User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 595 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 595
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game that set the standards for RPG's that followed. There's literally 100's of hours of content, along with many dungeons and caves to explore. For people saying that all the caves look the same: Well, so do the ones in real life, and you wouldn't have known anyways because you're spending your whole life on your 360 trying to prestiege. Also, the terrain is varied, unlike what people have said before. There are mountains, snow capped mountains, forests, valleys, plains, wastelands, and even swamps. This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content. This version in particular has the best loading times and graphics improvements. Bethesda is an amazing game maker and completely blew me off track with this game. This game actually got me through the pains i had in real life, and kept me occupied during frustrating times. I salute this game and all who have made it. If you haven't played this game, go play it. Don't listen to all these fanboy haters that are mad because the PS3 version is more smooth. Overall, definately the #1 game on my list. Good luck.
    Expand
  2. DionysusJ.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Superior to the 360 version in every way: Better loadtimes, better draw distances, better textures, better character models, and most importantly better A.I. Anyone who says any different, is lying for the sake of being loyal to their precious Xbox 2.
  3. G.Cayto
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    It's great. And the downloads are great too!!! I downloaded Shivering Isles. How excellent! And it even loads incrementally faster than the 360 version! That and all the downloadable content! Wow!
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you wantI love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you want to follow the main story line you can, or if you'd like to do loads of side quests you can or if you just want to wander around and do whatever the heck you like, you can. The world they've created is the best and most realistic to date I've ever seen in a video game with the trees, lakes, fields and landscape wonderful in places. Often during the game I would literally just stop for a while to look at a beautiful sunset as I just simply couldn't ignore it. The music and sound effects are all spot on and really help you to feel immersed in the world you're in and you can get so involved in your travels in Cyrodil that you are reluctant to come back to the real world! I enjoyed both the main story and the various side quests and I loved they way you could buy your own houses and fill them full of treasures you've found in your explorations. The inventory although fairly complex is set up in a way that's easy to use and also checking out your spells and talents and keeping a tab on that is simple enough. The voice acting is also well done and I love the way you can listen in on people chatting as you're passing. I also love how after you have completed certain parts of the game people will actually comment on it when they see you walk by. The only slight flaws with this game I found were a few bugs in places and some of the caves look a bit similar so could have done with a few changes here and there to make them more individual but all the things that are great about this game far, far outweigh the flaws. Overall I give the game 9.8 but seeing as I have to put an even number, I'll say ten. Keep up the good work Bethesda, long may the Elder Scrolls continue. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  6. Phalange
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it quite the game. You could join guilds, turn invisible, make spells, become the supreme fighter etc.. It does have glitches like almost any game, so you may have to be slightly careful what you do (e.g. review the glitches of the game before you play so you don't fall into them). One issue I had was the fact that if you made a spell with a silly name, you could not delete it. Also, it was pretty annoying choosing the skills you major and minor in - you have to balance it so you don't level too quickly. Overall, I would recommend this to everyone to try atleast once! Expand
  7. SeraphymD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is unreal and amazingly amusing!
  8. CrimD
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. Regarding flaws which have been brought up by many reviewers, i have to agree with "Thomas S" because with a game like this it is understandable, the world is absolutely HUGE so it would be extremely difficult to pick them out and get the dev's to fix them. This is a true masterpiece that all RPG fans should embrace. Fantastic achievement by Bethesda! Expand
  9. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a few glitches here and there and the load times can be a bit annoying, but who cares - when a game offers you this much it's easy to overlook a few small complaints. Expand
  10. IanS
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the sides of roads, and fuck some people up.

