User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2099 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It doesn't deserve the negative ratings it has got, sure there are some bugs, but, don't hinder gameplay in the slightest I find, some are even funny. I love Bethesda games :) I don't play on 'easy' moderate difficulty is always best, haha, then hardest :)
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game lags but as I write this the serious issues have been patched, even before they werent serious. This game is absolutly beautiful and you owe it to yourself to play it
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    ............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................The best adventure game ever made.
  4. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    I`v played this game for 70 hours + now and i iv been lucky regarding the fall of fps when the game save file get large, Bethesda is releasing a patch to fix the ps3 problems so i wish that the bad reviews could wait until the patch comes. The game itself is pretty awesome, the huge open world is quite stunning with sleeker graphics and more wildlife. The playability is near endless because of the huge world and lots of quest, mining, smithing and so on, so you will not run out of things to do. the controls is good and the upgrade system is good. so overall the game is a must have and im sure it up for a GOTYA. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I am amazed at the negative reviews for Skyrim. God knows what people want in a game as, in my opinion, this is near perfect as a game could be. Admittedly, I did start getting a bit bored by my 300th hour but then I continued with one of the main quest lines and was blown away all over again (won't do a spoiler to explain but you'll know when you get there - if you haven't been already). I have been constantly entertained by this game and even the bugs have given me laugh out loud moments (like leaving a building and having a child fall out of the sky to start wandering down the street - or my companion continuing to follow and speak to me, even though he was lying flat on his back). It is by far the best game I have ever played and I cannot tear myself away - I have Crysis 2 sitting there waiting to be played but I just can't eject that skyrim disc to replace it with something else. Maybe I'll do it after another 20 or so hours. Thank you Bethesda for creating this incredible world that has had me mesmerised since December. Love you lots n lots! Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    I'm sorry and I truly hate to do this. This was one of the best games I've truly ever played until everything fell apart before my very eyes. My first 50 hours or so were some of the most complete bliss I've ever had playing a game, but then it started to get worse and worse on my system. Also yeah, the update made my game worse... I can't believe how awfully this was handled, it's embarrassing honestly. Don't buy this game for PS3 or for any system honestly. Don't support them for making products with this kind of complete lack of care. I want my money back honestly... Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I absolubtely despised RPG's. No RPG was good enough for me. Skyrim changed that. An absolutely great game that will keep you glued to the couch. Instead of being like most games ( follow a linear path, shoot, repeat) this game defines RPG's. One of the best games in the market.
  8. Nov 12, 2011
    4
    Definitely the disappointment of the year, Skyrim is essentially Fallout 3 with dragons and swords. The entire UI - from button layout (triangle is JUMP, select is "wait how long?"), down to the O button calling up your PIP Boy (er, in this case it's just your menu - which works exactly the same way and is even in THE SAME FONT AS FALLOUT 3 - is all pulled from Oblivion & Bethesda's post-apocalyptic title from 2008. What's worse, the graphics have not improved from Fallout 3's slow-loading textures and chintzy facial-animations. Truly, I was shocked given how much buzz had been generated about this game... shocked, followed by a feeling of being ripped-off as I'd spent full-price on this dud. Granted, I've only played the first several hours... so it could be that the plot gets amazing in the later levels; but I don't think I'm going to be able to put up with much more of the glitches, cheesy script and sad character animations. For example, the grizzly bear in the beginning of the game? Well, it doesn't so much "walk" as it does "float in a weird circle" without moving its legs entirely. Me and my mates were sitting with out jaws dropped... this is the last time I trust Bethesda on their word. Then again, all the reviews seemed to be so glowing and favorable.... I must admit it makes me wonder how much advertising has had to do with influencing these undeserved scores.Here's the thing, if I were a little kid who only was able to get like 3 games a year from mom and dad, yeah, I think I'd probably dig this game a lot more (and be super-defensive about it sucking, thereby giving it a 10 on Metacritic), because it's huge and in that sense, worth one's money. But I'm an adult. I buy pretty much every new game I want, which is at least a few a month. I bought Rage. I bought Dark Souls. Having had those recent experiences (not to mention Uncharted 3 and Arkham City), Skyrim just feels super-antiquated and, well... sad. It's just a sad, sad title. You know what hurt the most? My roommate who doesn't even play video games was able to casually walk past me whilst playing Skyrim and immediately assessed it's mediocrity. "What's that... that's not your new game is it?" he said. Yes, yeah... that's Skyrim. "Eew, really? It looks like Fallout." I **** you not... even the uninitiated can smell the fecal pile that is Skyrim's tiredness. I'm just glad I can at least trade in Skyrim for the bulk of my money in time for Saints Row III. So much for a weekend learning Dragon Shouts. :-( Here's a shout for you "SKYRIM SUCKS!"â Expand
  9. Jan 10, 2012
    2
    Sadly my previous review must drop from mixed to negative, this game just doesnt stack up against other TES games (Morrowind) this game just isnt what it should be,short story, non-immersive gameplay, worse bugs than morrowind, and HORRIBLE voice actors! The first time I played Morrowind, yeah it was hard, but it really stood out and i put 300+ hours into it, I tried this game, I REALLY wanted to like it I really did, but this game is just too awful to get anything else, its overall a bad game! Expand
  10. Feb 12, 2012
    7
    This game is dull. There I said it! I walked away from this game and have yet to put it back in after I played for several days. I put it down to play some Bioshock and Demon's Souls and haven't picked it back up in almost a month. I will comend Bethesda for making such a huge open world for me to explore but that's all they did. The made a huge world with a bunch of things to do, but none of them have anything outstanding to offer. Its and issue of quality over quantity, and this game is defenately going for quantity. Sidequests are so numerous that it is hard for me to care about any one of them, because I just wanted the reward. Even the overall story is bogged down by a lack of immediacy. I didn't give a $#!+ about the story, I was too busy doing missions for the Companions Guild (Which for the record is the only set of events that I cared for). Switching gears for a second I will the say that the scenery is great eye-candy... if you're far away. Up close a lot of the rock textures look pretty lazy and remind me of an old PS2 game. It can be forgiven because of how big this game is, but it still needs to be said. Then there's the combat. Sweet Jesus, what is this crap! There is no skill when talking about the combat in this game, (Unless your using arrows, but even then that's pushing it) everything is stat based. All you do is swing your sword around like a moron until your enemy's dead. No dodge mechanics, a block that only works if your stats are high enough, and enemies that take 25 swings to kill when they can kill you in 3 hits. There were multiple occasions in which the I had exploit the enemy's A.I. to win, and that's never fun. What is fun though are the dragons, though repeditive, are loads more fun to kill than some of the other enemies. I love the enchantment, blackmithing, and alchemy systems in the game and make me feel like I'm actually making progress and getting better at something as opposed to just swinging my sword like a moron. I also love the dungeon crawling aspect and looking for new caves and mines to steel various articles of clothing off of the recently deceased. Ultimately, would I recomend this game? Yes. Is it a good game? Yes. Is it one of the greatest games of all time? No. Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to play more Bioshock. Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Glitches have stunted the experience slightly but overall this is a game worth playing. It's big, beautiful and ready to steal your time. It's amazing how much it's like a real world, if this is the future than the future will be good. The patches have finally fixed the horrible lag issues and now it's actually a really great game! Well done Bethesda for "finally" fixing the issues but next time don't you DARE ever let it happen again or it will be OFF WITH YOUR HEADS! Expand
  12. Sep 21, 2012
    4
    Fun and addictive, awesome and amazing....until you start hearing the same voice actor for the gazzillion time, to kill Blood dragons and die to no-point super overpowered random bandits, killing your own allies over and over with no posibility to revive them and to finally save for that sweet extra strong equipment and still getting killed in 3 hits.

