User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 546

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2015
    5
    Well this is a disappointing game.The graphics were not that bad and the voice acting was okay but the story,the gameplay and the controls were horrible.Oblivion and Skyrim are definitely not my kind of game.
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    7
    This is one of the best RPGs out there, let's get that out of the way. It's like Fallout but with a medieval fantasy setting. If you're a fan of exploration, and you've got a strong curiosity, this is going to be an unforgettable experience. If you've played Skyrim, you already know how much detail is put into the world. The character customization is very similar to traditional RPGs, butThis is one of the best RPGs out there, let's get that out of the way. It's like Fallout but with a medieval fantasy setting. If you're a fan of exploration, and you've got a strong curiosity, this is going to be an unforgettable experience. If you've played Skyrim, you already know how much detail is put into the world. The character customization is very similar to traditional RPGs, but the character development system allows you to make him unique from anything else.

    There are some problems, mainly the level scaling system, which is utter garbage, and has the potential to ruin your experience. The mechanics are quite complex, so if you're new to RPGs, this might not be the right game for you. And you can really see that the game hasn't aged well just by looking at the visuals.
    Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    5
    Ah ah ... I ve just killed this big boss and I am going to open the chest that He was defending. The chest contains a wonderful magic sword that I will immediately equip. I should feel stronger but I don't ... Because the entire world levels up automatically !!! From the beginning you can go anywhere, you can beat anyone ! Playing good or clever is not rewarding.

    Graphics are stunning.
    Ah ah ... I ve just killed this big boss and I am going to open the chest that He was defending. The chest contains a wonderful magic sword that I will immediately equip. I should feel stronger but I don't ... Because the entire world levels up automatically !!! From the beginning you can go anywhere, you can beat anyone ! Playing good or clever is not rewarding.

    Graphics are stunning. Music is nice. The management of your equipment and spells is painful. Extremely painful. Magic offers destruction spells based on fire, ice or shock. I played the entire game using fire balls. I would expect them to be inefficient against specific monster classes ... Nope they work against all enemies. Alchemy is boring like hell.

    I loved Morrowind because it was rewarding. I had to be smart, I had to find the best armor and I had to level up in order to be able to beat this big monster barring the entry of this big castle that I wanted to explore since weeks. I am so disappointed by Oblivion. It could have been such a wonderful game if the editor' strategy was not to make it easy and accessible for everyone.
    Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 7 out of 10, Controls: 5 out of 10, Difficulty: 8 out of 10, Length: 10 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    A sprawling, epic role-playing game that is as vast as it is dense. You can play this game dozens of times and still find new things to do. The world feels ancient and lived-in and the mythology surrounding the characters and events have a fantasy vibe that doesn't feel like a simple Tolkien rip-off - a rare thing, indeed.

    "Oblivion" isn't perfect, though. Some of the character
    A sprawling, epic role-playing game that is as vast as it is dense. You can play this game dozens of times and still find new things to do. The world feels ancient and lived-in and the mythology surrounding the characters and events have a fantasy vibe that doesn't feel like a simple Tolkien rip-off - a rare thing, indeed.

    "Oblivion" isn't perfect, though. Some of the character attributes are utterly useless and the menus are incredibly cumbersome. Also distracting is the voice work. Aside from important characters played by Patrick Stewart, Sean Bean, and Terrence Stamp, who do excellent work, it seems like the same 6 or 7 voice actors play ALL the other roles. Problem is, they don't even bother changing up their deliveries from character to character, and there are literaly hundreds of speaking parts in this thing. The result is that this very imprtant aspect of the game feels cheap.

