User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2101 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    The only Elder Scrolls game I had played before Skyrim was Morrowind, and I hated it. Luckily, Skyrim is amazing and I love it. Immense world, limitless things to do, so many ways to play the game, good perk and leveling system, fun combat... so good. I played Skyrim for a week straight and still want more.
    My only complaints would be the few bugs and that the melee combat still feels too
    much like you're just trading blows instead of stylishly fighting. Overall, amazing game. One of my favorites of all time. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    To the idiot who creates hundreds of user accounts and then posts his 0 rating. Please be a little more creative. Each and every review sounds exactly the same. Glitches, stuttering, broken, ok, yea we got it. I'm sure your proud of yourself that you have completly skewed the rating. You also have way too much time on your hands. Get a life! Oh and by the way, I give Skyrim a 9 rather than a 10 because if the stuttering. Unlike the idiot who sits around all day creating new names I appreciate all the positives the game has to offer. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    At first, I was REALLY skeptical about whether or not Bethesda could live up to their promises. I played over 150 hours of Oblivion, and I was really absorbed into it. Long story short, once I heard that theme play on the main menu, I knew this game would be amazing. So far, I've put a lot of time into the game and merely scratched the surface. In my opinion, this IS one of the best games ever made. It took what Morrowind and Oblivion had added them together in a perfect package. Man, I feel sorry for those COD fans below. I spent longer exploring the world, ignoring the main quest than it took them to complete MW3's. Please, go back to playing your rehashed piece of garbage. I've got a whole world to get back to! Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game lags but as I write this the serious issues have been patched, even before they werent serious. This game is absolutly beautiful and you owe it to yourself to play it
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is a difficult game to review. It has been the bearer of the single worst technical glitch that I have ever seen in a game. After I invested a large amount of time in it, the game re-payed me by becoming totally unplayable. The frame-rate dropped to a virtual standstill and the game would crash repeatedly. The result of which led Skyrim to become an unexpected dust-gatherer. But... I recently returned to Skyrim after a few months away to find the problems patched and the game actually playable again. Can I let bygones be bygones? Can I set aside all that frustration and truly accept Skyrim for what it is and not what it once was? If it wasn't one of the best RPG's of all time, the answer would be a huge NO. But it is, so maybe I can. Skyrim offers unparalleled depth and an almost infinite playtime. You can loose yourself in this world for whole days without batting an eye. It is, quite simply, one of the most immersive, brilliant games ever made. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Its literally breathtaking. so youve read the critic reviews which has scored this game in the 10s and 9s . with players finally getting thei hands on this game. Its going to be difficault to pin down everything this game has to offer. Beacuase its so damn huge. The first time i ever played the series was Oblivion , i had just recently purchased a PS3 in 2007, and was looking for the best titles available. I picked up oblivion , and RPGs were never my thing. Oblivion elderscrolls IV changed that forever. It took soo many hours from me and my bro, that we would argue over whos turn it was on their. Great game , a great laugh and one of the best titles ever to be released on next generation. i loved Bethstedas FALLOUT 3 series too. NOW SKYRIM after seeing the trailers and the build up to the game, it was certain that this game was going to be improved in every way. as soon as i played my first half hour, i saw how much more mature, serious and Epic the game looked, felt and sounded. IT seems much more serious. The game starts with you as a prisnor , i will not spoil the plot lines. But the game kicks off in a overwhelming EPIC fashion. You eventually set foot into the world, and you stand their overwhelmed by the gorgeous environemnt, lush trees, and mountain ranges, and the weather and air. The game engrosses you into the world of Skyrim. Next minute you are making your way into your first town. At this point i as an experianced RPG player was jaw dropped at how the atmosphere and the look of the game played out. The characters no longer are cartoony , they move with much better animations , and talk in a much more manner. At one point it makes you feel part of a large conversation. And it just worked sooo well. GAMEPLAY. - animations soo much better , its great watching your character fight in third person , and the finishes are satisfying to watch. -you now can be more than one class, magic and combat.. you choose you decide. -the open world really makes you feel part of the enviornment , GRAPHICS -EPIC ....... SOUND EPIC.... for example you can hear dragons , randomly .... and you will look up ! and around to find nothing. It will scare you ... the sound of beasts lurking in the forests... at one point i hear a roar from the sky , and nothing is their .. Now you as a person who wants to experiance next gen gaming RPGS... this game is going to literally take your mind INTO SKYRIM.. fallout 3 is able to do that , but SKYRIM does it on another level. This game is going to give you an experiance.. its going to do what games suppose to do , a form of escapism. for an hour or more, you will not be yourself, you will be your character in SKYRIM. ive played the game for two hours, and already im overwhelmed by the amount of story, plot, and the sheer size of the game. This is going to keep you for more than a year.. depending how you play it. the DLC . and again creating a new charcter in a new race. The games sheer size is literally astounding , im personally taking this journey slower , and much more laid back . I dont want to rush things, its one of those games where you want enjoy fully. People complaining about bugs and glitches really are trying hard to find negatives in this game... Bugs and glitche can be eradicated through updates, and these bugs dont even matter when you have a phenomenal world to explore. Of course in a game soo big their are going to be annoying bugs and glitches. However as i learned on oblivion some can be very Funny , espeically talking to some elf whos stuck in the wall. SKYRIM is probably one of the best games ever to be made. its phenomenal , this is a gem. i only needed two hours and think to myself ... How did they do this so well. I mean lush enviornments, huge world to explore. gameplay and combat which really has much depth to it. I mean i loved oblivion .. but skyrim improves on everything that oblivion developed. SO after almost 5 years we have a game which really makes oblivion look almost last gen .. its been worth the wait . IT NEEDS TO BE PLAYED. .......... IT NEEDS TO BE EXPERIANCED. ive played Oblivion, fallout 3 ,FNV, DRAGON AGE.. all great RPGS.. Skyrims looks and atmoshphere take you somewhere else. its an addictive game..... but one you will keep . the only reasons why you wont like this game, is if RPGS are not your type of thing, or you dont like exploration and a deep world. But then you are missing out on a great experiance. And to some of those who say that the game is taking from fallout 3 with swords and magic LOL. seriously i think ive heard similiar rubbish when fallout 3 came out, when it was " Oblivion with guns". complete and utter crap ! . I loved fallout , but this game blows it out the water, the animations , smooth and fluid gameplay. and the graphics, make this game one of the definitive experiances of this generation. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Ok im not gonna give this game a 10 why because there are some fault in the game BUT i can say this is ONE of my fav games of this year and ONE of my fav games for the past 3 years.The music is fantastic,the story line is pretty driven, the characters pretty good the graphic is very on top BUT there are parts in the game where im like ehhh this seems too much like fallout 3 like i go under water and it just looks bland and nothing there and the way people talk gets kinda annoying other then those min things like the bugs dont even bother me. I would give this game a 9.5. Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Possibly the most epic/best game ever made. I've never seen a game as beautiful as Skyrim before. It is even better than I imagined it would be. What makes Skyrim such an epic game? What makes it so damn good? What makes it so damn... beautiful?

