see alot of people saying that the graphics suck... well, if you own the game for PC and have a sold system, download Quarl's Texture Pack 3 and some mods that reduce tilling effects and bam, HD textures, HD distant land/objects. Think the game doesnt feel "foresty" enough? download enhanced vegetation, suddenly Tamriel feels absolutely real. And, for those wanting action, download Deadly Reflexes. The mod allows for a whole new style of gameplay. Shield bashing, kick-downs, finishing stabs, cutting limbs off, cutting people in half, decapitation, etc. This mod combined with Francesco's Leveled Creatures and Items, which adds more variety to npcs (bandits wont all be godly at lvl 20, some will still be in iron armor, some in steel, etc) AND more variety to the wildlife you run into, including around 100 BRAND NEW creatures/enemies for you to fight, and with a higher spawn rate as well (instead of one bandit/minotaur, you'll run into 2-5), which is fine since deadly reflexes makes all weapons and monsters hit 250% harder, so while things die in 2 hits, you die in about 4... fast enough action for you? This game was made to be modded, so i suggest buying the PC version and giving it another go. This game is more than worth it's price. I bought this game 3 or so years ago, and i'm still playing it. Expand
  81. JohnD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    One of the rare games you'll be playing over 100 - 200 hours... It's fun, immersive, beatiful, epic, balanced and the list goes on.. If you like RPGs, this is for you, but be warned... It consumes you, and all your free time. Kiss your friends good bye, when you start playing this masterpiece.
  82. BrianP.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing game. Beautiful visuals, great gameplay, wonderful story. My runner up (to FF7) for best RPG of all time!
  83. AnonymousMC
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    I have not played the ps3 version, but as an owner of the 360 version with over 100 hours in it, i have to recommend you buy it, as its the best singleplayer rpg ever. Oh yeah, and the ps3 fanboys are retards in this particular case. They are the exact same game. The only difference is the very, very, very subtle graphical differences. Load times are also about 15% faster.
  84. Immune
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    An amazing game with stunning graphics and gameplay which lasts for around 150 hours. This should definitely be bought by all PS3 owners who enjoy role playing games.
  85. MattB.
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    Baited and switched XBox360 title that ultimately fell short of everything that was promised- I blame most of it on the lackluster specs of the XBox360, which it was obviously developed for. The original game was lackluster- the ports are no different. Tired storyline, repetitive gameplay and side quests. Broken levelling system and retarded AI. Possibly worth a playthrough, and without Baited and switched XBox360 title that ultimately fell short of everything that was promised- I blame most of it on the lackluster specs of the XBox360, which it was obviously developed for. The original game was lackluster- the ports are no different. Tired storyline, repetitive gameplay and side quests. Broken levelling system and retarded AI. Possibly worth a playthrough, and without community modification: little else. If you're expecting an RPG experience on par with other works of Bethesda Softworks you will be sorely disappointed. They don't offer .5 scale, but I'd really rate it about 7.5, a solid C. Expand
  86. johnm
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    I played 75 hours of it and for some strange reason liked it. If you do not like RPGs you will not like this game. Load times account for the 9 rating instead of a 10.
  87. ronaldocastanheiro
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    OBLIVION IS A AWESOME GAME ANYBODY WHO SAYS THIS GAME SUCKS IS ACOMPLETE IDIOT YOU CAN DO ALMOST ANYTHING IN THIS GAME IT IS LIKE REAL LIFE BUT BACK IN THE 30S HERES A TIP WHEN STARTING A NEW GAME PICK AN ORG TAKE THIS AS AN EXAMPLE THE ARENA GRAND CHAMPION I AM A FIGHTERS GUILDMASTER AN ASSOCIATE OF THE ARCANE UNIVERSITY AND IF YOU GET THE EXPANSION I KILLED THE GATE KEEPER
  88. Satyr
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game on both the pc and next gen consoles that I have ever had the grace to play. Oblivion is a game that does not play by the rules- so when I hear individuals commenting on how "it isn't a real rpg based on the fact that it is not turn based" or anything to that regard, you have to understand the the term "RPG" is something I do not feel Oblivion qualifies as. It is Easily the best game on both the pc and next gen consoles that I have ever had the grace to play. Oblivion is a game that does not play by the rules- so when I hear individuals commenting on how "it isn't a real rpg based on the fact that it is not turn based" or anything to that regard, you have to understand the the term "RPG" is something I do not feel Oblivion qualifies as. It is something far closer to a 2nd world extending simulator. Sure, it's not "technically there yet" and there will always be bugs galore- but in the end, Bethesda's gift ot us is nothing more than revolutionary. It is the 1st, and best of it's kind; and if you give it the time- it WILL amaze you. (the average learning slope is usually a steep 3-6 hours)but in a game where you can do virtually anything, that time is barely anything. Expand
  89. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    Lots of adventures in this game but in general it lacks drama and storytelling. When it came out graphics were ok, but today the game looks pretty old.