    In all, though, "Oblivion" is a really fun and immersive ride that you can return to for a long time.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    5
    So many GLITCHES!!, I would give this game a 10 if those lazy bastards over at bethesda would have put out a patch to fix it..
    Content wise this is a ground breaking game for consoles, and with so much you can expect some glitches and to some point accept it, but glitches that literally screw the entire game, that's to much, get your **** together bethesda!..
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    The same great game from the PC, but with points off because the official add-ons were never released for PS3. I actually prefer the control scheme on PlayStation, but the slicker interface is not worth the loss of FrostCrag Spire and all of my other additional content. I'm not sure what they were thinking releasing them for PC & 360 while skipping over PS3, but the lack of the additionalThe same great game from the PC, but with points off because the official add-ons were never released for PS3. I actually prefer the control scheme on PlayStation, but the slicker interface is not worth the loss of FrostCrag Spire and all of my other additional content. I'm not sure what they were thinking releasing them for PC & 360 while skipping over PS3, but the lack of the additional content does hurt the game for this platform. Expand
  8. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    Oblivion disappointed me. I bought it in 2010 and I was really looking forward to playing it. When I put the disc in my PS3 I was happy, I thought this game was going to be really good. I made my character and I started the story. After I got out of the sewer, I did my first quest, after that I was bored. I got the GOTY edition, so I decided to go over to the strange gate that opened and IOblivion disappointed me. I bought it in 2010 and I was really looking forward to playing it. When I put the disc in my PS3 I was happy, I thought this game was going to be really good. I made my character and I started the story. After I got out of the sewer, I did my first quest, after that I was bored. I got the GOTY edition, so I decided to go over to the strange gate that opened and I started the Shivering Isles expansion. I was still bored. Does this mean that Oblivion was a bad game? No. I just wasn't playing it right. But when I finally realised that It was an open-world RPG I decided to play it as one. So after not playing for months, I started the game and started exploring. And I was still bored. I didn't find it fun exploring the massive open-world and I was never really compelled to do any more exploring. In the end I just gave up on Oblivion and waited for Skyrim, which I was sceptical about after my time with Oblivion, but I bought Skyrim and it was an incredible game. I guess Skyrim was just made better than Oblivion. Or maybe it was something to do with me. I don't know. But Oblivion certainly is a good game. Just not a great game in my opinion. Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    I bought the Game of the Year edition. It was great. Herping and derping killing people and demons. Running away from the law with a stolen horse. Then I got turned into a vampire...apparently there's a glitch on the Game of the Year PS3 version that prevents you from turning back human. I couldn't stand all the multi-tasking that came with being a Vampire. You would think after all theseI bought the Game of the Year edition. It was great. Herping and derping killing people and demons. Running away from the law with a stolen horse. Then I got turned into a vampire...apparently there's a glitch on the Game of the Year PS3 version that prevents you from turning back human. I couldn't stand all the multi-tasking that came with being a Vampire. You would think after all these years they would have patched this glitch, but noooo. Quit after I found a demonic artifact for that monk. Expand
  10. Oct 31, 2011
    5
    I bought this game because I loved Fallout 3 so much, and it's amazing how similar yet different the games can be. Fallout 3 made me a fan with the storyline, the character development, and the sheer creativity of the post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. So, I thought Oblivion would be equally awesome. And was I ever wrong. Oblivion is the same big environment, free-roam idea, but it hasI bought this game because I loved Fallout 3 so much, and it's amazing how similar yet different the games can be. Fallout 3 made me a fan with the storyline, the character development, and the sheer creativity of the post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. So, I thought Oblivion would be equally awesome. And was I ever wrong. Oblivion is the same big environment, free-roam idea, but it has no heart. It's technically impressive in terms of the sheer massiveness of it all, but there's nothing about it that made me want to see where it would all end. The combat system is clunky and unsatisfying, and if you aren't a fan of medieval times, this won't make a convert. Very disappointing. If they had been able to put a little soul into this huge body of work, it could have been a giant of a game. Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    Lots of adventures in this game but in general it lacks drama and storytelling. When it came out graphics were ok, but today the game looks pretty old.