    The environment and the soundtracks is so good that you wish you could just live there. As you play, you won't even notice that you've been
    playing for 12 hours straight. Skyrim's not just a game, but another world. I nearly cried at the end of the story line. But even though you have completed the story line, you have PLENTY of other things to do. Go slay some dragons, learn all the shouts, do side-quests, buy a house or get married. Endless possibilities! With over 300+ hours of playtime, I think that this is one of those must have games.

    Haven't you played Skyrim yet? What are you waiting for? Go buy it right now! You won't regret it.
    Expand
  9. TeN
    Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Im giving it a 9 because in some way it looks like graphics could have been a bit better. It is because of the game industry is making games for consoles and port them down to the PC. Plus i had to set and add stuff in an .ini file, for the mouse to react directly instead of feeling sloppy.
    But the overall feeling and gameplay makes up for all of those (my) negative things. Noticed no
    freezes and/or bugs yet, it feels very stable overall. Expand
  10. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    An amazing, open world, game to get lost in. Which unfortunately like every Bethesda games before is plagued with bugs that keep it from being a perfect 10. But, still an incredible RPG that will keep you engaged for hours on end.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  12. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    If you want to feel free and a true nordic warrior, Skyrim is your game!. You have a lot of secondary missions and you can´t be bored never!. If you like rpg games, this is your game. The graphics are great, maybe they are not the most spectacular on this generation, but the giant map, the enviorement and all arround this game its great. The music its amazing, fits perfectly with the action or the exploration moments.

    Great game, but maybe if the graphics were better, this game could be the perfect game.
    Expand
  13. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected with such an incredibly large game. I'm still in awe at how huge the world is, how many quests there are, and how much there is to do. There is so much life in this game and the detail is jaw-dropping; I didn't like Morrowind or Oblivion because their worlds felt dead to me and I was never inspired to explore or quest... Skyrim is different. The dungeons are unique and creative, the boss fights are fun, and the quests are exciting! People interact with you constantly, making the world feel alive. On top of all of that you have the massive, beautiful environments plus all of the stuff you normally get with Elder Scrolls games (professions, great music, etc.) What am I doing even writing this review? I should be playing Skyrim! Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    It is always difficult to rate a Bethesda game (at least for me). When it comes to open sandbox worlds that are enormous it is safe to say Bethesda holds one of the top positions in that genre. At top resolution Skyrim is graphically beautiful. Like many of Bethesda games however, it can lag at times and at lower resolution the graphics can look shabby. I think in today's gaming world your home entertainment products dictate much or what you game will look like. On it's own Skyrim is beautiful. Gameplay is exciting and full of the usual adventure you would expect from this title. I love the open world exploring and diversity of the game. I didn't feel like I was in a copy and paste world full of templates that some developers use for their games. Each room, tunnel, and cave had it's own unique personality. The melee fighting is still sloppy (as per usual and for me, expected) but the ranged combat is still fun. The ability to use both hands make for some cool customized ways to take out opponents. The biggest complaint I have (surprise!) are the game breaking bugs. I am on my second play through. My first play through caught a bug in Winterhold after doing a quest for the Jarl. For some reason I was offered a duplicate quest (getting the helm for the Jarl to gain him respect) when I brought the second helm back to him (found in a different location?) he refused to take it from my inventory and following the quest all subsequent quest items were not being removed from my inventory by the NPC's once I completed the quest. So basically all quest items were stuck in my inventory. This obviously would have become a big problem down the line so after a few more hours of game play I erased my PS3 files for Skyrim and started from scratch. Many complaints on Metacritic relate to these bugs in Skyrim. I guess I know that Bethesda pushes the hardware for the systems it uses and makes the game so huge that I expect bugs at this point. It would probably take a million testers 5 years to find all the bugs with a game this size. I don't condone nor condemn Bethesda for these bugs; I have come to expect them and accept them. They have never acknowledged their games are bug free and even before releasing Skyrim talked about an online patch system they have because of the expected bugs. For those who complain...you should have known by now what to expect and know by now the key rule to a Bethesda game: Save often.
    Overall, this is one of the best games I have ever played (been playing since the 2600) and I would encourage anyone who loves adventure, randomness, and discovery, to play this game. Save often and enjoy one of the best open world games ever made.
    Expand
  15. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Never has a game captured my attention like Skyrim has. After a brief introduction the game unleashes you into a massive world where you are free to roam about and explore till your hearts content. There are plenty of towns, landscapes and dungeons to visit. All full of NPCs who always have something interesting to say, which usually results in sending you off on a new quest to fulfill. None of the quests I've encountered had any time constraints so you are free to tackle your long to-do list as leisurely as you desire. The leveling system is very dynamic and the game adapts to each players own style, in addition to this, enemies scale to your level so there is no need to level-grind, making the game always challenging but never overbearing. With so many things to do and see you will never be bored in the beautiful world of Skyrim. Expand
  16. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    What this game lacks is a sense of polish, not in terms of graphics and textures, but of capability. Bethesda in 2005 created Oblivion, which by those years' standards was a complete overhaul in capability in consoles. They did it once again to Fallout 3 in 2008. This time however they convened story more so than clarity, while not negative, it does bring away the sense of style Bethesda could have done with the game. This is the Fallout:New Vegas of Fallout 3, with more polish and more story. There is no denying that this game is goregous, but it could have been much better. The lasting appeal is on the highest level imaginable, the story is fantastic, and the time spent during this journey is all that it needs to hold that true. Capability is the only thing drawing this back from a perfect 10. Something Uncharted 3 and Arkham City hold. A well deserving 9/10 Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Magical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the little details. There are some bugs, but what do you expect? Every game has bugs. Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game, A step up from Oblivion. Massive open worlds, hundreds of quests and stories, This game will last you months. Just immerse youself!

    A few bugs here and there which is to be expected from such a massive and complex game. But .....meh!! Who cares, Its Elder Scrolls, its the best western RPG franchise to date.

    BUY IT !!!
  19. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I love this game. It takes a while to get into at first. It took me about 8 hours in before things were getting really good. The game is designed well. There's a bugs/glitches, but that's to be expected for sandbox style games. Very fun and engrossing. It's well made because the main campaign becomes very difficult if you're not leveled up enough, which forces you to explore and do other quests. There are side quests with amazing detail that aren't even part of the main campaign.

    I'm giving it a 9 though because there are a few technical issues I don't agree with.
    Expand
  20. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I purchased Skyrim on launch day, and once I started up the game, there were no load times, no advertisements, no logos besides Bethesda's but a clean interface going straight to the menu screen and new game. Starting and playing the game itself is like living in a fantasy world. The music, sounds, graphics and everything make you feel totally immersed. This game is improved from Oblivion in every way because there are no game breaking bugs, crashes, graphic, or performance issues, and the ones that they do have are very minor and can be patched. I have played about 35 hours so far and I can say that this game is a masterpiece. I have only been to one city so far and have been doing quests only in that city. I have not even gone through half of the quests yet as I have a long list of things to do, and each quest doesn't feel generic like other RPGs' fetch quests and kill quests. There are 8 more holds in the game, so I know I can expect much more than the 300 hours Bethesda advertised. Overall, I can't even begin to describe what this game offers and how much you can do in it while having so much fun. Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Fantastic fun game that does a great job immersing you into its world. It feels like it looks and I love the setting, coldy windy, norse mythology mixed with the deep story and background of Elder Scrolls.

