User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 543

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game that set the standards for RPG's that followed. There's literally 100's of hours of content, along with many dungeons and caves to explore. For people saying that all the caves look the same: Well, so do the ones in real life, and you wouldn't have known anyways because you're spending your whole life on your 360 trying to prestiege. Also, the terrain is varied, unlike what people have said before. There are mountains, snow capped mountains, forests, valleys, plains, wastelands, and even swamps. This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content. This version in particular has the best loading times and graphics improvements. Bethesda is an amazing game maker and completely blew me off track with this game. This game actually got me through the pains i had in real life, and kept me occupied during frustrating times. I salute this game and all who have made it. If you haven't played this game, go play it. Don't listen to all these fanboy haters that are mad because the PS3 version is more smooth. Overall, definately the #1 game on my list. Good luck.
    Expand
  2. DionysusJ.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Superior to the 360 version in every way: Better loadtimes, better draw distances, better textures, better character models, and most importantly better A.I. Anyone who says any different, is lying for the sake of being loyal to their precious Xbox 2.
  3. G.Cayto
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    It's great. And the downloads are great too!!! I downloaded Shivering Isles. How excellent! And it even loads incrementally faster than the 360 version! That and all the downloadable content! Wow!
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you wantI love this game. I didn't play any of the earlier Elder Scrolls games and so Oblivion was my first taste of Tamriel. It's a huge fantasy RPG and I cannot stress enough that if you like this kind of game you will get hours and hours and hours of play for your money as there is just so much you can do and so many places to explore. One of the best things about this for me is if you want to follow the main story line you can, or if you'd like to do loads of side quests you can or if you just want to wander around and do whatever the heck you like, you can. The world they've created is the best and most realistic to date I've ever seen in a video game with the trees, lakes, fields and landscape wonderful in places. Often during the game I would literally just stop for a while to look at a beautiful sunset as I just simply couldn't ignore it. The music and sound effects are all spot on and really help you to feel immersed in the world you're in and you can get so involved in your travels in Cyrodil that you are reluctant to come back to the real world! I enjoyed both the main story and the various side quests and I loved they way you could buy your own houses and fill them full of treasures you've found in your explorations. The inventory although fairly complex is set up in a way that's easy to use and also checking out your spells and talents and keeping a tab on that is simple enough. The voice acting is also well done and I love the way you can listen in on people chatting as you're passing. I also love how after you have completed certain parts of the game people will actually comment on it when they see you walk by. The only slight flaws with this game I found were a few bugs in places and some of the caves look a bit similar so could have done with a few changes here and there to make them more individual but all the things that are great about this game far, far outweigh the flaws. Overall I give the game 9.8 but seeing as I have to put an even number, I'll say ten. Keep up the good work Bethesda, long may the Elder Scrolls continue. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  6. Phalange
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it This is my favourite PS3 game ever! Non-linear story, flexibility to do what you want. You can kill a random NPC, run from the guards, steal from a persons store. Never-ending options of what to do. At first, I thought a first-person melee game would FAIL. This game does not! The graphics are dazzling (except maybe NPCs), the many sidequests you could do, new areas to explore make it quite the game. You could join guilds, turn invisible, make spells, become the supreme fighter etc.. It does have glitches like almost any game, so you may have to be slightly careful what you do (e.g. review the glitches of the game before you play so you don't fall into them). One issue I had was the fact that if you made a spell with a silly name, you could not delete it. Also, it was pretty annoying choosing the skills you major and minor in - you have to balance it so you don't level too quickly. Overall, I would recommend this to everyone to try atleast once! Expand
  7. DustinM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    7
    Same as 2 other version in practically every way, One MAJOR flaw with this version is the lack of extra content which is available on other consoles. This due to the fact that the ps3 doesn't have sufficient ram to load all the content. Still a must own for PS3 users, I mean, theres really only 1 other must own for the system, so you might as well own them both.
  8. FrodoB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    Oblivion is a must have! You use magic, swords, do quests... it goes on for a very long time! Now, there is huge downside to this game that preventen a 10. I had to start again once, , (and almost twice) because of glitches. The amount of bugs and glitches is horrendous! Buy this game if it's worth the risk. Note: i managed to lvl back up to my bugged account on a new account.
  9. SeraphymD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is unreal and amazingly amusing!
  10. CrimD
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be This game is incredible. I first played the PS3 version, followed by 360 and they are both great. The only thing that separates them is the graphics and performance which the PS3 wins in just about (i have both platforms) The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. Regarding flaws which have been brought up by many reviewers, i have to agree with "Thomas S" because with a game like this it is understandable, the world is absolutely HUGE so it would be extremely difficult to pick them out and get the dev's to fix them. This is a true masterpiece that all RPG fans should embrace. Fantastic achievement by Bethesda! Expand
  11. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a I never understand why people bang on about how a game plays on different platforms - how many people out there own both an X-box and PS3? All I ever want to know about a game is "is this worth buying?" - so if you like RPGs and own a PS3, then you should definately pick this up. Oblivion is a great game, with some stunning graphics and one of the best soundtracks around. There's a few glitches here and there and the load times can be a bit annoying, but who cares - when a game offers you this much it's easy to overlook a few small complaints. Expand
  12. IanS
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the
    F-ing amazing. I love it.