    Lag, Freezes,you never get the
    feeling of getting stronger and the PC version getting mods and tons of support, is making Skyrim for the Ps3 an useless junk. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    Take this from someone who owns both the PC and PS3 version. If you own a PC and can confirm that it can run Skyrim, then I highly recommend purchasing the PC version over the PS3.

    PC Pros:
    - Improved graphics and overall game performance
    - Ability and access to a large community modding library
    - Hot keys (SERIOUSLY IMPORTANT)
    PC Cons:
    - The cost of a PC. (usually high than a PS3)
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Great game.... environment is outstanding. I would give it a 9.5. The amount of quests you get can be overwhelming and you can get lost in the plot. Also there are a few crashes and bugs. But that doesn't ruin the experience. If you are looking for a pure RPG... get this game.
  15. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is one of the best RPGs out there, placing you into one of the most engrossing and addictive environments in video gaming history. There are hundreds of quests to finish, items to collect and create, and places to explore. The character is fully customizable, from the class selection down to the facial features and hair.
  16. Fuz
    Mar 6, 2014
    5
    Fire the guy who designed the interface. Just. Fire. Him. It's the worst interface I've ever seen. We have a mouse, non a gamepad. Apart from that, is the same game we already knew from Oblivion. Lots of bugs, pleasant graphics (but you can do better IF you don't do a straight from console porting) et cetera. If you liked Oblivion you will like this. If you couldn't stand all the little problems and annoyances like the unresponsive combat (no feedback on hits? seriously?) and the TERRIBLE enemies scaling you wouldn't like this game. I'm still waiting for a Daggerfall 2. Or a Daggerfall remake. And by the way: FIRE the guy who designed the interface. Also, the guy who approved it. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    First off, I put over 135 hours into this game so far and the game runs as good as the first day that I started playing it. -This is most likely because of the update that I installed recently, but it's also because I create a new save file every-time that I save until I run out of save slots and simply start overwriting them-. Anyways, aside from what most "user" critics say, Skyrim in my opinion feels like the smoothest game to come from Bethesda in a very long time (smother than Oblivion and Fallout). Now there are a few bugs, but that barley even scratches the surface of this masterpiece. The graphics are better, the main story feels more significant, and combat has even improved. So honestly I would give this game atleast an 8-9 considering the minor flaws, but seriously? Even if Skyrim's bug were as bad as people claim they are, giving a game like this a 0 is just childish nonsense. Grow up people. Expand
  18. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Great game, broken engine, not playable = 0 Points from me.

    Very disappointing. Cant remember such a huge flaw. The game itself = 9

    Also the PAL versions, except the UK version, do have a glitched trophy (Master criminal).
    The statistic showing the bounty for each hold is completly absent from the statistics menu.
  19. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Spectacular game. Everyhting about it is awesome, after getting my third dragon shout the game got even better. Good job bethesda, keep up the good work and hopefully make a really good DLC for this game because im definitely getting it :)
  20. Jan 14, 2012
    0
    I would just like to update my review. It was a decent game till after I out in 24hours and a bug messed everything up. The game began to fall apart. Boring game. It is a regression of the TES series.
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have played. There is a few bugs here and there but the thousands of awesome features make up for those completely. This should get Game of the Year.
  22. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Totally amazing!! the most important game of the year. WE ARE FREE to do all we want to is this virtual world, you dont like the history missions? go and kill everybody, hunt, marry someone, investigate, read books... grat graphics for this game (we cant wait por u3 graphics) absolutly amazing music, and a great world. maybe it's not a game for everyone, but if you come to skyrim, feel it's power, you'll see that this game is pure love.(sorry for my english) Collapse
  23. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    let me just start of by saying that this game is probaly one of the best rpg's i have ever played. All you people reading this review are probaly "thinking hold on a sec how can you make such a bold statement".This game has exceeded my expectations skyrim is filled with massive amounts of quest which are all fun and interesting in their own way. skyrim also has a perk system which lets you play the way you want to play as. Todd Howard wasnt lieing when he made that statement.The graphics are visually impressive aswell. This is a must have for any role playing fan,also this is Bethesdas best work. well bye everyone I gotta go back to playing skyrim Expand
  24. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    i already reviewed this but after seeing all the trolls on here i have to re-submit. me and many of my friends played this game for many, many hours on ps3. i played it over 140 hours myself. yes, there was some frame-rate and other minor stuff but considering how literally HUGE this game is it is just not that big of a deal. i'll bet at least half of these people giving the game 0 on here are just repeating what they've heard and not even trying the game. it's a great game, maybe the best ever. if you like rpgs you HAVE TO play this or you are missing out on the best. period. haters go get your platinum trophies (like me) and then tell me the game doesn't work. Expand
  25. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    637 negative reviews + 60 mixed reviews = almost 700 people who need to BACK AWAY FROM THE BONG! LOL! Just kidding. The only thing I can think of is that the PS3 version of the game had a few serious bugs when it first came out. On my video game review, I gave this game a 9, simply because the main plot line plus the awesome side-quests MORE than made up for the bugs and glitches. When I beat the main story, I felt like I had REALLY accomplished something! Load this page into your browser if you wish to see my video review of the game: http://youtu.be/cqysFqaKzTs And you are cordially invited to visit and subscribe to my You Tube Christian gaming channel, Gaming 4 Jesus: http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus . Expand
  26. May 8, 2012
    9
    I bought skyrim when it came out & have had very little problems with the game. It has it's flaws but overall it's the most fun/ cherished game I have in my ps3 collection. When the flaws greatly out weigh the good stuff in the game that's when you have problems.. Luckily I never experienced any of that.
  27. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    the story its cool but when you start playing it you get stuck, they dont help you, like most of the gamers hate the long quests like if you are on x place the quest says you need to go to y place or like a place 500miles away from you.
  28. Dec 11, 2011
    3
    I'm not that far into the game, maybe 12 hours or so. The only problem I have had so far is the game freezing quite a bit on me. I don't doubt the problems others are having with the ps3 version, as I have that version too. I'm not playing the game anymore until I know that the majority of the problems are fixed since my game kept freezing and causing me to do a hard reset. If these problems are not rectified, I will no longer support this company with my money. Expand
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    To me this game is the pinnacle of RPG gaming this generation. Everything about it is above and beyond what was great about Oblivion and Morrowind. For the people concerned that the new "streamlining" has removed RPG depth, I can say that I didn't experience that at all. The leveling and perk systems are deep and varied and have significant effects on gameplay- much more so than some of the aspects of leveling in Oblivion. If you are a PC gamer you will no doubt be waiting anxiously for mods to alter the user interface, but if that's the case leave your bad reviews for the PC version. For the consoles, the menu scheme is terrific and a HUGE improvement over Oblivion. The game is huge, it's as beautiful as it can possibly be using the old console hardware, the quests are varied and much more fleshed out than in Oblivion. Easily a 10/10 and my choice for Game of the Year for 2011. Expand
  30. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    The characters, the stories, the customization, the world, make this beautiful RPG one that is hard to get tired of.
  31. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    I have not experienced any of the issues shown below, maybe i am one of the lucky ones. The game is very long and will keep you occupied for a long time the interface has significantly been improved from the previous oblivion game and the leveling up system is really addictive, Great variety of creatures and animals to hunt and fight, it can be quiet eery at night when you here all the creatures groaning and growling and you don't know where they are i have certainly pooped my pants at several occasions, Graphics look good from a distance but when you get up close all is revealed, textures are blurry and low res, great looking world though, mountains and hills that can be seen and explored, every thing you see can be explored basically. Buy this game but perhaps wait until they release another patch you might not be as lucky as me. Expand
  32. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    For those of you who are addicted to trophy hunting, the difficulty level of the game doesn't affect the trophies, so you can play it dead easy, and still get all of them. There's a vast world to explore making it rather addictive. Quests / battles very doable, not too hard, not retardedly easy either... However... this game has some serious flaws, which get REALLY ANNOYING after some time.... Such as... Main quest is really really short. Sometimes in battles a dragon pops up (if you're lucky your enemies die by the dragon's attack, if unlucky both the dragon and the other enemies aggro on you). If you hit a member of your team during a number of quests (not all), they turn their aggression on you. This is especially retarded for mages since they just run into your attack while casting and turn aggressive. >_< The stamina of your horses run out even faster than your own, which completely ruins the point of riding on a horse. Not faster. If you're in battle and you surrender, your horse / companion will keep on fighting. (just annoying) After about 20 hours of game time the game starts to lag so badly it's damn near impossible to play the game (happens either straight away or after 30 minutes or so), and there's not much you seem to be able to do about it. (this is the main reason I'm grading it low, a game you can't play due to fps lags isn't really a fun one. Next to the lagging, sometimes the game crashes during a loading screen or freezes while you're running around, the fps lag can actually freeze up your entire console. In some cases I can exit the game using my controller, in some cases I can press the on/off button on my console, and in some cases I have to cut the power off of my ps3 and plugging the cord back in. Most annoying thing really. Also, the update for this game supposedly fixing bugs, makes the game act worse rather than better.... Quest bugs leading to it being impossible to finish quests, while you're hoping you have a recent previous save game from before the dungeon (which in most cases you don't). I'm sure I haven't named all minuses yet, but this is about enough really. It's a fun game, a LOT of gameplay, but the bugs and glitches and mistakes, and lags and freezes, and crashes, and everything else really take the edge off. Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Magical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the little details. There are some bugs, but what do you expect? Every game has bugs. Expand
  34. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE!
    You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder
    everyone? Go help village people?

    To steal from another review, It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games. Its exactly that. Go do your PC, Xbox or PS3 proud and GET THIS GAME! Even if your not into this sort of stuff, it just may convert you.

    Oh and, there ARE bugs, just thought you should know. Nothing game breaking.
    Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    First impressions of this game, I was blown away, one of the best games I have played in the last two years, but, this honeymoon period didn't last too long. As I progressed further through the game more and more issues started to crop up; firstly was the framerate issues, which were at first a minor annoyance, but they just got worse and worse as my save file increased in size. Secondly I started to notice little glitches within the quests, the first major one was with "Blood on the ice" which meant I couldn't complete the quest because so much had gone wrong, this has happened now on numerous occasions, leaving my quest log with several quests that I can't finish. A few other issues are to do with character animations which look very rigid and awkward, as well as the reused voices for just about every guard in every city which makes them all sound like Arnie (GET TO DA CHOPPA). Finally the latest issue I encountered just after I had finished slaying a dragon, I ran over to loot the body, but did not absorb its soul.

    This game has just been rushed on the ps3, and Betheseda's Pete Hines was quoted as saying: â
    Expand
  36. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    There's something wrong with the critical gaming media when a completely broken game gets near perfect reviews across the board. Average score of 93? Why is this allowed?
  37. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    The game is great, I love all aspects of this game. I never really followed the series until now but I love it. Plenty of quests to do, things to complete, locations to discover and skill to train up. The game loses ratings for the PS3 because if your save file reaches 5MB-6MB in size you will experience mass drops in frame rate to a point were it is unplayable, this is very annoying. I have heard that Bethesda will be releasing and update for this but it will take some time. I have played 52 Hours + of this game and love it. Expand
  38. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I dont understand all the negative reviews? Everything they say is wrong? I loved this game, it isn't buggy AT ALL, the graphics are AMAZING, The storyline is epic. i loved this game, and i certainly recommend it to everyone who likes RPG Games.
  39. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Probably the best money I have ever spent on entertainment/relaxation. This game incorporates so many different elements and investments of time that it suited any mood I was in. Whether ready for a long involved quest with story, discovery and challenge, or just a 15-20 minute easy adventure this is the perfect game.
    The enormous scope of variety and discovery makes this game never get
    old.

    However! Even though I gave the GAME itself 10 points, the Playstation version should probably only get a 7 due to the number of bugs and amount of time sitting around waiting for loading. But I didn't have it in me to give it a lower score.
    Expand
  40. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    A fun RPG, but I found it rather overrated. The world is beautiful, but becomes rather repetitive. Exploring began to lack some of the excitement of other RPGs I've played. Combat necessitates a lot of pausing to find the spell or item you need, I felt it could have been streamlined. Generally, it's a decent story, although some of the side quests are more interesting than the main quests. Overall, felt a bit like quantity over quality. I put in about 60 hours, finished the two main quest lines and a lot else, and I doubt I'll go back. It started to feel rather repetitive. If you like sword and magic RPGs, it's worth your time, but it may not win over doubters.

    Lastly, I never had many problems with bugs other than a freeze once in awhile. Make sure to save often, and have multiple save files, just in case.
    Expand
  41. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    Initially I was very excited & was ready to make Skyrim my all time favourite game. As time went on however, I became more & more disillusioned. The good - world looks awesome, up to a point ( the bad below); defeating your 1st dragon feels awesome; character customisation allows you to create the character you want; soooo much you can choose to do.
    The bad - combat is as bad as morrowind
    & oblivion, with no lock on it's too hit & miss; creatures in the world do not stand out enough & you often can't see anyone/even when the hud is saying you've been detected; after playing for a while the darker textures started to strobe like lightning! in towns, often 2 or 3 characters will be speaking to you at once, often repeating same dialogue ova & ova (particularly annoying wen trying to follow 1 quest conversation in the middle of it all); often the quests you are given just get you killed, & with no indication as to what's appropriate for your character's level it can get very frustrating.
    My biggest beef however is, once again, I can't play the character I want. I want to be a hunter, sneaking up on animals & taking them down with a single bowshot. This can work if you see the creature 1st. However, in caves & dungeons or where there's multiple enemies such a opcharacter gets swarmed & killed too easily. Ditto, sneaking around hunting. Too often I ran into a bear or saber tooth tiger & was killed in seconds.
    Too many of the problems that plagued Oblivion remain. I hope they get it right next time.
    Expand
  42. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I've never seen the Trolls so organized! Is this the beginning of the end for user reviews?

    A critical flaw for Metacritic... I'm saving my endearing review for 1up, who'll screen. This is clearly in the top 5 video games of all time. Minor flaws, who cares. So does your wife.
  43. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    This game can become very boring very quickly and in a very unspectacular way, if I were to sum it up in one word (no it would not be dragons but) grinding. I looked at my quest list because I didn't like the one I was on and they all involved going into a cave and getting something stupid like someones sword. Depite bethesda saying each dungeon was different and hand crafted there all overly similar and long, sometimes and hour long (true story). The combat feels very floaty and if it weren't for the blood and health bar I would be convinced I wasn't doing anything. But those are the two biggest problems I can think of. Oh wait I just remembered the graphics, which look fine close up and far away look terrible mid distance you can see the repetitive layer square of mud repeat itself with over and over. apart from those three thing it's just little things like every shop keeper saying the same thing and a few glitches. I'm not going to mention frame rate (even though I have the disease) because unlike most reviewers I'm aware it doesn't effect everyone and they're supposed to be working on a patch. In fact the problems happen around 40 hours in which is conveniently the time you get completly bored of it and cringe at the thought of spending another ten minutes there. The best thing about the game doesn't even require you to buy the game but instead listen to people experiences which is what made me want it so much (turns out they were over exagerating). I like the thought of this game but after playing it you'll be questioning how over hyped this game was. It might just be me because the only RPG games I have played before were mass effect 2 and deus ex but try stealing it of a friend for the weekend, they'll probably be more then happy to not have to think about it. Expand
  44. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    If you are buying this for PS3, this gets a 0. Full of framerate lag and crashes.

    If you are buying this for the 360, this gets a 9.5, GOTY.

    If you are buying this for the PC, it gets a 10 thanks to the mods, which make Skyrim the definite GOTY.
  45. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    I was surprised to see all the negative user reviews (especially compared to the Critic reviews) but now I understand that a lot of grievances are due to the bugs that were present in the earlier versions of the game. I only recently purchased Skyrim and therefore received patch 2.x when installing the game on my PS3. Luckily, I have been free of bugs so far (AFAIK) and also the lag is very acceptable, especially from a game that offers so much gameplay. I have been playing this for about 100 hours now and my social life has ceased to exist. The game is captivating, adventurous, incredibly addictive and filled with so many small details that you just have to admire the programmers and creative artists that worked on this. Just to give you one example without spoiling any major event: At a certain moment i felt myself in unfamiliar surrounds in the middle of the night, starving from hunger. Suddenly I saw a rabbit drinking at a well. I took out my bow (in stealth mode so as not to scare the animal away), ligned up my shot....only to see a giant wolf leap out of the bushes and eating my rabbit!.
    A wonderful game, if you are reluctant to buy it because of the bugs, be assured that the new patches have wrinkled out a lot.
    Expand
  46. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Not a perfect game by any stretch of the imagination. Bugs from dragons flying backwards to the floor missing in Whiterun and having to fast travel to there again to sort out the problem have befallen me. I have had my ps3 crash maybe 30+ times. I have simply lost some of my favourite NPC's and not noticed until its too late to restart from an old save to save them as it would need 5 hours redoing and they have does for seemingly no reason. The voice acting is atrocious, repetative and sucks you out of this otherwise lovingly created world and the combat is floaty and a bit rubbish. And worst of all was the lag before patch 1.4 (which has 100% sorted my game - 120h save).

    And yet, I have played this game more than any other game in years. Skyrim for all it's faults has alot to offer. It's huge, colourful, fun and exciting. Dungeons can be very tense and completing quests very rewarding. If you can look past it's shortcomings, there are possibly hundreds of hours of epic fun to be had.
    Expand
  47. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games I have ever played. The graphics are outstanding especially in large environments. When you go out for questing, the mountains in the distance are fully rendered and detailed. Third Person View is still a bit clunky, but the First Person View is where game play really shines. the only thing I feel that the developers could improve on would be making The Third Person View easier to control and add extra quotes too all the people in Skyrim especially guards, every time you go near them they say " A guard might get nervous, a man approaches with his weapon drawn".

    Overall a gamer can surpass these minor flaws and truly love this game. There is soo much too do in the world of Skyrim, too much to even pick out, you will get lost in playing this game because of its realism, detailed large environment. When you see this game at a shop for 60 or 70 dollars you now know why...

    9/10 - NoNamerGamer
    Expand
  48. May 27, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played. But it got a 9/10 because of the vast number of glitches, bugs and missing textures at certain points in the game.
  49. Jun 28, 2012
    2
    I had the PS3 version before I bought the PC version. Now I can riff about all the bugs and crashes & technical issues in the game, but they have been stated enough. Because the fact of the matter is, even if Bethseda fixed all of those problems, the game is still a streamlined borefest. Read my PC review to find out why buying the PC version still didn't change my mind of how much of a dissapointment this game was. Even on the PC version with all of the best mods, I couldn't bring myself to play the game for more than 20 minutes before feeling like I wasting my time. Expand
  50. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Yeah it's true... this game had a lot of GLITCHES. But the solved them all!! Don't worry about the those 1744 reviews :D yeah don't worry about them. They have updated the PS3 version and yeah it took a while but it's finally over.

    I had the game months ago and sold it to Gamestop but now the graphics are stunning compared with the old graphics I saw months ago... for real. This is a
    good game. It's big. Don't spit on it. Expand
  51. Oct 2, 2013
    4
    BROKEN.That is all you can really say about skyrim on the ps3....now to be honest it is a really good game it's so big and so open so much for you to do in this great world....FOR ABOUT 4 HOURS then it starts lagging and crashing (witch can f*ck up your ps3) there is a reason why this isnt a 0.Because they did actually patch after many f*cking months but its still lagging a hell of alot.I cant rate this game higher on the playstation. Expand
  52. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is amazing... for the first 15 hours. Then it starts to lag so badly that you can't even play it, even with the patch all it does is lag lag lag lag lag ................l....a.....g...g.....LA....gG. A broken game doesn't deserve anything higher than a zero.
  53. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I love videogames. I love a LOT of videogames actually, in fact I am the kind of guy who gives perfect scores out pretty easily I mean just this year, Dark Souls, Deus ex, Uncharted, and Portal. They were all phenomenal in my eyes, but Skyrim is just everything I love about videogames on a whole nother level. It is not the perfect game but to hell with the idea of perfection, I love this game. If you hate this game, I love this game. I have never loved a game this much in my life. Don't just take my word for it, the love is everywhere. Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    READ THIS PLEASE.
    This is not supposed to be a review because we all know how good the game is. This is a response to all negative reviews out there. Obviously negative and mixed reviews are the outcome of comparison syndrome, lack of fantasy, ps3 version ( medium graphics, bad framerate - performance ) or bad pc specifications ( which result in poor graphics - performance ). I like
    fantasy games and since i started Skyrim i still cannot believe the amount of graphical and gameplay immersion i get out of this game (i own a good pc which runs the game at 1080p, ultra high @ 60+ fps). Music? Effects? Dialogues? Story(ies)? Clans? Enormous terrain? Unlimited freedom? Dragons? Spells? Epic battles? Finishing moves? Beautiful landscapes? Mounts? Houses? Marriage? Followers? Thousands of items? 150+ hand crafted dungeons? Alchemy? Smithing? Cooking? Working? Do you really want me to continue to name more? Because i can! Yeah as some people say, bethesda didn't create something new...Lame trolls. If you are a gamer just do yourself this present magnificent present and install, play it, love it. Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    If you want to feel free and a true nordic warrior, Skyrim is your game!. You have a lot of secondary missions and you can´t be bored never!. If you like rpg games, this is your game. The graphics are great, maybe they are not the most spectacular on this generation, but the giant map, the enviorement and all arround this game its great. The music its amazing, fits perfectly with the action or the exploration moments.

    Great game, but maybe if the graphics were better, this game could be the perfect game.
    Expand
  56. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    This game is not meant for everyone. I say that because most Bethesda games are not meant for everyone. Lucky for me, I love this game. It is exactly what I would expect from Bethesda. A massive world where every inch can be explored. An extensive character level system where literally every stat can be upgraded to suit your character. I do not know why people would think this game would graphically rival something like Arkham City or Uncharted 3. Those maps are nowhere near as big. Honestly, it is everything I expected from Bethesda. This game is fantastic for the people who liked Oblivion and Morrowind or Fallout 3 and New Vegas. Expand
  57. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    What this game lacks is a sense of polish, not in terms of graphics and textures, but of capability. Bethesda in 2005 created Oblivion, which by those years' standards was a complete overhaul in capability in consoles. They did it once again to Fallout 3 in 2008. This time however they convened story more so than clarity, while not negative, it does bring away the sense of style Bethesda could have done with the game. This is the Fallout:New Vegas of Fallout 3, with more polish and more story. There is no denying that this game is goregous, but it could have been much better. The lasting appeal is on the highest level imaginable, the story is fantastic, and the time spent during this journey is all that it needs to hold that true. Capability is the only thing drawing this back from a perfect 10. Something Uncharted 3 and Arkham City hold. A well deserving 9/10 Expand
  58. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    Skyrim on the PS3 is held back by its technical issues. At launch Skyrim was unplayable for a lot of PS3 users, but most reviews didn't take this into account since the lag only kicked in after several hours of play.

    Patch 1.9 took care of some of the performance issues a year later but many are still there, including stuttering and low framerates in some areas. There's not much point
    in creating a huge world full of interesting quests if technical issues make it unplayable.

    Bethesda said before release that the PS3 version was "getting lots of attention" and that the old issues had been fixed because it was running on a new engine. Looking back on it now it doesn't seem like this was true. Hopefully Bethesda will take more care with their future games on PS3 and PS4.
    Expand
  59. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    this is the most epic game i have ever had the privilege of playing. The npc's,dragons,quests and dungeons there all amazing. the true show stealer however is the world of skyrim. the scale is amazing. you will find yourself wondering aimlessly for hours just to see whats round the next corner. If you don't buy this you need help. SIMPLES!!!!
  60. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I love this game. It takes a while to get into at first. It took me about 8 hours in before things were getting really good. The game is designed well. There's a bugs/glitches, but that's to be expected for sandbox style games. Very fun and engrossing. It's well made because the main campaign becomes very difficult if you're not leveled up enough, which forces you to explore and do other quests. There are side quests with amazing detail that aren't even part of the main campaign.

    I'm giving it a 9 though because there are a few technical issues I don't agree with.
    Expand
  61. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Such a shame. I love the game and hate the problems. I'm having a problem with the framerate, the framerate is so low that I could trip over it, making it unplayable. PS3 version of the game is broken. Anyone who is thinking about buying, DO NOT BUY!
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you. But any true gamer will appreciate this masterpiece. Expand
  63. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    Ok now this is my opinion. Guys don't read the website critics... the userscores are true. Well... it's a good game but... it's like the cheap version of Skyrim.. you know... Battlefield 3 had the same problem. The PC version is the best version. Let's start from the graphics. Mother **** cheap graphics OK. Spiky trees and mud like stones and mountains. There are no need of this kind of huge maps jf most of the places reminds about each other. Very cheap graphic on PS3. Gameplay now... every AI feel like they are robots without feelings. They look at you with no emotions when they are giving you quest and all that stuff. And you always do the same thing. Go there and get that for me and kill that man. There are simply no emotions in this game. But the soundtracks are amazing. There are VERY few weapons and spells. You can only get spells like fire, ice and thunder. Then restoration and summon spells. That's all. But at the end I would still give it 8 even if it about a 7 worth. I enjoyed the first 7 hours alot! But that was because it felt realistic. But after knowing the true experience of this game it looked VERY cheap. But still I recommend it even though it's going to be ... borin a little because of the cheap graphic styles and lack of emotions on Ai's. But sitll this is... you know it could be much better. There are some things that this game is good at and some things it's VERY bad at. It's actually a good game. But it's doing some stupid things which it isn't supposed to do. They should never release this game on PS3 and Xbox 360, but still I won't say I didn't enjoy it. Everyone should try this game out. It's maybe not the best game, but you still have to try it out somehow. Expand
  64. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. The gamer in everyone will launch Skyrim in their PS3 and sit in awe at the masterpiece Bethesda Game Studios has created. Cons? I love this game, I really do, but I can't give it the score I want in its current state. That would be unfair to anyone spending £40 for a something that might work. It might not. The most amazing game of the year is in there somewhere. I really hope Bethesda can get it out. I am a huge fan of Bethesda games and must say this game gave me my expectations and much more. The game is overflowing with content either side quests or just rummaging around for treasure it really does the series justice. The controls are simple and easy to use making combat so much better and the landsape itself is sooo well detailed. Now here are some more downsides. The character creation is good but not really good. A big improvement from Oblivion's but it just doesn't feel like I can make the character I want. The story isn't as good as what Oblivion's is, it's a good setup and characters are ok, but not great. There are glitches and bugs in the game that bring it down such as broken quests, texture slowdowns and so on and so on. Nevertheless with so many interesting quests and places, you'll spend so much hours into the game. But you should always expect bugs with a game this size. However, the bugs here are absolutely game-breaking. Lag so bad, if your save reaches over 10mb, you probably won't be able to fight anything. Quest bugs that make finishing the game impossible. The game's big hype, dragons, will fly backwards and won't fight you. It could be GOTY, if they just took time to iron out the game breaking bugs before release. Expand
  65. Feb 29, 2012
    0
    Shallow, boring, buggy mess that bribed it's way to the top. I played it for 60 hours and never gonna take it in the hands again. The quest writing is disaster it's as boring as it can get. The story is one of the dumbest stories I ever saw in RPGs. It's poor mainstream game made, that doesn't stand to the name of ES
  66. May 28, 2012
    5
    Skyrim is one of the most over rated games of this generation.
    The Combat system is basic and boring where casting the same spell over and over or spamming your sword can get you through most of the boring repetitive dungeons and fetch quests.After spending over 60-70 hours playing through this game you come to realise that none of the characters have any personality and almost all of them
    are easily forgettable. Many bugs and glitches plague the game and horrible PS3 performance after many hours despite many patches also brings down the game for the PS3 users.
    Although Skyrim is mostly bad it does have a few redeeming qualities, the world is huge and the game can provide 100 hours of gameplay although boring can be a good time sink. The environment is quite beautiful at times.
    Expand
  67. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    The gameplay is amazing: it's the best combination of adventure and RPG. The graphics, even if unrealistic, are truly beautiful. The storyline also brings epic moments. Overall, an amazing game (at least, for someone that have never played The Elder Scrolls before).
  68. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    There isn't much to say,its one of the most wonderful game in history,and all the credit goes to "Bethesa",THEY are the best videogames company in my opinion,they produced such good games like Fallout,Dishonored,Wet and more...
  69. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    How did they do this? I developed my character the way I wanted and the gameplay stayed balanced and challenging till the awesome conclusion, shame they released a poor version at first, that Nintendo like quality control is becoming rare on consoles. One of the most vast, entertaining games ever made.
  70. Feb 13, 2012
    3
    Could be cool if it didn't look so horrible. Fortunately got it from Gamefly so only wasted some time and no real money. Will try the PC version hoping the graphic quality is at least 10,000 times better. Other than graphic concerns, this is the first oblivion I've played and I'm so far not too into the play-style. It's a bit chunky and difficult to maneuver the player and the camera. Disappointed after all the hype :/ Expand
  71. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    the sequel of oblivion is better, bigger ,and more amazing than elder scrolls IV ,dont miss up a dragon or a giant you don´t gonna like it enjey a beatifull , world full of live.
  72. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This game is still being played, however on a pc not the ps3 due to lack of support. It is still playable, but there are several broken quests that cannot be completed. This game is so huge it should be rated on a scale of 0..15 not 10. I would still give it a 15 out of 15 because of the sheer beauty of the game on the PS3. it plays a bit soft though, I'm playing at the highest level and am challenged somewhat but not the Demons Souls level of challenge. Expand
  73. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    Game seemed unfinished and lazily thought out. Quests were short and easy, and the the lack of customization made game boring. I wanted a full rpg experience but didn't get one. Oblivion content wise was better.
  74. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Amazing. This might be the very best RPG that I've played. I've been playing games since the 80's. Anyone that is giving a negative review for this game is either a massive troll, stupid or insane.
  75. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go out and buy it already. Expand
  76. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, People complaining must not have a good enough computer or playing it on console. I am running it Just fine, and has only crashed once when i did "~qqq", aka my own fault. The music is memorable, the fights are faster and quick paced, the environment is amazing, Everything about this game being amazing is correct, if you don't have a good enough pc, or not a PC user who knows how to properly setup a game, please switch to console. Expand
  77. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a 0 because Bethesda released a broken game on the Sony platform and appears to have gave little effort in optimizing their "NEW" engine on the PS3. Seems to me that it's the same old engine with no optimizations for the PS3's architecture and they released a broken game with issues that are so blatantly obvious that you have to wonder how these issues got past testing.
  78. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Only been playing a few hours and am completely hooked. Have never been a fan of the Fallout series or previous Elder Scrolls games but bought Skyrim hoping that this one would live up to the hype. It has. The amount of stuff there is to do on this game seems limitless. Great open world, solid gameplay (although using magic feels a lot more fluid than using weapons), and so much freedom of choice. I foresee myself spending hours and hours on Skyrim. Expand
  79. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I don't know where to start. This is one of those games where you can play for hours and still have more to do. The amount of content sets the bar for gaming. The game looks amazing with just a few pop ups but this is a HUGE game and I can't emphasize that enough. This game let's you choose your path it does it well and I would go as far to say it's GAME OF THE YEAR and more......... BEST GAME EVER MADE this is a hefty feat but it simply is a masterpiece there was a lot of work put into this game and it shows. BUY THIS GAME Expand