    It rings familiar of Oblivion but the characters feel like real humans and while still not exactly pretty don't rip you our of the experience any longer. The simplified skilling system
    is perfect for me because i dont want to get my calculator out and permanently worry about messing up my "build". I can understand if you liked that part of the previous games you might be dissapointed by that. For me it balances out to a great value and I look forward to a long winter in Skyrim Expand
  22. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This is the most awesome game in the world!
    It doesnot matter for what plataform you buy it, you will get the most amazing experencie in video games of all the time.
    And for all those people who complain about the PS3 bugs and glitches, just turn autosave off. It really worked for me!
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Sure to take out GOTY 2011, Skyrim is everything that I wanted to follow in this series after clocking up hundreds of hours wandering Vvardenfell and Cyrodiil respectively. Other than a few minor bugs and issues (that have not seriously affected the gameplay) this game is arguably the best RPG to come out of the gaming industry since its 2002 predecessor Morrowind. With none of the copy & paste repetitiveness that is Oblivion, Bethesda has moved to better things with every character looking and sounding different (come on, in Oblivion I got déjà vu from the races looking and sounding exactly the same). With rich textures and images, that have literally stopped me from continuing my journey just to look at the wonderful details, I actually get the feeling that I am stalking a camp of bandits or fighting a monstrous, deadly dragon just because of the mechanics of the game. For those of you with doubts on whether or not to buy this game, seriously if you are anything like me you will spend the better part of a day playing it, only to sleep and dream about it until you are able to pick up on where you left off. Expand
  24. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    A vast improvement from the last Elder Scrolls. With new graphics, better leveling system, better looking character models, and don't forget dragons. The combat system is even better and you can fight how you want to fight. Like duel-wielded swords, blunts, spells, and even shields. Third person view is actually better then previous games like oblivion or fallout but you will probably prefer 1st person. Since its a RPG. Its bound to have bugs and no surprise there are. But won't make the game frustrating. Also fighting dragons often will get boring or sometimes annoying. BUT GET THIS GAME Expand
  25. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    If you like RPGs - you will LOVE Skyrim. Sure, there are glitches and bugs here and there (messy textures, floating NPCs etc...) but these are to be expected with this huge vast world to explore. I already spent ~18 hours playing and barely covered even 10% of the world and quests.

    In this day and age of repetitive multiplier games that involve killing each other in different settings
    (halo, mw3, bf3 etc..), it is so refreshing to just kick back and explore a vast fantasy world all by yourself.

    It brings back the reason we all like games - to be immersed in a new world and just have fun. Trust me, you will lose hours/days playing this w/o even noticing.

    Game of the year for me despite the 9/10.
    Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    let me just start of by saying that this game is probaly one of the best rpg's i have ever played. All you people reading this review are probaly "thinking hold on a sec how can you make such a bold statement".This game has exceeded my expectations skyrim is filled with massive amounts of quest which are all fun and interesting in their own way. skyrim also has a perk system which lets you play the way you want to play as. Todd Howard wasnt lieing when he made that statement.The graphics are visually impressive aswell. This is a must have for any role playing fan,also this is Bethesdas best work. well bye everyone I gotta go back to playing skyrim Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    this could had been the game of the year without any problem, but the unpolished textures, boring dialogs, lot of bugs and glitches. dropped it to a normal low game. some graphic treatment for example like assasins creed brotherhood and some better gameplay would put it in another leavel. too much hype for this. we are entering 2012 boys, we need top notch graphs! not this messy system!!
  28. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, very immersive, it's not perfect due to some small issues like minor popins, some ugly textures (only if you look for them honestly) and some bad shadows, but personally, they don't take anything away from the game for me. It lets me do what I want to do. You have to try it and see it for yourself, don't trust any review you read because this game isn't for everyone, but the ones it is for, it's almost perfect. Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE!
    You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder
    everyone? Go help village people?

    To steal from another review, It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games. Its exactly that. Go do your PC, Xbox or PS3 proud and GET THIS GAME! Even if your not into this sort of stuff, it just may convert you.

    Oh and, there ARE bugs, just thought you should know. Nothing game breaking.
    Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I didn't dislike Oblivion but I didn't like it either. I was aprehensive about buying Skyrim. I was used to most elderscrolls game with their shoddy hit detection and sub-par 1st person and 3rd person views. This game has changed my opinions of the Elderscrolls games. The character customization has changed radically since previous installments. The detail has gotten better and the models look more realistic. Expand
  31. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  32. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Ps3 buyers deserved a better version. Like a programmer said "programming for the PS3 is what separates the good programmers from the bad programmers". So i don't need to say anything else.. Check this: http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-11-13-skyrim-triple-format-comparison-gallery-comparison-gallery What a disappointment.