    I've got to go. I'm going to rob a niggas house.
    Expand
  11. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    One of the nicest role playing games for gaming-console ever! astonishing graphics, many quests, months, days and hours of fun :)
  12. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do those things, which is an odd concept for an online gamer. Ignore all fanboy comments though, if you own a ps3 and like immersive RPGs get this game, you will find something to like about it i promise. Expand
  13. Liam
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game of its kind. It has a massive world to explore and loads of things to do. Best of all its completely freeform besides the starting dungeon you don't have to do anything. Amazing but i would still buy it for PC because of the added fun of mods.
  14. TimP.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing Game made even more amazing with it's Superior PS3 Verision.
  15. MichelS.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I have this Game Of The Year Edition for this game on the PS3 and I puted full RGB, Super Whiter and Cross Color Reduction filter. The result: Pure and superior graphics over the 360 and PC versions and one of the best RPG I bought for the PS3!
  16. GraemeDario
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever made. It is huge, brilliant, and once you start playing, there's no turning back. Only one problem - it will most likely make you into a social outcast, it takes up far too much of your life. GTA IV? Stuff that, this is the game for me!
  17. TureS
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is the best game I've ever played, and probably the best I'll EVER play. While it does not have certain elements Morrowind has, I enjoyed this game FAR more than I enjoyed Morrowind. The fighting system is awesome, the graphics are amazing and the voice acting is wonderful...
  18. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people andI have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people and locations. Not only can you find a quest round every corner but you can shape who you are in terms of skills and abilities and interact with the hundreds of people whether they are merchants or beggars. The landscape is incredibly expansive, ranging from snow capped mountains to sandstone caverns. Yes the graphics are not state of the art but you must remember that it was made in 2007, a time where the quality and complexity of computer graphics and computers for that matter was half of that of the present day. I highly recommend this ingenious game which will guarantee you hundreds of hours of a fulfilling gaming experience. Expand
  19. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done,I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done, and there was still some small quests left over. If you don't own this game, you must. Stop what you're doing and go buy it, right now. Expand
  20. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    i love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored thei love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored the graphics arent the best but that is because of the sheer size of the world you play in and can easily be forgivin and i can't wait for Skyrim to come out in november Expand
  21. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    TESIV Oblivion is definitely the greatest open-world RPG game out there to date. If you're really into RPGs, this game will likely take over 100 hours of immersive gameplay. There are tons to do in this game outside the main quest, you could join the many guilds (eg. Mage guild, fighter guild etc), be a champion gladiator, a thief/burglar, treasure hunting, randomly punching people in theTESIV Oblivion is definitely the greatest open-world RPG game out there to date. If you're really into RPGs, this game will likely take over 100 hours of immersive gameplay. There are tons to do in this game outside the main quest, you could join the many guilds (eg. Mage guild, fighter guild etc), be a champion gladiator, a thief/burglar, treasure hunting, randomly punching people in the face if you don't like how they look at you, and about a hundred other sidequests. Character customisation is fun, you can choose different races, your speciality, your attire, weapons etc. You'll also be spending a good amount of time exploring the cities, caves, and wilderness across Cyrodiil. The landscape is vast, detailed and beautiful to look at. And on top of all this, if you can't get enough of this game, the Shivering Isle expansion is a must get. Therefore, I suggest to any PS3 gamers to get the Game of the Year Edition because it includes both Knights of the Nine and Shivering Isle expansion in the game for the same price. They're all very good expansions. Anyway, there are some flaws, nothing major but are present nonetheless. Character creation is poor, you can never make a good looking male..... good thing you get to put a helmet on. There are limited character animation, and therefore fights may look less epic. NPCs have no emotions, or at least do not express them on their faces, will feel very awkward during conversations when they are scared but giving you the blank face at the same time. And they will stand very still while the background pauses during conversations. There are also no trophy support for the PS3 version. But all in all, I've got to say despite all these flaws, this game is excellent (keeping in mind what year this game was produced). Therefore, I give Oblivion a 10 out 10! Expand
  22. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    This game started me with RPG's, it is awesome, I loved open mapped games, ignore the negative votes, This type of games is where you have to find the main missions or misc missions, not for them too come to you! Awesome swords, spells etc, simply best :)
  23. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    This game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as youThis game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as you work up into the master skill, you can knock over, or even paralyze others to give yourself an advantage in combat.
    Secondly, The people are interesting and have a personality (yes it's sometimes inconsistent when you click rumors they speak like normal people which ruins some of the crazy personalities of some people, and aside from that it is pretty nice to see people talk to each other and even travel from city to city.
    It isn't perfect, especially compared to the PC and Xbox 360, you can't get a lot of the DLC, some of the quests are buggy as sh*t, especially being cured of vampirism. I won't spoil what happens though. anyways, other than that, I really like it
    Expand
  24. Apr 18, 2016
    10
    Do you have any, any idea what The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is? Basically, the best game ever on PC, PS3 and XBOX360

    The graphics are amazing, the sound is amazing, the characters and voice acting is amazing and the story is amazing. Maybe it's just the fanboy inside me talking, But this is the best game ever created by the human race.
  25. SteveW.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Fantastic, a hugh world to explore. I never get tired of playing it.
  26. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Roll playing games are not my favorite genre in gaming but I did find this one to be one of the most ambitious offerings I'd ever taken on. The scope and scale of this game is overwhelming. 99% of the game goes off without a hitch but there was one key bug that really impacted my game (the "cure vampirism" quest). Other than that the ability to customize your character, what seems likeRoll playing games are not my favorite genre in gaming but I did find this one to be one of the most ambitious offerings I'd ever taken on. The scope and scale of this game is overwhelming. 99% of the game goes off without a hitch but there was one key bug that really impacted my game (the "cure vampirism" quest). Other than that the ability to customize your character, what seems like a nearly unlimited number of quests and side quests, and a world that is so large it kept me engaged as long as any game I can remember. I'd give it a 96 out of 100 it it weren't for the "bug" that really impacted the game for a while. I still give it a 93 out of 100 all things considered and the best RPG game I ever played. Can't wait for TES 5!!! Expand
  27. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  28. dpc
    Jun 3, 2013
    10
    1st generation graphics? Nothing to do? Whether or not you like the game is your call, but to give it a 0 or 1 is ludicrous. There is simply too much excellence involved in the production of the game to "bomb" it. The music alone should elevate a hater's score to 8. All these years later, Oblivion is still a masterpiece, incredible to play and utterly spectacular to get lost in.
  29. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    This game is not quite Skyrim but it is still very well done, especially for its time. The story is excellent, the graphics are amazing for a 2006 game, and the customization is almost as good as Skyrim, plus there's gambling. If you want other games like Skyrim, it would make sense to stay in the same franchise.
  30. Vault
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Simply awesome. There's practically limitless content and absolute freedom, at any point you can start anything.
  31. FedorH.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made!
  32. CodyB.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    Over all game of the year winner of 2006 and THE greatest RPG to ever grace any platform to date since final fantasy 8. A rich and compelling storyline, the most BEAUTIFUL graphics I have ever seen in a playstation 3 game (besides grand theft auto 4 and metal gear solid 4), and a finely crafted gaming world where gamers can "live another life in another world", be who they wanna be, and Over all game of the year winner of 2006 and THE greatest RPG to ever grace any platform to date since final fantasy 8. A rich and compelling storyline, the most BEAUTIFUL graphics I have ever seen in a playstation 3 game (besides grand theft auto 4 and metal gear solid 4), and a finely crafted gaming world where gamers can "live another life in another world", be who they wanna be, and do whatever the hell they want. OMG I could rant on for more than 24 hours about how georgeous the outside world is (the WHOLE gaming world), but that would be a waste of time, lol. Just do yourself a favor and GET THIS GAME and experience another life!!! The only game in 2006 that could beat okami for game of the year. Expand
  33. MatthewS
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Too big world, too much side quests - not that its bad, but you need at least SOME guidness in games. This was just too chaotic...just go and kill whole town (isnt fun at all).
  34. ChrisSteinberg
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    I enjoy playing Oblivion, it has great mechanics. The story is a little boring (main story line) and things in the environment are too distracting when trying to complete the main quest line. Character aging engine is terrible, simply terrible. The character models are just plain ugly. This can be annoying when you have ugly females in the game hitting on you because you have charmed them.I enjoy playing Oblivion, it has great mechanics. The story is a little boring (main story line) and things in the environment are too distracting when trying to complete the main quest line. Character aging engine is terrible, simply terrible. The character models are just plain ugly. This can be annoying when you have ugly females in the game hitting on you because you have charmed them. This has been a gripe of mine since Elderscrolls 1 Arena. Also, stealing in the game has too few consequences and is too easy to accomplish.