  80. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    If you love character-building and adventuring, then I don't think I could recommend a game any higher than Skyrim. Though it has some flaws, none of them are deal breakers. The two most common glitches are the pop-up while out in the wilds, and occasional slow-down while in battle. But honestly, I've had the frame-rate drop maybe twice in about 20 hours of adventuring, for me it's been absolutely acceptable. I've been space-launched by the giants a few times as well, but it doesn't matter because the result would be death either way. Just know that this game has a huge beautiful world to explore, and is deep into the character building. If that's your sort of thing, you have no reason not to buy this. Tonnes of secrets, etc. Expand
  81. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Until this game is fixed it deserves nothing more than a 0 as it isn't fit for release or consumption by the public, PS3 owners should boycott Bethesda until they start releasing products that are done.
  82. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    my words are unworthy to describe this game. it is simply a masterpiece. i've been playing for probably 20 hours yet it feels i've barely scratched the surface. the graphics are beautiful, the spells and weapons stylish, and the enemies epic.
  83. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    Please do not be fooled by the critic reviews. There are so many bugs to the Playstation 3 version of Skyrim. Bethesda does not care about it at all. If you happen to own an Xbox as well as a Playstation 3, get Skyrim for the Xbox.
  84. Jan 9, 2012
    2
    Dear Bethesda......... I'm used to bugs in your games (I think everyone is!). I'm also mostly OK with the outdated tech, the clunky combat, the poor dialogue, and all the other staples of your games since Oblivion, because you do know how to make a good game world, and for that I can overlook a lot of issues. ........... However, what I cannot overlook is that this game is BROKEN on PS3. Broken meaning 'does not work'. At all. As in, 7 to 0 FPS during combat. .......... Next time, if you know you can't make a PS3 version without it being literally worthless (except for the opening 20 hours or so) then just don't release it on Playstation. It would hurt us PS3 owners, but not as much as the false hope this broken port gives. -Loco Expand
  85. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    All i have to say is the=is game is nothing short of spectacular. skyrim makes you want to spend 100s of hours in the world created despite all its technical flaws, which have mostly been fixed in the new patch 1.4
  86. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    The only real problem with this game is that it got so big that people who just don't understand what Bethesda or TES is all about started buying it. For anyone who has played the previous TES or Fallout games, this game is a dream come true. The world feels much more real than in Oblivion, with fantastic and varied environments and a story steeped in complex politics and allegiances. The combat system is incredibly refreshing, feeling fresh and responsive, with far more impact and weight than the previous games. Don't worry about bugs, they're a disgustingly exaggerated rarity and shouldn't hamper your experience at all. GO BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  87. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Now that most bugs have been fixed this game in really incredible. You can do about anything from being a murderer in the dark brotherhood to being the dragon born and saving the world. Is not getting a 10 from me because at the begging it had a lot of bugs.
  88. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    Another Bethesda game that looks and feels amazing. While the game is great, and I'm still playing it almost a year after buying it it is missing many things I enjoyed from it's previous entries. No more crafting your own spells, and no more casting spells while keeping a sword and shield equipped are both things that annoy me personally, and I don't really follow the line of reasoning they used to explain it.
    Also, the game is still buggy from time to time after several patches. Sometimes (about twice a play through for me) scripts will break locking you out of progressing a mission, fortunately, there is enough to do that you could get locked out of a dozen or so missions and still have tons to do. Still, the game received several graphic updates with the expansion, whether or not you purchased it, as well as some new models. With this kind of support, and with the expansiveness of the game, I feel that this game should be a purchase for any rpg gamers.
    Expand
  89. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Honestly, the best game I have ever played. The main plot is hugely creative, and you do not have to follow on that plot if you do not want to. The graphics are phenomenally beautiful, and you feel as if you are in the action. The glitches are sometimes funny, and I have to deal with such little glitches. Superb game.
  90. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    I was extremely excited for Skyrim and it is one of the very few games I have ever bought on day 1. However, while Skyrim many be an incredible game on other platforms, the simple fact that Bethesda released Skyrim on PS3 is a joke, but not funny. Skyrim is a hopeless mess. It is extremely buggy (glitches that prevent players from completing or even starting quests are absurdly common), but for such an amazing base game, I would overlook those bugs. However, it also freezes constantly. The larger my save file got, the more it frequently it froze. Just when I was completely into playing Skyrim, when it was fast becoming one of my favorite video games of all time, the freezing got so bad that I had to stop playing. Some days, it would be freezing up once every five minutes, and that is not an exaggeration. I had to save constantly to keep from losing progress, and I wound up spending 40% of my time with Skyrim actually playing the game, and 60% of my time with Skyrim rebooting my PS3 after it froze, saving to avoid losing too much progress, or watching loading screens. Which brings me to another problem. Loading screens in Skyrim pop up very frequently and are unacceptably long, far longer than loading screens in previous Bethesda PS3 games like Fallout 3, leading me to believe long loading screens are not the result of Bethesda being unable to fix the problem, but rather the result of them being too lazy to do so. Skyrim should have been delayed. Sure, everyone who was going to buy the PS3 version, myself included, would have complained about it, but at the end of the day, we would have realized that if Bethesda delayed Skyrim, they did it because they had more work to do and the delay would make the final product better. Instead of delaying Skyrim, Bethesda shipped an incomplete, shoddy mess of a game. And then, did they do what they did with Fallout: New Vegas- patch it into a playable state? No. They released a few patches that fixed a few of the countless glitches and dealt with the lag, but they did nothing about the constant freezing, the absurd loading times, or the vast majority of the glitches. Now, the number of patches Bethesda releases has tapered off dramatically. Why? Maybe because Bethesda cares less about working on fixing their broken product and more about milking more profits from DLC, which PS3 owners didn't get. We missed Dawnguard and Hearthfire completely. We're getting Dragonborn, but, frankly, I am not that excited. All Dragonborn is is Bethesda trying to get PS3 owners to pay more money to get more shoddy product. Also, every Bethesda employee working on Skyrim DLC is an employee who should be working on game patches instead. Glitches, freezes, no DLC- Skyrim on the PS3 is a gamer nightmare. Expand
  91. Feb 25, 2013
    0
    Great game but very buggy. Rating suffers. If it works, great. Can't give it a good rating because it should've never been released with so many problems.
  92. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Skyrim is one of the best open world RPG's of all time. If you're a TES The Elder Scrolls fan you will love this game. If you've never played a TES game before but you like RPG's chances are you will like this game. You don't have to have played any of the previous TES games to understand this game or to fully enjoy it. You create your own character from scratch, You can choose a race from 10 different playable races. They all have their own abilities but you can play whatever way you like with any one of them. You can do whatever you want, however you want, whenever you want. Of course there is a main story you're Dragonborn a prophesied hero born into the world in a time of civil war and a time when dragons have come back. You can fight the dragons and find out why they have come back and what your purpose is, You can join either side in the civil war and there are also numerous other factions in which you can join. If you like being an assassin you can join the dark brotherhood a group of assassins, If you like to be a thief you can join a thief's guild, If you like Magic there is a Mage's guild, If you like fighting in combat there is a fighter's guild The companions They all have their own main story and many side stories as well. Skyrim has many, many side stories and you will be able to put hundreds of hours into this game before you even come close to completing it.

