User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2315 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Where to start? Obviously, many users now know of the many bugs, glitches, borked gameplay issues, errors that have plagued various versions of SKYRIM. -From broken quest lines to missed triggers, flying horses, missing heads on player-toons, backward dragons and more, SKYRIM's reviews have also been blessed with 10s and desultory 0s, depending upon the multivariable motivations orWhere to start? Obviously, many users now know of the many bugs, glitches, borked gameplay issues, errors that have plagued various versions of SKYRIM. -From broken quest lines to missed triggers, flying horses, missing heads on player-toons, backward dragons and more, SKYRIM's reviews have also been blessed with 10s and desultory 0s, depending upon the multivariable motivations or largesse of individual reviewers.This game is unplayable... Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I stopped by GameStop and asked if the game is fixed on ps3 since it was the only platform I have, and the GameStop guy told me he did not run into lag issue YET after the patch, so, I thought bugthesda had fixed it and dropped $60 bucks on this game. I spent three days playing only and guess what....I cannot play anymore after about 30 hrs invested in. I am a sad puppy now, and justI stopped by GameStop and asked if the game is fixed on ps3 since it was the only platform I have, and the GameStop guy told me he did not run into lag issue YET after the patch, so, I thought bugthesda had fixed it and dropped $60 bucks on this game. I spent three days playing only and guess what....I cannot play anymore after about 30 hrs invested in. I am a sad puppy now, and just wish people don't have to go through this experience hence the 0 score. I WILL try to get a refund from bethesda, if I can't get it, I am not going to support this company's game in the future. Learn from blizzard, or other games. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Do not buy this game. It's appears to be a great game, but it is broken and before you get near the end of the game it is lagging very badly. Bethseda have provided little support or answers or indication that they will fix it. If fixed, would be a great game. But in it's current form, you'd be better off not buying it and ending up frustrated as I have.
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    Don't let the MetaCritic's "critics" fool you into buying this game !!! It does not deserve a 93 score !!!
    There are huge technical/programming problems that disable this game for many PS3 owners. Bethesda withheld the PS3 reviewer copies, to delay the truth until they could sell as many of the broken games as they could. I feel MetaCritic is ignoring the horrible technical issue in their
    Don't let the MetaCritic's "critics" fool you into buying this game !!! It does not deserve a 93 score !!!
    There are huge technical/programming problems that disable this game for many PS3 owners. Bethesda withheld the PS3 reviewer copies, to delay the truth until they could sell as many of the broken games as they could. I feel MetaCritic is ignoring the horrible technical issue in their score. If the PS3 version did not have these lethal software problems, it would easily deserve the 93 score. The patches have been ineffective and Bethesda does not appear to be forthcoming with real solutions, or to be willing to take responsibility for the consumer deception that has occurred. It could have been an awesome gaming experience if Bethesda had done their jobs well.
    Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    2
    To start with I have played over 100 hours of this game. It is fun, creative, and ambitious. Unfortunately this game is broken on the PS3. There are serious lag problems with large save files, which Bethesda has no idea of how to fix. The game crashes at multiple points, it has become less about exploring the world and more about walking a mine field trying not to crash it. This gameTo start with I have played over 100 hours of this game. It is fun, creative, and ambitious. Unfortunately this game is broken on the PS3. There are serious lag problems with large save files, which Bethesda has no idea of how to fix. The game crashes at multiple points, it has become less about exploring the world and more about walking a mine field trying not to crash it. This game should never have been released, in this state. Bethesda has completely lost all of my confidence for releasing this game as is. I refuse to believe that their QA dept missed these bugs, they are to easy to reproduce. So that means Bethesda knowingly released a broken game. I am torn in two about this game, its an enjoyable ride, but once you get deep into it, it loses all the fun. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they get it fixed or you will be wasting your money.
  7. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game had so much potential, but alas, it was all wasted due to poor optimization for the PS3. If you want to play this game, buy it for the Xbox or PC, it works fine on those platforms, but if you only have a PS3, go stare at a microwave instead (this will be much more entertaining than trying to play this game at 10 frames per second and waiting through 2 minute load screens afterThis game had so much potential, but alas, it was all wasted due to poor optimization for the PS3. If you want to play this game, buy it for the Xbox or PC, it works fine on those platforms, but if you only have a PS3, go stare at a microwave instead (this will be much more entertaining than trying to play this game at 10 frames per second and waiting through 2 minute load screens after every minute of gameplay). I returned the PS3 copy for a PC one, and I haven't looked back. Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Products are not meant to be sold with the intention of 'making it better in the long run'. Either a game is suitable for public use, or it needs more time in development and testing. The video games industry is the only place in the world where a product can be sold incomplete or faulty, with the caveat 'it's ok, we'll patch it'. For a while now, people have accepted this to be the case,Products are not meant to be sold with the intention of 'making it better in the long run'. Either a game is suitable for public use, or it needs more time in development and testing. The video games industry is the only place in the world where a product can be sold incomplete or faulty, with the caveat 'it's ok, we'll patch it'. For a while now, people have accepted this to be the case, minor errors can be amended and tightened, that's fine. Skyrim, for me, and it would seem a massive percentage (and let's say it's just 30%, although I believe it to be higher, but that is still unacceptable) gets to a point where it is near unplayable, or completely so. My copy is currently sat on the floor in a box following a rage quit, and I'll not be playing it again until it is fixed.

    Were the game to run perfectly, it would almost certainly be a 10 (from my early experiences, and my Fallout style occasional glitching early on). It doesn't run perfectly. It doesn't actually run. If I were to sell someone a blank blu-ray and tell them it's the greatest game ever, but they can't play it until I've patched it, it would warrant a score of zero and no more. Skyrim for me is completely unplayable, and for that reason, I am giving it a zero.
    Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    This game will become unplayable after your save game file reaches around 6 MB, and they refuse to properly address the problem. It's broken and will be sustain being broken. Don't buy it.Skyrim could be great but lag and freezs killed it...
  10. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    I have changed my review of this game from a 3 to an 8 because the majority of the game seems to be working correctly now. I no longer see frame rate drops that make the game unplayable. Also a lot of the quest bugs have been fixed. There is still some glitches, but overall most of the major problems have been fixed. This game is an amazing game full of hundreds of hours of open worldI have changed my review of this game from a 3 to an 8 because the majority of the game seems to be working correctly now. I no longer see frame rate drops that make the game unplayable. Also a lot of the quest bugs have been fixed. There is still some glitches, but overall most of the major problems have been fixed. This game is an amazing game full of hundreds of hours of open world fun. If the new patch really fixed the frame rate drops for as long as everyone wants to play the game, whether its 2 hours at a time or 10 I believe everyone who likes massive open world games should buy this. Expand
  11. Dec 11, 2011
    3
    I'm not that far into the game, maybe 12 hours or so. The only problem I have had so far is the game freezing quite a bit on me. I don't doubt the problems others are having with the ps3 version, as I have that version too. I'm not playing the game anymore until I know that the majority of the problems are fixed since my game kept freezing and causing me to do a hard reset. If theseI'm not that far into the game, maybe 12 hours or so. The only problem I have had so far is the game freezing quite a bit on me. I don't doubt the problems others are having with the ps3 version, as I have that version too. I'm not playing the game anymore until I know that the majority of the problems are fixed since my game kept freezing and causing me to do a hard reset. If these problems are not rectified, I will no longer support this company with my money. Expand
  12. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a ZERO (to off set the 10s so it drops to an average 5 ) as it breaks after your save file passes 5mb size barrier. Frame drops to ZERO at times. Not being able to use the autosave feature with fear of total PS3 lockup and possible hard drive data corrupts and save file corruptions. This game is an EPIC failure on Bethesda's part. They say it has new graphic engine, more like oldGiving it a ZERO (to off set the 10s so it drops to an average 5 ) as it breaks after your save file passes 5mb size barrier. Frame drops to ZERO at times. Not being able to use the autosave feature with fear of total PS3 lockup and possible hard drive data corrupts and save file corruptions. This game is an EPIC failure on Bethesda's part. They say it has new graphic engine, more like old engine upgraded. Telling us this is a huge open world game is not excuse. They should have waited to release it when they figured out how to correct the LAG issue on the PS3. Now with a save file hitting 9mb the lag/frame rate issue is getting annoying and almost get sea sick watching the screen. When the 1st patch comes out 1 week after release to address performance issues on the PS3 they already knew it was no good. That was most likely the reason none of the reviewers got advanced copies of the PS3 version and only PC/Xbox as they have access to larger memory pool so issues do not show up as quickly. Bethesda did not expect to see gamers hitting the limits this early. From this past weeks announcement

