User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 9 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I know it is a little "Late" for some PS3 Skyrim fans to join in on the DLC but I must say it exceeded my expectations. I feared that the Dragonborn DLC was going to be riddled with bugs freezes (Much like the add-ons for the Fallout games were on PS3) to the point where it was unplayable. To be perfectly honest, it runs as if it was part of the actual game. Now talking about the DLCI know it is a little "Late" for some PS3 Skyrim fans to join in on the DLC but I must say it exceeded my expectations. I feared that the Dragonborn DLC was going to be riddled with bugs freezes (Much like the add-ons for the Fallout games were on PS3) to the point where it was unplayable. To be perfectly honest, it runs as if it was part of the actual game. Now talking about the DLC iteself, it's is a lot of fun filled with new weapons, armor, tons of quests, and a huge map to boot. If you loved Skyrim and are trying to find reasons to get back into, Dragonborn is a great excuse. Collapse
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Once again, the employees at Bethesda have shown themselves to be truly dedicated to the entertainment and satisfaction of their fans. Dragonborn is epic. Solstheim is very large and offers a refreshing change of pace from the Nordic society of mainland Skyrim, allowing the player to instead observe the now-struggling Dunmer culture of Solstheim. It's amazing to see the typical morrowinOnce again, the employees at Bethesda have shown themselves to be truly dedicated to the entertainment and satisfaction of their fans. Dragonborn is epic. Solstheim is very large and offers a refreshing change of pace from the Nordic society of mainland Skyrim, allowing the player to instead observe the now-struggling Dunmer culture of Solstheim. It's amazing to see the typical morrowin wildife including netches, silt striders, and giant mushroom houses all in full Skyrim HD. However, the true show-stopper in terms of visual appeal is Hermaeus Mora's realm of Apocrypha. This plane of Oblivion far outstrips the generic fire and brimstone of Mehrunes Dagon's Deadlands in every conceivable way. It's dark, threatening, beautifully designed, and completely filled with literally hundreds of well-written works of in-game literature that expand upon the series' lore and makes the world of Nirn feel alive like never before. The only gripe that holds this DLC back from true greatness is the dragon-riding. There's no gettin around it: the commercial highlight of this expansion is an unharacteristically lazy, clumsy, and poorly executed experience. Regardless, this DLC is truly fantastic and a worthy addition to the most expansive RPG in the industry. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I loved skyrim, but then again who doesn't It was a beautiful game with endless possibilities, however I found it hard to level up my character as well as stay intuned with the game when I finished all the main quests and joined all the guilds. I would go from town to town desperately trying to find a quest and that soon became boring, as did adventuring the lands for countlessI loved skyrim, but then again who doesn't It was a beautiful game with endless possibilities, however I found it hard to level up my character as well as stay intuned with the game when I finished all the main quests and joined all the guilds. I would go from town to town desperately trying to find a quest and that soon became boring, as did adventuring the lands for countless hours~What made it even worse was that xbox had new content with their dlc and pc had mods! However now that dragonborn is here I am able to do what I think we all love which is adventuring new lands and doing new quests! (Both of which there is in abundance in the game) Its a nice fairly large map with a lot of new things to do and see and it is super exciting, especially when u first arrive knowing there is a whole island out there to explore! So far I have had no glitches, and the graphics are just as good as those in skyrim! Overall its a wonderful and exciting add on that I advise you all to buy it now in its opening week while its still $9.99! Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    We've already explored all of Skyrim, so now let's go back to the nostalgic island of Solstheim, so similar yet so different to how it appeared in Bloodmoon. Great new weapons, armour and shouts, as well as an amazing 3+ hour main quest. The characters are so much more advanced, and there is a lot of effort obviously put into it. In my opinion, better than Dawnguard
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    I'm so happy that the dragonborn dlc came out a little while back I heard that there is a great story AWSOME shouts. But when I heard you can ride a dragon I was so freaked out . But the problem was that ps3 user waited so long that we can't Even control the dragon
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Cabros como chucha le pongo 11 esta wea, es la zorra como mierda le ponen un 7? Tan cagaos del ano, se los culio un negro pichulotote vayan a mearle el sapo a suhermana, aweonados ql, este juego es 2d y es la zorra !!! Nunca le diun peso peroen realidad vale la pena jugarlo es bkmmm!!!!
  7. Dec 28, 2015
    8
    Great DLC, worth the price, a full new map filled with a lot of new enemies (i mean, for this game) and new quests
    Main quest of this is greatly achieved, though the thing that seems the main attraction (dragon ride) is a HUGE dissappointment.
    9/10
  8. Dec 3, 2015
    8
    This is pretty effing big for DLC which all developers need to be taking notes on, it gives you a whole new region to explore, and new baddies and creatures to kill!!!! It's definitely worth buying if you didn't get the legendary edition, and you learn new shouts which is another bonus, i haven't even explored all of Solstheim yet which is the new region, GREAT DLC for an already amazing game.
  9. May 6, 2016
    10
    Dragonborn is a well-made and exciting extension for an already amazing game. Although it did cause the game to load for longer amounts of time, it was able to create an interesting and well executed story, and that's exactly what I bought it for.
  10. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I know it is a little "Late" for some PS3 Skyrim fans to join in on the DLC but I must say it exceeded my expectations. I feared that the Dragonborn DLC was going to be riddled with bugs freezes (Much like the add-ons for the Fallout games were on PS3) to the point where it was unplayable. To be perfectly honest, it runs as if it was part of the actual game. Now talking about the DLCI know it is a little "Late" for some PS3 Skyrim fans to join in on the DLC but I must say it exceeded my expectations. I feared that the Dragonborn DLC was going to be riddled with bugs freezes (Much like the add-ons for the Fallout games were on PS3) to the point where it was unplayable. To be perfectly honest, it runs as if it was part of the actual game. Now talking about the DLC iteself, it's is a lot of fun filled with new weapons, armor, tons of quests, and a huge map to boot. If you loved Skyrim and are trying to find reasons to get back into, Dragonborn is a great excuse. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Play UK
    Mar 21, 2013
    84
    Dragonborn is full of bugs and its biggest selling point is a major disappointment. But this expansion has so much to offer that it's still more than worth the asking price, and just what fans are looking for. [Issue#229, p.73]
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 14, 2013
    85
    After what seems ages, PS3 gamers can now finally get their hands on some downloadable content for Skyrim. And even if you missed Bethesda's sweet half priced deal, Dragonborn is still worth the purchase. [March 2013, p.88]
  3. 80
    With its large new map, unique dungeons, and captivating story and side quests, Skyrim's Dragonborn feels far more like a complete expansion than basic add-on content. Familiar issues persist, and riding dragons isn't all that cool, but it's certainly great to play more Skyrim.