    see more of my reviews at
    http://dkgamestudios.blogspot.com
    Expand
  35. georgeb.
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Awesome. For those who have played RPGs before, this will be the best of the best. But for those who haven't played a RPG then you might be lost. Pecchioni: I don't know why a RPG shouldn't be on a consil, Oblivion works fine on my ps3. John: this game is near 3 years old, the game play is a fast as you want it to be ( RPGs take time, their not fps's) and you can Awesome. For those who have played RPGs before, this will be the best of the best. But for those who haven't played a RPG then you might be lost. Pecchioni: I don't know why a RPG shouldn't be on a consil, Oblivion works fine on my ps3. John: this game is near 3 years old, the game play is a fast as you want it to be ( RPGs take time, their not fps's) and you can attack 99% of every body in the game Pete: why did you rate the game a 1 based on the system, you yourself said it was great Ryencoke: The ps3 loads are faster (even if its a fraction you load alot in the game). Expand
  36. GizmoL.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Wow! Great game. Graphics looks better on the PS3 than the 360 version. The game play is the same except for some missing downloadable content. But that will probably be available later. Finally, a PS3 game that actually look better than the 360's version! PS3 for life!
  37. [Anonymous]
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Don't believe the lies about this version of Oblivion. Even the developers of the game said the graphics on ps3 are a bit better. The game also loads more quickly on ps3 than 360. Other than that the two versions are pretty much the same. Great game regardless.
  38. MorkB.
    Mar 27, 2007
    9
    You are probably confused by the argument with both the Xbox fans and PlayStation 3 fans below. Let me clear it up for you (I own both a DX10 PC, Xbox360, and PS3). Essentially, this is exactly the same as the PC and X360 versions, gameplay wise. I don't like the controls as much, but thats probably because I have had a PS3 for only one month and am not used to the controller. You are probably confused by the argument with both the Xbox fans and PlayStation 3 fans below. Let me clear it up for you (I own both a DX10 PC, Xbox360, and PS3). Essentially, this is exactly the same as the PC and X360 versions, gameplay wise. I don't like the controls as much, but thats probably because I have had a PS3 for only one month and am not used to the controller. Content wise, it comes with Knights of the Nine free, so thats a plus. Where it falls short is in graphics. Stuff farther away in the view distance looks better than in the previous versions, it runs a bit smoother outdoors, and it doesn't have the annoying "loading area" reading. Unfortunately, thats been replaced with just regular old lag when the game loads, so it really isn't clear which is the better trade off. Also, the PS3 using a Geforce 7 Series GPU, can't render AA and HDR (AA = less jaggies, HDR means a more lifelike, colorful, vivid world and bloom aka shinyness) at the same time. The Devs chose to render AA and not HDR, so compared to the other two versions, the game looks grayed out and a bit last gen. Bloom is still done, but the games lack of extra colors really hurts the overall next-gen look of the game and the atmosphere. I also noticed a downgrade in vegetation. Overall, the graphics, thanks to the lack of HDR and the outstanding vegetation make it look like a PS "2.7 or 8" game. But it still rocks. Anyone with a Playstation 3 must get it. If you can live with the fact that your version simply looks great instead of mindblowing, you will have the time of your life! And the fact it comes with Knights of the Nine doesn't hurt! Expand
  39. KyleT.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Having played both versions, I didn't really notice a difference, but seeing them side by side really did it for me. The random PS3 hate present in just about every forum/rating site/social site is a bit over the top and the anonymous reviews given to Oblivion PS3 (even before it was out) show that fact. This game plays incredibly smoothly, the load times are negligible, and the Having played both versions, I didn't really notice a difference, but seeing them side by side really did it for me. The random PS3 hate present in just about every forum/rating site/social site is a bit over the top and the anonymous reviews given to Oblivion PS3 (even before it was out) show that fact. This game plays incredibly smoothly, the load times are negligible, and the scenery is beautiful with very little noticeable pop-in. The draw distance was pushed back quite a bit for the PS3 version and the trees look a lot nicer on the scenery (don't ask my why I noticed). This game is just as incredible as it's other consoled/PC counterparts. It's engrossing, it's long, and if you haven't played Oblivion before, it's just the kind of game your PS3 needs. Only negative I can really think of is the fact that we have no downloadable content as of yet, but from what I understand, the developers are working on it. Expand
  40. KevinC.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    It has some advantages and some disadvantages over the xbox 360 version. Either way who cares, Oblivion is still a must have game for either system and now everybody gets to play this amazing game. I'll admit I am partial to xbox, however competition will bring out the best from both the xbox 360 and the ps3. Also, the more ppl who purchase this game,(regardless of platform) the more It has some advantages and some disadvantages over the xbox 360 version. Either way who cares, Oblivion is still a must have game for either system and now everybody gets to play this amazing game. I'll admit I am partial to xbox, however competition will bring out the best from both the xbox 360 and the ps3. Also, the more ppl who purchase this game,(regardless of platform) the more extra content likely to be released. So xbox fanboys, we still have Halo 3, Mass Effect, Blue Dragon, Lost Odyssey, Gears of War, Fable 2, Forza 2, and PS3 fanboys you guys still have FFXIII, God Of War 3, Heavenly Sword, MGS4. Both lineups seem amazing. Expand
  41. KennyL.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Great game on any platform. The graphics can get a bit choppy at times which is odd considering how powerful the ps3 is.
  42. PS3ROCKS!
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    A brilliant game. graphics are amazing and about 150 hours of playing and soooo much to do! its the best RPG out there.
  43. JackNeglit