    "After the holidays, weâ
    Expand
  13. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Skyrim has been getting nominations for game of the year, I think this could be true on the pc and xbox 360, but it definitely cannot be true for the ps3. The game has a lot going for it: an absolutely huge world that is populated by a ton of npcs with the ability to do almost anything, a huge number of quests, nice graphics, and the ability to customize your character in so manySkyrim has been getting nominations for game of the year, I think this could be true on the pc and xbox 360, but it definitely cannot be true for the ps3. The game has a lot going for it: an absolutely huge world that is populated by a ton of npcs with the ability to do almost anything, a huge number of quests, nice graphics, and the ability to customize your character in so many different ways. However, the poor implementation of the game on the ps3 really hurts its enjoyment. During the first week of play, the game froze my ps3 7 times, sometimes to the point where even the power button was unresponsive and I had to unplug the power cord to get the ps3 to reset. I don't recall any of my other games ever causing the ps3 to freeze. In addition, for a game that is meant to be played a long time (100+ hours if you are thorough), it has an absolutely debilitating feature - more and more framerate drops the longer you play. It gets bad to the point of getting 2-5 frames per second. Patch 1.2 was supposed to fix this according to Bethesda, and after downloading it, the game ran silky smooth again in sharp contrast to the frequent stuttering I was playing with before. However, after 2-3 hours of play, the framerate drops began again. The solution is supposed to be to quit and restart the game! What kind of video game is designed that you have to quit and restart the game every 2 hours?! And Bethesda seems to have known about this absolutely horrendous fault with Skyrim before releasing it. I've read on video game sites like IGN.com that Bethesda sent them xbox 360 and pc versions of the game for review, but would require the magazine to purchase the ps3 version if they wanted to play it. Considering the number of people who have experienced this problem (75% according to a poll on ign.com), it would be absolutely ridiculous to believe that Bethesda didn't know about this problem before releasing it for purchase on the ps3.

    The other annoying feature is the very long load times. Everytime you enter another area or fast travel to another location, you have to sit through a long load screen. For example, if I want to sell the loot I've collected in a dungeon, I travel to one of the cities and visit the smith, the general goods store, and the alchemy store to sell the different items. This is the sequence of events: 1) fast travel to a large city (wait through long load screen), 2) enter the smith shop (wait through long load screen), 3) sell loot, 4) exit the smith shop (wait through long load screen), 5) enter the general goods store (wait through long load screen), 6) sell loot, 7) exit the general goods store (wait through long load screen), 8) enter the alchemy shop (wait through long load screen), 9) sell loot, 10) exit the alchemy shop (wait through long load screen), 11) fast travel to my destination (wait through long load screen). It has gotten to the point where I no longer pick up loot when I go through dungeons just to avoid having to go to shops to avoid waiting through long load screens. I can understand a long load screen when entering a city because of the size of the area, all the different buildings, and all the different npcs walking around it, but why the heck does it take so long when I enter a small single-room cabin?

    I really enjoyed playing Oblivion and Fallout 3 on the pc. Both games ran great. I wasn't expecting this mess playing Skyrim on the ps3. It sounds like Skyrim has its problems on the xbox 360 and the pc, but they seem to be much more minor compared to the ps3. I think if you have a very good pc, the best experience will probably be on that platform. Avoid getting Skyrim for the ps3. Final score 3/10.
    Expand
  14. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    I really hate giving this game such a bad score. It certainly has many good aspects but the lagging, freezing and certain quest glitches cause major headaches. At first everything ran smoothly but over time the game started to have minor moments of slowdown and infrequent freezes. Unfortunately those minor issues became much bigger and more frequent the longer I played. I had theI really hate giving this game such a bad score. It certainly has many good aspects but the lagging, freezing and certain quest glitches cause major headaches. At first everything ran smoothly but over time the game started to have minor moments of slowdown and infrequent freezes. Unfortunately those minor issues became much bigger and more frequent the longer I played. I had the exact same issue with Fallout 3 GOTY. It started out great, but many hours later I was freezing every 5 minutes. I also have Skyrim on the xbox as well. While it also has some problems,especially glitched quests, it runs much better than the ps3 version.

    I find it hard to believe Bethesda was not aware of the many problems on the ps3 before release. Either they didn't test the game properly, or they knew and just didn't care. It is a bummer because this is one of my favorite games when it decides to work. The only reason I give this game a 1 instead of a 0 is the amazing music. Jeremy Soule did a wonderful job and deserves praise. That is about the only thing I can praise until Bethesda fixes the many problems.
    Expand
  15. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Out of all the ps3 games I have ever owned this has giving me the most anger, to which I feel the only score that can be represents it is 0.......how can the multiple other games that are released on the ps3 platform work so flawless (yes I know its a big open world) but surly this should have been tested before release and be found all the game breaking bugs (my ps3 has frozen up on moreOut of all the ps3 games I have ever owned this has giving me the most anger, to which I feel the only score that can be represents it is 0.......how can the multiple other games that are released on the ps3 platform work so flawless (yes I know its a big open world) but surly this should have been tested before release and be found all the game breaking bugs (my ps3 has frozen up on more than 10 occasion's in the past 2 weeks) the quest's are bugged that the user could get so far into the game and not progress any further...the framrate drop (from what it began very smooth) to a jerky mess...excuse the next paragraph but caps lock is needed...ahem HOW CAN A PUBLISHER/DEVELOPER RELEASE WHAT IS CLEARLY A *&^&^%$$ PIECE OF %^$$£@$ IS THEIR NOT TESTER'S FOR THIS???? HOW DO SO MANY GAME SITES AND MAGAZINES GIVE SO HIGH SCORES????WHO IS PAYING WHO HERE????.....deep breath.......Their is no denying that the game (when it works) is great but to give it anything higher than a 0 would be misleading to give something that is broken anything higher....which this game is clearly....now i must go and chase that backward flying dragon ffs grrrrrrrrrr Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS game.This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  17. Dec 7, 2011
    2
    This game is brilliant. The design, the atmosphere... It's amazing. Easily one of the best games this generation. But it seems that I bought it on the wrong system. I can understand a couple day one hiccups, but seriously Bethesda? This is ridiculous. I have had to restart the game twice now simply because a game breaking bug would happen during the main quest line, rendering completion ofThis game is brilliant. The design, the atmosphere... It's amazing. Easily one of the best games this generation. But it seems that I bought it on the wrong system. I can understand a couple day one hiccups, but seriously Bethesda? This is ridiculous. I have had to restart the game twice now simply because a game breaking bug would happen during the main quest line, rendering completion of the story impossible. That, coupled with the amount of time I have stared at a blank screen while resetting my ps3 because Skyrim froze is just the tip of the iceberg. Sound cutting out, textures vanishing, saves getting corrupt, this version has it all. Even then, if I turn a blind eye to the fact that the ps3 version obviously wasn't tested enough (show me a Bethesda rep who says otherwise and I'll show you a liar) the worst part is that you released it knowing full well about these issues. I mean, why else would you not send out ps3 review copies to popular review sites? I think that is worse then the game being so broken, but I digress....