    Still one of the best RPG ifor the PS3.
  90. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    This is what games should aspire to be. Oblivion is a masterpiece when you consider that the game is able to be played by virutually your own imagination. One has to remember that RPG stands for Role Playing Game and this game takes that concept to heart. Want to be a thief, no problem the game allows you to be a thief. Want to be a bad ass Mage, no problem. Want to summon stuff and watchThis is what games should aspire to be. Oblivion is a masterpiece when you consider that the game is able to be played by virutually your own imagination. One has to remember that RPG stands for Role Playing Game and this game takes that concept to heart. Want to be a thief, no problem the game allows you to be a thief. Want to be a bad ass Mage, no problem. Want to summon stuff and watch the chaos, no problem. Just want to walk around and do whatever comes to mind. No problem. This is what i want to stress most about oblivion if you spend some time with the game you can play exactly as you want and there is so much going on within the world (but you have to search to find it). Another thing i want to point out about the game is it has gameplay options that allow you to slide the difficulty anywhere you like at any time. There really has been a limitless ability to allow you to play anyway you prefer and at any difficulty you prefer. The only reason I can find to knock a point off this game despite being so large is that it contains still unfixed glitches and a few weird things (like activating a "night eye" spell with intentions to make you see in the dark- in the light can make you seem to be invisible) -which can break immersion or just tick you off for all the hours you put in. But really this games goes above and beyond providing gamers their monies worth no one should rate this under 8 at worse. Expand
  91. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    The standard for sprawling sandbox games since Daggerfall, Bethesda manages another fantastic game packed with hundreds of hours of content. From senseless slaughter to daring theft to epic heroism, you are truly free to carve your own satisfying path through the rich environs of Cyrodiil.
  92. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    An amazing, insanely rich game that fully immerses you. The graphics (for their time), soundtrack, gameplay, depth, and replayability are all top-notch. My only complaints with TES IV is the great-but-not excellent story, the leveling system, the infamously clunky Bethesda animations, and the lack of variety in voice actors. These, however, are hardly problems when compared to theAn amazing, insanely rich game that fully immerses you. The graphics (for their time), soundtrack, gameplay, depth, and replayability are all top-notch. My only complaints with TES IV is the great-but-not excellent story, the leveling system, the infamously clunky Bethesda animations, and the lack of variety in voice actors. These, however, are hardly problems when compared to the multitude of things to do and have fun doing in Oblivion. Cities, houses, weapons, quests, horses; you name it, Oblivion has it. The freedom to do whatever you want in the manner you want is unparalleled in comparison to today's lineup of games. Expand
  93. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    You've been trawling through dark, dank sewers for about half an hour. You've created a character which suits you perfectly. You're heading through a long tunnel. There's a light at the end. A gate. You approach the gate, confirm your character is how you want, then open it. Bright, dazzling sunshine greets your eyes. You look around. Trees upon trees for miles. An expansive lake.You've been trawling through dark, dank sewers for about half an hour. You've created a character which suits you perfectly. You're heading through a long tunnel. There's a light at the end. A gate. You approach the gate, confirm your character is how you want, then open it. Bright, dazzling sunshine greets your eyes. You look around. Trees upon trees for miles. An expansive lake. Mountains in the distance, covered in snow. And it's all there to explore. In terms of sheer scale, no game compares to Oblivion. The graphics are beyond-words-gorgeous. Occasional glitches and bugs (to be expected with a world this huge) are the only thing which prevent this game from being absolute perfection. 97%. Expand
  94. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I sank more hours into Oblivion than any other game I have ever played. I loved this game. From start to finish and beyond, it was an immeasurable joy to play. The sense of exploration and adventure was second to none. Even though Oblivion is now an old game and it's sequel Skyrim is knocking about, it still holds up really well and is eminently playable. In fact, I'd go as far as to sayI sank more hours into Oblivion than any other game I have ever played. I loved this game. From start to finish and beyond, it was an immeasurable joy to play. The sense of exploration and adventure was second to none. Even though Oblivion is now an old game and it's sequel Skyrim is knocking about, it still holds up really well and is eminently playable. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that despite Skyrim's refinements and graphical prowess, Oblivion still stands proud as it's equal. Expand
  95. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    TES IV: Oblivion is one of the greatest games ever made. It's official plug-in, Knights of the Nine, and the large expansion, The Shivering Isles, are both great and come with the Game of the Year Edition of Oblivion. The PS3 version's great, X-Box 360 version's slightly better, because you can buy official plug-ins from X-Box Live, and there's no doubt that the PC version is the best fromTES IV: Oblivion is one of the greatest games ever made. It's official plug-in, Knights of the Nine, and the large expansion, The Shivering Isles, are both great and come with the Game of the Year Edition of Oblivion. The PS3 version's great, X-Box 360 version's slightly better, because you can buy official plug-ins from X-Box Live, and there's no doubt that the PC version is the best from the three, because you can buy the plug-ins, the loading times are much faster (depending on you computer, of course), and you can download the unofficial plug-ins and mods, that make the game dynamics better and more realistic. Now to the game itself. One of the bad sides of the game comes up after few hours of playing: the voice acting is pretty lame. The game has only 14 voice actors, and personally, I think that only two of them are actually good. Although you can get used to that. The storyline however kicks ass, once you get the hang of it. At the beginning of the game you can create your own character, from the name to the hairstyle. After you complete the Tutorial you can do what ever you want to do! You can continue the storyline or go your own way by completing side-quests, exploring dungeons, etc. The AI is kinda awkward, however. I myself once found a NPC swimming in middle of a lake, hundreds of miles away from the city she was suppose to be in. The character design is kinda strange too. For example, the women almost look like men. Personally, I think this is one of the best games I've ever plaid (and I have plaid many games), and is a must-have for every fantasy RPG -fan. If you're planning to buy this game, a little tip: buy the Game of the Year Edition! Expand
  96. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Graphics/Performance(10/10): Oblivion features vast, believable wilderness with good graphics for 2007. The draw distance on some objects can break immersion, but this is necessary as the view distance is at least a couple miles. Unfortunately, due to the above sometimes outdoor performance is less than perfect, but never unplayable. Animations are stiff and uninspired in third personGraphics/Performance(10/10): Oblivion features vast, believable wilderness with good graphics for 2007. The draw distance on some objects can break immersion, but this is necessary as the view distance is at least a couple miles. Unfortunately, due to the above sometimes outdoor performance is less than perfect, but never unplayable. Animations are stiff and uninspired in third person mode. All races share the exact same animations. Loading screens range from seconds to half a minute.

