User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 592
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    4
    This is what happens when people lose the ability to expect quality for what they purchase. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion happens to be an absolute mess...a very glitched and bugged mess. No doubt there is fun to be found within this game, though many can find entertainment in watching staged wrestling, so the argument goes back to quality. There is a lot to do in The Elder Scrolls IV:This is what happens when people lose the ability to expect quality for what they purchase. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion happens to be an absolute mess...a very glitched and bugged mess. No doubt there is fun to be found within this game, though many can find entertainment in watching staged wrestling, so the argument goes back to quality. There is a lot to do in The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, though it's mostly repetitive fetch quests. Very simple, though not a bad thing...The Elder Scrolls series is the R.P.G. series for the simplistic player or the casual gamer. Expand
  2. Ryencoke
    Apr 4, 2007
    3
    I've always hated this series of game. It's so horribly boring and lame. I don't understand why everyone is saying why it's so much better no PS3 than 360. The load times are a fraction faster than 360. The graphics are the exact same, it's the same game on a different consoles. Anybody comparing this is relating their "Fan-boyism" to their favorite console.
  3. MichaelZ
    Nov 6, 2009
    3
    I was hoping for a decent RPG when I got this (some time ago). Very disappointed. The stills might look 'nice' but in action the graphics are slow and clunky and not really that pretty anyway. And that pretty much sums up the rest of the game. Combat is an exercise in frustration of unresponsive jerky controls, sound is pretty bland, as are the character models. And when you I was hoping for a decent RPG when I got this (some time ago). Very disappointed. The stills might look 'nice' but in action the graphics are slow and clunky and not really that pretty anyway. And that pretty much sums up the rest of the game. Combat is an exercise in frustration of unresponsive jerky controls, sound is pretty bland, as are the character models. And when you finally win a battle you're fighting with an awful unresponsive clunky inventory system. Dull dull dull. Avoid. Collapse
  4. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    2
    There are so many problems with this game.. The graphics are ugly and cluttered, the physics engine is way off modern standard, the character, regardless of first person or third person view feels like its hovering above ground (what a surprise that this problem occurs in Fallout 3 also). It really just doesn't work, on any console. It seems to have a severe refresh rate problem, There are so many problems with this game.. The graphics are ugly and cluttered, the physics engine is way off modern standard, the character, regardless of first person or third person view feels like its hovering above ground (what a surprise that this problem occurs in Fallout 3 also). It really just doesn't work, on any console. It seems to have a severe refresh rate problem, along with lag.. in an OFFLINE game. Most melee attacks will hit at random and you spend a lot of your time looting worthless junk that only clutters your inventory, making you walk like a turtle. The complexity of making your class is beyond me, it shouldn't be so hard to just pick up and play the game, that said, this is NOT a game for casual gamers, be prepared to be bored out of your life customizing your ugly character. Given it is open world, there are no incentives. Theres no point the world being so big if you can click on your map to get 3 million miles away in a second. Most enemies are impossible to hit because of the lack of a targeting system, you spend more time spinning the camera around, waving your worthless melee weapon around until for the love of God you finally kill the enemy. Finally, when you talk to people, the camera zooms in on that person, freezing all background animation (coincidentally, Fallout 3 does this too), WHY DOES THE GAME HAVE TO DO THIS? Whats wrong with talking to them as they are? It sucks all the realism out of the scene, making you remember you're playing a [terrible] game. It's just really bad I mean I know its been reduced to what.. $30 on shelves now? Still not even worth that.. Expand
  5. FongV
    Nov 13, 2009
    2
    I rented this game and I'm glad I didn't buy it. Really, I grew up on RPGs and have enjoyed them for their fun factor, story line, techniques, and battle scenes. This game never engaged me enough to play it past the dungeons. The graphics sucked in comparison to ...say GTA4. It looks like it has the graphics of a regular PS2 game (I own an HDTV and it enhances the poor graphics. I rented this game and I'm glad I didn't buy it. Really, I grew up on RPGs and have enjoyed them for their fun factor, story line, techniques, and battle scenes. This game never engaged me enough to play it past the dungeons. The graphics sucked in comparison to ...say GTA4. It looks like it has the graphics of a regular PS2 game (I own an HDTV and it enhances the poor graphics. Try playing a PS2 game on a 1080p TV and you'll see what I mean). Next, the characters and monsters are not perfectly drawn and have edges on them. Heck, I spent over 30 minutes trying to make my character look half decent. A lot of ways to make your character have a face of a deformed rat. The rooms and walls are flat and poorly detailed. What bothered me a ton was that the sword attacks are slow and did not give an indication if my slashes made contact or made any damage at all. I mean, what RPG doesn't show hit points when they're hit? The character menu screen doesn't tell you if a new weapon/armor is better than the one you have equipped. You only see how it looks like in your hand. Also when you're walking around (first-person), you don't know there are coins and items in front of you. The only way to know is if you move the focus point on the screen directly onto the items and only then will it tell you what it is. When I saw coins on the floor, I gave up after 3 because I had to individually pick each one up. There would've been more to complain about but I got bored and stopped playing after I ate rat meat and hacked at the king and his two soldiers. Lame game. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    2
    Utter **** I'll stick the with Final Fantasy games on the ps1, they piss all over this rubbish. Wandering around with nothing really happening is not my idea of a good time. Awful
  7. Pete
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    A great game, but is there ANY must have game that is exclusive to PS3? Unless you're a loser, you can get this for one of your other systems.
  8. JohnS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    1
    This game sucks on all systems, from PC to PS3 to 360. The AI is TERRIBLE, the gameplay is SLOW as hell, and you can't attack whoever you want!! Morrowind is a better game than this.... Then again Daggerfall was better than Morrowind, I guess this is just another good example of the watering-down of a series.
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    1
    II bought this game based on the good critics, came home and played it
    for 2 hours.... Then I walked over to my PS3 and pushed the eject
    button, sat on the ground in disbelieve. I just survived the most horrible gaming experience ever. In 2 hours nothing happened... I created a character, fought some rat, fought some dogs, got caught picking a lock, died while trying to swing my sword in
    II bought this game based on the good critics, came home and played it
    for 2 hours.... Then I walked over to my PS3 and pushed the eject
    button, sat on the ground in disbelieve. I just survived the most
    horrible gaming experience ever.

