User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 517

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game
    that set the standards for RPG's that followed. There's literally 100's of hours of content, along with many dungeons and caves to explore. For people saying that all the caves look the same: Well, so do the ones in real life, and you wouldn't have known anyways because you're spending your whole life on your 360 trying to prestiege. Also, the terrain is varied, unlike what people have said before. There are mountains, snow capped mountains, forests, valleys, plains, wastelands, and even swamps. This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content. This version in particular has the best loading times and graphics improvements. Bethesda is an amazing game maker and completely blew me off track with this game. This game actually got me through the pains i had in real life, and kept me occupied during frustrating times. I salute this game and all who have made it. If you haven't played this game, go play it. Don't listen to all these fanboy haters that are mad because the PS3 version is more smooth. Overall, definately the #1 game on my list. Good luck. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you want to follow the main story line you can, or if you'd like to do loads of side quests you can or if you just want to wander around and do whatever the heck you like, you can. The world they've created is the best and most realistic to date I've ever seen in a video game with the trees, lakes, fields and landscape wonderful in places. Often during the game I would literally just stop for a while to look at a beautiful sunset as I just simply couldn't ignore it. The music and sound effects are all spot on and really help you to feel immersed in the world you're in and you can get so involved in your travels in Cyrodil that you are reluctant to come back to the real world! I enjoyed both the main story and the various side quests and I loved they way you could buy your own houses and fill them full of treasures you've found in your explorations. The inventory although fairly complex is set up in a way that's easy to use and also checking out your spells and talents and keeping a tab on that is simple enough. The voice acting is also well done and I love the way you can listen in on people chatting as you're passing. I also love how after you have completed certain parts of the game people will actually comment on it when they see you walk by. The only slight flaws with this game I found were a few bugs in places and some of the caves look a bit similar so could have done with a few changes here and there to make them more individual but all the things that are great about this game far, far outweigh the flaws. Overall I give the game 9.8 but seeing as I have to put an even number, I'll say ten. Keep up the good work Bethesda, long may the Elder Scrolls continue. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done, and there was still some small quests left over. If you don't own this game, you must. Stop what you're doing and go buy it, right now. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    i love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored the graphics arent the best but that is because of the sheer size of the world you play in and can easily be forgivin and i can't wait for Skyrim to come out in november Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    This game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as you work up into the master skill, you can knock over, or even paralyze others to give yourself an advantage in combat.
    Secondly, The people are interesting and have a personality (yes it's sometimes inconsistent when you click rumors they speak like normal people which ruins some of the crazy personalities of some people, and aside from that it is pretty nice to see people talk to each other and even travel from city to city.
    It isn't perfect, especially compared to the PC and Xbox 360, you can't get a lot of the DLC, some of the quests are buggy as sh*t, especially being cured of vampirism. I won't spoil what happens though. anyways, other than that, I really like it
    Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    An amazing, insanely rich game that fully immerses you. The graphics (for their time), soundtrack, gameplay, depth, and replayability are all top-notch. My only complaints with TES IV is the great-but-not excellent story, the leveling system, the infamously clunky Bethesda animations, and the lack of variety in voice actors. These, however, are hardly problems when compared to the multitude of things to do and have fun doing in Oblivion. Cities, houses, weapons, quests, horses; you name it, Oblivion has it. The freedom to do whatever you want in the manner you want is unparalleled in comparison to today's lineup of games. Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    You've been trawling through dark, dank sewers for about half an hour. You've created a character which suits you perfectly. You're heading through a long tunnel. There's a light at the end. A gate. You approach the gate, confirm your character is how you want, then open it. Bright, dazzling sunshine greets your eyes. You look around. Trees upon trees for miles. An expansive lake. Mountains in the distance, covered in snow. And it's all there to explore. In terms of sheer scale, no game compares to Oblivion. The graphics are beyond-words-gorgeous. Occasional glitches and bugs (to be expected with a world this huge) are the only thing which prevent this game from being absolute perfection. 97%. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Roll playing games are not my favorite genre in gaming but I did find this one to be one of the most ambitious offerings I'd ever taken on. The scope and scale of this game is overwhelming. 99% of the game goes off without a hitch but there was one key bug that really impacted my game (the "cure vampirism" quest). Other than that the ability to customize your character, what seems like a nearly unlimited number of quests and side quests, and a world that is so large it kept me engaged as long as any game I can remember. I'd give it a 96 out of 100 it it weren't for the "bug" that really impacted the game for a while. I still give it a 93 out of 100 all things considered and the best RPG game I ever played. Can't wait for TES 5!!! Expand
  10. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Graphics/Performance(10/10): Oblivion features vast, believable wilderness with good graphics for 2007. The draw distance on some objects can break immersion, but this is necessary as the view distance is at least a couple miles. Unfortunately, due to the above sometimes outdoor performance is less than perfect, but never unplayable. Animations are stiff and uninspired in third person mode. All races share the exact same animations. Loading screens range from seconds to half a minute.