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    I see you all have your minds but... For one, The PS3 is a Monster, if you put it next to the XBOX 360, it makes the XBOX look like a mouse... The PS3 Features 8 Processors with 2 "Standby" Processors on the side, waiting to be used if any other processor fails or needs a lift if too much is put in to it. All the Collision, Sound, Graphics, etc... are divided amoungst the 6 usedI see you all have your minds but... For one, The PS3 is a Monster, if you put it next to the XBOX 360, it makes the XBOX look like a mouse... The PS3 Features 8 Processors with 2 "Standby" Processors on the side, waiting to be used if any other processor fails or needs a lift if too much is put in to it. All the Collision, Sound, Graphics, etc... are divided amoungst the 6 used Processors, therfore making it superior in many diffrent prespectives. Also, Blu-Ray IS the Next-Gen Drive for not only games but also movies. "I don't like the fact that XBOX 360, Core and Elite have a HD-DVD, we cant fit as much in it as we can with the PS3 and that limits our creativity with our games" Stats GTA Head Designer Kotaku. Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion, The runs much, much smoother on a PS3 than on any sort of XBOX 360, that's all the proof anyone needs to state that Oblivion on PS3 makes Oblivion on XBOX 360 obsolete. The only reason most people hate PS3 is because its so expensive or because it does not have alot of games... For one, the Blu-Ray retails over $1,200, you get the PS3 with all its features for half that price, clearifing that the Ps3 IS cheaper than Xbox, Xbox 360, Xbox Core, Xbox Elite and even the PS2. To spice things up, "The Ps3 will deffinitly take over in sales and popularity agianst the Xbox 360 by the end of 2008" EGM Game Magazine, "PS3 is without a doubt the next-gen consol of gaming, and it's Blu-Ray is the next-gen for harddrives, period." Gamefromer, "The Xbox is a beast... but the PS3... Thats something of a Monster." EA Head President Don Mattrick... No wonder Sony isnt so worried about the ShitBox... Eh? Expand
  44. SebM.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    One of the most incredible gaming experiences ever. I was sceptical at first but after 30 minutes spent creating a character I was absolutley smitten. If there's one game you buy this year (with a few exceptions) make it this one.
  45. RodB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Oblivion is a must have! I am a shooter fan, but anyone will like this game. Also, I would recommend it for kids! There is some blood and scary stuff, but no sex or language. My daughters, age 10 and 13 love this game! My 10 year-old bought a horse and has been riding it all over Cyrodill. There is so much to do, and the graphics are wonderful.
  46. MichaelT
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is everything a gamer could want, and then more. If you don't like this game, sell you PS3 and live under the overpass.
  47. NehmeG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    First few hours playing the game were horrendous, i remember wanting to give up on the game and throw it on the shelf quickly, but kept on saying that the great reviews of the game can't be possibly that wrong... Now i can't stop playing the game, it's been over a month and i can't stop playing it. barely even started through the main quest, with so many quests that First few hours playing the game were horrendous, i remember wanting to give up on the game and throw it on the shelf quickly, but kept on saying that the great reviews of the game can't be possibly that wrong... Now i can't stop playing the game, it's been over a month and i can't stop playing it. barely even started through the main quest, with so many quests that come up your way, am starting to wonder if it's possible to finish the game in the complete sense of the word!!! Expand
  48. Panda
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    The game is worthy of a 10, but the glitching can be ridiculous. Set in a huge (and gorgeous) world where you can spend hours on end just wandering, there are too many quests to count and you can get your money's worth from this game without even touching the main quest line. With the expansion packs there's never a dearth of things to do and people to kill (get Shivering Isles The game is worthy of a 10, but the glitching can be ridiculous. Set in a huge (and gorgeous) world where you can spend hours on end just wandering, there are too many quests to count and you can get your money's worth from this game without even touching the main quest line. With the expansion packs there's never a dearth of things to do and people to kill (get Shivering Isles dammit!), and even without them... well, I hope you don't mind game addiction. A must-have for any console (PC modding is fun, though) if you're a fan of, well, awesomeness. Expand
  49. Maurice
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is a must have! It's fun, inmersive, beautiful, epic, balanced.Qne of the rare games you'll be playinh over 100-200 hours.I never get tired of playing it.
  50. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    WOW! Only get this game if you wish to commit social suicide because you won't see your friends and family for months on end while you are engrossed in this rich detailed world.
  51. Ostaf
    Oct 8, 2009
    8
    This is probably my favorite game ever made. The graphics kind of suck (people suck environment awesome) There is soooooo much to do. I have put in well over 100 hours and I haven't even scratched the surface. This is what I like in a game....get my moneys worth. If you don't like medieval fantasy type games then don't get this. the only people that I know that don't This is probably my favorite game ever made. The graphics kind of suck (people suck environment awesome) There is soooooo much to do. I have put in well over 100 hours and I haven't even scratched the surface. This is what I like in a game....get my moneys worth. If you don't like medieval fantasy type games then don't get this. the only people that I know that don't like this game are people that don't like this type of game. Expand
  52. Marc
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    As much as I love this game it still has some annoying faults that bring the overall rating down. For instance the game has a vast array of characters but the majority of them all have the same voice and look the same. Sometimes you will find that a quest is ruined due to glitches in the game play (this seems very common in certain quests such as 'Spring Heeled Jack') and that As much as I love this game it still has some annoying faults that bring the overall rating down. For instance the game has a vast array of characters but the majority of them all have the same voice and look the same. Sometimes you will find that a quest is ruined due to glitches in the game play (this seems very common in certain quests such as 'Spring Heeled Jack') and that line of quests becomes unplayable unless you're willing to start over. However, it is engrossing and will provide countless hours of game play and many late nights. Expand