    I hope that you see this user rating and read these reviews, and happen across mine. You already have my money for this game, and the only reason I am holding onto the unplayable frustration that is Skyrim is because I know the masterpiece it can be with the proper steps taken to improve it. I was looking forward to Prey 2, but I will not be purchasing it now. I know I alone will not make a difference, but I can only hope that my fellow gamers and I can send a message to all developers out there who think this is okay, in hopes of bettering the industry we all love.
    Expand
  18. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    It was buggy right from the start. character creation menu, remember that? Took forever to respond. Then it got laggier and laggier. **** you Bethesda. That Howard Todd is a lying piece of ****
  19. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    It's disappointing. I really want to like this game, but it is simply too broken to be considered game of the year. Do yourselves a favor and stay away from the PS3 version.
  20. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Despite this being an excellent game, IT IS NOT PLAYABLE ON THE PS3 (after you hit around 6-8mb) save file. And when you hit 6-8mb you probably haven't even experienced half of it yet! Something needs to be done.
  21. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    What started out as a beautiful game turned into a horrible mess. There are too many quest-breaking bugs, glitches, and performance issues such as huge framerate drops, lag, and unresponsive menu interface. Avoid the PS3 version (or the game altogether) until they come out with a patch that actually fixes these issues, unless you want to spend $60+ to beta-test an unpolished game.
  22. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    As others had mentioned earlier, I also suggests people "NOT TO BUY THE PS3 version". The game has the potential to be a masterpiece but it turns out to be a game that full of bugs, glitches, laggy and many more issues. I decided to return the game back to the retailer and got my money back. For those people who are experiencing the same problems, please return the broken game back to theAs others had mentioned earlier, I also suggests people "NOT TO BUY THE PS3 version". The game has the potential to be a masterpiece but it turns out to be a game that full of bugs, glitches, laggy and many more issues. I decided to return the game back to the retailer and got my money back. For those people who are experiencing the same problems, please return the broken game back to the retailer or wherever you got this game from. Let the retailer deal with the Publisher/developer and the retailer may even decided to take game off the shelves. Expand
  23. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    I am writing this because I love video games, and need to bring to light a problem with a game I was looking forward to like nothing else. It is a real shame that a game with as much hype and obvious potential as skyrim was let down by the ridiculous lag issues that plague it. On the PC and Xbox this 'masterpiece' of a game runs fine... and don't get me wrong, it does look like aI am writing this because I love video games, and need to bring to light a problem with a game I was looking forward to like nothing else. It is a real shame that a game with as much hype and obvious potential as skyrim was let down by the ridiculous lag issues that plague it. On the PC and Xbox this 'masterpiece' of a game runs fine... and don't get me wrong, it does look like a masterpiece. However they have truly shafted us PS3 players by not tuning the game's lag issues to an acceptable standard - play with a character for any reasonable amount of time and get your save area in the 5MB+ region, and you will be subjected to something more akin to a PowerPoint slide show than the 30fps game you were promised. The game becomes an agonizing, infuriating, unplayable mess. This is no exaggeration. Google DigitalFoundry (a performance analysis site) along with Skyrim and the evidence is all there, captured on video.
    We, the consumers, deserve some integrity from the developers. They cannot be allowed to get away with ripping countless thousands of people off like this. If you haven't bought this game yet, please hear our appeal, and show Bethesda that we deserve fit-for-purpose products by holding off buying this game. If you have bought it, please help bring to light the problems countless gamers just like you are experiencing by writing honest reviews, posting on forums, sending emails to Bethesda. This is already reaching mainstream news, and you can help get this game fixed and give us PS3 gamers, who have done nothing wrong but happen to use this console instead of Xbox or PC, the game we paid for and deserved.
    Expand
  24. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Let me make one thing clear... this game is actually incredible. Maybe one of the best games I've EVER played... so why am I giving it a 0 you may ask... because it's incredible, UNTIL you can't play it anymore due to the most horrible lag EVER in any game ever released!! You have to see it to believe it. You would be horrified to watch it drop to barely 1-2 frames per second... and that'sLet me make one thing clear... this game is actually incredible. Maybe one of the best games I've EVER played... so why am I giving it a 0 you may ask... because it's incredible, UNTIL you can't play it anymore due to the most horrible lag EVER in any game ever released!! You have to see it to believe it. You would be horrified to watch it drop to barely 1-2 frames per second... and that's when it's not just freezing up overall for many seconds at a time! It's obvious Bethesda knew there were problems with the PS3 version (which is why they only released PC and 360 copies for review) but didn't care and released it anyway so they wouldn't hurt their profits. I'm still blown away. Something should be done legally against this company for the FRAUD that was committed here, and that is exactly what it is. Even IGN is calling them out now on this. And it's so sad too... because before you hit the problem, it is truly an incredible game. But one minute playing a true Game of the Year candidate, only to have it turn into an unplayable piece of trash is something I never thought I would have witnessed! Expand
  25. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    A masterpiece, unfortunately as seems to be normal these days the PS3 version is a complete mess. Want to play it, but the experience is just too frustrating with appalling lag, game breaking bugs. Hopefully it will get fixed but i wont hold my breath. Would be 10/10, in the current state its 0/10 and AVOID IT.
  26. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The truth is that Bethesda rushed this game to all hell, and let a massive memory leak bug disallow further progress for an RPG fan who loves to explore. And there's dozens of bugs that have been overlooked, but Bethesda doesn't care. They got their damn money off of us PS3 players without consideration of letting us play comfortably.
    I will admit this is Oblvion 2.0, its a ton of fun and
    The truth is that Bethesda rushed this game to all hell, and let a massive memory leak bug disallow further progress for an RPG fan who loves to explore. And there's dozens of bugs that have been overlooked, but Bethesda doesn't care. They got their damn money off of us PS3 players without consideration of letting us play comfortably.
    I will admit this is Oblvion 2.0, its a ton of fun and the leveling system actually feels like a leveling system, but what good is a game promising over 300 hours of content when passing 50 hours presents game breaking bugs.
    Shame on you Bethesda, and please dismiss Pete Hines, he speaks and tries to "debunk" facts with his behind.
    Expand
  27. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  28. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken so baddly that you cant finish it, main quest broken, side quests broken, and whats most importent extreme lags that looks likeslide shows. First time in my gameing history i want my money back.
  29. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Great game made unplayable due to lag, not fit for release. Beth should have held back the ps3 version and their handling of the situation has been very poor. Feel somewhat cheated. should have known better after playing FO3 GOTY
  30. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Don't buy this game for PS3! Bethesda's track record on PS3 titles was horrible, and this one isn't any better. If they can't make a technically sound game on the Playstation 3 console, they shouldn't release one. It's unfortunate, because the game itself is great under the technical mess that is their game engine. The first few hours are great, but once your game file gets to a certainDon't buy this game for PS3! Bethesda's track record on PS3 titles was horrible, and this one isn't any better. If they can't make a technically sound game on the Playstation 3 console, they shouldn't release one. It's unfortunate, because the game itself is great under the technical mess that is their game engine. The first few hours are great, but once your game file gets to a certain size it begans to stutter and freeze to the point that it becomes unbearable. Keep in mind that I haven't even mentioned the multitude of gameplay glitches and bugs - there are people who can't even complete the main quest! Don't pay for a broken game, otherwise they will keep putting them out. Expand
  31. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Skyrim has everything to be a good game, a really good game. But there are many problems. After my save game data reach 10mb, the game was so laggy that became unplayable.DO NOT BUY SKYRIM.It's broken...
  32. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is broken.DO NOT BUY this game.LAGS FREEZES,it can ruin your ps3 and mess up your HDD.DO NOT buy this game until bethesda fix it and according to this http://www.reddit.com/r/skyrim/comments/mza05/skyrim_ps3_framerate_fallout_new_vegas_developer/ it won't be fixed...
  33. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This would be a great game if it wasn't for the bugs, the framerate issues and the way it basically collapses in on itself the more you play it. If it worked, I'd give it a ten. Right now I'm giving Bethesda a zero, because this thing needed a lot more time in the oven before it was done. Don't sell me a broken product and expect to get away with it.
  34. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely incredible. The graphics and beautiful vistas will blow your mind, as will the decapitations and sweet victory that follows creatively slaying a Dragon. That being said; the game is a disaster. It's unplayable with lag, and it's now becoming clear (thanks to a head dev at Obsidian(new Vegas)), that the game is eventually breaking for everybody, due to it beingThis game is absolutely incredible. The graphics and beautiful vistas will blow your mind, as will the decapitations and sweet victory that follows creatively slaying a Dragon. That being said; the game is a disaster. It's unplayable with lag, and it's now becoming clear (thanks to a head dev at Obsidian(new Vegas)), that the game is eventually breaking for everybody, due to it being neglected by Bethesda(big surprise there.). My advice: Don't buy it, but save up money for it. The moment people report it's fixed, go buy it, and prepare to lose countless nights questing. Expand
  35. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    Good graphics, good story, good sounds, big beautiful world to explore.. but that's pretty much it. That's why I give it a 4. This review is an honest one, and I'm not even taking into consideration the amount of game breaking bugs and frame rate issues this game has. The gameplay, combat system, level design, Artificial Intelligence and User Interface are all mediocre or average at best.Good graphics, good story, good sounds, big beautiful world to explore.. but that's pretty much it. That's why I give it a 4. This review is an honest one, and I'm not even taking into consideration the amount of game breaking bugs and frame rate issues this game has. The gameplay, combat system, level design, Artificial Intelligence and User Interface are all mediocre or average at best. I do not understand how such an average game can get scored 9 and 10 by supposedly professional and impartial reviewers. Especially when a game like New Vegas, who was much better than Skyrim in every possible way (except for graphics) was scored only 8. That doesn't make sense to me. Has the game industry really sunken so low, that we consider appearances and quantity more important than gameplay and quality? Now with all that said I will say that Skyrim is still fun to play.. when it works properly that is. That is why I strongly suggest you get it on Xbox360 or PC instead of PS3. But even then, I do not believe that this game deserves the title of GOTY. That is an absolute insult to all the other developers who designed much better games this year. Expand
  36. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! At least until they actually have it fixed.
    Only giving game a zero for down-voting purposes(Because it needs to be). Has the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. Loved the first 60 hours or so of it. The problem is after you invest so much time into the game, it becomes unplayable. Some people say that they can play through the lag. This is false!
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! At least until they actually have it fixed.
    Only giving game a zero for down-voting purposes(Because it needs to be). Has the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. Loved the first 60 hours or so of it. The problem is after you invest so much time into the game, it becomes unplayable. Some people say that they can play through the lag. This is false! Sure you could play through it, but it is seriously so laggy that it makes your eyes hurt. I quit playing 2 weeks ago in the hopes that the patch would fix the problem, but sadly it didn't. Now Bethesda has nothing to say as to whether or not the game is even fixable. So Don't buy this game until you are sure it works properly.
    Expand
  37. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is completely broken , at first everything looks fine, but after a while this lagfest and stutterfest takes over and never looks back. Do not buy this game, the people at BEthesda should be ashamed of this fiasco and scam/ Expand
  38. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This game is nearly unplayable for me on the PS3, I must first address that the lag is inexcusable especially for them having known of this issue since at least 2008 when Fallout 3 was out, to release in this state is simply lazy and dishonest to their user base.

