User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 619 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 619
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Phalange
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it quite the game. You could join guilds, turn invisible, make spells, become the supreme fighter etc.. It does have glitches like almost any game, so you may have to be slightly careful what you do (e.g. review the glitches of the game before you play so you don't fall into them). One issue I had was the fact that if you made a spell with a silly name, you could not delete it. Also, it was pretty annoying choosing the skills you major and minor in - you have to balance it so you don't level too quickly. Overall, I would recommend this to everyone to try atleast once! Expand
  2. DustinM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    7
    Same as 2 other version in practically every way, One MAJOR flaw with this version is the lack of extra content which is available on other consoles. This due to the fact that the ps3 doesn't have sufficient ram to load all the content. Still a must own for PS3 users, I mean, theres really only 1 other must own for the system, so you might as well own them both.
  3. Ryencoke
    Apr 4, 2007
    3
    I've always hated this series of game. It's so horribly boring and lame. I don't understand why everyone is saying why it's so much better no PS3 than 360. The load times are a fraction faster than 360. The graphics are the exact same, it's the same game on a different consoles. Anybody comparing this is relating their "Fan-boyism" to their favorite console.
  4. FrodoB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    Oblivion is a must have! You use magic, swords, do quests... it goes on for a very long time! Now, there is huge downside to this game that preventen a 10. I had to start again once, , (and almost twice) because of glitches. The amount of bugs and glitches is horrendous! Buy this game if it's worth the risk. Note: i managed to lvl back up to my bugged account on a new account.
  5. SeraphymD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is unreal and amazingly amusing!
  6. Vault
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Simply awesome. There's practically limitless content and absolute freedom, at any point you can start anything.
  7. CrimD
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. Regarding flaws which have been brought up by many reviewers, i have to agree with "Thomas S" because with a game like this it is understandable, the world is absolutely HUGE so it would be extremely difficult to pick them out and get the dev's to fix them. This is a true masterpiece that all RPG fans should embrace. Fantastic achievement by Bethesda! Expand
  8. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    2
    There are so many problems with this game.. The graphics are ugly and cluttered, the physics engine is way off modern standard, the character, regardless of first person or third person view feels like its hovering above ground (what a surprise that this problem occurs in Fallout 3 also). It really just doesn't work, on any console. It seems to have a severe refresh rate problem, There are so many problems with this game.. The graphics are ugly and cluttered, the physics engine is way off modern standard, the character, regardless of first person or third person view feels like its hovering above ground (what a surprise that this problem occurs in Fallout 3 also). It really just doesn't work, on any console. It seems to have a severe refresh rate problem, along with lag.. in an OFFLINE game. Most melee attacks will hit at random and you spend a lot of your time looting worthless junk that only clutters your inventory, making you walk like a turtle. The complexity of making your class is beyond me, it shouldn't be so hard to just pick up and play the game, that said, this is NOT a game for casual gamers, be prepared to be bored out of your life customizing your ugly character. Given it is open world, there are no incentives. Theres no point the world being so big if you can click on your map to get 3 million miles away in a second. Most enemies are impossible to hit because of the lack of a targeting system, you spend more time spinning the camera around, waving your worthless melee weapon around until for the love of God you finally kill the enemy. Finally, when you talk to people, the camera zooms in on that person, freezing all background animation (coincidentally, Fallout 3 does this too), WHY DOES THE GAME HAVE TO DO THIS? Whats wrong with talking to them as they are? It sucks all the realism out of the scene, making you remember you're playing a [terrible] game. It's just really bad I mean I know its been reduced to what.. $30 on shelves now? Still not even worth that.. Expand
  9. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a few glitches here and there and the load times can be a bit annoying, but who cares - when a game offers you this much it's easy to overlook a few small complaints. Expand
  10. DionysusJ.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Superior to the 360 version in every way: Better loadtimes, better draw distances, better textures, better character models, and most importantly better A.I. Anyone who says any different, is lying for the sake of being loyal to their precious Xbox 2.