  53. AndrewL.
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    The reason i give this game a 10 isn't because it was released as an AMAZING game, but the way bethesda made it left it 100% open for player modding. I see alot of people saying that the graphics suck... well, if you own the game for PC and have a sold system, download Quarl's Texture Pack 3 and some mods that reduce tilling effects and bam, HD textures, HD distant land/objects. The reason i give this game a 10 isn't because it was released as an AMAZING game, but the way bethesda made it left it 100% open for player modding. I see alot of people saying that the graphics suck... well, if you own the game for PC and have a sold system, download Quarl's Texture Pack 3 and some mods that reduce tilling effects and bam, HD textures, HD distant land/objects. Think the game doesnt feel "foresty" enough? download enhanced vegetation, suddenly Tamriel feels absolutely real. And, for those wanting action, download Deadly Reflexes. The mod allows for a whole new style of gameplay. Shield bashing, kick-downs, finishing stabs, cutting limbs off, cutting people in half, decapitation, etc. This mod combined with Francesco's Leveled Creatures and Items, which adds more variety to npcs (bandits wont all be godly at lvl 20, some will still be in iron armor, some in steel, etc) AND more variety to the wildlife you run into, including around 100 BRAND NEW creatures/enemies for you to fight, and with a higher spawn rate as well (instead of one bandit/minotaur, you'll run into 2-5), which is fine since deadly reflexes makes all weapons and monsters hit 250% harder, so while things die in 2 hits, you die in about 4... fast enough action for you? This game was made to be modded, so i suggest buying the PC version and giving it another go. This game is more than worth it's price. I bought this game 3 or so years ago, and i'm still playing it. Collapse
  54. JohnD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    One of the rare games you'll be playing over 100 - 200 hours... It's fun, immersive, beatiful, epic, balanced and the list goes on.. If you like RPGs, this is for you, but be warned... It consumes you, and all your free time. Kiss your friends good bye, when you start playing this masterpiece.
  55. BrianP.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing game. Beautiful visuals, great gameplay, wonderful story. My runner up (to FF7) for best RPG of all time!
  56. AnonymousMC
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    I have not played the ps3 version, but as an owner of the 360 version with over 100 hours in it, i have to recommend you buy it, as its the best singleplayer rpg ever. Oh yeah, and the ps3 fanboys are retards in this particular case. They are the exact same game. The only difference is the very, very, very subtle graphical differences. Load times are also about 15% faster.
  57. Immune
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    An amazing game with stunning graphics and gameplay which lasts for around 150 hours. This should definitely be bought by all PS3 owners who enjoy role playing games.
  58. johnm
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    I played 75 hours of it and for some strange reason liked it. If you do not like RPGs you will not like this game. Load times account for the 9 rating instead of a 10.
  59. ronaldocastanheiro
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    OBLIVION IS A AWESOME GAME ANYBODY WHO SAYS THIS GAME SUCKS IS ACOMPLETE IDIOT YOU CAN DO ALMOST ANYTHING IN THIS GAME IT IS LIKE REAL LIFE BUT BACK IN THE 30S HERES A TIP WHEN STARTING A NEW GAME PICK AN ORG TAKE THIS AS AN EXAMPLE THE ARENA GRAND CHAMPION I AM A FIGHTERS GUILDMASTER AN ASSOCIATE OF THE ARCANE UNIVERSITY AND IF YOU GET THE EXPANSION I KILLED THE GATE KEEPER
  60. Satyr
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game on both the pc and next gen consoles that I have ever had the grace to play. Oblivion is a game that does not play by the rules- so when I hear individuals commenting on how "it isn't a real rpg based on the fact that it is not turn based" or anything to that regard, you have to understand the the term "RPG" is something I do not feel Oblivion qualifies as. It is Easily the best game on both the pc and next gen consoles that I have ever had the grace to play. Oblivion is a game that does not play by the rules- so when I hear individuals commenting on how "it isn't a real rpg based on the fact that it is not turn based" or anything to that regard, you have to understand the the term "RPG" is something I do not feel Oblivion qualifies as. It is something far closer to a 2nd world extending simulator. Sure, it's not "technically there yet" and there will always be bugs galore- but in the end, Bethesda's gift ot us is nothing more than revolutionary. It is the 1st, and best of it's kind; and if you give it the time- it WILL amaze you. (the average learning slope is usually a steep 3-6 hours)but in a game where you can do virtually anything, that time is barely anything. Expand
  61. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    This is what games should aspire to be. Oblivion is a masterpiece when you consider that the game is able to be played by virutually your own imagination. One has to remember that RPG stands for Role Playing Game and this game takes that concept to heart. Want to be a thief, no problem the game allows you to be a thief. Want to be a bad ass Mage, no problem. Want to summon stuff and watchThis is what games should aspire to be. Oblivion is a masterpiece when you consider that the game is able to be played by virutually your own imagination. One has to remember that RPG stands for Role Playing Game and this game takes that concept to heart. Want to be a thief, no problem the game allows you to be a thief. Want to be a bad ass Mage, no problem. Want to summon stuff and watch the chaos, no problem. Just want to walk around and do whatever comes to mind. No problem. This is what i want to stress most about oblivion if you spend some time with the game you can play exactly as you want and there is so much going on within the world (but you have to search to find it). Another thing i want to point out about the game is it has gameplay options that allow you to slide the difficulty anywhere you like at any time. There really has been a limitless ability to allow you to play anyway you prefer and at any difficulty you prefer. The only reason I can find to knock a point off this game despite being so large is that it contains still unfixed glitches and a few weird things (like activating a "night eye" spell with intentions to make you see in the dark- in the light can make you seem to be invisible) -which can break immersion or just tick you off for all the hours you put in. But really this games goes above and beyond providing gamers their monies worth no one should rate this under 8 at worse. Expand