    Although the more you play the more you wanna play:)
  33. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. I lost a whole day to this game and I have barely scratched the surface. I love the levelling system as it makes you use different approaches for different dungeons, just so your character levels. The dragons make for for an exciting encounter but only if you are an archer in my experience. I tried hitting one with magic and one handed weapons but I got my rear handed to me. Dungeons fit the mood and the variation in quests will keep me amused for months. Thank you Bethesda (Take note Infinity ward) Expand
  34. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is as expected, the best RPG of all time and possibly best game ever. There is so much content in this game that will keep you busy for hours and hours and don't get bored with the 100s of quests and places to explore. The gameplay is fantastic, how you can put one weapon or spell in one hand and a different one in the other which gives plenty of choice. The choosing classes at the beginning is scrapped now you just level up skills by using that skill more than others which is more realistic. Levelling up is a blast and feels really rewarding and there are loads of perks under each skill to choose from. The only fault I would give this game is the noticeable glitches and bugs with the occasional freezing but that's to be expected with a game at this size. I would rather a massive game with loads to do and i can overlook the bugs. But really no game is perfect but this is not far from it. I rated this game 10 because i think it is higher than 9 but no game is perfect so I would go inbetween with 9.5/10. Some reviews are too harsh and are never pleased and rate things down massively for little things when this is definitely the best game in my collection! Expand
  35. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I have been a fan of the Elders Scrolls series since I played Morrowwind and its expansions on the original Xbox. I continued the series going into Oblivion with knowledge that bugs may be apparent due to the extensiveness of the quest and the amount of open world changes the game tries to keep track of, those issues where apparent in Morrowwind and not so much as Oblivion, but now we are on to Skyrim the company's latest console attempt and by far the worse in terms of bugs. When the game runs perfectly it is a masterpiece that shines above its predecessors in every way and I recommend everyone plays this entry, because I know in my heart Bethesda will bring out a patch. Now to justify the reasons for playing this buggy journey are excellent combat controls (I'm not a fan of the new favorite system, but it works. I wish they would have let you map your selection to the D-pad instead.), massive amounts of quests, a beautiful open-world, great music score, and an excellent story (possible the best story so far in the series). Another thing to point out is the interactions with characters seem more approaching in this game, you feel like you want to speak to the NPC's. This is the perfect example of a Diamond in the Rough. Expand
  36. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I actually didn't buy the game on release, i got talked into it by friends, i am not a big fan of rpgs which has it's base in first person... So i started the game and i was sure i was gonna hate it... However i have never in my 20 years of gaming been more pleasently surprised, the third person mode is actually playableand the game has beautiful surroundings, the choices in playstyle are massive, it's the best game i have ever played, it have also turned me from a trophy junkie to a good game junkie.... Great work, music and everything Expand
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I actually wanted to give this game a 9.5, but there is no option, so I nicely rounded up. This game is excellent! There is tons to do and great detail in the environments and weapons. The reason I wanted to give it a 9.5 however is because of the huge amount glitches, frame-rate drops, and awkward presentation. They don't take away from the experience too much, but can get annoying.
  38. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    I used to hate Skyrim's bugs, then they took an arrow to the knee. The fact that review scores lower than 10 are legal for this game is an atrocity and must be stopped immediately.
  39. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Skyrim, this is a game that will not let you live your life: you will be at work, thinking of this game, making out with your girl, Thinking of Skyrim. A beautifully crafted world, where you can almost smell the environment, If you do not own this game.. it is a must, not possible to just rent. I would give an in depth review, but there is no need.. because you just have to trust the reviews on this one... Unless of course you don't like good games.. in that case, COD is the clear choice for you. Expand
  40. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the best games I've played in a long time it is great in every way the graphics are awesome, the game play is outstanding and this game is 10 times better than, but don't get me wrong Oblivion was a great game also, but I think Bethesda really got this game right.
  41. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    I loved Morrowind (especially levitation), didn't care for Oblivion (played on PC back then), and now Skyrim. I didn't know what to expect since my PC is not "updated", so I decided to buy PS3 version. So many players have complained about the bugs, I have not experiences single one after 60+ hours (except mammoths not going to water). And if I ever will any serious ones in this game, I wouldn't care that much. I have NEVER played as visually beautiful game as Skyrim, not on PC not on PS3. Jeremy Soule made amazing job with soundtrack and NPC's with their daily routines are convincing. As so many others, I have barely touched main quest, my kids are shouting : "Dragon! Kill it daddy" or "Go over there, there are some ruins, maybe we find some demons" have been my experience of Skyrim :). I do miss attributes from previous installments, but perks are a nice addition, but they do not compensate simplified structure of attributes. I have always appreciated Bethesda's skills creating awesome games, and with Skyrim they really made something special. If you have not purchased game yet, DO IT IMMEDIATELY! Doesn't matter are you playing PC/xbox/ or PS3. Expand
  42. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Amazing game!!! Don't listen to the haters. Great performance and amazing graphics. Simply the best RPG available on the PS3. It seriously doesn't get better than this. You will be lost in the game for hours on end.
  43. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. I've put well over 60 hours into it, which equates to more than an hour of game time per dollar. That's a lot of value when you consider the 10-20 hours that most games give. And to top it off, I'm no where near finished with the game.

    The game is beautiful, the music is beautiful, and the game play is a blast.

    I pre-ordered this game and brought it home at
    midnight, and haven't regretted it once, well, except for all the time I've put into it that I could have been doing school work. Expand
  44. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    This game takes everything you loved about oblivion and morrowind to create one of the most memorable gaming experiences I have had in some time. The game is in no way perfect though. I can only speak for the PS3 version but there are tons of glitches. Some can be funny and even charming but other times it makes the game feel almost broken. Also, you cannot map commonly used weapons, items or spells to the directional pad. Making you stop time and ruin the moment of the game when u need to switch weapons. That being said the game looks beautiful, the sound score is pitch perfect, and content is massive. 910 right now, would probably make that a 10 if the upcoming patches fix the bugs. Expand
  45. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Dont listen to any of those idiots saying skyrim is s*** .
    yes, it does lag but no where near as often as they make it out to be.
    Skyrim is one of- if not THE BEST-game ever created.
    you havent lived until youve played it. when you see a person in skyrim you can kill them, pickpocket them, do a quest for them, or befreind them...the choice is yours...
    enough said GET SKYRIM!!!
  46. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    All i have to say is the=is game is nothing short of spectacular. skyrim makes you want to spend 100s of hours in the world created despite all its technical flaws, which have mostly been fixed in the new patch 1.4
  47. May 27, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played. But it got a 9/10 because of the vast number of glitches, bugs and missing textures at certain points in the game.
  48. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    To me this game is the pinnacle of RPG gaming this generation. Everything about it is above and beyond what was great about Oblivion and Morrowind. For the people concerned that the new "streamlining" has removed RPG depth, I can say that I didn't experience that at all. The leveling and perk systems are deep and varied and have significant effects on gameplay- much more so than some of the aspects of leveling in Oblivion. If you are a PC gamer you will no doubt be waiting anxiously for mods to alter the user interface, but if that's the case leave your bad reviews for the PC version. For the consoles, the menu scheme is terrific and a HUGE improvement over Oblivion. The game is huge, it's as beautiful as it can possibly be using the old console hardware, the quests are varied and much more fleshed out than in Oblivion. Easily a 10/10 and my choice for Game of the Year for 2011. Expand
  49. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Early thoughts (the game just came out yesterday after all, just started it today): fantastic game. The interface is much cleaner and improved, the intro was much better than IV (but I've played that 10x...so maybe that should be factored in) and the graphics are gorgeous. I had the game paused at one point and the shot looked like it could have been a photo or a painting. I'm already feeling overwhelmed by the depth of the game, and I'm still in the starting town: happy adventures everyone! Game gets a 9 because I still feel like more could have been done to streamline the interface: still has a bit of the console aftertaste. Honestly, though, this is as good as it gets for single player RPGs: nobody touches Bethesda's craft. Expand
  50. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This is my first written review, and in my enthusiasm I forgot to place my rating. I don't know how the red empty circle got there, but I really want it to be a big, green circle containing the number 10. Genius, even with a few flaws and glitches, is still genius. The imagination and absolute talent of the guys at Bethesda is staggering, to say the least.
  51. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is fan-fuggin-tastic! If you love the series and or Bethesda RPG games you will definitely love this game! This game is better than expected. All the negative reviews I have read so far are about minor little things that people have blown out of proportion. Some glitches do exist but as a gamer I accept these and sometimes have fun with them (like the flying in the air one, that's just funny and kinda cool the view you get!) Others like freezing and texture issues are minor. I had the game freeze in the opening sequence, but I restarted and it has worked great ever since. I didn't let a minor occurrence ruin anything that this wonderful game has to offer. The graphics aren't the best in the biz but the best in the series. The lighting is finally quite gorgeous for the series and adds a visual bonus (some shadows!). Combat is actually quite good and fun. Duel wielding isn't as polished as say bioshock but I have never thought it was broken or awful. The menu took a bit to get used to but now I am popping in and out of it on the fly and using the favorites like none other. The locations are fantastic and the story is great. This is one of the best games out there to date and if you skip over this title you are missing a huge experience that surprises you around every mountain peak. So I say go buy this game (rent only if you can keep for a month minimum) and enjoy it, play it and experience it. Don't cry that your game froze once and a single texture was blurry or not loaded. Because all games have issues and this one is no different. So overall it's not perfect in every possible way but it is still 99% there. so i give the game a 9.9 since it isn't perfect. But that rounds up to 10. so 10/10 because I am having too much fun playing Skyrim instead of whining over minor annoyances. That's all, I can't wait to get back into it after writing this. Expand
  52. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I love videogames. I love a LOT of videogames actually, in fact I am the kind of guy who gives perfect scores out pretty easily I mean just this year, Dark Souls, Deus ex, Uncharted, and Portal. They were all phenomenal in my eyes, but Skyrim is just everything I love about videogames on a whole nother level. It is not the perfect game but to hell with the idea of perfection, I love this game. If you hate this game, I love this game. I have never loved a game this much in my life. Don't just take my word for it, the love is everywhere. Expand
  53. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    Simply amazing game......yes it suffers some lag, I have had to turn off auto save, a simple fix that has worked for me, it's sad to see tat ps3 owners are still having issues, but developers have had issues with the memory layout of the ps3. But you can't argue that this game is special, a living, breathing, beauty. It's magical in all the feeling you get when scaling the snowy, wind swept mountains, sword and shield beaten with battle scars, deers, rabbits, prancing across with grace, and before long dark entrances to tombs, mines, and remnants of old. The characters are very detailed, and interesting, and in the dark towns, and houses glow with serenity. The game is ripe with flavour, and choices are plentifull, the levelling up system breathes new life, allowing you to channel your skills with great pace. Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    READ THIS PLEASE.
    This is not supposed to be a review because we all know how good the game is. This is a response to all negative reviews out there. Obviously negative and mixed reviews are the outcome of comparison syndrome, lack of fantasy, ps3 version ( medium graphics, bad framerate - performance ) or bad pc specifications ( which result in poor graphics - performance ). I like
    fantasy games and since i started Skyrim i still cannot believe the amount of graphical and gameplay immersion i get out of this game (i own a good pc which runs the game at 1080p, ultra high @ 60+ fps). Music? Effects? Dialogues? Story(ies)? Clans? Enormous terrain? Unlimited freedom? Dragons? Spells? Epic battles? Finishing moves? Beautiful landscapes? Mounts? Houses? Marriage? Followers? Thousands of items? 150+ hand crafted dungeons? Alchemy? Smithing? Cooking? Working? Do you really want me to continue to name more? Because i can! Yeah as some people say, bethesda didn't create something new...Lame trolls. If you are a gamer just do yourself this present magnificent present and install, play it, love it. Expand
  55. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    ............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................The best adventure game ever made.
  56. May 9, 2012
    9
    A very, very good game. Unfortunately, some also very heavy bugs brought some disappointment. Many patches helped out a lot but did not fix it to a 100% clear game.
    Nevertheless: this is one o those outstanding rpg games we will remember a long time. And it is - at last - better than Oblivion and as good as Morrowind.