    First minute I played it, I loved it. To start, you can fully customize your character to be 1 in 1,000,000. There is not another character that will be EXACTLY the same as the last (almost) ever.
    The gameplay is sick as hell, never-ending things to do on it. Make your weapons, rob some homes, find some of the hundreds of dungeons (maybe... thousands?) on the sides of roads, and fuck some people up.

    I've got to go. I'm going to rob a niggas house.
    Expand
  13. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    One of the nicest role playing games for gaming-console ever! astonishing graphics, many quests, months, days and hours of fun :)
  14. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do Basically an MMORPG withouth the MMO. Great game for any console. As someone who plays MMO's, a few things about the game bothered me at first, like being able to click anywhere and instantly go there made traveling feel not significant, and each character can use any spell/skill. But when i realized that since it isn't an online game and isn't a race, i just didn't do those things, which is an odd concept for an online gamer. Ignore all fanboy comments though, if you own a ps3 and like immersive RPGs get this game, you will find something to like about it i promise. Expand
  15. Liam
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game of its kind. It has a massive world to explore and loads of things to do. Best of all its completely freeform besides the starting dungeon you don't have to do anything. Amazing but i would still buy it for PC because of the added fun of mods.
  16. TimP.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing Game made even more amazing with it's Superior PS3 Verision.
  17. MichelS.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I have this Game Of The Year Edition for this game on the PS3 and I puted full RGB, Super Whiter and Cross Color Reduction filter. The result: Pure and superior graphics over the 360 and PC versions and one of the best RPG I bought for the PS3!
  18. vidman
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    The world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeingThe world in this game is more believable than any GTA title. But it is too unforgiving and repetitive. I became a vampire and it sucked. I didn't have the patience to get rid of the curse because the game started to get repetitive. Closing the oblivion gates became repetitive. It's unfortunate too. It was a lot of fun exploring through the game, getting new weapons, and seeing its great graphics in the meantime. Expand
  19. GraemeDario
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever made. It is huge, brilliant, and once you start playing, there's no turning back. Only one problem - it will most likely make you into a social outcast, it takes up far too much of your life. GTA IV? Stuff that, this is the game for me!
  20. TureS
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is the best game I've ever played, and probably the best I'll EVER play. While it does not have certain elements Morrowind has, I enjoyed this game FAR more than I enjoyed Morrowind. The fighting system is awesome, the graphics are amazing and the voice acting is wonderful...
  21. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people andI have owned this game for a number of years now and it continues to blow my mind. The game resembles real life in relation to law and order but is set in a somewhat medieval time filled with weapons and magic . The possibilities are endless. This is a game where the main quest can be put aside and forgotten and you can welcome a huge and vibrant world filled with individual people and locations. Not only can you find a quest round every corner but you can shape who you are in terms of skills and abilities and interact with the hundreds of people whether they are merchants or beggars. The landscape is incredibly expansive, ranging from snow capped mountains to sandstone caverns. Yes the graphics are not state of the art but you must remember that it was made in 2007, a time where the quality and complexity of computer graphics and computers for that matter was half of that of the present day. I highly recommend this ingenious game which will guarantee you hundreds of hours of a fulfilling gaming experience. Expand
  22. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done,I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is, quite possibly, one of the best games ever made. The amount of customization and creativity you get to enjoy, the gigantic landscapes you get to explore, the massive amount of quests and journeys you get to experience make the entire ride amazing. It took me about a month of quite consistent playing to get everything I was willing to do done, and there was still some small quests left over. If you don't own this game, you must. Stop what you're doing and go buy it, right now. Expand
  23. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    i love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored thei love this game and it is in my top 5 best games on the PS3. there is just so much to do and eventualy the story line becomes a bit blurred but that is alright because you natrually avoid it any way since there is so much to do in the way of content. wheather it is doing missions for the dark brotherhood or individual quests there is always something to do and you will never be bored the graphics arent the best but that is because of the sheer size of the world you play in and can easily be forgivin and i can't wait for Skyrim to come out in november Expand
  24. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    This game started me with RPG's, it is awesome, I loved open mapped games, ignore the negative votes, This type of games is where you have to find the main missions or misc missions, not for them too come to you! Awesome swords, spells etc, simply best :)
  25. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    This game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as youThis game is very fun for a lot of reasons, but I'll name just a few: First, the combat OBVIOUSLY had quite a bit of work put into it, unlike another game *ahem* skyrim *ahem*, anyways, as you level up your skills in swords, maces and giant 90 pound warhammers (literally) you can perform up to 10 different power attacks, the first 5 of which just deal an extra bit of damage, but as you work up into the master skill, you can knock over, or even paralyze others to give yourself an advantage in combat.