  62. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    The standard for sprawling sandbox games since Daggerfall, Bethesda manages another fantastic game packed with hundreds of hours of content. From senseless slaughter to daring theft to epic heroism, you are truly free to carve your own satisfying path through the rich environs of Cyrodiil.
  63. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    An amazing, insanely rich game that fully immerses you. The graphics (for their time), soundtrack, gameplay, depth, and replayability are all top-notch. My only complaints with TES IV is the great-but-not excellent story, the leveling system, the infamously clunky Bethesda animations, and the lack of variety in voice actors. These, however, are hardly problems when compared to theAn amazing, insanely rich game that fully immerses you. The graphics (for their time), soundtrack, gameplay, depth, and replayability are all top-notch. My only complaints with TES IV is the great-but-not excellent story, the leveling system, the infamously clunky Bethesda animations, and the lack of variety in voice actors. These, however, are hardly problems when compared to the multitude of things to do and have fun doing in Oblivion. Cities, houses, weapons, quests, horses; you name it, Oblivion has it. The freedom to do whatever you want in the manner you want is unparalleled in comparison to today's lineup of games. Expand
  64. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    You've been trawling through dark, dank sewers for about half an hour. You've created a character which suits you perfectly. You're heading through a long tunnel. There's a light at the end. A gate. You approach the gate, confirm your character is how you want, then open it. Bright, dazzling sunshine greets your eyes. You look around. Trees upon trees for miles. An expansive lake.You've been trawling through dark, dank sewers for about half an hour. You've created a character which suits you perfectly. You're heading through a long tunnel. There's a light at the end. A gate. You approach the gate, confirm your character is how you want, then open it. Bright, dazzling sunshine greets your eyes. You look around. Trees upon trees for miles. An expansive lake. Mountains in the distance, covered in snow. And it's all there to explore. In terms of sheer scale, no game compares to Oblivion. The graphics are beyond-words-gorgeous. Occasional glitches and bugs (to be expected with a world this huge) are the only thing which prevent this game from being absolute perfection. 97%. Expand
  65. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I sank more hours into Oblivion than any other game I have ever played. I loved this game. From start to finish and beyond, it was an immeasurable joy to play. The sense of exploration and adventure was second to none. Even though Oblivion is now an old game and it's sequel Skyrim is knocking about, it still holds up really well and is eminently playable. In fact, I'd go as far as to sayI sank more hours into Oblivion than any other game I have ever played. I loved this game. From start to finish and beyond, it was an immeasurable joy to play. The sense of exploration and adventure was second to none. Even though Oblivion is now an old game and it's sequel Skyrim is knocking about, it still holds up really well and is eminently playable. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that despite Skyrim's refinements and graphical prowess, Oblivion still stands proud as it's equal. Expand
  66. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    TES IV: Oblivion is one of the greatest games ever made. It's official plug-in, Knights of the Nine, and the large expansion, The Shivering Isles, are both great and come with the Game of the Year Edition of Oblivion. The PS3 version's great, X-Box 360 version's slightly better, because you can buy official plug-ins from X-Box Live, and there's no doubt that the PC version is the best fromTES IV: Oblivion is one of the greatest games ever made. It's official plug-in, Knights of the Nine, and the large expansion, The Shivering Isles, are both great and come with the Game of the Year Edition of Oblivion. The PS3 version's great, X-Box 360 version's slightly better, because you can buy official plug-ins from X-Box Live, and there's no doubt that the PC version is the best from the three, because you can buy the plug-ins, the loading times are much faster (depending on you computer, of course), and you can download the unofficial plug-ins and mods, that make the game dynamics better and more realistic. Now to the game itself. One of the bad sides of the game comes up after few hours of playing: the voice acting is pretty lame. The game has only 14 voice actors, and personally, I think that only two of them are actually good. Although you can get used to that. The storyline however kicks ass, once you get the hang of it. At the beginning of the game you can create your own character, from the name to the hairstyle. After you complete the Tutorial you can do what ever you want to do! You can continue the storyline or go your own way by completing side-quests, exploring dungeons, etc. The AI is kinda awkward, however. I myself once found a NPC swimming in middle of a lake, hundreds of miles away from the city she was suppose to be in. The character design is kinda strange too. For example, the women almost look like men. Personally, I think this is one of the best games I've ever plaid (and I have plaid many games), and is a must-have for every fantasy RPG -fan. If you're planning to buy this game, a little tip: buy the Game of the Year Edition! Expand
  67. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Graphics/Performance(10/10): Oblivion features vast, believable wilderness with good graphics for 2007. The draw distance on some objects can break immersion, but this is necessary as the view distance is at least a couple miles. Unfortunately, due to the above sometimes outdoor performance is less than perfect, but never unplayable. Animations are stiff and uninspired in third personGraphics/Performance(10/10): Oblivion features vast, believable wilderness with good graphics for 2007. The draw distance on some objects can break immersion, but this is necessary as the view distance is at least a couple miles. Unfortunately, due to the above sometimes outdoor performance is less than perfect, but never unplayable. Animations are stiff and uninspired in third person mode. All races share the exact same animations. Loading screens range from seconds to half a minute.