    But, it definitely has too much loading-screens...
  57. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    I've been anticipating the release of Elder Scrolls V for years now. Ever since I played Oblivion, I wanted an expanded version of that amazing adventure. Oblivion was one of my favorite games from this gen, easily getting a 10/10 from me, so of course I wanted a sequal. Finally, we have that sequal, and it's almost as good as anticipated. This game is nothing short of fantastic. For one, the world is absolutely huge! The world of Elder Scrolls IV was big already, and Skyrim almost tops it. There are more areas to visit this time, and it is just gorgeous. The visuals in this world are far superior to it's predecessor. Often times, I found myself walking through the wilderness and stopping to bare witness to a stunning scenery of mountains, trees, and wildlife. The graphics may not be up to date, but they're good enough for the environments to be nothing short of beautiful. In addition to this large and gorgeous world comes plenty to do. Even after you beat the main story, which only took me a couple of days, you are still overflowed with content that will keep you busy for a while. This game takes to memory on where you've been and what you've done, and uses it to generate new things to do based on your situation and location, ultimately making this game literally endless. Likely chances are, this game will keep you busy for a long time. The combat system is also very well improved, but it also a bit more simplified than Oblivion. In Oblivion, you had to choose between a large number of different jobs, and often times you got confused and didn't know what you wanted to be. But in Skyrim, it's narrowed down to warrior, mage, or thief. This might come as a disappointment to some, but I see it as an improvement, because now you're not limited to just concentrating on major skills, there are more options available to you now. In Oblivion, if you chose thief, you gained XP from using a bow, but not a dagger. In Skyrim, you gain XP from both equally, so you're not just restricted to using one weapon type. I chose to be a thief, and though the blade option was open to me, I chose to make the bow my primary weapon, and mainly used dual daggers for close combat. Yeah that's right, you can dual wield now, and not just weapons either, but spells too. In fact, you can actually wield spells and melee weapons at the same time now, thanks to the new dual wielding feature. Wanna slash and cast lightning at the same time? Go right ahead! But combat has improved beyond just job choice and dual wielding, but upgrading your stats as well. When you level up, you are asked to either increase MP, HP, or Stamina, and you can choose only one per level up. Along with this, you gain an upgrade point, which you can apply to any major or minor skills to learn new abilities. For example, you can use these points to learn a bow ability that allows you to zoom in when aiming. Later on, you can use a point to learn an ability that automatically slows down time when you zoom in with your bow, and later add more damage multipliers to your sneak attacks, which I needed alot, since I am mostly sneaking my way through enemy territory, and quietly sniping any enemies in the way before they notice me. Learning new skills applies to every major skill, all of which are improved over Oblivion. And of course you have the most talked about add on to this game. DRAGONS! Slaying dragons is actually the most fun thing to do in this game. Often times, you'll be traveling out in the field, then suddenly you'll randomly be attacked by a dragon, or maybe you'll see one off in the distance. Thanks to your new dragonborn abilities, slaying dragons will be no problem for you. You have shouts that you can use against them to either slow them down, or hurt them, and using these shouts is a load of fun. You start with a few basic shouts once you kill your first dragon, but you can later find shrines where you can learn new shouts to not only use against dragons, but regular enemies as well. However some dragon types will prove harder than others. Like the blood dragons or skeleton dragons. Watch out for these bastards! Overall, the game is great, but it's not without issues. For one, it's a Bethesda game. What does that mean? Exactly. Bugs, bugs, bugs, and even more annoying bugs, many of which can interfere with progression, especially with the PS3 version. I made the unwise decision of getting it on PS3, and take my word for it, if you have a 360 or PC, get Skyrim on one of those, the PS3 version is mostly broken. Plus, as great as the game is, and as much as it's improved over Oblivion, it still strongly resembles the experience we had with Oblivion, so there's still a feeling of "I played this before" in this game. Skyrim failed to take a big fresh approach to the franchises formula, but does extremely well at expanding on it. Overall, a game that cannot be missed. A 9/10. Expand
  58. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Skyrim Skyrim Skyrim, a really great game from Bethesda. I love the Nordic World and the Quest. The Witcher 2 an Skyrim are the best RPG of the Year. Thanks Bethesda.
  59. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    Note: I have a ps3 slim with lots of space on my hard drive and have auto saves turned off. It runs just fine
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This game is masterful. The graphics, combat, lore, and the leveling up system is just amazing. There's nothing more satisfying than
    seeing your character get super powerful and decimate all who dare meet you in combat. WARNING: This game may become your life Expand
  60. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I've never seen the Trolls so organized! Is this the beginning of the end for user reviews?