    Singleplayer(10/10): Great length. You can literally play for days without even touching the main story line after the beginning.

    Multiplayer(N/A): N/A

    Gameplay(9/10): You can pretty much do anything you want to in Oblivion. If you want to run around and kill wildlife, you can. If you want to be a thief and spend your time stealing and avoiding the guards, you can. You can make your character into a warrior and face everything head on, a stealthy rouge and attack from the shadows, a mage and fight with magic and creatures, or any combination of the above. However, a lot of the NPC interaction is very cheesy. You can save an NPCâ
    Expand
  11. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This must be the best game I have ever played. The graphics, are amazing and there is simply so much to do. There must be over 150 side-quests and the story is interesting but its not very long. 10
  12. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people and locations. Not only can you find a quest round every corner but you can shape who you are in terms of skills and abilities and interact with the hundreds of people whether they are merchants or beggars. The landscape is incredibly expansive, ranging from snow capped mountains to sandstone caverns. Yes the graphics are not state of the art but you must remember that it was made in 2007, a time where the quality and complexity of computer graphics and computers for that matter was half of that of the present day. I highly recommend this ingenious game which will guarantee you hundreds of hours of a fulfilling gaming experience. Expand
  13. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    TESIV Oblivion is definitely the greatest open-world RPG game out there to date. If you're really into RPGs, this game will likely take over 100 hours of immersive gameplay. There are tons to do in this game outside the main quest, you could join the many guilds (eg. Mage guild, fighter guild etc), be a champion gladiator, a thief/burglar, treasure hunting, randomly punching people in the face if you don't like how they look at you, and about a hundred other sidequests. Character customisation is fun, you can choose different races, your speciality, your attire, weapons etc. You'll also be spending a good amount of time exploring the cities, caves, and wilderness across Cyrodiil. The landscape is vast, detailed and beautiful to look at. And on top of all this, if you can't get enough of this game, the Shivering Isle expansion is a must get. Therefore, I suggest to any PS3 gamers to get the Game of the Year Edition because it includes both Knights of the Nine and Shivering Isle expansion in the game for the same price. They're all very good expansions. Anyway, there are some flaws, nothing major but are present nonetheless. Character creation is poor, you can never make a good looking male..... good thing you get to put a helmet on. There are limited character animation, and therefore fights may look less epic. NPCs have no emotions, or at least do not express them on their faces, will feel very awkward during conversations when they are scared but giving you the blank face at the same time. And they will stand very still while the background pauses during conversations. There are also no trophy support for the PS3 version. But all in all, I've got to say despite all these flaws, this game is excellent (keeping in mind what year this game was produced). Therefore, I give Oblivion a 10 out 10! Expand
  14. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    The elder scrolls series is by far one of the richest and most engrossing franchises around the sheer volume of content in this game is overwhelming I spent a fair few months of my life in this game just developing my own character and exploring a massive new world this is a game to play if you really want a game in which you can just get lost in the environment, the characters, the enemies and the storyline make this by far the best RPG game out there. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has got very big shoes to fill I have high hopes that it will not just fill those shoes but will set the standard for all RPG games for the future. Long live The Elder Scrolls. Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Probably the best fantasy-world simulation ever made. The size and detail put into the world are jaw-dropping and I personally played over 200 hours without touching the main quest. I cant even put into a full review my thoughts, but I've started new characters countless times and am still playing it 4 years after release.