    Still one of the best RPG ifor the PS3.
  12. MatthewJ
    Aug 6, 2009
    7
    Solid graphics. Some reasonable quests. Still major problems and this genre has a way to go before you really feel immersed in a world. The most annoying feature is that after an action the whole populace is aware. If you wish to infiltrate a guild and destroy from the inside foget it. Programming still too basic to accomodate this. After a while like morrowind you can easily take care of Solid graphics. Some reasonable quests. Still major problems and this genre has a way to go before you really feel immersed in a world. The most annoying feature is that after an action the whole populace is aware. If you wish to infiltrate a guild and destroy from the inside foget it. Programming still too basic to accomodate this. After a while like morrowind you can easily take care of most creatures. I expected better but the game is not a total disaster. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Mar 21, 2009
    7
    its an epic game with cool characters and tons of hours of gameplay...but there is one flaw that really pist me off, the fact that the game slows down when theres more than 5 people/creatures on screen at one time, i dont know if its just my game or if its the ps3 but...it really ruins the gaming experience and doesnt really make me want to play very much after it happens
  14. MatthewS
    Feb 23, 2009
    5
    Too big world, too much side quests - not that its bad, but you need at least SOME guidness in games. This was just too chaotic...just go and kill whole town (isnt fun at all).
  15. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    7
    OMG!!! why are there so many 10s on here?! OK the game is good, it has a massive world to explore, a huge number of side quests, and a massive amount of customisation (as with many rpgs) The game does have some fairly serious issues however, all of the npc's are voiced by a crowd of about 2 people and the AI has a few flaws, it is also possible to accidentally get thrown in jail and OMG!!! why are there so many 10s on here?! OK the game is good, it has a massive world to explore, a huge number of side quests, and a massive amount of customisation (as with many rpgs) The game does have some fairly serious issues however, all of the npc's are voiced by a crowd of about 2 people and the AI has a few flaws, it is also possible to accidentally get thrown in jail and mess ur characters stats up. Expand
  16. vidman
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    The world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeingThe world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeing its great graphics in the meantime. Expand
  17. MattB.
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    Baited and switched XBox360 title that ultimately fell short of everything that was promised- I blame most of it on the lackluster specs of the XBox360, which it was obviously developed for. The original game was lackluster- the ports are no different. Tired storyline, repetitive gameplay and side quests. Broken levelling system and retarded AI. Possibly worth a playthrough, and without Baited and switched XBox360 title that ultimately fell short of everything that was promised- I blame most of it on the lackluster specs of the XBox360, which it was obviously developed for. The original game was lackluster- the ports are no different. Tired storyline, repetitive gameplay and side quests. Broken levelling system and retarded AI. Possibly worth a playthrough, and without community modification: little else. If you're expecting an RPG experience on par with other works of Bethesda Softworks you will be sorely disappointed. They don't offer .5 scale, but I'd really rate it about 7.5, a solid C. Expand
  18. FrodoB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    Oblivion is a must have! You use magic, swords, do quests... it goes on for a very long time! Now, there is huge downside to this game that preventen a 10. I had to start again once, , (and almost twice) because of glitches. The amount of bugs and glitches is horrendous! Buy this game if it's worth the risk. Note: i managed to lvl back up to my bugged account on a new account.
  19. JamesG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    My biggest issue is that this game suffers massively from content over form problems...There is a massive world to explore, and it's initially almost inspiring to do so. However, I found myself really put of of actually enjoying the content because the gameplay was so weak. The combat is simply a joke. Combat is horribly simplistic and wooden. A fact that is significantly worsened by My biggest issue is that this game suffers massively from content over form problems...There is a massive world to explore, and it's initially almost inspiring to do so. However, I found myself really put of of actually enjoying the content because the gameplay was so weak. The combat is simply a joke. Combat is horribly simplistic and wooden. A fact that is significantly worsened by the total primacy of melee combat in actually playing the game. Anyway, long story short, the gameplay is so bad that I simply stopped wanting to do things in the massive, engrossing worlse that I inhabited. Expand
  20. JaredK.
    Sep 21, 2007
    6