  11. G.Cayto
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    It's great. And the downloads are great too!!! I downloaded Shivering Isles. How excellent! And it even loads incrementally faster than the 360 version! That and all the downloadable content! Wow!
  12. IanS
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the sides of roads, and fuck some people up.

    I've got to go. I'm going to rob a niggas house.
    Expand
  13. FedorH.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made!
  14. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    One of the nicest role playing games for gaming-console ever! astonishing graphics, many quests, months, days and hours of fun :)
  15. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do those things, which is an odd concept for an online gamer. Ignore all fanboy comments though, if you own a ps3 and like immersive RPGs get this game, you will find something to like about it i promise. Expand
  16. AnonymousMC
    Sep 9, 2007
    0
    I HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping theI HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping the praise solely on the PS3 version in their reviews, rather than just the game in general and then addressing the differences in the game versions. And I also think it's a testament to the weakness of the PS3 so far that it's two highest-rated games are both ports of games that have been out for a long time. Please, just stop acting like this is only on the PS3 and trying to give credit to the PS3 rather than Bethseda for the game. For my honest opinion of the multiple versions, I would just go with whichever system you have, since the PS3 version has KNights of the Nine included on it, but none of the other downloadable content, especially Shivering Isles, a true expansion to the game. But the PS3 does have slightly longer draw-distance, but it's really not like it's that big of a difference. Really, if you have an incredible computer, just buy the game for that. Expand
  17. Liam
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game of its kind. It has a massive world to explore and loads of things to do. Best of all its completely freeform besides the starting dungeon you don't have to do anything. Amazing but i would still buy it for PC because of the added fun of mods.
  18. TimP.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing Game made even more amazing with it's Superior PS3 Verision.
  19. MichelS.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I have this Game Of The Year Edition for this game on the PS3 and I puted full RGB, Super Whiter and Cross Color Reduction filter. The result: Pure and superior graphics over the 360 and PC versions and one of the best RPG I bought for the PS3!
  20. vidman
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    The world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeingThe world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeing its great graphics in the meantime. Expand
  21. GraemeDario
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever made. It is huge, brilliant, and once you start playing, there's no turning back. Only one problem - it will most likely make you into a social outcast, it takes up far too much of your life. GTA IV? Stuff that, this is the game for me!
  22. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    7
    OMG!!! why are there so many 10s on here?! OK the game is good, it has a massive world to explore, a huge number of side quests, and a massive amount of customisation (as with many rpgs) The game does have some fairly serious issues however, all of the npc's are voiced by a crowd of about 2 people and the AI has a few flaws, it is also possible to accidentally get thrown in jail and OMG!!! why are there so many 10s on here?! OK the game is good, it has a massive world to explore, a huge number of side quests, and a massive amount of customisation (as with many rpgs) The game does have some fairly serious issues however, all of the npc's are voiced by a crowd of about 2 people and the AI has a few flaws, it is also possible to accidentally get thrown in jail and mess ur characters stats up. Expand
  23. TureS
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is the best game I've ever played, and probably the best I'll EVER play. While it does not have certain elements Morrowind has, I enjoyed this game FAR more than I enjoyed Morrowind. The fighting system is awesome, the graphics are amazing and the voice acting is wonderful...
  24. CodyB.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    Over all game of the year winner of 2006 and THE greatest RPG to ever grace any platform to date since final fantasy 8. A rich and compelling storyline, the most BEAUTIFUL graphics I have ever seen in a playstation 3 game (besides grand theft auto 4 and metal gear solid 4), and a finely crafted gaming world where gamers can "live another life in another world", be who they wanna be, and Over all game of the year winner of 2006 and THE greatest RPG to ever grace any platform to date since final fantasy 8. A rich and compelling storyline, the most BEAUTIFUL graphics I have ever seen in a playstation 3 game (besides grand theft auto 4 and metal gear solid 4), and a finely crafted gaming world where gamers can "live another life in another world", be who they wanna be, and do whatever the hell they want. OMG I could rant on for more than 24 hours about how georgeous the outside world is (the WHOLE gaming world), but that would be a waste of time, lol. Just do yourself a favor and GET THIS GAME and experience another life!!! The only game in 2006 that could beat okami for game of the year. Expand
  25. MatthewS
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Too big world, too much side quests - not that its bad, but you need at least SOME guidness in games. This was just too chaotic...just go and kill whole town (isnt fun at all).