    The graphics are very, very good, The combat and magic is solid and enjoyable, The music is phenomenal and if you like to get lost within another world in Skyrim you can do just that. The game did come originally with glitches, frame rate drops, freezing and some other problems. But since then they have all been patched and the game runs near perfect now.

    So in conclusion if you want a game where you can be whoever you want to be and do whatever you want to do that also has a good story, lots to do, with good graphics, gameplay mechanics and you like RPG's/Action adventure games Skyrim is an absolute must buy. It got game of the year and well deserved.
    Expand
  93. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Skyrim is one of the best games out at the moment and I am quite shocked at some peoples reviews of this. Granted that the game is a little bit bugged but its certainly not to the extent some people claim, I personally find it quite humerous watching a mammoth fly through the air and then falling ot its death for some easy and valuable items you can take off it. Moving on though, Skyrim is a gorgeous Roleplay game which drags you into your greatest gaming fantasy where a whole entire wortld is open to you and everything about the design, style and even the ingame music is just breathtaking. Apart from the odd bug the game really is fun and I cannot recommend it enough. 9/10 Expand
  94. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Improving greatly on the previous Elder Scrolls game, Skyrim is amazing. The Graphics remain very similar to Oblivion, but that's almost the complete list of Cons. Skyrim has a simplified customisation screen, allowing you to get into the game quickly, while still having a character tailored to your specification. The general movement of your character and the animation of the game finally seem to have taken the step into Next-Gen Gaming, moving away from the stiff-moving gloomy-faced characters in the world of Oblivion, Skyrim brings a new air of life into the Elder Scrolls' world, borrowing a lot of its features from Morrowind (Arguably the best game in the series) and just improving on them slightly. The combat no longer feels like you're just running in and swinging a sword around like a piece of paper until everything's dead. Skyrim's combat has some real weight to it, and although they consume a lot of energy, the charge attacks really make the difference between life or death. The Camera (3rd person, specifically) has been re-positioned and put in the same place as Morrowind's (just zoomed out a bit more) to allow for better vision and easy use of bows and magic in third person (Though there are still some problems when trying to loot in 3rd person). Most elements of the game have been made much simpler than even Oblivion. The quests in Skyrim, though simpler, feel much more hand-crafted, much like the dungeons. Now the problem with Skyrim. Simplicity. Yes, a degree of simplicity is required and expected, but this game is an RPG which, to me, implies there's going to be some number-crunching and a good chunk of reading. Skyrim doesn't really have this to the extent I'd hope for and it hurts it in more ways than it helps. Other than getting perk points from levelling up (really just a big bunch of passive abilities) there's no limitation to your stats. Expand
  95. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    PROS: everything that isn't broken is superbly crafted. The main storyline, the side quests, the UI, even the simplistic combat--which if described to me, I would surely assume to be jejune and not worth my time--is actually very satisfying. Bethesda gets a standing ovation. With the exception of maybe Red Dead, I've never been so engrossed in the fixed narrative of an open-world game. Usually I have to be stripped of freedom to enjoy a well-crafted story (e.g. uncharted) but Bethesda gives you the best of both worlds. Bravo! Definitely worth full-price...but with an asterisk* *CONS: the game is broken. I got to 6MB bug free. More frequent bugs after 8MB and ater 11MB, it became unplayable. If you play games for the story (whether crafted by you in an open-world or supplied by a fixed narrative) you won't be able to finish this game and enjoy the fruits of your labor. I've wasted at least 3 hours replaying parts due to crashes/freezes and another 1-2 hrs due to retarded frame-rates (literally retarded not the juvenile malapropism). What makes this more frustrating is that to fix the frame rate issues, it's recommended that you disable auto-saves. So my choices are either unplayable frame-rates or constant disruptive manual saves multiple times an hour, or replaying 30-60min sections due to crashes. I only have 45-90min every evening to either watch TV, surf the net or play games. To have the majority of that time be wasted is quite frustrating. What's that Einstein quotation about insanity? Doing the same thing over and over but expecting different results? Yeah... this game made me crazy. But I'm afraid I have to return to the world of the sane; I sadly won't be able to finish this fantastic game. Maybe in a few years, I'll pick up the GOTY edition for 20 bucks used and finish it but right now, I can't imagine anyone with a career, family-- your every day person with a life--being able to deal with the game-breaking technological deficiencies. RECOMMENDATION: buy it for the PC if you are lucky to have the specs to play it. DO NOT BUY on PS3 unless you are un(der)employed, sick and quarantined with nothing to do, or are on an extended vacation that you'd like to spend replaying sections of a game but never finishing. For those who want numbered scores: without game-breaking bugs: 10/10. With bugs: 0/10. Since the PS3 has bugs...I sadly have to give it a zero as I've wasted about 30hrs... Expand
  96. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  97. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    If you like rinse & repeat RPGs, Skyrim is for you. This is basically just a larger version of Oblivion with a different storyline. The graphics are terrible. The combat, compared to something like Dark Souls, is childish to say the least. But I can't deny how fun it is to just wander around and find things. That is the beauty of a game like Skyrim. There's just so much to explore! But after playing Dark Souls and both games coming out within a month or so of each other, I can't give it more than a 7. Expand
  98. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    LAG SOLUTION ON PS3 : Under games in the main Playstation menu, go to saved game utility and delete any auto saves you won't be using. Next, start up the game, go into the menu and turn off auto save on menu. Other than the lag you will encounter if you don't do this, this game is nearly perfect.
  99. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    This game is simply broken. The bugs render the game unplayable at parts. The fps drop to nearly zero at different points. For a detailed explanation of why this occurs see digital fondry verus Skyrim lag. I am sad to see this poor of a port in this day and age.
  100. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    No patches as of yet that fixes the lag and the framerate drops issues. Patch 1.3 was supposed to come out but it didn't and there's no update on when exactly come out. I seriously hope they're taking this seriously and dedicating themselves to make the PS3 version in a workable and playable point but for now, this game is extremely broken.
  101. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Totally amazing!! the most important game of the year. WE ARE FREE to do all we want to is this virtual world, you dont like the history missions? go and kill everybody, hunt, marry someone, investigate, read books... grat graphics for this game (we cant wait por u3 graphics) absolutly amazing music, and a great world. maybe it's not a game for everyone, but if you come to skyrim, feel it's power, you'll see that this game is pure love.(sorry for my english) Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]