    In 2 hours nothing happened... I created a character, fought some rat,
    fought some dogs, got caught picking a lock, died while trying to
    swing my sword in all directions butt the enemies.

    I just wandered about in some boring land with a butt ugly character
    who seems to hover over the land in stead of walking, the collision
    detection is just horrible. When the guy jumps it goes almost in
    slow-motion.

    If you are like me and would like to try a RPG in stead of your
    regular doses casual gaming -> InFAMOUS, God Of War, Red Dead
    Redemption, Uncharted etc etc .. AVOID ... DO NOT TOUCH. You will die
    out of boredom.
    Expand
  10. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    Though, despite the huge hype and respect for this game, I find it to be quite terrible. It's just simply not my kind of game. I found the game play to be disturbingly horrible, the graphics are what you would expect to see on a first generation console. I can't say to much for the story line, sense I could not get more then 10 minutes into the game without turning it off in absoluteThough, despite the huge hype and respect for this game, I find it to be quite terrible. It's just simply not my kind of game. I found the game play to be disturbingly horrible, the graphics are what you would expect to see on a first generation console. I can't say to much for the story line, sense I could not get more then 10 minutes into the game without turning it off in absolute sickness. So all around, I don't really have a right to review this game sense I could not even get close to finishing it. I understand that a lot of people love this game, and completely understand those who are wanting to send me bomb threats for my huge hatred towards this game. I just though I should let others know that this games is not worth paying any attention to, and should be forgotten as soon as possible. Except for those who already love the game. Expand
  11. AnonymousMC
    Sep 9, 2007
    0
    I HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping theI HATE how everyone, even half of the critics, are acting as if Oblivion on the PS3 is a completely original game for the system, rather than a game that came out an entire YEAR earlier for the 360 and PC. I'm not insulting the game-- the game is brilliant and even better than the previous Elder Scrolls games. I am just extremely annoyed by the fact that so many people are heaping the praise solely on the PS3 version in their reviews, rather than just the game in general and then addressing the differences in the game versions. And I also think it's a testament to the weakness of the PS3 so far that it's two highest-rated games are both ports of games that have been out for a long time. Please, just stop acting like this is only on the PS3 and trying to give credit to the PS3 rather than Bethseda for the game. For my honest opinion of the multiple versions, I would just go with whichever system you have, since the PS3 version has KNights of the Nine included on it, but none of the other downloadable content, especially Shivering Isles, a true expansion to the game. But the PS3 does have slightly longer draw-distance, but it's really not like it's that big of a difference. Really, if you have an incredible computer, just buy the game for that. Expand
  12. PecchioniG.
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    A RPG on a console that isn't a Nintendo DS it's a deep insult to the Role-Play essence itself. The only saga which saves from this is Final Fantasy,that is divine. Oblivion should exist only for PC.For XboX360 and PS3 it's ridicolous and without meaning,as Fallout3 in consoles.
  13. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    I played this game for hours, days, weeks and months. But I never got anywhere. And seeing as there is no compelling storyline here to keep you going, I just stopped. I never got past the first oblivion gate (I didn't even know there would be more then one if it wasn't for friends telling me). So I don't get the appeal of this game, I have no idea how to play it. I never had the feeling myI played this game for hours, days, weeks and months. But I never got anywhere. And seeing as there is no compelling storyline here to keep you going, I just stopped. I never got past the first oblivion gate (I didn't even know there would be more then one if it wasn't for friends telling me). So I don't get the appeal of this game, I have no idea how to play it. I never had the feeling my character was getting stronger.
    Together with LittleBigPlanet this is the worst game of this generation I've played.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 95
    The fundamental game is just so epic, the world so vast, the options so varied, that you'll find more quality gameplay shoehorned into this disc than just about any other game I can think of. But the version sitting on store shelves right now is inferior to its brethren on other platforms. So I can really only recommend it if you don't own a 360 or a PC capable of running the game well.
  2. Oblivion on PS3 is one of the biggest and most impressive role-playing games in history, and you owe it to yourself to play it if you haven’t already experienced it elsewhere.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.