    If you like fantasy, play this game.
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's a rare moment, but once in a decade it happens. Once in a decade there comes a game that makes the real world sound dull, sucks you in it's vast, detailed and atmospheric world for hundreds of hours.
    This is THE game from the last decade, a game you don't want to miss for all it's worth.
  17. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    This is what games should aspire to be. Oblivion is a masterpiece when you consider that the game is able to be played by virutually your own imagination. One has to remember that RPG stands for Role Playing Game and this game takes that concept to heart. Want to be a thief, no problem the game allows you to be a thief. Want to be a bad ass Mage, no problem. Want to summon stuff and watch the chaos, no problem. Just want to walk around and do whatever comes to mind. No problem. This is what i want to stress most about oblivion if you spend some time with the game you can play exactly as you want and there is so much going on within the world (but you have to search to find it). Another thing i want to point out about the game is it has gameplay options that allow you to slide the difficulty anywhere you like at any time. There really has been a limitless ability to allow you to play anyway you prefer and at any difficulty you prefer. The only reason I can find to knock a point off this game despite being so large is that it contains still unfixed glitches and a few weird things (like activating a "night eye" spell with intentions to make you see in the dark- in the light can make you seem to be invisible) -which can break immersion or just tick you off for all the hours you put in. But really this games goes above and beyond providing gamers their monies worth no one should rate this under 8 at worse. Expand
  18. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  19. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I sank more hours into Oblivion than any other game I have ever played. I loved this game. From start to finish and beyond, it was an immeasurable joy to play. The sense of exploration and adventure was second to none. Even though Oblivion is now an old game and it's sequel Skyrim is knocking about, it still holds up really well and is eminently playable. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that despite Skyrim's refinements and graphical prowess, Oblivion still stands proud as it's equal. Expand
  20. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Way ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and the character AI can get a little annoying. However, even with these issues, I still rate this game a 10. Expand
  21. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Personally I think it's superior to Skyrim. It's such a flawless game packed with things to do, and on top of that manages to be utterly charming. It's dark in parts but is full of humour and great moments. The possibilities are endless and it's probably the best game I've ever played.
  22. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    When I discovered Oblivion in 2007 it instantly became one of my favourite games, and still is today. Oblivion was the first game I had ever played where I had the freedom to go anywhere in the world I wanted to, talk to every NPC and ignore the main quest entirely to wander halfway across the province of Cyrodiil.

    On top of the main quest there are several guild questlines to complete
    as well. The Fighters Guild, Mages Guild, Thieves Guild, Dark Brotherhood and the Arena all have long questlines to keep players busy, and some are arguably better than the main quest, although the MQ is quite good as well.

    The only downside is that other than Knights of the Nine and the Shivering Isles, the rest of the DLC for Oblivion isn't available for the PS3. Hopefully that'll be fixed one day.
    Expand
  23. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game is the benchmark for modern open-world RPGs. The character customisation is deep, there are so many stats and options to toy with, and Cyrodiil is massive. At the time of release, this was just ground-breaking. The amount of land to cover and dungeons to explore is mind-numbing. Every NPC is interactable with a full voice-over, and every house is enterable. The game easily eats up hundreds of hours of time and still holds up as one of the best RPGs today.

    Oblivion isn't without its faults though. The voice casting for every character is done by no more than five voice actors and the character models are frankly quite ugly, but the amount of stuff to do outshines these aspects greatly. This game is a classic and I implore you to pick it up now.
    Expand
  24. dpc
    Jun 3, 2013
    10
    1st generation graphics? Nothing to do? Whether or not you like the game is your call, but to give it a 0 or 1 is ludicrous. There is simply too much excellence involved in the production of the game to "bomb" it. The music alone should elevate a hater's score to 8. All these years later, Oblivion is still a masterpiece, incredible to play and utterly spectacular to get lost in.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.