    Singleplayer(10/10): Great length. You can literally play for days without even touching the main story line after the beginning.

    Multiplayer(N/A): N/A

    Gameplay(9/10): You can pretty much do anything you want to in Oblivion. If you want to run around and kill wildlife, you can. If you want to be a thief and spend your time stealing and avoiding the guards, you can. You can make your character into a warrior and face everything head on, a stealthy rouge and attack from the shadows, a mage and fight with magic and creatures, or any combination of the above. However, a lot of the NPC interaction is very cheesy. You can save an NPCâ
    Expand
  68. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This must be the best game I have ever played. The graphics, are amazing and there is simply so much to do. There must be over 150 side-quests and the story is interesting but its not very long. 10
  69. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Way ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and theWay ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and the character AI can get a little annoying. However, even with these issues, I still rate this game a 10. Expand
  70. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game is the benchmark for modern open-world RPGs. The character customisation is deep, there are so many stats and options to toy with, and Cyrodiil is massive. At the time of release, this was just ground-breaking. The amount of land to cover and dungeons to explore is mind-numbing. Every NPC is interactable with a full voice-over, and every house is enterable. The game easily eatsThis game is the benchmark for modern open-world RPGs. The character customisation is deep, there are so many stats and options to toy with, and Cyrodiil is massive. At the time of release, this was just ground-breaking. The amount of land to cover and dungeons to explore is mind-numbing. Every NPC is interactable with a full voice-over, and every house is enterable. The game easily eats up hundreds of hours of time and still holds up as one of the best RPGs today.

    Oblivion isn't without its faults though. The voice casting for every character is done by no more than five voice actors and the character models are frankly quite ugly, but the amount of stuff to do outshines these aspects greatly. This game is a classic and I implore you to pick it up now.
    Expand
  71. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Big and beautiful world with an nice OST. I like how the NPC´s have all there own daily routine. The only minus this game has is the battle system, its shallow. Still a defining RPG.
  72. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    I confess to playing every mission and every side mission and every other damn piece of content I could find. Oblivion was by turns compelling and maddening. The complete game world, gorgeous landscapes, dynamic difficulty matching, seamless side-quest integration, and thorough attention to storyline and script places it head and shoulders above other RPGs in conception and gameplay. AndI confess to playing every mission and every side mission and every other damn piece of content I could find. Oblivion was by turns compelling and maddening. The complete game world, gorgeous landscapes, dynamic difficulty matching, seamless side-quest integration, and thorough attention to storyline and script places it head and shoulders above other RPGs in conception and gameplay. And yet, in execution, some horrible blunders mar the experience: truly awful voice acting, long load times, and an unfortunate tendency to crash at the most immersion-destroying moments. Still, I've played the whole thing, so Oblivion had enough "X-factor" to overcome the glaring defects. Let's hope Skyrim has better QA and voice acting! Expand
  73. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    The elder scrolls series is by far one of the richest and most engrossing franchises around the sheer volume of content in this game is overwhelming I spent a fair few months of my life in this game just developing my own character and exploring a massive new world this is a game to play if you really want a game in which you can just get lost in the environment, the characters, theThe elder scrolls series is by far one of the richest and most engrossing franchises around the sheer volume of content in this game is overwhelming I spent a fair few months of my life in this game just developing my own character and exploring a massive new world this is a game to play if you really want a game in which you can just get lost in the environment, the characters, the enemies and the storyline make this by far the best RPG game out there. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has got very big shoes to fill I have high hopes that it will not just fill those shoes but will set the standard for all RPG games for the future. Long live The Elder Scrolls. Expand
  74. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Probably the best fantasy-world simulation ever made. The size and detail put into the world are jaw-dropping and I personally played over 200 hours without touching the main quest. I cant even put into a full review my thoughts, but I've started new characters countless times and am still playing it 4 years after release.