    Singleplayer(10/10): Great length. You can literally play for days without even touching the main story line after the beginning.

    Multiplayer(N/A): N/A

    Gameplay(9/10): You can pretty much do anything you want to in Oblivion. If you want to run around and kill wildlife, you can. If you want to be a thief and spend your time stealing and avoiding the guards, you can. You can make your character into a warrior and face everything head on, a stealthy rouge and attack from the shadows, a mage and fight with magic and creatures, or any combination of the above. However, a lot of the NPC interaction is very cheesy. You can save an NPCâ
    Expand
  97. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This must be the best game I have ever played. The graphics, are amazing and there is simply so much to do. There must be over 150 side-quests and the story is interesting but its not very long. 10
  98. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Way ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and theWay ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and the character AI can get a little annoying. However, even with these issues, I still rate this game a 10. Expand
  99. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game is the benchmark for modern open-world RPGs. The character customisation is deep, there are so many stats and options to toy with, and Cyrodiil is massive. At the time of release, this was just ground-breaking. The amount of land to cover and dungeons to explore is mind-numbing. Every NPC is interactable with a full voice-over, and every house is enterable. The game easily eatsThis game is the benchmark for modern open-world RPGs. The character customisation is deep, there are so many stats and options to toy with, and Cyrodiil is massive. At the time of release, this was just ground-breaking. The amount of land to cover and dungeons to explore is mind-numbing. Every NPC is interactable with a full voice-over, and every house is enterable. The game easily eats up hundreds of hours of time and still holds up as one of the best RPGs today.

    Oblivion isn't without its faults though. The voice casting for every character is done by no more than five voice actors and the character models are frankly quite ugly, but the amount of stuff to do outshines these aspects greatly. This game is a classic and I implore you to pick it up now.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.