    The games story is shallow, the plot involves very little actual player choice nor any consequences. I found the guilds equally
    This game is nearly unplayable for me on the PS3, I must first address that the lag is inexcusable especially for them having known of this issue since at least 2008 when Fallout 3 was out, to release in this state is simply lazy and dishonest to their user base.

    The games story is shallow, the plot involves very little actual player choice nor any consequences. I found the guilds equally shallow... From the perspective of one who plays the elder scrolls games, and PnP RPGs usually as a thief rogue character, they have included a "Thieves Guild" my problem with this guild in Skyrim is that it contains 2 quests of actually thievery and 10 dungeon crawling hack and slash quests. They are generic uninteresting and reflect on just how lazily this game was written.
    Expand
  39. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Game is a NIGHTMARE on the PS3. Starts out fine but after awhile BOOM! Lag city. We're talking slideshow people. If you manage to deal with that sooner or later you'll get hard lock on loads, when you wait, or sometimes for no reason at all. If it hard locks enough you may end up corrupting your HDD.

    If THAT isn't bad enough there are countless quests that are glitchy, some to the
    Game is a NIGHTMARE on the PS3. Starts out fine but after awhile BOOM! Lag city. We're talking slideshow people. If you manage to deal with that sooner or later you'll get hard lock on loads, when you wait, or sometimes for no reason at all. If it hard locks enough you may end up corrupting your HDD.

    If THAT isn't bad enough there are countless quests that are glitchy, some to the point that you can't even complete them. Also a ton of minor bugs, like home items (weapons racks, bookshelves, etc.) that don't work or cause items to fall into a black hole. My advice: DO NOT buy this game. If you already have it, shelf it until it gets fixed, assuming it ever does.
    Expand
  40. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Oh dear......Let me start by saying the first time I loaded this game into the PS3 I thought this was gaming bliss, gorgeous looking game absolutely stunning. Many of you probably thought the same thing......however, I booked a week off work and....ummm...well I racked up 120 hours on it in a week. At this point in time with a 15 Mb file the frame rate was insanely slow after around 30Oh dear......Let me start by saying the first time I loaded this game into the PS3 I thought this was gaming bliss, gorgeous looking game absolutely stunning. Many of you probably thought the same thing......however, I booked a week off work and....ummm...well I racked up 120 hours on it in a week. At this point in time with a 15 Mb file the frame rate was insanely slow after around 30 mins of gameplay. I put up with it for a few days, with the only way to cure the framerate issues was a reload of the game, which cured it for a few moments.......but this is no way to play a game!, fighting dragons appeared to be a slideshow and heaven forbid if more than 2 people attacked me, the game froze.....

    Even walking through the wilderness it became a slide show. So I shelved the game, waited for the latest patch....which DID improve the framerate.......for 40mins. I desperately want to love this game and want other to love it, but I have to give my honest opinion and say please dont buy this game in the current state it is in. Bethesda MUST have know about this problem....how can they not? They should NOT be allowed to release this sorry state of a game......I wouldn't even buy this if it was in the bargain bin. Due to the huge disappointment and the unplayability of this game now it deserves a 0.
    I traded it in for MW3. I will not be buying this game again, unless the frame rate is sorted.
    Sorry Bethesda, I will NOT be buying your products again. I've been stung by you too many times. I'll be renting your releases from now on.
    Expand
  41. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    It could really be the GOTY favourite, but PS3 version is so screwed up that in fact it cannot be played to its full extent at all. FPS down to zero, broken quests, dragons glitch and so on, it can't be played until it gets fixed.
  42. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    10/10 for most professional reviews?I wonder how much have you played this game?This game it has bugs ok,it has freezes ok but IT HAS SUCH AN ANNOYING LAG.that's not ok.Beth doesn't care for us and wont gonna fix this.It worth a 0.
  43. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    An incredible game when you first start, but the game degrades into a buggy mess the further you play, and the bigger your save file gets.
    I was hoping I wouldn't run into the same slow-down and bugs others people have complained about, (or that I've seen on youtube), and for the most part, the lag and slowdown wasn't that bad, the game was still playable. But then the crashing started.
    An incredible game when you first start, but the game degrades into a buggy mess the further you play, and the bigger your save file gets.
    I was hoping I wouldn't run into the same slow-down and bugs others people have complained about, (or that I've seen on youtube), and for the most part, the lag and slowdown wasn't that bad, the game was still playable. But then the crashing started. Crash after crash. Even with auto-saving turned off, I found the game would randomly freeze, with the auto-save msg at the top. (wait what?!) That's right, It was still auto-saving after I turned off ALL the auto-save options. I double, and triple checked. They were all disabled. There is a HUGE amount of bugs, new ones being discovered daily. It seems the PS3 players are beta testing for Bethesda..

    The game at its core is beautiful, but with all these problems, it's BROKEN. This is the most unpolished buggiest game I have EVER played on a console. I play on a console to AVOID games crashing. Anyone on the fence about buying this game, goto the official Bethesda forums, the "Technical Issues" section for the PS3. Peruse some threads, and see for yourself just how insanely unfinished and broken this "GOTY" actually is...
    Expand
  44. Dec 15, 2011
    3
    BE WARNED! PS3 game is very broken and theres not much hope for it to ever work properly. It's so nice to play for tens of hours to find out that it becomes unplayable after that because of freezing and lagging + other "fun" glitches. If you have a chance of returning the game, DO IT and demand you get your money back. It's just unreal how Bethesda f***s their fanbase with such brokenBE WARNED! PS3 game is very broken and theres not much hope for it to ever work properly. It's so nice to play for tens of hours to find out that it becomes unplayable after that because of freezing and lagging + other "fun" glitches. If you have a chance of returning the game, DO IT and demand you get your money back. It's just unreal how Bethesda f***s their fanbase with such broken release!
    GOTY my ass.
    Expand
  45. Dec 5, 2011
    2
    The game was great until it become unplayable. The outside world (and sometimes even inner buildings) began to perform like a slow paced power point presentation after I put many hours into the game. Hopefully Bethesda will at least provide a fix to make the game somewhat playable at least. I had the occasional slow downs in my many hours put into Oblivion and Fallout 3 on PS3, but this isThe game was great until it become unplayable. The outside world (and sometimes even inner buildings) began to perform like a slow paced power point presentation after I put many hours into the game. Hopefully Bethesda will at least provide a fix to make the game somewhat playable at least. I had the occasional slow downs in my many hours put into Oblivion and Fallout 3 on PS3, but this is just ridiculous. I cannot recommend this game to anyone at this point in time (at least on PS3). Expand
  46. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Love the game, hate the problems. My game is very much unplayable at the moment. It freezes and crashes at least once an hour. The frame rate is so glitchy it is unplayable. The patch did nothing at all. Wish I had bought it for my XBox now. I would have if I'd of known the issues, but I like the PS3 controller a lot better than the Xbox one. I'm so far in my game there is nooooo way I'mLove the game, hate the problems. My game is very much unplayable at the moment. It freezes and crashes at least once an hour. The frame rate is so glitchy it is unplayable. The patch did nothing at all. Wish I had bought it for my XBox now. I would have if I'd of known the issues, but I like the PS3 controller a lot better than the Xbox one. I'm so far in my game there is nooooo way I'm starting over on the Xbox, not to mention Bethseda doesn't deserve my money twice when they f'd up the PS3 version so badly. How can you release it in this condition? If they can't fix it within a few months I say refund all PS3 purchasers. Hurt them where it counts, their pockets. I cannot recommend this game on any platform because I have only played it on PS3 and it is after a certain point unplayable. I hear Xbox is having a few issues of it's own too. Expand
  47. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY SKYRIM! The game is broken, and not playable on the PS3. It is a fantastic game for the first couple of hours. But the frame rate will drop, until it is unplayable after some hours of gameplay.i can't believe a broken game could even win VGA...
  48. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    I give this game a 10 all the way!!!.......until the lag kicks in. The fact that this game was released in such a broken state is unbelievable and completely inexcusable. I highly suggest holding off on the purchase of this game until you begin to see the complaints on the Bethesda forums go WAAAYYY down! At this point in time, the game is broken. Don't waste your money. Continually checkI give this game a 10 all the way!!!.......until the lag kicks in. The fact that this game was released in such a broken state is unbelievable and completely inexcusable. I highly suggest holding off on the purchase of this game until you begin to see the complaints on the Bethesda forums go WAAAYYY down! At this point in time, the game is broken. Don't waste your money. Continually check the forums for updates on the progress of its updates and game-breaking bug fixes. Expand
  49. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    BETHESDA=EPIC FAIL...I WON'T BUY ANYTHING IN THE FUTURE! EVEN IF IT WILL BE THE GAME OF THE GENERATION OR THE CENTURY! DO AN EXCLUSIVE XBOX GAME ONLY, OR IF YOU WANT EXTRA CASH FROM PS3 USERS DO IT RIGHT OR DON'T DO IT AT ALL...YOU WALK AROUND WITH XBOX T-SHIRTS AND YOU THINK PS3 USERS ARE STUPID...LET IT BE GOTY AND USER SCORE A POOR 5!
  50. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    "Pirate this game, don't buy it"

    Skyrim is probably one of the best games I've played in my 25+ years of gaming, certainly a strong contender for best game this generation, and without a doubt a 2011 GOTY winner. Unfortunately, that only applies when the game actually lets you play, which isn't the case the majority of the time once your file size has reached a certain limit, then the
    "Pirate this game, don't buy it"

    Skyrim is probably one of the best games I've played in my 25+ years of gaming, certainly a strong contender for best game this generation, and without a doubt a 2011 GOTY winner. Unfortunately, that only applies when the game actually lets you play, which isn't the case the majority of the time once your file size has reached a certain limit, then the game becomes a slide show as others have mentioned. With a game this ambitious you can expect there to be hiccups, but not of this magnitude, and what's most disappointing is how ignorant and unprofessional Bethesda has been in regards to these issues, and to their fans, the same fans who are the reason why great creative minds such as Todd Howard have a job that they love, something that most people are not fortunate enough to be blessed with, which poses the question. Does Todd Howard really love his job? is he truly as passionate as he's led us to believe? Because I for one would be ashamed to release such a mess and ask people to pay for it, then ignore their cries for help, unless of course my bottom line was dollar, which seems to be the case for Bethesda, such as musical talents who release some amazing work until their worth rises, then the hunger dies, the passion fades, and it just turns into a means to make another million. To anyone who is interested in buying this game, please reconsider, not only for the PS3 but for any platform. I'm against pirating, but I implore you to pirate this game, don't buy it. Steal from those who have stolen from so many of us and laughed all the way to the bank. Bethesda knew about these problems, they remained ignorant to them after many of their fans voiced their concerns, and continue to do so. Professional gaming sites such as IGN and EuroGamer have called you out Bethesda, and you are yet to respond. Because you simple don't care. There's a reason why Bethesda didn't ship out PS3 copies to review sites, instead forcing them to physically go to the store and purchase them on release day themselves. Because they knew the game was broken, but they didn't care. It's unfortunate really, makes me sad because games like this are a beacon of hope that the industry hasn't completely fallen victim to kinect like gimmicks and 60 dollar DLC packages. But after playing this game and seeing first hand how poorly it has been executed, it makes me realize that the gimmicks and rehashes aren't so bad after all, at you know that your getting a product that works.
    Expand
  51. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! the game is broken, after you reach 6 mb in save file the game starts to lagg, after 8 mb you cant do nothing because the lag is so bad you cant play the game. the devopers dont even give us aswers and the historial of games is a mess. if you are thinking in buying this , DONT DO IT
  52. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I am sad and furious because now my game lags and freezes.I can't continue playing any more with this LAG. :( It's an awesome game but unplayable eventually.Beth can't keep doing that.It's a shame :( where is some dignity
  53. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Bethesda needs to face up to the fact that they deliver broken games to it's PS3 community. I have played Elder Scrolls:Oblivion, Fallout 3 & Fallout: New Vegas before purchasing Elder Scrolls Skyrim. I have put way too many hours into all these games. I will admit I love these games, but the fact that we are dealing with the same technical issues is disappointing. Especially for a gameBethesda needs to face up to the fact that they deliver broken games to it's PS3 community. I have played Elder Scrolls:Oblivion, Fallout 3 & Fallout: New Vegas before purchasing Elder Scrolls Skyrim. I have put way too many hours into all these games. I will admit I love these games, but the fact that we are dealing with the same technical issues is disappointing. Especially for a game that wins awards. Interestingly enough the game I had the least problems with was Oblivion. But Fallout 3 had plenty of framerate & crash issues, followed by the mess that was New Vegas and now Skyrim, which was highly anticipated by me and other PS3 Elder Scrolls fans gets released with the same issues and frustrations we've dealt with in past titles using the same game engine. Its very discouraging and disappointing. Where is the quality assurance in the video game industry ? I can't in clear conscience recommend anybody buy this game on PS3. If this game ran without the freezing and problems, I would give it a 10 rating for sure, but as it stands it makes a better coaster for my beverage than a game to put into my PS3. Sorry Bethesda......that's the honest truth. Deal with it. Expand
  54. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I am giving this game a 0 in protest of all the bugs in this game. Bethesda refuses to comment or let it's paying customers know what is going on with this product and basically it is broken in it's current state. Right now I would advise people to avoid this game like the plague until it is working as intended. The longer you play, the worse it gets - I have a save with 140 hours gameplayI am giving this game a 0 in protest of all the bugs in this game. Bethesda refuses to comment or let it's paying customers know what is going on with this product and basically it is broken in it's current state. Right now I would advise people to avoid this game like the plague until it is working as intended. The longer you play, the worse it gets - I have a save with 140 hours gameplay and it freezes all the time, still getting texture glitches, backwards flying dragons, no resistances work, etc. It should not have been released yet, and some of us who paid $130 feel a bit ripped off. Expand
  55. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Having played both Xbox 360 (92 hours), and PS3 (48 hours) I can personally confirm that the lag issue is so extreme Skyrim is virtually unplayable. At first around the 40 hour mark it began as a stutter..then when I started killing a dragon on a mountain it began to lag a bit harder. Saved, restarted, seemed to help. Now logging back in, travelled to Riften..unable to walk in the townHaving played both Xbox 360 (92 hours), and PS3 (48 hours) I can personally confirm that the lag issue is so extreme Skyrim is virtually unplayable. At first around the 40 hour mark it began as a stutter..then when I started killing a dragon on a mountain it began to lag a bit harder. Saved, restarted, seemed to help. Now logging back in, travelled to Riften..unable to walk in the town without extreme slowdown. Only one ONE occasion did I ever have slow down on the 360 and i've doubled the play time and it hasn't happened again. It may, but right now it hasn't.

    The game is broken and unplayable on PS3. I feel terribly sorry for PS3 owners who picked this up. Bethesda messed up. Zero score. No regrets.
    Expand
  56. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Do a search for PS3 and skyrim and youll see that its a horribly broken mess on this console. bethesda doesnt seem to care because all the good press means its still selling hand over fist and there is no money to be made in patching the game.
  57. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Skyrim has a game breaking bug in the engine which will prevent you from playing further when you've spent enough time playing. The save file grows to a ridiculous size and at that point the game has deteriorated into a 0 fps slideshow. Thus,i don't recommend this game.It desrves a 0.
  58. Dec 7, 2011
    4
    It's a bitter disappointment that I'm having to give Skyrim a negative review. For the first 30 or so hours of gameplay my time in this game's world was one of the most entertaining I've ever had on a console. The openness of the world was simply amazing. For nearly all of that play time I had barely even touched the main quest. I simply wandered the countryside and completed sideIt's a bitter disappointment that I'm having to give Skyrim a negative review. For the first 30 or so hours of gameplay my time in this game's world was one of the most entertaining I've ever had on a console. The openness of the world was simply amazing. For nearly all of that play time I had barely even touched the main quest. I simply wandered the countryside and completed side quests as I discovered them. I enjoyed the character building system, beautiful graphics and engrossing dungeon delving. Sadly after about 30 hours the framerate starting dropping. At first it was only a small annoyance but as my game time approached the 50 hour mark it got to the point that walking through a town was nearly impossible around 30 minutes after starting a new game session. The game would stutter so badly that it would actually pause for a few seconds at a time. Rebooting the PS3 resolves the issue temporarily, but after about 30 minutes it happens all over again. Bethesda released patch 1.2 which was supposed to resolve the issue and I have to say that it did make it better. I can now go about 45 minutes to an hour before the stuttering makes the game unplayable again. Unfortunately since patch 1.2 the game will now randomly crash with a hard freeze at any time. I've now stopped playing the game because of the frustration losing progress every time the game freezes. I hope to revisit it again in the future after the technical issues have been resolved. At this point I can not recommend playing this on the PS3 in its current state. Expand
  59. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    Fix the lag and shadows and this would be a) 7.fix the quests etc and it's a 9. Fix the interface (horrible) and it's a 8.5

    He lag is getting lots of publicity but there are also other fundamental issues. The questlines are short often tedious. Game balance could be better, especially for magic lovers. Npc interactions have taken significant steps back. The interface is a piece of junk.
    Fix the lag and shadows and this would be a) 7.fix the quests etc and it's a 9. Fix the interface (horrible) and it's a 8.5

    He lag is getting lots of publicity but there are also other fundamental issues. The questlines are short often tedious. Game balance could be better, especially for magic lovers. Npc interactions have taken significant steps back. The interface is a piece of junk. Can't even sort items and switching during combat using the favorites menu is clunky at best.
    Expand
  60. Dec 6, 2011
    2
    Unfortunate that I have to give my most anticipated game of this year a 2. Why does it get such a terrible score? Because after your save file grows between 7mb-8mb+ the game becomes completely unplayable. Why not give it a 0 then? Because this game is still amazing and I got an amazing 40 hours out of it and I thought that should count for something.
  61. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Bethesda has created something so beautiful as Skyrim. but if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to enjoy it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim is that you can't play for more than minutes without game breaking lag and constant freezes that canBethesda has created something so beautiful as Skyrim. but if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to enjoy it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim is that you can't play for more than minutes without game breaking lag and constant freezes that can kill your ps3. Expand
  62. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    This is such a fantastic game... The lag is unbearable around 25+ hours in.afteThe game was hyped as you could play hundred's of hours on a single playthrough but sadly you wont get this satisfaction on ps3. They are saying the dlc for skyrim will be massive but this will just make the lag worse so I would have never bought this game if I knew what I know now. I am disapointed...
  63. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    People buying this game on the PS3 should check to see if the major lag issue has been fixed on the PS3. The game should never have been released in this state as it becomes unplayable after a number of hours. Google "digital foundry skyrim lag" for details of the problem and why you should avoid the PS3 version for now.
  64. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Broken game....awesome the first however many hours until the lag sets in....beware....at first i didnt believe all the criticism this game was receiving but eventually the problems everyone has been mentioning (forums/boards, press) started to rear their ugly heads....if your on the fence about purchasing this game...do yourself a favor and either wait until they have patched it to atBroken game....awesome the first however many hours until the lag sets in....beware....at first i didnt believe all the criticism this game was receiving but eventually the problems everyone has been mentioning (forums/boards, press) started to rear their ugly heads....if your on the fence about purchasing this game...do yourself a favor and either wait until they have patched it to at least a satisfactory degree (highly unlikely) or save your money.... Expand
  65. Dec 8, 2011
    1
    All these 10 reviews that say "There are bugs but it's a great game..." No, if there are bugs it's not a perfect 10. Especially when these bugs are game-breaking for PS3 and cause frequent hardware lockups. Bethesda should be ashamed they rushed this to release in this condition and should be appalled by their handling of this. Advising people buy $180 SSD drives to band aid their problem?All these 10 reviews that say "There are bugs but it's a great game..." No, if there are bugs it's not a perfect 10. Especially when these bugs are game-breaking for PS3 and cause frequent hardware lockups. Bethesda should be ashamed they rushed this to release in this condition and should be appalled by their handling of this. Advising people buy $180 SSD drives to band aid their problem? Having the VP of PR ridicule consumers via social media? This many negative reviews has nothing to do with some type of organized internet attack. It has everything to do with a game that was released too soon and a company whose arrogance has peeved a lot of people off. You don't get negative press like this if there aren't problems. Expand
  66. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    A broken unplayable game. I'm not going to play this anymore. And I'm definitely not going to buy any other Bethesda games if they won't fix this. This is such a shame. There's actually a good game hidden under the broken mess
  67. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Broken, unplayable junk. A product like this should never have been shipped. Bethesda should feel ashamed for putting out a game in such a state. For anyone wondering what I'm talking about, there's a game breaking bug in the engine which will prevent you from playing further when you've spent enough time playing. The save file grows to a ridiculous size and at that point the game hasBroken, unplayable junk. A product like this should never have been shipped. Bethesda should feel ashamed for putting out a game in such a state. For anyone wondering what I'm talking about, there's a game breaking bug in the engine which will prevent you from playing further when you've spent enough time playing. The save file grows to a ridiculous size and at that point the game has deteriorated into a 0 fps slideshow. Apparently this is an engine issue so there's nothing Bethesda can do about it but they decided to ship this game anyway because they're greedy dirtbags. Same stuff happened with Fallout 3 but it wasn't as pronounced. Expand
  68. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I'm giving this game 1 star. Bethesda intentionally shipped a broken version of the game on PS3 and I would bet at this moment they have no idea of how to address the issue. The issue is lag. After a period of time playing the game and your save file size starts to exceed 7mb, The game will start lagging so bad that it becomes impossible to play. I have played this game today and itI'm giving this game 1 star. Bethesda intentionally shipped a broken version of the game on PS3 and I would bet at this moment they have no idea of how to address the issue. The issue is lag. After a period of time playing the game and your save file size starts to exceed 7mb, The game will start lagging so bad that it becomes impossible to play. I have played this game today and it has crashed 7 times. Everyone who is having these problems with Skyrim on thier PS3 should be trading their games in to keep Bethesda from taking money from customers and selling them a broken product. Expand
  69. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Unplayable frame rate issues. Game is unusable after 30 hours play. Save your money and buy something else. Check the forums on bethsoft for information. you never know, they might break a habit and fix it.
  70. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Horrible. Just, horrible. Here I was enjoying what seemed to be a masterpiece in gaming, then I hit the 60 hrs mark, and slowly but surely the lag became more and more pronounced. I can live with all the other bugs: the flying mammoths, the inability to finish certain quests, the game freezing, etc. But this single digit fps is unbearable! Do yourself a favor and avoid this game untilHorrible. Just, horrible. Here I was enjoying what seemed to be a masterpiece in gaming, then I hit the 60 hrs mark, and slowly but surely the lag became more and more pronounced. I can live with all the other bugs: the flying mammoths, the inability to finish certain quests, the game freezing, etc. But this single digit fps is unbearable! Do yourself a favor and avoid this game until a patch comes out to resolve this issue. You don't want to be like the rest of us who paid $60 and are unable to get a full refund. Save yourselves the headache and SKIP THIS GAME!!!!

    BTW: It shows clueless these gaming websites are when they just give this game 90+ scores. Did they just play it for a few hours and then judged it?! Great journalism guys.
    Expand
  71. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Skyrim, a world that is broken & truly flawed.
    If you are a PS3 owner I cannot recommend that you buy this game, the sheer amount of bugs, glitches & very poor programing from developer Bethesda simply destroy what could have been an amazing game. DO NOT believe the hype & inflated critic reviews, believe the gamers who forked out there hard earned cash, who actually played the game &
    Skyrim, a world that is broken & truly flawed.
    If you are a PS3 owner I cannot recommend that you buy this game, the sheer amount of bugs, glitches & very poor programing from developer Bethesda simply destroy what could have been an amazing game. DO NOT believe the hype & inflated critic reviews, believe the gamers who forked out there hard earned cash, who actually played the game & found it to be unplayable...
    Expand
  72. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Unfortunately this game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they get it fixed or you will be wasting your money.
  73. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken,broken,broken and broke.It has lags,lags,lags and lags.ANd what Beth does about it?DLC.Shame on you Beth.After your save file hits 6 MG your game will be ruined .DO NOT BUY this game.
  74. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Until this game is fixed it deserves nothing more than a 0 as it isn't fit for release or consumption by the public, PS3 owners should boycott Bethesda until they start releasing products that are done.
  75. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I was really hyped for this game. I wanted to spend my £40 to support the developers instead of pirating the game like a lot of people do. Now i'm wishing I never spent £40 on this game, because the PS3 is beyond broken, and from what I've read it's not a fixable issue. Bethesda went as far as not sending PS3 copies to companies that requested it. I can onlyI was really hyped for this game. I wanted to spend my £40 to support the developers instead of pirating the game like a lot of people do. Now i'm wishing I never spent £40 on this game, because the PS3 is beyond broken, and from what I've read it's not a fixable issue. Bethesda went as far as not sending PS3 copies to companies that requested it. I can only hope Bethesda let us refund our copies at full price, because this is absolutely cruel. Expand
  76. GWB
    Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is a 10 for the first 20 hrs. then your save file becomes so large that it affects the performance of your ps3 and all the game breaking bugs and lag issues come to the surface. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME NEW! wait until the bugs are fixed (I still have faith that they will be) and the price drops.
  77. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game had been released with large amounts of glitches and bugs, none as more transparent as the the PS3's LAG rendering the game basically unplayable and to add insult to injury Bethesda continues to ignore the plight of the PS3 Community at resolving this issue. Really hard to believe that Bethesda cares more about putting money in the pockets then they do about fixing there broken games.
  78. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    GAMING SCANDAL OF THE YEAR. This is up their with Activisions release of the shocking Atari 2600 title E.T!

    Bethesda took all of our money to fuel development costs for other systems. Beware, Skyrim is BROKEN and all we are hearing is HOT AIR. NEVER BUY BETHESDA AGAIN!!!

    If it worked, it would be a 9/10. But it doesn't.
  79. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!!!!the game is broken, after you reach 6 mb in save file the game starts to lagg, after 8 mb you cant do nothing because the lag is so bad you cant play the game...DO NOT BUY this game
  80. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    It maybe be game is now a very very bad broken game , DO NOT BUY this on the PS3 until a patch is released that fixes it ! Come to the bethesda forums to see and talk with all of us we think we are deceived
  81. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Like many other users this was my most anticipated title of 2011. When the day finally came I almost cried tears of joy but that abruptly came to a halt. This game is....to say the least.....BROKEN to an unplayable degree once a certain playtime has been reached. It has a massive population of bugs and this being my first Bethesda game leaves me with a lasting sour taste in my mouth.Like many other users this was my most anticipated title of 2011. When the day finally came I almost cried tears of joy but that abruptly came to a halt. This game is....to say the least.....BROKEN to an unplayable degree once a certain playtime has been reached. It has a massive population of bugs and this being my first Bethesda game leaves me with a lasting sour taste in my mouth. Do not buy this game unless you enjoy constant freezing/crashing and game breaking lag that slows your game down to a turtles pace. Expand
  82. SxM
    Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I would stay away from the ps3 version the game is unplayable after awhile and patch 1.2 isn't nothing but a bandaid work for a while but as soon as my file got around the 13 to 14mb mark. The lag was back and worse than be for the patch and also there are freeze's and hard lock's and no magic resistance after 1.2. The game was hyped as you could play hundred's of hours on a singleI would stay away from the ps3 version the game is unplayable after awhile and patch 1.2 isn't nothing but a bandaid work for a while but as soon as my file got around the 13 to 14mb mark. The lag was back and worse than be for the patch and also there are freeze's and hard lock's and no magic resistance after 1.2. The game was hyped as you could play hundred's of hours on a single playthrough but sadly you wont get this satisfaction on ps3. They are saying the dlc for skyrim will be massive but this will just make the lag worse so I would have never bought this game if I knew what I know now. Hopfully this will save some one the headache and disappointment i have been through. Expand
  83. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    The PS3 version is completely unplayable. The patch actually made my game worse. Im about 150 hours into the game and it no longer works. Something needs to be done to help the people who bought the PS3 version. This is completely unacceptable. I would like my the game to be fixed, or I want a FULL refund.
  84. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    Skyrim = the game with two faces. For the first 20-40 hours of gameplay, it seems generally fine with some bugs and glitches here and there, and then, the lag hits. The further your character progresses, the less time it takes for game-breaking lag to occur. Your followers start to go haywire, sometimes following you, sometimes deciding to hide in trees. Summoned creatures get in your waySkyrim = the game with two faces. For the first 20-40 hours of gameplay, it seems generally fine with some bugs and glitches here and there, and then, the lag hits. The further your character progresses, the less time it takes for game-breaking lag to occur. Your followers start to go haywire, sometimes following you, sometimes deciding to hide in trees. Summoned creatures get in your way while in dungeons and won't let you pass, forcing you to kill them. The perks system is really unbalanced: you have perks that aren't worth messing with at all and then perks that really eventually make your character too powerful and the game too easy on the normal (adept) difficulty level. Horses disappear and re-appear at will while riding through the mountains. I've experienced dead dragons move into one of the stormcloak camps, nowhere near where it was originally killed. After about 30 hours of gameplay, I decided to start leveling up my pickpocket skills, but guess what? Despite me never stealing or getting caught by various NPCs, the game constantly tells me I've already been caught trying to steal from each and every one. Thinking this was a problem with my save game, I loaded up several previous save game files, and it was messed up on all of them. Bethesda tech support may tell you to clear the cache, or they may tell you to delete and reinstall game data, which in a lot of cases, creates 'double dragon' syndrome, where two or more dragons can fly around and attack at any given time. Patch 1.02 created dragons that fly backwards, get stuck in the mountains, and ones that are apparently invincible. Virtually every quest in the game can be broken, including the main quest, making this a game that may not be able to be beaten for some. A game that can not be beaten deserves a score of zero, but I'm giving this a score of a 3, because the actual game design, for the most part, is pretty good. I'm done with this game until it can be fixed (which according to bethesda will NOT be fixed in the 1.03 patch). Mods at the official bethesda forums have told people to let bethesda enjoy their holiday and stop harping on them, a 31 day holiday that no one else in the country takes and not to expect anything until January. Expand
  85. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Game is broken. The longer you play, the worse it gets. Rumors going around that the PS3 version can not be 100% fixed, even through patches. Avoid. Buy the PC version, and PS3 and Xbox are broken.
  86. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Game would be great if it weren't completely broken. Bethesda flat out lied to all PS3 users when they said that Playstation 3 version is getting a lot of attention.
  87. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game has alot of potential but it is hopelessly bugged and unplayable on the PS3 at this time. SKYRIM for PS3 is broken and should not be sold in it's current state. A full recall and refund is needed for this title on this platform.
  88. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Skyrim is another iteration of the never-ending Bethesda circus.

    While a completely epic game in terms of scope and story, the PS3-version is riddled with bugs, ranging from "slightly annoying" bugs like spell effects never going away causing adverse reactions from NPC instances, "this is bad" bugs like glitched out dragons never landing and/or flying backwards and - fresh off the 1.2
    Skyrim is another iteration of the never-ending Bethesda circus.