    Secondly, The people are interesting and have a personality (yes it's sometimes inconsistent when you click rumors they speak like normal people which ruins some of the crazy personalities of some people, and aside from that it is pretty nice to see people talk to each other and even travel from city to city.
    It isn't perfect, especially compared to the PC and Xbox 360, you can't get a lot of the DLC, some of the quests are buggy as sh*t, especially being cured of vampirism. I won't spoil what happens though. anyways, other than that, I really like it
    Expand
  26. Feb 27, 2014
    4
    This is what happens when people lose the ability to expect quality for what they purchase. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion happens to be an absolute mess...a very glitched and bugged mess. No doubt there is fun to be found within this game, though many can find entertainment in watching staged wrestling, so the argument goes back to quality. There is a lot to do in The Elder Scrolls IV:This is what happens when people lose the ability to expect quality for what they purchase. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion happens to be an absolute mess...a very glitched and bugged mess. No doubt there is fun to be found within this game, though many can find entertainment in watching staged wrestling, so the argument goes back to quality. There is a lot to do in The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, though it's mostly repetitive fetch quests. Very simple, though not a bad thing...The Elder Scrolls series is the R.P.G. series for the simplistic player or the casual gamer. Expand
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    I bought the Game of the Year edition. It was great. Herping and derping killing people and demons. Running away from the law with a stolen horse. Then I got turned into a vampire...apparently there's a glitch on the Game of the Year PS3 version that prevents you from turning back human. I couldn't stand all the multi-tasking that came with being a Vampire. You would think after all theseI bought the Game of the Year edition. It was great. Herping and derping killing people and demons. Running away from the law with a stolen horse. Then I got turned into a vampire...apparently there's a glitch on the Game of the Year PS3 version that prevents you from turning back human. I couldn't stand all the multi-tasking that came with being a Vampire. You would think after all these years they would have patched this glitch, but noooo. Quit after I found a demonic artifact for that monk. Expand
  28. JohnS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    1
    This game sucks on all systems, from PC to PS3 to 360. The AI is TERRIBLE, the gameplay is SLOW as hell, and you can't attack whoever you want!! Morrowind is a better game than this.... Then again Daggerfall was better than Morrowind, I guess this is just another good example of the watering-down of a series.
  29. AnonymousMC
    Sep 9, 2007
    0
    I HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping theI HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping the praise solely on the PS3 version in their reviews, rather than just the game in general and then addressing the differences in the game versions. And I also think it's a testament to the weakness of the PS3 so far that it's two highest-rated games are both ports of games that have been out for a long time. Please, just stop acting like this is only on the PS3 and trying to give credit to the PS3 rather than Bethseda for the game. For my honest opinion of the multiple versions, I would just go with whichever system you have, since the PS3 version has KNights of the Nine included on it, but none of the other downloadable content, especially Shivering Isles, a true expansion to the game. But the PS3 does have slightly longer draw-distance, but it's really not like it's that big of a difference. Really, if you have an incredible computer, just buy the game for that. Expand
  30. FongV
    Nov 13, 2009
    2
    I rented this game and I'm glad I didn't buy it. Really, I grew up on RPGs and have enjoyed them for their fun factor, story line, techniques, and battle scenes. This game never engaged me enough to play it past the dungeons. The graphics sucked in comparison to ...say GTA4. It looks like it has the graphics of a regular PS2 game (I own an HDTV and it enhances the poor graphics. I rented this game and I'm glad I didn't buy it. Really, I grew up on RPGs and have enjoyed them for their fun factor, story line, techniques, and battle scenes. This game never engaged me enough to play it past the dungeons. The graphics sucked in comparison to ...say GTA4. It looks like it has the graphics of a regular PS2 game (I own an HDTV and it enhances the poor graphics. Try playing a PS2 game on a 1080p TV and you'll see what I mean). Next, the characters and monsters are not perfectly drawn and have edges on them. Heck, I spent over 30 minutes trying to make my character look half decent. A lot of ways to make your character have a face of a deformed rat. The rooms and walls are flat and poorly detailed. What bothered me a ton was that the sword attacks are slow and did not give an indication if my slashes made contact or made any damage at all. I mean, what RPG doesn't show hit points when they're hit? The character menu screen doesn't tell you if a new weapon/armor is better than the one you have equipped. You only see how it looks like in your hand. Also when you're walking around (first-person), you don't know there are coins and items in front of you. The only way to know is if you move the focus point on the screen directly onto the items and only then will it tell you what it is. When I saw coins on the floor, I gave up after 3 because I had to individually pick each one up. There would've been more to complain about but I got bored and stopped playing after I ate rat meat and hacked at the king and his two soldiers. Lame game. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.