User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2521 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    0
    I swear to god, I´ll never buy a Bethesda game again, you know why? Because they are pros in creating a big fu***ing hype for a game that s*cks and then just leave it there. I spent 60 bucks on this broken game and I don´t see Bethesa working to solve the PS3 lag issue. They just don´t care, just leave the st*pid gamer that invested his money on theirI swear to god, I´ll never buy a Bethesda game again, you know why? Because they are pros in creating a big fu***ing hype for a game that s*cks and then just leave it there. I spent 60 bucks on this broken game and I don´t see Bethesa working to solve the PS3 lag issue. They just don´t care, just leave the st*pid gamer that invested his money on their game and start developing another piece of f**king sh*t game. Skyrim is not fun, even without the lag issue it would still s*ck big time, the game is repetitive and superficial. I hope Bethesda burns for what they did to us. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. There's hundreds if not thousands of quests, skills, etc., all wrapped together in a large fully explorable open world. The graphics are pretty good, but nothing like Crysis 2. There were a few bugs, but most were harmless, and rarely affected my game.
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    I wanted to give this game a 10 but it has soo many lags and bugs. Trophy hunting level for this game is not that hard. Great quests and beautiful towns/cities. Music is Great! But Bethesda, get rid of those stupid bugs.
  4. May 20, 2012
    0
    Ohhee mah gawd! Dis gaeme is sawh klicthee like der r zo man3 bugz i ceant evne play da gam cuz it so bugge bad gam! dew note bi it!!!!!!!8 it so bad it dum zo bugge
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    6
    Great graphics and atmosphere, INCREDIBLE sound (music), one of the bigger maps to explore, maybe the biggest, ...BUT:

    POOR exciting. After playing some hours, I began to feel bored. Why so many dragons and why so easy to kill? Why a tigger is a harder enemy than a dragon?
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    Skyrim was fun for the first 10 or so hours but after that, I was bored. And that's bad for an 100+ hour game. The story is pretty good, however it's not the best or near it. The combat is really boring as all you are doing is pressing 1 or 2 buttons and doing the exact same thing, the entire time, eg. slash, slash, block, slash, drink healing potion, slash, slash etc... But the game isSkyrim was fun for the first 10 or so hours but after that, I was bored. And that's bad for an 100+ hour game. The story is pretty good, however it's not the best or near it. The combat is really boring as all you are doing is pressing 1 or 2 buttons and doing the exact same thing, the entire time, eg. slash, slash, block, slash, drink healing potion, slash, slash etc... But the game is above average considering the quality content (large world for exploration, variety of enemies and equipment, amount of missions and side quests, character development and leveling up, marriage, joining guilds etc..) And for those first 10- 20 hours, the game is pretty damn fun. So if your at home with a lot of time to spare, Skyrim's your game. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Let me get this straight, this is the PS3 version of the game, and you troglodyte's are posting the reviews of the PC? I am going to be as honest as possible, but The Elder Scrolls V deserves nothing it is getting. This game is a masterpiece, and what do we have to expect from Bethesda Game Studios, just pure excellence. The graphics are simply gorgeous, leaving me speechless even after aLet me get this straight, this is the PS3 version of the game, and you troglodyte's are posting the reviews of the PC? I am going to be as honest as possible, but The Elder Scrolls V deserves nothing it is getting. This game is a masterpiece, and what do we have to expect from Bethesda Game Studios, just pure excellence. The graphics are simply gorgeous, leaving me speechless even after a year and 450+ hours of gameplay. The fighting is damn good, I should add. The game doesn't give me quite a scare as Fallout 3 did, but that is more of a gripe than a complaint, nor is it gory at all, another gripe. The achievement of finding something unique in such a vast world is so fulfilling that any gamer could enjoy, unlike the Call of Duty franchise where you can just step right in and have fun, you really need to build and build and build onto your character and constantly explore, because the experience just keeps getting better and better. Now we just have to wait for Fallout 4 to come out! Expand
  8. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    This game hands down is one of my all time favorite games. EVER! It's not a 10, but damn near close. The dungeons are too long, I wish there were more creativity options for characters and armor and weapons should be better at drops but all in all, love the gameplay!!
  9. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    In the old times, it sucked because you could hardly play and it would lag a lot and it would crash. Skyrim was useless on PS3. It was still fine and worth it on Xbox360 and PC. Now Skyrim is also worth buying this game on the PS3. It is the best game ever. Its even the Greatest Hits. Its definitely a "Must Play" game. It also has very good reviews Like 10/10, 9.5/10, 9/10, 5/5, 4.5/5,In the old times, it sucked because you could hardly play and it would lag a lot and it would crash. Skyrim was useless on PS3. It was still fine and worth it on Xbox360 and PC. Now Skyrim is also worth buying this game on the PS3. It is the best game ever. Its even the Greatest Hits. Its definitely a "Must Play" game. It also has very good reviews Like 10/10, 9.5/10, 9/10, 5/5, 4.5/5, to me its definitely a 10/10, it earns a very good score. it also won over 200 GOTY awards and its also a GOTY on 2011, its also the best game of all time. If you haven't played. You got to do it now. Its those games you MUST play before you die. Its a 400 hours game. Its amazing. Its fantastic. The problem is it still does lags a little bit but not so much as the old days, and plus it doesn't crash anymore. They fix the PS3 version so you could play as much as you want. Its one of those fighting, RPG, and kind of like fantasy, medieval, and Viking times. Its really good. You should play this game NOW. Expand
  10. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Skyrim is a great addicting game and can take up more than 100 hours of your life exploring the vast open world. There are plenty of mission to keep you occupied. A huge improvement over Oblivion in gameplay and cinematic kills. The reason it got an 8 instead of a 10 is because when Bethseda release there games the all come out with bugs and takes them up to a month to fix it. Plus, youSkyrim is a great addicting game and can take up more than 100 hours of your life exploring the vast open world. There are plenty of mission to keep you occupied. A huge improvement over Oblivion in gameplay and cinematic kills. The reason it got an 8 instead of a 10 is because when Bethseda release there games the all come out with bugs and takes them up to a month to fix it. Plus, you got hundreds of people in the game and only around 6 voice actors. It get a little trying listen to the same voice from different people in the game. the lastest patch has worked out a good amount of bugs. GOTY to me. Expand
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Not perfect but by far one the best open world RPGs ever made. The elder scrolls games have a long history or cramming 50+ hours into a single game making the games themself one of th efew games available that is actually a good deal for the amount of money you pay. I put over 150hours into Oblivion between the core story, side quests and expansions so yes they nay-Sayers can complainNot perfect but by far one the best open world RPGs ever made. The elder scrolls games have a long history or cramming 50+ hours into a single game making the games themself one of th efew games available that is actually a good deal for the amount of money you pay. I put over 150hours into Oblivion between the core story, side quests and expansions so yes they nay-Sayers can complain that Skyrim offers more of the same with some minor improvements, I see this as a testament to the fact that Oblivion was such a great game there was little that needed to be done to improve it. That being said Skyrim may initially feel the same but the deeper you get into the combat and creation systems the more you can see the improvements. I am only about 6 hours in and so far this game already stands out as a solid contender for GOTY at least RPG of the year. Fantastic visuals (a few areas of pop-up on textures), decent voice acting, better than most. Solid gameplay though a bit hectic in some of the most intense situations when you are surrounded it is easy to lose sight of your target. This few knocks keep it from total perfection but when tyou consider ther is close to 100 hours of gameplay on this disc for the same $60 that some other games give you 10 and 12 hours of gameplay you get more bang for your buck. If you are into this type of open world exploration rpg game you cannot pass this one up. Expand
  12. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    AVOID UNTIL FIXED!! Too many bugs and game breaking issues (at Dec '11). Shame because it would be awesome if it worked :-( Hoping for a fix otherwise £40 down the drain...
  13. Jan 5, 2012
    0
    A complete buggy broken down mess. From falling through the ground into limbo, to trying to complete a quest where all you need to do is talk to someone and the game wont read the quest as completed which alternately ruins the game and forces you to start over in hope that it doesn't happen again! >:( . Get the PC version and be done with it.
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    The dilema giving Skyrim a score is the choice between 9 and 10. Its not perfect, It has flaws, a few patches are definately in order. And yet its the most incredable enviroment I've ever witnessed on a PC, The word game do'es not do it justice. SO... 10 it is.
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    If there is any game that would make you want to leave this life and live and live within that instead has won the hearts of me and millions like me. Bethesda, do not stop creating, do not stop loving what you create, you really do put your "dragon soul" into these games every-time you design/ develop them, thank you.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Despite the universal acclaim coming from all the usual gaming websites, this game is not as amazing as they would have you believe. We shouldn't be surprised really considering these sites get their revenue from advertising the very games they are reviewing (what a surprise, the game in the ad banner next to this review is getting a 9.5/10!!!). This game is broken. Glitches, like beingDespite the universal acclaim coming from all the usual gaming websites, this game is not as amazing as they would have you believe. We shouldn't be surprised really considering these sites get their revenue from advertising the very games they are reviewing (what a surprise, the game in the ad banner next to this review is getting a 9.5/10!!!). This game is broken. Glitches, like being hit and flying through the air and into some weird black boxy computer-land is, I presume, not part of the elder-scrolls story. Others, like NPCs having what look to be epileptic fits while they talk to a wall (instead of you), are completely ridiculous and show a lack of polish. It is sad to think that game-makers like Bethusda spend so much money on advertising when they could have instead channelled the funds into having programmers put together a game which doesn't look half-finished. If you have to buy this, then get it on PC where hopefully it will be fixed up with mods and/or patches. In the meantime, avoid.â Expand
  17. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    As a new follower to the Elder Scrolls world - only played Oblivion, I can say, without a doubt, this is one of the better games I've EVER played. Period. The depth of the quests, the soothing sounds of the soundtrack, and the absolutely beautiful world created in Skyrim will resonate with me for a long time to come. I have sunk 30 hours in and I haven't even begun to scratch the surfaceAs a new follower to the Elder Scrolls world - only played Oblivion, I can say, without a doubt, this is one of the better games I've EVER played. Period. The depth of the quests, the soothing sounds of the soundtrack, and the absolutely beautiful world created in Skyrim will resonate with me for a long time to come. I have sunk 30 hours in and I haven't even begun to scratch the surface of how far the proverbial rabbit-hole goes. They took what was awesome from Oblivion, coupled it with the positive characteristics attached to the new Fallout series, and made one hell of a good game. True, they are some bugs, but nothing that detracts you from the games playability in the least. I even find some hilarious - like woolly mammoths that fly. So I never gave them two thoughts.

    I can't put this game down. If you love the Elder Scrolls series, the Fallout series, or any game in general, get this, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest game rver made. Breathtaking graphics/art design, epically good and perfectly fitting soundtrack. They took everything that worked best in the elder scrolls and fallout to make the best game they have ever done. Dont let the trolls fool you, the critics are right for once.
  19. Nov 17, 2011
    5
    Dont get me wrong. im enjoying it and playing through it all. but its been hyped up too much. as another reviewer says, it is basically fallout in a different setting. combat is rubbish. bring back VATs. its an RPG, so give me my RPG style combat if you cant do it properly. Dark souls definitely wins on combat. This game is 10% (excellent) story, 10% (rubbish) combat, 30% (compulsive)Dont get me wrong. im enjoying it and playing through it all. but its been hyped up too much. as another reviewer says, it is basically fallout in a different setting. combat is rubbish. bring back VATs. its an RPG, so give me my RPG style combat if you cant do it properly. Dark souls definitely wins on combat. This game is 10% (excellent) story, 10% (rubbish) combat, 30% (compulsive) looting, 50% (boring) travelling Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    This game brought me back to gaming after a year long hiatus from gaming. To be perfectly honest, little has changed within that period of time in the gaming world. Bethesda should be ashamed for releasing another lackluster title after Oblivion. The UI is awkward to say the least, the textures are a mixed bag depending on your location, the game play is boring as usual, the storylineThis game brought me back to gaming after a year long hiatus from gaming. To be perfectly honest, little has changed within that period of time in the gaming world. Bethesda should be ashamed for releasing another lackluster title after Oblivion. The UI is awkward to say the least, the textures are a mixed bag depending on your location, the game play is boring as usual, the storyline is boring as usual, the graphics are substandard for a 2011 game, the audio is less than satisfying and seems very similar to Oblivion. The game continues to suffer from frame rate, pop-up, and graphical issues. The fighting controls and movement is outdated and clunky. This is inexcusable in 2011. The one shining star is the atmospheric conditions that add to the immersion of the game. I am thoroughly disappointed in this game after reaching level 15. If you are interesting in wasting time exploring a less than interesting world this game is for you. Bethesda, thanks for ruining a much over hyped gaming experience. It is an average game at best. Expand
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is more then just a game, it's an experience. The follow up in the Elderscrolls series delivers in every way imaginable, a huge open world to explore,great cast of characters,fun gameplay, stunning visuals etc. Set in the world of skyrim there is so much adventure to be had, the game is just huge. And completely loaded with content,so you will get your money's worth.But even thoughSkyrim is more then just a game, it's an experience. The follow up in the Elderscrolls series delivers in every way imaginable, a huge open world to explore,great cast of characters,fun gameplay, stunning visuals etc. Set in the world of skyrim there is so much adventure to be had, the game is just huge. And completely loaded with content,so you will get your money's worth.But even though there is so many things going right with skyrim, there are some weak points. The game has lots of bugs, like getting stuck in a mountain,floating animals, game freezes, framerate issues and more. This is a lot of problems, but the game does so much right, that you can forgive it for those flaws. Amazing game, one of the best of the year, and deserves your attention. Expand
  22. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    I used to hate Skyrim's bugs, then they took an arrow to the knee. The fact that review scores lower than 10 are legal for this game is an atrocity and must be stopped immediately.
  23. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely incredible. The graphics and beautiful vistas will blow your mind, as will the decapitations and sweet victory that follows creatively slaying a Dragon. That being said; the game is a disaster. It's unplayable with lag, and it's now becoming clear (thanks to a head dev at Obsidian(new Vegas)), that the game is eventually breaking for everybody, due to it beingThis game is absolutely incredible. The graphics and beautiful vistas will blow your mind, as will the decapitations and sweet victory that follows creatively slaying a Dragon. That being said; the game is a disaster. It's unplayable with lag, and it's now becoming clear (thanks to a head dev at Obsidian(new Vegas)), that the game is eventually breaking for everybody, due to it being neglected by Bethesda(big surprise there.). My advice: Don't buy it, but save up money for it. The moment people report it's fixed, go buy it, and prepare to lose countless nights questing. Expand
  24. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Horrible lag, mass amount of bugs, just go read posts anywhere from players on forums and websites!! Can't play due to incredible lag, runs like a slideshow! Horrible waste of money, NO MORE Bethesda games for me, paying to beta test their junk. Unacceptable!! Here, see for yourself!

    http://uk.ps3.ign.com/articles/121/1214016p1.html
    Horrible lag, mass amount of bugs, just go read posts anywhere from players on forums and websites!! Can't play due to incredible lag, runs like a slideshow! Horrible waste of money, NO MORE Bethesda games for me, paying to beta test their junk. Unacceptable!! Here, see for yourself!

    http://uk.ps3.ign.com/articles/121/1214016p1.html http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/forum/182-playstation-3/
    http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/forum/180-pc/
    http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/forum/181-xbox-360/
    http://www.computerandvideogames.com/326411/skyrim-ps3-players-report-crippling-lag/
    Expand
  25. Doz
    Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Its a little bit like having to give back a puppy you love, this game. Huge expectations are met in the first 30hrs then the lag sets in (for us ps3 users) and the love very quickly disappears. I've waited quite a while hoping Bethesda would at least make a public statement but the veil of secrecy and lack of acknowledgement only compounds the problem. Sad.
  26. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken so baddly that you cant finish it, main quest broken, side quests broken, and whats most importent extreme lags that looks likeslide shows. First time in my gameing history i want my money back.
  27. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Bethesda needs to face up to the fact that they deliver broken games to it's PS3 community. I have played Elder Scrolls:Oblivion, Fallout 3 & Fallout: New Vegas before purchasing Elder Scrolls Skyrim. I have put way too many hours into all these games. I will admit I love these games, but the fact that we are dealing with the same technical issues is disappointing. Especially for a gameBethesda needs to face up to the fact that they deliver broken games to it's PS3 community. I have played Elder Scrolls:Oblivion, Fallout 3 & Fallout: New Vegas before purchasing Elder Scrolls Skyrim. I have put way too many hours into all these games. I will admit I love these games, but the fact that we are dealing with the same technical issues is disappointing. Especially for a game that wins awards. Interestingly enough the game I had the least problems with was Oblivion. But Fallout 3 had plenty of framerate & crash issues, followed by the mess that was New Vegas and now Skyrim, which was highly anticipated by me and other PS3 Elder Scrolls fans gets released with the same issues and frustrations we've dealt with in past titles using the same game engine. Its very discouraging and disappointing. Where is the quality assurance in the video game industry ? I can't in clear conscience recommend anybody buy this game on PS3. If this game ran without the freezing and problems, I would give it a 10 rating for sure, but as it stands it makes a better coaster for my beverage than a game to put into my PS3. Sorry Bethesda......that's the honest truth. Deal with it. Expand
  28. Dec 21, 2011
    6
    Provides all of the open world possibilities of Oblivion and Morrowind in a staggering new world. The sheer freedom of choice, the beautiful world (yes, even with the low res environmental textures), the combat system (not perfect, but enjoyable): these points are all in Skyrim's favour. But there feels like less content here than in past Elder Scroll games (certainly less thanProvides all of the open world possibilities of Oblivion and Morrowind in a staggering new world. The sheer freedom of choice, the beautiful world (yes, even with the low res environmental textures), the combat system (not perfect, but enjoyable): these points are all in Skyrim's favour. But there feels like less content here than in past Elder Scroll games (certainly less than Oblivion), and what is here is less engaging (see: repetitive dungeon crawls or fetch quests). I put 150 hours in Oblivion, but I've put maybe 50-60 in Skyrim, and I don't see myself adding much more. And, worst of all, the bugs. Crashes, textures disappearing, and the unforgivable frame rate stuttering. For a game that takes so long to load, quitting and restarting is not a viable "fix" to the frame rate issue. It's unforgivable for something as game-changing (no pun intended) as that to make it out of testing. What's even worse is that it doesn't appear to have been factored into many critical reviews in any meaningful way. I can't not recommend this game, because with all it's flaws it still offers a rewarding experience, but anyone thinking of purchasing it needs to be aware that it comes with as many frustrations as rewards. Expand
  29. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    I bought this game because I wanted to try something different and move away from shooters for a while and move on to a RPG title and I'm slightly disappointed with what it delivers I get it that you can pick up things it a huge open world and theres dragons which fly about and a million characters to speak to but behind all of that is a very ugly game and plays like a drunk fat man itsI bought this game because I wanted to try something different and move away from shooters for a while and move on to a RPG title and I'm slightly disappointed with what it delivers I get it that you can pick up things it a huge open world and theres dragons which fly about and a million characters to speak to but behind all of that is a very ugly game and plays like a drunk fat man its very glitchy and very clunky. this game did not deserve game of the year it was all a bit over hyped and bethesda needs to rethink their strategy. But if you enjoy this game keep playing because it does appeal to players more than others. Expand
  30. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    What the **** are all these comments about? I find the game to be great, somewhat reminiscent of LOTR, and for my first game of the series, it is really developed greatly. Most people are complaining about the lag and glitches and bugs. I found that despite a few flaws, some funny, the game was very playable and fun. You basically get an entire country to do whatever you please with, andWhat the **** are all these comments about? I find the game to be great, somewhat reminiscent of LOTR, and for my first game of the series, it is really developed greatly. Most people are complaining about the lag and glitches and bugs. I found that despite a few flaws, some funny, the game was very playable and fun. You basically get an entire country to do whatever you please with, and whether you want to be good and knightly or have a bounty on your head, it's your choice. The inventory is easy to access and use, the spells fun both graphically and to use. Based on the skills menu added, it's like a Runescape meets LOTR in a world that is seen in games like Just Cause 2. The graphics were the best compared to other games i have played on my dinosaur of a TV, and Bethesda just made the world seem real by including all the little things I think most people don't appreciate. Overall, I would suggest buying this game if you are into expansive games. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]