The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oblivion is a single-player game that takes place in Tamriel's capital province, Cyrodiil. You are given the task of finding the hidden heir to a throne that sits empty, the previous emperor having been killed by an unknown assassin. With no true Emperor, the gates to Oblivion (theOblivion is a single-player game that takes place in Tamriel's capital province, Cyrodiil. You are given the task of finding the hidden heir to a throne that sits empty, the previous emperor having been killed by an unknown assassin. With no true Emperor, the gates to Oblivion (the equivalent of hell in the world of Tamriel) open, and demons begin to invade Cyrodiil and attack its people and towns. It's up to you to find the lost heir to the throne and unravel the sinister plot that threatens to destroy all of Tamriel. In keeping with the Elder Scrolls tradition, players have the option to experience the main quest at their own pace, and there are plenty of opportunities to explore the vast world and make your own way. Numerous factions can be joined, such as the thieves or mages guilds, and each contains its own complete storyline and the chance to rise to the head of the faction and reap further rewards. Oblivion features a groundbreaking new AI system, called Radiant AI, which gives non-player characters (NPCs) the ability to make their own choices based on the world around them. They decide where to eat or who to talk to and what they say. They sleep, go to church, and even steal items, all based on their individual characteristics. Full facial animations and lip-synching, combined with full speech for all dialog, allows NPCs to come to life like never before. [Bethesda] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    I've never encountered a game that so completely captivated my attention for this long. I've clocked 180 hours in total and I'm still playing. [May 2007, p.78]
  2. As great as "Morrowind" was (and it was difficult at the time to imagine better), Oblivion is a game that does everything ten times better. It also makes playing any other game out there seem trivial. Oblivion is not just a game, it's an experience.
  3. What this game lacks for in screen resolution, it makes up for in its excellent open world, beautiful art design, and grand architecture.
  4. Not only is this one of the best RPGs of the past several years – on any platform – but Oblivion has set the bar very high for any PS3 RPGs that hope to follow. A truly magnificent game.
  5. The PS3 version may look and run slightly better, and it may include Knights of the Nine from the get-go, but the status of the expansion is something you have to consider, and the fact that there's really nothing new should convince you to stick with what you have.
  6. games(TM)
    90
    The sense of awe that you feel when freed from the opening act’s claustrophobic tunnels is as tangible as it ever was, and the century of hours that follow are about as compelling as an action role-playing game can possibly get. [Apr 2007, p.128]
  7. 80
    Although virtually every other genre has incorporated RPG elements, no other RPG has so thoroughly taken in the ideals of the sandbox genre as Oblivion. It gives you a massive playspace, a finely tuned (if sadly flawed) RPG engine to play in it with, and lots of other AI-driven people to play with.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 120
  2. Negative: 14 out of 120
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    The elder scrolls series is by far one of the richest and most engrossing franchises around the sheer volume of content in this game isThe elder scrolls series is by far one of the richest and most engrossing franchises around the sheer volume of content in this game is overwhelming I spent a fair few months of my life in this game just developing my own character and exploring a massive new world this is a game to play if you really want a game in which you can just get lost in the environment, the characters, the enemies and the storyline make this by far the best RPG game out there. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has got very big shoes to fill I have high hopes that it will not just fill those shoes but will set the standard for all RPG games for the future. Long live The Elder Scrolls. Expand
  2. TimP.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing Game made even more amazing with it's Superior PS3 Verision.
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on
    "This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content."
    I don't see why there are lots of trollish idiots on this review page who review this game a 0, or 1 or anything other than 10. Everyone who did this needs to realize that there are games other than Call of duty and other crap that plagues consoles under the name FPS. This is a very impressive game that set the standards for RPG's that followed. There's literally 100's of hours of content, along with many dungeons and caves to explore. For people saying that all the caves look the same: Well, so do the ones in real life, and you wouldn't have known anyways because you're spending your whole life on your 360 trying to prestiege. Also, the terrain is varied, unlike what people have said before. There are mountains, snow capped mountains, forests, valleys, plains, wastelands, and even swamps. This is probably one of the best, if not the best games ever made in terms of content. This version in particular has the best loading times and graphics improvements. Bethesda is an amazing game maker and completely blew me off track with this game. This game actually got me through the pains i had in real life, and kept me occupied during frustrating times. I salute this game and all who have made it. If you haven't played this game, go play it. Don't listen to all these fanboy haters that are mad because the PS3 version is more smooth. Overall, definately the #1 game on my list. Good luck.
    Expand
  4. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    One of the nicest role playing games for gaming-console ever! astonishing graphics, many quests, months, days and hours of fun :)
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Big and beautiful world with an nice OST. I like how the NPC´s have all there own daily routine. The only minus this game has is the battleBig and beautiful world with an nice OST. I like how the NPC´s have all there own daily routine. The only minus this game has is the battle system, its shallow. Still a defining RPG. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    Lots of adventures in this game but in general it lacks drama and storytelling. When it came out graphics were ok, but today the game looksLots of adventures in this game but in general it lacks drama and storytelling. When it came out graphics were ok, but today the game looks pretty old.

    Still one of the best RPG ifor the PS3.
    Expand
  7. PecchioniG.
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    A RPG on a console that isn't a Nintendo DS it's a deep insult to the Role-Play essence itself. The only saga which saves from this A RPG on a console that isn't a Nintendo DS it's a deep insult to the Role-Play essence itself. The only saga which saves from this is Final Fantasy,that is divine. Oblivion should exist only for PC.For XboX360 and PS3 it's ridicolous and without meaning,as Fallout3 in consoles. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews