User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2529 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    2
    I had the PS3 version before I bought the PC version. Now I can riff about all the bugs and crashes & technical issues in the game, but they have been stated enough. Because the fact of the matter is, even if Bethseda fixed all of those problems, the game is still a streamlined borefest. Read my PC review to find out why buying the PC version still didn't change my mind of how much of aI had the PS3 version before I bought the PC version. Now I can riff about all the bugs and crashes & technical issues in the game, but they have been stated enough. Because the fact of the matter is, even if Bethseda fixed all of those problems, the game is still a streamlined borefest. Read my PC review to find out why buying the PC version still didn't change my mind of how much of a dissapointment this game was. Even on the PC version with all of the best mods, I couldn't bring myself to play the game for more than 20 minutes before feeling like I wasting my time. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Yeah it's true... this game had a lot of GLITCHES. But the solved them all!! Don't worry about the those 1744 reviews :D yeah don't worry about them. They have updated the PS3 version and yeah it took a while but it's finally over.

    I had the game months ago and sold it to Gamestop but now the graphics are stunning compared with the old graphics I saw months ago... for real. This is a
    Yeah it's true... this game had a lot of GLITCHES. But the solved them all!! Don't worry about the those 1744 reviews :D yeah don't worry about them. They have updated the PS3 version and yeah it took a while but it's finally over.

    I had the game months ago and sold it to Gamestop but now the graphics are stunning compared with the old graphics I saw months ago... for real. This is a good game. It's big. Don't spit on it.
    Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    4
    BROKEN.That is all you can really say about skyrim on the ps3....now to be honest it is a really good game it's so big and so open so much for you to do in this great world....FOR ABOUT 4 HOURS then it starts lagging and crashing (witch can f*ck up your ps3) there is a reason why this isnt a 0.Because they did actually patch after many f*cking months but its still lagging a hell of alot.IBROKEN.That is all you can really say about skyrim on the ps3....now to be honest it is a really good game it's so big and so open so much for you to do in this great world....FOR ABOUT 4 HOURS then it starts lagging and crashing (witch can f*ck up your ps3) there is a reason why this isnt a 0.Because they did actually patch after many f*cking months but its still lagging a hell of alot.I cant rate this game higher on the playstation. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    FUS RO DAH!!!!!!!!!!!! Words can describe the love i have for skyrim! each play through is different you can play a mage and join the collage of winter hold or be a warrior and join the companions! the main storyline is OK. not that good! side quest are amazing! you can be walking along a a dragon start to attack you or a village! then a then you might get a letter and start anotherFUS RO DAH!!!!!!!!!!!! Words can describe the love i have for skyrim! each play through is different you can play a mage and join the collage of winter hold or be a warrior and join the companions! the main storyline is OK. not that good! side quest are amazing! you can be walking along a a dragon start to attack you or a village! then a then you might get a letter and start another mission! there is so much to do its unbelievable! the lag sometimes is really noticeable but goes away! ive put over two hundred hours in and there's still more to do! WARNING: SAY GOODBYE TO YOUR LIFE! Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    Skyrim is great but this is better:
    With the lights out, it's less dangerous
    Here we are now, entertain us
    I feel stupid and contagious
    Here we are now, entertain us
    A mulatto
    An albino
    A mosquito
    My libido
    Yay! [x3]
  6. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    I love this game...... It is a fun game and every person is interactable and some have there own story. There is no lag or no problems with the game..... I would recommend anyone and everyone to play this game on any platform....
  7. Apr 21, 2016
    9
    Es uno de los mejores juegos que he jugado en mi vida, aunque en la versión de PS3 tiene fallos de FPS en los exteriores, pero no por eso le hace un mal juego, obviamente hoy en día gráficamente se queda corto, pero en cuanto a contenido y ambientación es lo mejor que hay en PS3 (Según mi punto de visto de lo que yo he podido jugar) Cuando no estas matando un dragón, estas picando piedraEs uno de los mejores juegos que he jugado en mi vida, aunque en la versión de PS3 tiene fallos de FPS en los exteriores, pero no por eso le hace un mal juego, obviamente hoy en día gráficamente se queda corto, pero en cuanto a contenido y ambientación es lo mejor que hay en PS3 (Según mi punto de visto de lo que yo he podido jugar) Cuando no estas matando un dragón, estas picando piedra o minerales, un día estas casándote y el otro
    construyendo tu casa, yo creo que es de los pocos juegos que menos me a aburrido en estos últimos años, yo lo recomiendo, pero lo recomiendo con los DLCs, si puedes comprar la versión legendaria mejor, un saludo.
    Expand
  8. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is amazing... for the first 15 hours. Then it starts to lag so badly that you can't even play it, even with the patch all it does is lag lag lag lag lag ................l....a.....g...g.....LA....gG. A broken game doesn't deserve anything higher than a zero.
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I love videogames. I love a LOT of videogames actually, in fact I am the kind of guy who gives perfect scores out pretty easily I mean just this year, Dark Souls, Deus ex, Uncharted, and Portal. They were all phenomenal in my eyes, but Skyrim is just everything I love about videogames on a whole nother level. It is not the perfect game but to hell with the idea ofI love this game. I love videogames. I love a LOT of videogames actually, in fact I am the kind of guy who gives perfect scores out pretty easily I mean just this year, Dark Souls, Deus ex, Uncharted, and Portal. They were all phenomenal in my eyes, but Skyrim is just everything I love about videogames on a whole nother level. It is not the perfect game but to hell with the idea of perfection, I love this game. If you hate this game, I love this game. I have never loved a game this much in my life. Don't just take my word for it, the love is everywhere. Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2014
    4
    Most overated game ever.

    NPCs were dull and wooden, i felt no empathy for any of them. Their dialogue was repetitive and boring.. definitely need to hire more voice actors next time. Their actions were repetitive and unrealistic, my biggest complaint about this game is constantly being brought back to reality by poor AI programming. The beautiful graphics & design ( yes this is an
    Most overated game ever.

    NPCs were dull and wooden, i felt no empathy for any of them. Their dialogue was repetitive and boring.. definitely need to hire more voice actors next time. Their actions were repetitive and unrealistic, my biggest complaint about this game is constantly being brought back to reality by poor AI programming. The beautiful graphics & design ( yes this is an amazing game to look at) that immersed you into this fantasy world were undone by the inane robots that moved and slided about the place like thunderbird puppets.

    The storylines were lack lustre.. I just didn't care. Sometimes less is more Bethesda, dont cram so much in and sharpen your core themes. This game had huge potential but was executed averagely.
    Expand
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    the sequel of oblivion is better, bigger ,and more amazing than elder scrolls IV ,dont miss up a dragon or a giant you don´t gonna like it enjey a beatifull , world full of live.
  12. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Not as good as Oblivion, but a pretty great game. The key is only autosaving every 10 to 15 minutes when you bring up the circle button menu. Saving takes a long, long time, and if you do it too much most of your time in game will be spent on saves. My other major trouble is the inability to respec as monsters and the like keep getting tougher with your level (that automaticallyNot as good as Oblivion, but a pretty great game. The key is only autosaving every 10 to 15 minutes when you bring up the circle button menu. Saving takes a long, long time, and if you do it too much most of your time in game will be spent on saves. My other major trouble is the inability to respec as monsters and the like keep getting tougher with your level (that automatically increases) but the skills you've decided to use might not match - yes you can adjust the difficulty, but that approach is like a sledge hammer quickly becoming too easy or too hard. Additionally, Magic is too hobbled. Swords and armor aren't skill restricted, that is you can pick up an Iron axe and wield it just as easily as an Orcish mace - as it should be. Your ability to access those weapons is determined most by your ability to craft them, challenging but not difficult. However all magic is directly restricted to your skill number (not how many points you place in the tree) meaning you have to be really dedicated to grueling your way through magic if you want to be a primary spell caster since using melee weapons and arrows is so flipping easy. There are a few bugs, but most are recoverable (I have 14 saves allowing time for a bug to present itself so I can reload) and I've only experianced 2. 1 in a "werewolf in jail" quest which in my first playthrough was almost unrecoverable because I went to the DLC before reaching white run (so don't do that). And one was in a Moth palace where a gate wouldn't open after I killed the enemy before he could come through it. Very enjoyable over all however, a lovely game that I highly recommend to everyone. Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    This game is not meant for everyone. I say that because most Bethesda games are not meant for everyone. Lucky for me, I love this game. It is exactly what I would expect from Bethesda. A massive world where every inch can be explored. An extensive character level system where literally every stat can be upgraded to suit your character. I do not know why people would think this game wouldThis game is not meant for everyone. I say that because most Bethesda games are not meant for everyone. Lucky for me, I love this game. It is exactly what I would expect from Bethesda. A massive world where every inch can be explored. An extensive character level system where literally every stat can be upgraded to suit your character. I do not know why people would think this game would graphically rival something like Arkham City or Uncharted 3. Those maps are nowhere near as big. Honestly, it is everything I expected from Bethesda. This game is fantastic for the people who liked Oblivion and Morrowind or Fallout 3 and New Vegas. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    What this game lacks is a sense of polish, not in terms of graphics and textures, but of capability. Bethesda in 2005 created Oblivion, which by those years' standards was a complete overhaul in capability in consoles. They did it once again to Fallout 3 in 2008. This time however they convened story more so than clarity, while not negative, it does bring away the sense of style BethesdaWhat this game lacks is a sense of polish, not in terms of graphics and textures, but of capability. Bethesda in 2005 created Oblivion, which by those years' standards was a complete overhaul in capability in consoles. They did it once again to Fallout 3 in 2008. This time however they convened story more so than clarity, while not negative, it does bring away the sense of style Bethesda could have done with the game. This is the Fallout:New Vegas of Fallout 3, with more polish and more story. There is no denying that this game is goregous, but it could have been much better. The lasting appeal is on the highest level imaginable, the story is fantastic, and the time spent during this journey is all that it needs to hold that true. Capability is the only thing drawing this back from a perfect 10. Something Uncharted 3 and Arkham City hold. A well deserving 9/10 Expand
  15. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a 0 because Bethesda released a broken game on the Sony platform and appears to have gave little effort in optimizing their "NEW" engine on the PS3. Seems to me that it's the same old engine with no optimizations for the PS3's architecture and they released a broken game with issues that are so blatantly obvious that you have to wonder how these issues got past testing.
  16. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Its the Mother of all RPG's. I am in 60+ Hours and I am still amazed at what they did. This is a world on its own. The detail, the story arc, the gameplay, the adventure is just mind blowing. It does have an occasional bug here and there but nothing that will stop the adventure. Thank you Bethesda for setting the bar as high as this. I wanted to give it a 9.5 but since there was no optionIts the Mother of all RPG's. I am in 60+ Hours and I am still amazed at what they did. This is a world on its own. The detail, the story arc, the gameplay, the adventure is just mind blowing. It does have an occasional bug here and there but nothing that will stop the adventure. Thank you Bethesda for setting the bar as high as this. I wanted to give it a 9.5 but since there was no option I will say 10 compared to anything that is on the market. Do not deprive yourself from an epic adventure with a replay value of over 300+ hours. The soundtrack still makes me shiver and is stuck in my head. Expand
  17. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Such a shame. I love the game and hate the problems. I'm having a problem with the framerate, the framerate is so low that I could trip over it, making it unplayable. PS3 version of the game is broken. Anyone who is thinking about buying, DO NOT BUY!
  18. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you.Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you. But any true gamer will appreciate this masterpiece. Expand
  19. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    Works perfectly well for me! I would call myself a casual gamer with a daytime job. So I usually play during evenings and have reached level 13 during 14 hour game time. The game contains smooth graphics, interesting story and landscape , huge landmass. A lot of features for a RPG and if you love RPGs, this is a must buy! I rather walk around then use any means of fast-transport and IWorks perfectly well for me! I would call myself a casual gamer with a daytime job. So I usually play during evenings and have reached level 13 during 14 hour game time. The game contains smooth graphics, interesting story and landscape , huge landmass. A lot of features for a RPG and if you love RPGs, this is a must buy! I rather walk around then use any means of fast-transport and I recommend it! The nature and world is stunning to live in and plot your way to fortune and fame. Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    Ok now this is my opinion. Guys don't read the website critics... the userscores are true. Well... it's a good game but... it's like the cheap version of Skyrim.. you know... Battlefield 3 had the same problem. The PC version is the best version. Let's start from the graphics. Mother **** cheap graphics OK. Spiky trees and mud like stones and mountains. There are no need of this kind ofOk now this is my opinion. Guys don't read the website critics... the userscores are true. Well... it's a good game but... it's like the cheap version of Skyrim.. you know... Battlefield 3 had the same problem. The PC version is the best version. Let's start from the graphics. Mother **** cheap graphics OK. Spiky trees and mud like stones and mountains. There are no need of this kind of huge maps jf most of the places reminds about each other. Very cheap graphic on PS3. Gameplay now... every AI feel like they are robots without feelings. They look at you with no emotions when they are giving you quest and all that stuff. And you always do the same thing. Go there and get that for me and kill that man. There are simply no emotions in this game. But the soundtracks are amazing. There are VERY few weapons and spells. You can only get spells like fire, ice and thunder. Then restoration and summon spells. That's all. But at the end I would still give it 8 even if it about a 7 worth. I enjoyed the first 7 hours alot! But that was because it felt realistic. But after knowing the true experience of this game it looked VERY cheap. But still I recommend it even though it's going to be ... borin a little because of the cheap graphic styles and lack of emotions on Ai's. But sitll this is... you know it could be much better. There are some things that this game is good at and some things it's VERY bad at. It's actually a good game. But it's doing some stupid things which it isn't supposed to do. They should never release this game on PS3 and Xbox 360, but still I won't say I didn't enjoy it. Everyone should try this game out. It's maybe not the best game, but you still have to try it out somehow. Expand
  21. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. The gamer in everyone will launch Skyrim in their PS3 and sit in awe at the masterpiece Bethesda Game Studios has created. Cons? I love this game, ISkyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. The gamer in everyone will launch Skyrim in their PS3 and sit in awe at the masterpiece Bethesda Game Studios has created. Cons? I love this game, I really do, but I can't give it the score I want in its current state. That would be unfair to anyone spending £40 for a something that might work. It might not. The most amazing game of the year is in there somewhere. I really hope Bethesda can get it out. I am a huge fan of Bethesda games and must say this game gave me my expectations and much more. The game is overflowing with content either side quests or just rummaging around for treasure it really does the series justice. The controls are simple and easy to use making combat so much better and the landsape itself is sooo well detailed. Now here are some more downsides. The character creation is good but not really good. A big improvement from Oblivion's but it just doesn't feel like I can make the character I want. The story isn't as good as what Oblivion's is, it's a good setup and characters are ok, but not great. There are glitches and bugs in the game that bring it down such as broken quests, texture slowdowns and so on and so on. Nevertheless with so many interesting quests and places, you'll spend so much hours into the game. But you should always expect bugs with a game this size. However, the bugs here are absolutely game-breaking. Lag so bad, if your save reaches over 10mb, you probably won't be able to fight anything. Quest bugs that make finishing the game impossible. The game's big hype, dragons, will fly backwards and won't fight you. It could be GOTY, if they just took time to iron out the game breaking bugs before release. Expand
  22. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    All i have to say is the=is game is nothing short of spectacular. skyrim makes you want to spend 100s of hours in the world created despite all its technical flaws, which have mostly been fixed in the new patch 1.4
  23. May 28, 2012
    5
    Skyrim is one of the most over rated games of this generation.
    The Combat system is basic and boring where casting the same spell over and over or spamming your sword can get you through most of the boring repetitive dungeons and fetch quests.After spending over 60-70 hours playing through this game you come to realise that none of the characters have any personality and almost all of them
    Skyrim is one of the most over rated games of this generation.
    The Combat system is basic and boring where casting the same spell over and over or spamming your sword can get you through most of the boring repetitive dungeons and fetch quests.After spending over 60-70 hours playing through this game you come to realise that none of the characters have any personality and almost all of them are easily forgettable. Many bugs and glitches plague the game and horrible PS3 performance after many hours despite many patches also brings down the game for the PS3 users.
    Although Skyrim is mostly bad it does have a few redeeming qualities, the world is huge and the game can provide 100 hours of gameplay although boring can be a good time sink. The environment is quite beautiful at times.
    Expand
  24. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    The gameplay is amazing: it's the best combination of adventure and RPG. The graphics, even if unrealistic, are truly beautiful. The storyline also brings epic moments. Overall, an amazing game (at least, for someone that have never played The Elder Scrolls before).
  25. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    There isn't much to say,its one of the most wonderful game in history,and all the credit goes to "Bethesa",THEY are the best videogames company in my opinion,they produced such good games like Fallout,Dishonored,Wet and more...
  26. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Skyrim is one of the best games out at the moment and I am quite shocked at some peoples reviews of this. Granted that the game is a little bit bugged but its certainly not to the extent some people claim, I personally find it quite humerous watching a mammoth fly through the air and then falling ot its death for some easy and valuable items you can take off it. Moving on though, SkyrimSkyrim is one of the best games out at the moment and I am quite shocked at some peoples reviews of this. Granted that the game is a little bit bugged but its certainly not to the extent some people claim, I personally find it quite humerous watching a mammoth fly through the air and then falling ot its death for some easy and valuable items you can take off it. Moving on though, Skyrim is a gorgeous Roleplay game which drags you into your greatest gaming fantasy where a whole entire wortld is open to you and everything about the design, style and even the ingame music is just breathtaking. Apart from the odd bug the game really is fun and I cannot recommend it enough. 9/10 Expand
  27. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    I love this game, a platinum trophy prove it. The atmosphere, the world, the epicness are awesome, some of the main missions are so enjoyable.

    In the other side I dont like the combat system it feels superimposed, the attack is the same whether you succeed or fail and often can not tell if you guessed right. The relationships are very impersonal, there are many repetitive missions and
    I love this game, a platinum trophy prove it. The atmosphere, the world, the epicness are awesome, some of the main missions are so enjoyable.

    In the other side I dont like the combat system it feels superimposed, the attack is the same whether you succeed or fail and often can not tell if you guessed right. The relationships are very impersonal, there are many repetitive missions and side missions are very similar, the load times are very long.

    Still it is one of the best games I've played.
    Expand
  28. Jun 13, 2014
    6
    Skyrim isn't a bad game, but it is, in my opinion, the most overrated game in the history of gaming w/o another game sniffing 2nd place. Sure, there's lots to do, but the ridiculous amount of bugs, glitches, frame rate drops, tearing & freezing leave me wanting to play anything this. People call this one of the best games ever made -- how? It's not even the best Elder Scrolls game ever made...
  29. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    Negative reviews do not reflect the game. It is an absolute masterpiece. I recommend this game for hardcore gamers. Twitch players may get bored.

    Good: First person rpg at its best. Outstanding graphics, great gameplay, fun quests and story. I have 100+ hours into this game. Bad: detailed game creates memory issues. I personally keep my ps3 virtually empty and have t had any issues.
    Negative reviews do not reflect the game. It is an absolute masterpiece. I recommend this game for hardcore gamers. Twitch players may get bored.

    Good: First person rpg at its best. Outstanding graphics, great gameplay, fun quests and story. I have 100+ hours into this game.

    Bad: detailed game creates memory issues. I personally keep my ps3 virtually empty and have t had any issues.

    Overall: value for dollar for this game is fantastic. Years after the original release i still go back to play it. Cant wait for bethesda game works next release. Great job guys... You keep my faith in the gaming industry.
    Expand
  30. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game it is the Greatest Elder Scrolls Game of all time I personally hope for a PS4 version in the future anyone who loves RPGs will love this one the character creator is simply AMAZING!, you got several classes of characters to choose from, you can craft your own armor, enchant said armor and forge and enchant EPIC weapons, the story is truly EPIC although you may want to avoid dragons until your at least LV 10, the 3 DLCS added the Vampire Lord form, The Island of Solstheim and of course the ability to adopt childern which is pretty cool (Serana whom you get as a companion is pretty EPIC herself), and with a HUGE open world you could be adventuring for hours and still not see every place on the map, I do advise turning off all the save options in the settings menu as the game runs smoother with them off and doesn't freeze as much, long story short one of the greatest if not the greatest game of all time! Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]