    A critical flaw for Metacritic... I'm saving my endearing review for 1up, who'll screen. This is clearly in the top 5 video games of all time. Minor flaws, who cares. So does your wife.
  61. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    I have not experienced any of the issues shown below, maybe i am one of the lucky ones. The game is very long and will keep you occupied for a long time the interface has significantly been improved from the previous oblivion game and the leveling up system is really addictive, Great variety of creatures and animals to hunt and fight, it can be quiet eery at night when you here all the creatures groaning and growling and you don't know where they are i have certainly pooped my pants at several occasions, Graphics look good from a distance but when you get up close all is revealed, textures are blurry and low res, great looking world though, mountains and hills that can be seen and explored, every thing you see can be explored basically. Buy this game but perhaps wait until they release another patch you might not be as lucky as me. Expand
  62. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game has endless content, gorgeous graphics, unscripted dragons, over a hundred spells, dual wielding, a giant map that extends forever, live characters, people that react to every last thing you do. (Ex I had fire spell in my hand, little girl says it's bad to play with fire mister, or I had a dragon sword in my hand, little boy said I like you're sword sir. or I drop stuff in the streets and people fight over it, trying to take it)

    Endless quests, epic weapons, amazing music, many places to live, get married, tons of factions, kill animations, crafting, alchemy, enchanting, smelting, mining, wood chopping, tanning, smelting, sharpening, the world is so beyond alive it's crazy. Everything is so amazing, it's the most beautiful hand crafted world I have ever seen. Skyrim is nothing short of a master piece, and Bethesda earns every amount of praise they get. Game of the year, best game of all time.
    Expand
  63. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is GREAT. I have bought all the Elder Scrolls to date and this one by far has the most polish and personality into it's game design. I also saw quite a few changes for the better from the Fallout 3 games. These make it a much clearer vision. The sheer amount of content here is amazing, I sunk 20 hours over a weekend playing this game and i loved every minute of it. If any have gripes with the Xbox 360 texture problems have no worries, Bethesda will fix it very soon. I have every confidence that you will love this masterpiece. 5 stars out of 5. Expand
  64. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    So this game is very different from oblivion, it takes awhile to get use to the changes, and you might be unsure of the game till you are use to it. I've played it a lot recently and i'm starting to get use to everything new. This game has so much stuff to offer compared to oblivion, that it is literally overwhelming. The more i play the game the better it gets. I recommend buying this game.
  65. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Amazing. This might be the very best RPG that I've played. I've been playing games since the 80's. Anyone that is giving a negative review for this game is either a massive troll, stupid or insane.
  66. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    LAG SOLUTION ON PS3 : Under games in the main Playstation menu, go to saved game utility and delete any auto saves you won't be using. Next, start up the game, go into the menu and turn off auto save on menu. Other than the lag you will encounter if you don't do this, this game is nearly perfect.
  67. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    My only major complaint is the very poor UI design for managing inventory.

    But otherwise it is an incredibly open world where it seems like everything is possible. The PS3 controls take a bit to get used to, but the gameplay is incredible. For anyone that has any interest in RPGs, it is an excellent addition to the genre.
  68. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I cannot emphasize enough the beauty of the art direction in this game. That being said, I almost wish that Bethesda had waited until the next consoles released in the next few years or had optimized the Creation engine a bit more. When roaming the lush world outside the Creation engine truly shines, but when navigating the countless corridors of dungeons, I just feel like the game looks madly outdated. While I don't own a gaming PC, I feel like this was one of those games better left for the next gen of consoles, or should have been a PC exclusive running DX10/11. Running on PS3 I have noticed some frame-rate problems, and for this reason(and a few glitches) Skyrim is just begging for a patch. What Skyrim lacks in texture detail it makes up for with its art design, but enough about graphics. Oh, by the way, the soundtrack is amazing. I've woken up in the morning the last two days with Skyrim tunes in my head. Wonderful

    Gameplay is improved since Oblivion, but the use of the VATS type system in combat can be annoying, especially when it goes from first to third person. I dunno, maybe it's just me, but it kind of takes me out immersion a little bit. Casting spells, dual-casting, hand to hand combat, and shouting all work wonderfully together, but some of the character and NPC animation does feel a little bit tired and awkward. Fighting dragons is a blast! Running into enemies with a much higher skill level than myself while exploring however is not. But, the game always gives you an out if you need it. Invisibility spells and Ethereal shouts always get me out of a pinch, and when all else fails, it's nice to know I can blast a Thu'um and bring lightning down from the sky or call on a dragon to aid me in dispatching enemies. The possibilities really are endless in this game. I suppose if there was going to be a sequel to Skyrim I would ask Bethesda to show a little care to the animations and graphics department, and while I love exploring Skyrim by foot, it would also be nice if they gave the option of more horse-back riding throughout the game. Anyways, even though I've a laundry list of improvements for this game, it is stellar, and does so much to draw you in to its world. It;s not perfect by any means, but I'm giving it a 10 based on the sheer excitement and wonder I have while playing it.
    Expand
  69. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Bethesda does it again. Every time I play this game it transports me into the vivid world of Skyrim. The new combat system feels amazing. The one thing I would have liked to see is a hardcore mode like they put into New Vegas. I have a strong feeling that is will get the GOTY award. STOP WASTING TIME AND JUST GO BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  70. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game is huge and beautiful. If you like single player RPGs than this game is a fun buy. I think the biggest improvement in this game is the leveling and perk system, as well as the dual welding spells and weapons. In the previous Elder Scrolls games I was mostly playing as a battlemage, but because of the new leveling system I want to play a strict magical character. The leveling system is balanced enough where you're not punished for picking a class type, which makes this game so much more re-playable. I'm already 13 hours into this game because of the vastness of it's map size and content. I'll get to the main mission eventually. As far as the dual casting/welding goes. It's a lot of fun and the animation or rendering is awesome. The enemies fry, burn and freeze in really cool ways. I almost feel bad for them.

    As for as cons for the games go, there are a few bugs (but what game doesn't), but for the most part it's really smooth (considering how much is being rendered). I've read reviews of peoples' systems crashing, but my computer is pretty high-end (crossfire 6870) and I'm running at ultra-high settings and I'm having few difficulties. The UI isn't as seamless as I like particularly from a weapon selection perspective and quick swapping. To choose between weapons 'quickly' you need to favorite a weapon or spell. If you want to choose quickly the game pauses and the selection is permitted with no damage penalty. I'd prefer the 'no-pause' where a mouse-wheel could help selection my next weapon system or some sort of key binding.