  26. MatthewJ
    Aug 6, 2009
    7
    Solid graphics. Some reasonable quests. Still major problems and this genre has a way to go before you really feel immersed in a world. The most annoying feature is that after an action the whole populace is aware. If you wish to infiltrate a guild and destroy from the inside foget it. Programming still too basic to accomodate this. After a while like morrowind you can easily take care of Solid graphics. Some reasonable quests. Still major problems and this genre has a way to go before you really feel immersed in a world. The most annoying feature is that after an action the whole populace is aware. If you wish to infiltrate a guild and destroy from the inside foget it. Programming still too basic to accomodate this. After a while like morrowind you can easily take care of most creatures. I expected better but the game is not a total disaster. Expand
  27. ChrisSteinberg
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    I enjoy playing Oblivion, it has great mechanics. The story is a little boring (main story line) and things in the environment are too distracting when trying to complete the main quest line. Character aging engine is terrible, simply terrible. The character models are just plain ugly. This can be annoying when you have ugly females in the game hitting on you because you have charmed them.I enjoy playing Oblivion, it has great mechanics. The story is a little boring (main story line) and things in the environment are too distracting when trying to complete the main quest line. Character aging engine is terrible, simply terrible. The character models are just plain ugly. This can be annoying when you have ugly females in the game hitting on you because you have charmed them. This has been a gripe of mine since Elderscrolls 1 Arena. Also, stealing in the game has too few consequences and is too easy to accomplish.

    see more of my reviews at
    http://dkgamestudios.blogspot.com
    Expand
  28. georgeb.
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Awesome. For those who have played RPGs before, this will be the best of the best. But for those who haven't played a RPG then you might be lost. Pecchioni: I don't know why a RPG shouldn't be on a consil, Oblivion works fine on my ps3. John: this game is near 3 years old, the game play is a fast as you want it to be ( RPGs take time, their not fps's) and you can Awesome. For those who have played RPGs before, this will be the best of the best. But for those who haven't played a RPG then you might be lost. Pecchioni: I don't know why a RPG shouldn't be on a consil, Oblivion works fine on my ps3. John: this game is near 3 years old, the game play is a fast as you want it to be ( RPGs take time, their not fps's) and you can attack 99% of every body in the game Pete: why did you rate the game a 1 based on the system, you yourself said it was great Ryencoke: The ps3 loads are faster (even if its a fraction you load alot in the game). Expand
  29. JamesG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    My biggest issue is that this game suffers massively from content over form problems...There is a massive world to explore, and it's initially almost inspiring to do so. However, I found myself really put of of actually enjoying the content because the gameplay was so weak. The combat is simply a joke. Combat is horribly simplistic and wooden. A fact that is significantly worsened by My biggest issue is that this game suffers massively from content over form problems...There is a massive world to explore, and it's initially almost inspiring to do so. However, I found myself really put of of actually enjoying the content because the gameplay was so weak. The combat is simply a joke. Combat is horribly simplistic and wooden. A fact that is significantly worsened by the total primacy of melee combat in actually playing the game. Anyway, long story short, the gameplay is so bad that I simply stopped wanting to do things in the massive, engrossing worlse that I inhabited. Expand
  30. Pete
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    A great game, but is there ANY must have game that is exclusive to PS3? Unless you're a loser, you can get this for one of your other systems.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.