    If you like fantasy, play this game.
  75. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    When I discovered Oblivion in 2007 it instantly became one of my favourite games, and still is today. Oblivion was the first game I had ever played where I had the freedom to go anywhere in the world I wanted to, talk to every NPC and ignore the main quest entirely to wander halfway across the province of Cyrodiil.

    On top of the main quest there are several guild questlines to complete
    When I discovered Oblivion in 2007 it instantly became one of my favourite games, and still is today. Oblivion was the first game I had ever played where I had the freedom to go anywhere in the world I wanted to, talk to every NPC and ignore the main quest entirely to wander halfway across the province of Cyrodiil.

    On top of the main quest there are several guild questlines to complete as well. The Fighters Guild, Mages Guild, Thieves Guild, Dark Brotherhood and the Arena all have long questlines to keep players busy, and some are arguably better than the main quest, although the MQ is quite good as well.

    The only downside is that other than Knights of the Nine and the Shivering Isles, the rest of the DLC for Oblivion isn't available for the PS3. Hopefully that'll be fixed one day.
    Expand
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's a rare moment, but once in a decade it happens. Once in a decade there comes a game that makes the real world sound dull, sucks you in it's vast, detailed and atmospheric world for hundreds of hours.
    This is THE game from the last decade, a game you don't want to miss for all it's worth.
  77. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Personally I think it's superior to Skyrim. It's such a flawless game packed with things to do, and on top of that manages to be utterly charming. It's dark in parts but is full of humour and great moments. The possibilities are endless and it's probably the best game I've ever played.
  78. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    This is a great game that sadly could not win me over completely. On the good side as always the game world is huge (= tons of exploration), the graphic and soundtrack are really good and the story and side quest are also well done. On the negative side the character faces look really strange and sometimes ugly in comparison with other games, the talking / interaction system is random,This is a great game that sadly could not win me over completely. On the good side as always the game world is huge (= tons of exploration), the graphic and soundtrack are really good and the story and side quest are also well done. On the negative side the character faces look really strange and sometimes ugly in comparison with other games, the talking / interaction system is random, your hero is not the savior / main hero of the game like in Morrowind and Skyrim and my heaviest complaint is that the game punishes you for leveling up. Your character / avatar can become weaker compared to your enemies when you gain levels. Overall Morrowind and Skyrim are the superior games. Expand
  79. Dec 30, 2014
    10
    Oblivion for me is open world games in they're prime with other tiles such as fallout 3/New Vegas Assassin's creed 2 Morrowind and Red dead redemption the game is filled with a huge world to explore and thousands
    of quests Dark brotherhood being my favourite as for the main quest its great but the oblivion gates make it drag on quite a bit
  80. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    This is maybe the best chapter in the saga of The Elder Scrolls. Temporally it was the first I've played, shortly after its release, and even today I found pleasure in playing it further.

    I will be clear from the beginning: the story of Oblivion is the best of the saga. I loved Cyrodiil, I loved the era in which it takes place and its setting. I loved the story steeped in intrigue,
    This is maybe the best chapter in the saga of The Elder Scrolls. Temporally it was the first I've played, shortly after its release, and even today I found pleasure in playing it further.

    I will be clear from the beginning: the story of Oblivion is the best of the saga. I loved Cyrodiil, I loved the era in which it takes place and its setting. I loved the story steeped in intrigue, conspiracies, murders, and all the magic mix of fantasy inspired by the stories of Tolkien, even if the game manages to maintain its own content and its own original form so finding a plot on his own. The ending of the plot is beautiful, and leaves you a glimmer of hope despite the dark times that will accompany the empire in the following years. Really great.

    The gameplay of Oblivion is the perfection achieved in the saga, as it is not complexed and indecent as the one of Morrowind, but at the same time is not as simple and easy as the one of Skyrim. The step up from Morrowind was the addition of teleports, a combat system finally realistic and well done, the diary of the missions has been improved and now finally the objectives are indicated on the map. The step forward from the previous chapter, it was surprising and Oblivion represent the maturity that much expect, without sacrificing difficulty and challenge. The rest is the gameplay that The Elder Scrolls has accustomed us: an extended and free roaming map, so much choice between the races of the characters and a good editor to edit them, so many skills to choose from and many side quests. There is everything we knew, we needed and it is improved. If I had to say a lack of Oblivion I would say that, unlike Skyrim and Morrowind, is rather dispersive. When exiting the sewers at the beginning of the game, literally you don't know and you don't understand what to do, where to go. This can be an advantage, because it makes the sense of freedom really large, but also a failure because confuses the player.

    Graphically, Oblivion was magnificent at the time, and still it is. The artistic level reached by Bethesda is extraordinary: the fortresses, the mountains, the plains, the cities, the moons of Nirn, everything is very well made. Literally represents the fantasy genre, in its highest purity. I liked also the sound component, and once again Jeremy Soule has created a great soundtrack.

    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, is not only the most beautiful chapter in the saga, but it is also an essential piece of history, a legacy of the rpg games, which every good fan of this kind of games should boast of having played.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.