    Overall, I really happy with this purchase as it's a fun game for me to play. It includes a variety of ways to combat opponents and play the missions. I'll give this game a 10, because there is no other game of this genre that compliments my play style and story needs. I've been anticipating this game for a couple years and Bethesda has not let me down. A great purchase. Thanks Bethesda
    Expand
  71. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    It's, simply put, the best western rpg of all time. The ability to give the player this amazing open-world without losing focus or fall short on content is done staggeringly well. The fundamental annoyances from Oblivion are gone here and there's really nothing that can't be fixed in time. Dialogue is excellent, graphics are improved, creatures come in variety of types and races, and most importantly, the combat/ leveling is now much more fun and deeper. Quests are now meaningful and most of the time embed well into the world. Dragon Age lacked the variety, Dark Souls lacked in content and just having fun, Witcher 2 was great, but the animations were stiff and story wasn't that epic. Skyrim is the new king of RPGs. Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece! One of the best RPG's ever created, if not the best. I didn't like the Oblivion very much but since the first trailer I just knew that this will be one of my favourites games of all time. The world of Skyrim is just beautiful. There are millions of things to do and many interesting places to explore. It has everything that a good RPG should have plus the stunning graphics and a beautiful soundtrack. Bethesda created a wonderful masterpiece that won't be forgotten. Clearly, a game of the year. Expand
  73. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! I am 30 hours in ( the length of most games) and I feel like I have barely scratched the surface on the brilliant game.
  74. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    this is the most epic game i have ever had the privilege of playing. The npc's,dragons,quests and dungeons there all amazing. the true show stealer however is the world of skyrim. the scale is amazing. you will find yourself wondering aimlessly for hours just to see whats round the next corner. If you don't buy this you need help. SIMPLES!!!!
  75. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, People complaining must not have a good enough computer or playing it on console. I am running it Just fine, and has only crashed once when i did "~qqq", aka my own fault. The music is memorable, the fights are faster and quick paced, the environment is amazing, Everything about this game being amazing is correct, if you don't have a good enough pc, or not a PC user who knows how to properly setup a game, please switch to console. Expand
  76. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    Great Game!!! Even have the wife playing her own character. That says a lot. Some bugs but overall great. I think they could of made a few changes that would make the game better like a mini map on screen but all is good.
  77. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Every inch is so rich and just simply amazing looking. I don't see how a game could get much better than this on current hardware. This is my favorite game of of this generation, and probably of all time for that matter. Characters, animation, effects, environments are all top notch. I have seen some odd ai behavior here and there, but that is to be expected in a game where you can do almost anything! It is so huge, I will be playing for many months to come. Expand
  78. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    As a new follower to the Elder Scrolls world - only played Oblivion, I can say, without a doubt, this is one of the better games I've EVER played. Period. The depth of the quests, the soothing sounds of the soundtrack, and the absolutely beautiful world created in Skyrim will resonate with me for a long time to come. I have sunk 30 hours in and I haven't even begun to scratch the surface of how far the proverbial rabbit-hole goes. They took what was awesome from Oblivion, coupled it with the positive characteristics attached to the new Fallout series, and made one hell of a good game. True, they are some bugs, but nothing that detracts you from the games playability in the least. I even find some hilarious - like woolly mammoths that fly. So I never gave them two thoughts.

    I can't put this game down. If you love the Elder Scrolls series, the Fallout series, or any game in general, get this, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  79. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging and there are a lot of side quests to do. Just like the previous entries in the series, Skyrim is more than a game, it is an immersive experience. It is impressive and the best game of its ilk since Oblivion. Expand
  80. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    As a fan of Morrowind and Oblivion I am happy with the direction Bethesada has taken the Elder Scrolls series. No problems with graphics or load times on my PS3. I really like what they've done with the advancement system, I feel like I can actually just play the game instead of worrying about which skill I'm advancing to get the optimal stat increase. I liked what Bethesada did with Fallout 3 and I have no problem with them borrowing some aspects from that game for Skyrim. The dual-wielding takes a little bit to get used to, but once you've got it down you can unleash some massive damage. Skyrim will provide several years of entertaining escapism. Expand
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I was lost for words while playing this game. It was a truly brilliant successor to Oblivion and more. The feel of immersion in the gameplay was so deep, I wouldn't be surprised if this game would claim people's lives. In my opinion, this has got to be one of the greatest RPGs of all time - Bethesda are video game geniuses. My only criticism is minor and should really be ignored as everything else makes this game a unique and wonderful experience; the fact that this game is so huge and so complex, many gamers who are used to smaller and more compact games like the Call of Duty series and sports games like FIFA would probably feel a little too free and, as a result, bored - but for gamers with determination, imagination and an idea of what they want to do - this game is an infinite-size canvas. Expand
  82. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    9.9/10 i found this game to have a awesome story, awesome graphics and more content you can shake a stick at . a few tiny bugs on the PlayStation where the menu's weren't loading properly But still overall this has to be my favorite game of the year.
  83. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game really is amazing. They took everything that worked from oblivion, and made it stronger in every way possible. This is an incredible, huge and immersing game. If you have played Oblivion, Morrowind or any of the Fallout games - You need this. If you haven't ever played any of these games, now is the best time to start. Of course, Skyrim has it's minor glitches - but with a game this big, it would be impossible for it to not have them. 100% recommended buy. Expand
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Haters gonna hate. to those of your complaining about the game? its the same people with any new release. cry and moan about how this that and the other. I swear some of the complaints i have seen must be hired critics or something cause seriously? shotty graphics? get a better computer, the game is not gonna look the same for everyone unless we're all running the same system? this game brings so much more depth then the previous releases. two thumbs up for sure a recommended buy. Expand
  85. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It's not often Games like this come along. But Skyrim's Amazing Gameplay Combines all the good elements of The nostalgic Morrowind and Popular Oblivion to make the perfect storm of RPG brilliance. The Main Quest Storyline is Clever, Original, and Fits Together Perfectly. I haven't finished many of the other quests yet, but I have been all over the Northern Providence. The Sky Is Stunningly beautiful for a Video Game and All the Cities and Dungeons are unique and you can very easily tell them apart. I have tried both the PC version and Xbox 360 Version and if this were a review for the xbox 360 version, the score would be somewhere around 6. The Graphics for Skyrim are amazing. If your computer can run it at it's highest, It is an amazing experience. Expand
  86. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    This game is straight up amazing. Haven't had this much fun with a game in forever. Tons of explorable areas even outside quests. The quests are fun as hell too. All sick classes for all kinds of players. No complaints
  87. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    è veramente un gioco assurdo. Ti rapisce in un modo incredibile erano anni che un gioco non mi appassionasse tanto. Merita veramente di essere comprato perchè vale tutti i soldi che costa.
  88. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    My first review how should i start it?with the negative's or the positive's well i guess will start with the positive's.the opening scene had me instantly drawn in my eyes' were basically glued to the screen.The beautiful scenery i was moving the analog stick left,right,up,and down looking at the world around me.I promise not to do any spoiler's so let's move on to the next positive the design.I found myself spending about 20 min deciding what i wanted to be and how i wanted to look it was very exciting.After my character was done being designed and a few very special moment's that i promised not to ruin i was on my way doing whatever i want which brings me to what i wanted to talk about next the combat.With a sword in my left in a fist full of lighting in right i was on my way into the beautiful world that is skyrim.I ran into a pack of feisty wolves i made quick work of them me taking a might slash with my dagger killing one of the three instantly.pleased with my first kill exploring i switch to the lighting zapping the wolf until it had dies one more wolf i decided then to dual wield lighting holding down the attack button's for both hand's i unleashed a powerful blast between my hand's instantly killing him.Listen i could go on and on and on and on about how much fun i was having.But time for the negative's...here i go basically it is flawless only minor glitches that do not distract from the overall feel of the game.This game is a gem very beautiful you want to treasure it forever you heard it from theinformer go get this game. Expand
  89. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece.