    I loved this game for a while -- many hours, in fact, on the PS3. Unfortunately, I noticed that there seemed to be some bad port issues. And, eventually, I got to a quest where I couldn't continue because I kept falling through solid objects (trying to close an oblivion gate, going up one of the spiky elevators). After half an hour of frustration, I gave up, popped the disc out, and I loved this game for a while -- many hours, in fact, on the PS3. Unfortunately, I noticed that there seemed to be some bad port issues. And, eventually, I got to a quest where I couldn't continue because I kept falling through solid objects (trying to close an oblivion gate, going up one of the spiky elevators). After half an hour of frustration, I gave up, popped the disc out, and have decided I'm just gonna have to bite the bullet and get the PC version. (I rented Oblivion so I'd be able to play it on my big ol' HDTV, with my home stereo for audio). In general, the physics engine for the PS3 version seems to have mediocre capacity when it comes to coping with solid objects. Not having played it on other platforms, I'm assuming it's a problem specific to the PS3 port -- and that they did a half-arsed job because of the limited market size for the PS3. Expand
  21. JasonH.
    Jul 8, 2007
    7
    A REALLY GOOD RPG, but WAY, WAY TOO OVERWHELMING and COMPLICATED for me. I want to play this game, I want to like this game, it has an incredible world, a great story, and basically a never ending amount of stuff to do. But it is just too overwhelming for me. I wish I could set the game to auto level and auto mix spells, and I could just concentrate on the mission and gameplay at hand. I A REALLY GOOD RPG, but WAY, WAY TOO OVERWHELMING and COMPLICATED for me. I want to play this game, I want to like this game, it has an incredible world, a great story, and basically a never ending amount of stuff to do. But it is just too overwhelming for me. I wish I could set the game to auto level and auto mix spells, and I could just concentrate on the mission and gameplay at hand. I feel like there is a perfect way to set up your armor, outfit, abilities, and life but I just want to play the game and not deal with any of that like a first person shooter like Half Life 2. Oblivion is just not for me. Expand
  22. JayN.
    Apr 10, 2007
    7
    The load times are not fast at all. If they are faster than the 360 it's by 1/10 of a sec. Just another good reason why I should of just stuck with my 360. I don't see any difference in the visuals, and I have a Pioneer Elite top of the line plasma. Pity, I was really hoping they would finally have one game.
  23. DustinM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    7
    Same as 2 other version in practically every way, One MAJOR flaw with this version is the lack of extra content which is available on other consoles. This due to the fact that the ps3 doesn't have sufficient ram to load all the content. Still a must own for PS3 users, I mean, theres really only 1 other must own for the system, so you might as well own them both.
  24. FPSMaster
    Mar 21, 2007
    7
    Plays exactly like the 360 version other than the controller having weird button assignments and no downloadbale content as of yet. Now to the differences: the PS3 version loads quicker, runs smoother outdoors, looks less like plastic in the distance and has less pop-up. But here's why: they took out all the texture detail out of every single blade of grass and leaf on every tree and Plays exactly like the 360 version other than the controller having weird button assignments and no downloadbale content as of yet. Now to the differences: the PS3 version loads quicker, runs smoother outdoors, looks less like plastic in the distance and has less pop-up. But here's why: they took out all the texture detail out of every single blade of grass and leaf on every tree and bush in the game. Play the 360 version and look at the leaves and grass...it's very, very detailed and very high res making it look absolutely realistic. The PS3 version's grass and leaves are flat green blobs that look like a leaf or blade of grass from a 32 bit game. I'm not joking. The rock and brick textures look the same as the 360 version, but the foliage is a joke and takes out a lot of the believability of the world. And anyone that's played this game will tell you that you see more grass and foliage than anything else so it's very important to making the world seem like a real place because you see so much of the foliage throughout the game. So it's obvious now why it loads quicker and runs smoother...they took out so many textures in the game and so much info the console would have to process that it has no choice but to run smoother. And we all thought it was taking so long to come out because they were making it look batter. They did in certain areas, but at the expense of other more important areas. I'll take lower framerates in a better looking game anyday over a game that's been so butchered in textures PS2 games textures look better. The world doesn't look plasticy anymore, now it looks extremely outdated. Another crap port for PS3...and this time from a quality developer. Makes me wonder if there will ever be a game on PS3 that looks better than the same game on 360. Because if a quality dev like Bethesda can't do it, it probably can't be done. Expand
  25. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    Way ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and theWay ahead of its time. This game is huge and brilliant. The story is well crafted and keeps the player interested at all times. The side stories and quests are perhaps even better than the main quest line, as the player feels as if they can make their own stories. The visuals were very good for the time as well. My only complaints would be that some of the areas seem repetitive, and the character AI can get a little annoying. However, even with these issues, I still rate this game a 10. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.