    While a completely epic game in terms of scope and story, the PS3-version is riddled with bugs, ranging from "slightly annoying" bugs like spell effects never going away causing adverse reactions from NPC instances, "this is bad" bugs like glitched out dragons never landing and/or flying backwards and - fresh off the 1.2 patch - the complete nullification of magic resistances and finally "this is completely game breaking" bugs like the classic lag and subsequent hard crash whenever you have explored too much.

    It is literally impossible to play for more than 30 minutes after you have explored enough things to fill the cache, and it's a coin toss over whether it'll degrade "nicely" with increased stuttering (down to 1-2 fps), just crashing hard at a random point (prompting a system reboot and a file system check) or a failure to load a new area (the 40 second load screens just never end).

    While I could write about how much there is to do and how fun it is, the truth is that the PS3 is simply not playable the way it's supposed to be played, and should be avoided like the plague.
    Expand
  89. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is amazing... for the first 15 hours. Then it starts to lag so badly that you can't even play it, even with the patch all it does is lag lag lag lag lag ................l....a.....g...g.....LA....gG. A broken game doesn't deserve anything higher than a zero.
  90. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    If this was a review of the first 10-20% of a game it would easily be a 9 or 10. As good as this game starts off, it only makes it that much more frustrating when the problems plaguing it become apparent and make the game almost unplayable. As other users have said, Bethesda released a broken game. As your save file grows the frame rate becomes horrid. If you want to play this game on theIf this was a review of the first 10-20% of a game it would easily be a 9 or 10. As good as this game starts off, it only makes it that much more frustrating when the problems plaguing it become apparent and make the game almost unplayable. As other users have said, Bethesda released a broken game. As your save file grows the frame rate becomes horrid. If you want to play this game on the PS3 I would wait and see if future patches can fix the issue before you buy it. Just don't hold your breath. Bethesda never completely fixed their previous games on PS3. So why should this one be any different? Expand
  91. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This version of the game is broken. Easily over 100 hours of playtime across three different characters lost to a game crippling performance issue.

    Stay away.

    You might be happy with the game Christmas morning... but get back to me by New Year's.
  92. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is completely unplayable. It is broken and I hope Bethesda knows it does because they have had this problem before with Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas. Hopefully the next game Bethesda makes will be finished before they release it.
  93. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I used to play this game, but then my framerate took an arrow to the knee. This game is broken, unplayable after 10+ hours due to a issues with the framerate.
  94. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I would give this game a 10, but my game due to the file size bug has become unplayable for me, i can play for quite some time if i turn ALL autosaving off, which is just right down frustrating to do, saving after i open every door and sell every little item is rediculous.... especially with no quick save function, i cant even have more than 1 save file for my playthrough.... if i do theI would give this game a 10, but my game due to the file size bug has become unplayable for me, i can play for quite some time if i turn ALL autosaving off, which is just right down frustrating to do, saving after i open every door and sell every little item is rediculous.... especially with no quick save function, i cant even have more than 1 save file for my playthrough.... if i do the game crashes and forces me to do a hard restart which we all know can be damaging to your console system as well. As it is.... unplayable = 0 score. Expand
  95. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Bethesda has created a beautiful world with Skyrim... but unfortunately, if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to explore it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim comes from it's strange file-saving system. As you progress in the game andBethesda has created a beautiful world with Skyrim... but unfortunately, if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to explore it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim comes from it's strange file-saving system. As you progress in the game and explore the world, your save file gets bigger. As the save file gets bigger, the bugs become more and more apparent until they take over your entire gameplay experience. Here's just a few of the reported bugs that I have also experienced myself:
    - SEVERE frame rate drops (we're talking slide show, here)
    - Game freezes and crashes that become more frequent as you progress
    - Dragons that will not attack - Questlines that can't be completed due to quest givers being completely bugged.

    These are just a few of the issues that the majority of PS3 players are experiencing. I wanted to love this game. I really did. I do love Bethesda games despite their bugs (which eventually do get fixed). But the conjecture here is that the PS3 just can't handle the engine that drives Skyrim, therefore, it may never be fixed. I, like many others, are short $60 and have a game sitting here that's no more useful than a place to set my drink.
    Expand
  96. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I'm giving Skyrim a big fat juicy 0 simply because even though the game is great and looks amazing it has one thing wrong with it and we all know what that is LAG. The lagis game destroying and Bethesda's 1.2 patch HAS NOT FIXED THE LAG. Most people are pinning this on large save files and memory leaks. However a Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas head developer has quoted that the chances ofI'm giving Skyrim a big fat juicy 0 simply because even though the game is great and looks amazing it has one thing wrong with it and we all know what that is LAG. The lagis game destroying and Bethesda's 1.2 patch HAS NOT FIXED THE LAG. Most people are pinning this on large save files and memory leaks. However a Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas head developer has quoted that the chances of the PS3 version being fixed is slim to none. Bethesda have frankly knowingly released a game that is fundamentally broken and until they fix the PS3's lag problem and have the game running silky smooth. Then the game is just not worth buying as you will never be able to enjoy it to its fullest extent. That is IF they bother to fix it. Expand
  97. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    To say that I'm disappointed by the PS3 version is an understatement & what angers me even more is the fact the Bethesda chose to release this faulty product knowing it was defective. Do not trust the high scores (at least for the PS3 version). Very much broken for the PS3, avoid at all costs. You have been warned!
  98. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Only Rating it down because of the framerate and quest bugs. Head to the PS3 tech support forums and check out the civil war going on there. Bethesda is not responding fast enough. A lot of features are bugged, like display cases, mannequins, houses, dragons, magic resistance, etc. This game should have not passed QC testing. I would give it a 10.
  99. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Shame on you Bethesda ! It's broken on PS3 and you don't care ? I'll wait to see Skyrim under 5$ to buy it on PC ! That's all you will get from me .
  100. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Skyrim: The most anticipated game of 2011. Don't be fooled by the hype, however, especially if you're a PS3 user. The game is, certainly, visually pleasing and full of depth. Locations are, within reason, unique and engaging at times. NPC's (Non-Player Characters) have schedules, moods (based on your actions) and other various quirks about them. On the one hand, this game is an amazingSkyrim: The most anticipated game of 2011. Don't be fooled by the hype, however, especially if you're a PS3 user. The game is, certainly, visually pleasing and full of depth. Locations are, within reason, unique and engaging at times. NPC's (Non-Player Characters) have schedules, moods (based on your actions) and other various quirks about them. On the one hand, this game is an amazing piece of artwork that should be lauded for it's goals. It reached for the heavens, and for a few, shining hours, it achieved it. The Perk system was brilliant, the leveling system was more than acceptable and the level scaling wasn't god-awful. Quests often had a good degree of 'feel' to them and NPC's certainly had personality. Who can forget Cicero?

    What we COULD forget, however, is the incredible amount of bugs and holdups that come with playing the game at all. Sometimes, when joining the 'mages guild of skyrim', if you don't do exactly what you're told, you're completely stalled at this point. You can't go back and ask to try again, because the NPC just keeps expecting you to do it, but never actually realizes when you try to do said action again.

    Be forewarned, however. PS3 users suffer an extreme case of exponential lag. When first playing the game is pristine and perfect, things move with ease, the graphics blend in ways that are purely amazing. As time goes by, however, you notice little bits of lag, nothing serious at first. Most of the time you won't even notice it right away, a slight jerkiness for a second after sprinting, a lag that goes as quickly as it comes after loading. 30-60 Hours later, however, it becomes much more pronounced. Entire areas will become lagged and jerky for 30 seconds to a minute, if you're lucky (sometimes, it just doesn't go away for some people). After that point, it becomes increasingly difficult to play. Lag increases exponentially as time played goes up and the save file becomes larger. What was once a mild amount of jerkiness becomes incredible amounts of choppiness. You might still get an hour or so, every time you reset your game. One hour, per reset. At most.

    After playing for 75 hours with only a little bit of lag, in which I was incredibly lucky, things very quickly slowed to a crawl. The patch hit, and it seemed better for an extra ten hours or so, but it quickly went straight back to lag-fest-a-palooza. While this game is certainly an amazing work of art, it's more like the rip-off painting you got on the street corner that one time, for PS3 users. Pretty for all of a week or so, until you realize how completely worthless the painting is. Until the PS3 issues can be completely resolved, please avoid the PS3 version. PC/XBox are not nearly as bad right now.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]