    The game play (while not perfect) is the best in the series, the new mechanic that lets you equip something in each hand makes for some truly fantastic strategies to slay your enemies (or prevent yourself from being massacred). The graphics have been HUGELY improved since TES IV, but many people are complaining just because the time gap between TES IV and V transcurred in
    a single generation of consoles, and you just can't expect a difference like say, Morowind vs Oblivion. The landscapes feel way better, with every detail looking like it was placed there, and not generated randomly by an algorithm. I will not spoil anything but every bit of Skyrim is just a marvel (although, I haven't finished the main quest thus far). The only minor disappointment is the lack of any multiplayer component, but seeing how rich this world is I really don't care.

    The Elder's Scrolls V: Skyrim, RPG of the year and a serious contender for GoTY
    Expand
  90. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a really good game despite the few problem i found.No games are perfect and with a few patches,this game should be good to play.They work so hard to develop this game unlike cod mw3
  91. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I don't know where to start. This is one of those games where you can play for hours and still have more to do. The amount of content sets the bar for gaming. The game looks amazing with just a few pop ups but this is a HUGE game and I can't emphasize that enough. This game let's you choose your path it does it well and I would go as far to say it's GAME OF THE YEAR and more......... BEST GAME EVER MADE this is a hefty feat but it simply is a masterpiece there was a lot of work put into this game and it shows. BUY THIS GAME Expand
  92. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim, like Bethesda's Fallout 3 and Oblivion before it, will inevitably receive a certain amount of criticism. This will generally focus on these things: 1. Bugs
    2. The graphics
    3. The combat system
    And all of these criticisms will be completely accurate. Skyrim's graphics pale in comparison to some other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. Its combat system looks
    pitiful next to the combat systems of some other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. It has many more bugs than other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. Do you see what I'm getting at here? To judge Skyrim on the basis of these elements is as redundant as criticizing Grand Theft Auto for having simpler driving mechanics than Gran Turismo. To focus on these elements is to completely miss the point. Bethesda have built a bigger, deeper, more intricate world than anything our consoles have seen before. Then they stuck me in the middle of it and dared me to do whatever the hell I felt like. This is a game in which I've struck out with the aim of infiltrating a fortress in the dead of night, only to find myself spending 20 minutes seeing how many inanimate objects I could balance on the corpse of a giant spider. A game in which a misplaced arrow during an epic battle with a dragon somehow escalated into a very messy swordfight with half a dozen Haafingar guards, all because I really didn't want to give up an enchanted ring I may or may not have pickpocketed from a sleeping woman whose house I had broken into some days earlier. It's game in which I made my housekeeper (okay okay "housecarl" sorry, Lydia) fight the ghost of a legendary assassin because he just wouldn't shut up, and it's a game that made me stop dead in my tracks and utter a terrible expletive the first time I looked up at the sky on a clear night. If you're simply after some hack-'n'-slash action with an EXP. meter, you could do a lot better than Skyrim. But if your interests and desires as a gamer are multifarious enough to appreciate what Bethesda are doing (and if you can look past the terrible fault of having the same jump button as Fallout 3 did, which seemed to bother one reviewer a surprising amount), then it could very well become your favourite thing. Expand
  93. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you love RPG games this one is the best at this moment!;) The only thing i didn't gave it 10 is that it's somethimes in cities get slower and laggy...;)
  94. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate. The few flaws, which are rather prevalent in this type of game, can be forgiven for all the things the game does well. Beautiful graphics, amazing music and a well written story make this a must have for anyone looking to go beyond the insipid boom-fests that most other games deliver.
  95. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    What a fantastic game. Skyrim feels like Bethesda are finally beginning to achieve what they've been trying to get right for over ten years, refining those elements that made Fallout 3 and Oblivion so enjoyable whilst avoiding many of the issues present in those titles.

    Easily Bethesda's greatest achievement yet and without a doubt one of the best open world RPG titles ever released.
  96. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Outstanding. I HATE rpgs... seriously, i can't stand them... but this game... wow. So much to do, so much to explore, and the game is freaking gorgeous!
  97. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, i love every moment i play it, reading other comments saying there is problems lags and glitches with it, i have not found any problems with the game, to continue it is a fun and entertaining game, i love how you can changed from 3rd to 1st person at a click of a button, and the leveling system is awesome. I didnt think the game could be this great considering people told me it was like runescape. they were right but like a runescape completely remodeled regraphitized ( idk if that a word but better graphics lol) and just the whole outline of the land scape is made to perfection. also it is harder to just increase strength or magic or range in the game you need all three and even better is that it is cut down even further to that the way u use these items such as 2 handed weapons has its own leveling system 1 handed weapons has its own leveling system and magic has many different categories such as destruction, regeneration (not actually what its called cant remember), etc. the story line i find good it could be better because it seems like one mission after another which can be boring but at the end of the day i found this game to be astonishing Expand
  98. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best RPG ever created. Period. The only complaint I have is that Skyrim is too good. I find it hard to hope that anything will come along that can beat it. Magnificent~! The Nordish world feels alive, vibrant, and not contrived. It would have been easy for Bethesda Soft to mimic LOTR. Instead they created a compelling world with wonderful content, awe inspiring magic, and dragonborn "shouts" ! The music is tremendous. The graphical achievements are unparalleled. Only Oblivion compares to the scope and sense of non-linear adventure. The dragons, weather, and water effects are amazing... I have no complaints, only applause. A standing ovation for the Bethesda Soft team. I myself am a .NET software engineer. So, I know what time and effort must have went into this project. Bravo~!!! Expand
  99. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played this year!

    Not been a fan of RPGs much but Skyrim has changed my mind. Days feel like minutes when I play this. It feels endless when playing with probably over 1000s of random objectives to do. Trophies are time-consuming but if, like me, you love the game, it will take no time to get Platinum :D
    The only problem I've had with the game is it is quite
    buggy and freezes/lags every hour or so. I'm about 90% sure this will be Game of the Year :) Expand
  100. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is just breathe taking. Everything is done to such a epic scale that you just sit there watching going" Oh my gosh did that really happen? That was so epic!". This game pulls you into its world and you forget that it's a game. There is so much to do that you will forget about the main story. It is a must buy game.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]