User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2543 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    6
    Just like any other Elder Scrolls game, Skyrim is filled to the rim with content. The amount of content in this game is enough to keep you playing for weeks. And then there's the DLC (unfortunately PS3 owners don't get it until a month after Xbox owners do). However, there are alot of things Skyrim disappoints in. First and foremost is the game engine. Remember Bethesda harping on aboutJust like any other Elder Scrolls game, Skyrim is filled to the rim with content. The amount of content in this game is enough to keep you playing for weeks. And then there's the DLC (unfortunately PS3 owners don't get it until a month after Xbox owners do). However, there are alot of things Skyrim disappoints in. First and foremost is the game engine. Remember Bethesda harping on about this new "Creation Engine" when they'd preview the game? Well guess what? Turns out the "Creation Engine" is just the 10-year-old Gamebryo Engine but with better character models. Anyone who has played Fallout 3 or Fallout: New Vegas will know first-hand that the Gamebryo engine is notorious for bugs and glitches, that can range from annoying to game-breaking. Its also worthmentioning that there are also huge framerate issues at times. To say that Skyrim is still using this horrible, buggy mess of an engine is a disappointment is a huge, huge understatement.

    The graphics in Skyrim are also dated for 2011 standards, with most textures looking identical to those in Oblivion, which was 5 years ago.

    The overall gameplay is same to that in Oblivion. Its fun, but there are a few things I've noticed. Using a shield in the game is redundant. You will still lose health when you block. Seriously, if you're a warrior and you rely on a shield, what's the point of using it when it won't block damage? You basically get shoehorned into using Restoration spells instead. Another gripe I have with the game is that there were times where I wanted to do some side quests and take a break from the main story. Turns out that you'll get your ass kicked time and time again (my character is level 18), and you don't have much choice than to do the main questline first. However, the AI in the game is alot better, and the characters feel alot more authentic than in Oblivion. Walking into a town and seeing the blacksmith forge stuff or seeing villagers going about their daily business is awesome.

    In conclusion, Skyrim is a huge, engaging game and will tide you over for weeks on end with its content and lore, but for 2011 standards, the graphics and Gamebryo engine are really showing their age, and it's disappointing. Bethesda had around 3 years to make Skyrim (remember that they didn't make Fallout: New Vegas - that was Obsidian), and that would have been enough time to get a new engine up and running (Bungie took 3 years to build a whole new engine and make Halo Reach). It may be a good game overall, but it definitely isn't GotY material when you compare the improvement from Oblivion to Skyrim to the improvement other games have made like Battlefield 3 or Dark Souls from their previous titles.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Skyrim brings 'all flash no substance' to an entirely new level. Somehow people are impressed by having giant sub-par looking landscapes and tons of NPC's even if it substitutes an actually decent combat system, or basically any gameplay mechanic that's even remotely challenging or polished.

    If a game based around conflict doesn't have a good combat system, it has nothing. Plain and
    Skyrim brings 'all flash no substance' to an entirely new level. Somehow people are impressed by having giant sub-par looking landscapes and tons of NPC's even if it substitutes an actually decent combat system, or basically any gameplay mechanic that's even remotely challenging or polished.

    If a game based around conflict doesn't have a good combat system, it has nothing. Plain and simple. Bethesda opted for a big world instead of a well designed one, and that's what they got. I'd rather play several better smaller games then waste my time playing one bad big one.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    It's, simply put, the best western rpg of all time. The ability to give the player this amazing open-world without losing focus or fall short on content is done staggeringly well. The fundamental annoyances from Oblivion are gone here and there's really nothing that can't be fixed in time. Dialogue is excellent, graphics are improved, creatures come in variety of types and races, and mostIt's, simply put, the best western rpg of all time. The ability to give the player this amazing open-world without losing focus or fall short on content is done staggeringly well. The fundamental annoyances from Oblivion are gone here and there's really nothing that can't be fixed in time. Dialogue is excellent, graphics are improved, creatures come in variety of types and races, and most importantly, the combat/ leveling is now much more fun and deeper. Quests are now meaningful and most of the time embed well into the world. Dragon Age lacked the variety, Dark Souls lacked in content and just having fun, Witcher 2 was great, but the animations were stiff and story wasn't that epic. Skyrim is the new king of RPGs. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    Lets start with the bad. the lag kicks in around 40 hours in, gets worse from there, but it is not to the point to where it breaks the game, i'm in around 80 hours, beat the main story (kinda short by the way), done at least 50 side quests, And explored most of skyrim. The lag seems to spike at a point or two between every 2-4 hours or when you enter a city. When there are many thingsLets start with the bad. the lag kicks in around 40 hours in, gets worse from there, but it is not to the point to where it breaks the game, i'm in around 80 hours, beat the main story (kinda short by the way), done at least 50 side quests, And explored most of skyrim. The lag seems to spike at a point or two between every 2-4 hours or when you enter a city. When there are many things popping up around the same time, the lag might, but usually will, kick in. When you are attacked by a dragon the game may lag again. sometimes when i entered a cave or a dungeon the game would lag. The lag spikes can last from a few seconds to three mins. Its very annoying, but if you can get past that, then you can deal with the game bugs which hopefully will be patched in time. sometimes I found myself falling though the ground and dying, sometimes the dragons fly backwards (Freaking hilarious), and many more problems. IF you can get past ALL of that then you have I really fun game with Lots of stuff to do. Basically though, It's just Oblivion with a Graphics upgrade, More stuff to do, Dragons, and Marriage. And that is good if you liked Oblivion, Which I did, And they really do need to Patch this though. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    Great Game!!! Even have the wife playing her own character. That says a lot. Some bugs but overall great. I think they could of made a few changes that would make the game better like a mini map on screen but all is good.
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    The game is awesome. But it is also buggy on the PS3. After two-three hours playing it starts to lag badly, moxstly on cities. Closing and opening the game again fixes this, but this is poor QA on the part of Bethesda. The patch improved it, without fixing it (now the lag takes a little more time to kick in) but break other things (dragons that doesn't attack, useless resistanteces, etc).
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I bought this game on a whim, simply because I haven't had a game to play for ages and the simple conclusion is: This game is incredible! I'm not one to follow the main quest line in the elder scrolls games, so the first thing I usually do is head straight into the wild to see what the world throws at me. The world threw dragons, amazing dungeons, horses and epic quest lines at me. ThisI bought this game on a whim, simply because I haven't had a game to play for ages and the simple conclusion is: This game is incredible! I'm not one to follow the main quest line in the elder scrolls games, so the first thing I usually do is head straight into the wild to see what the world throws at me. The world threw dragons, amazing dungeons, horses and epic quest lines at me. This game is a must have! I recommend you get it to PC as you will have the possibility to play using mods created by the vast community. Some glitches holds it from getting a perfect score. Expand
  8. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Still 0 lag after 60+hrs of play and a save file of 8MB+. Maybe all this QQ comes from outdated fail. This game is insane, the best game to date. A must buy.
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Every inch is so rich and just simply amazing looking. I don't see how a game could get much better than this on current hardware. This is my favorite game of of this generation, and probably of all time for that matter. Characters, animation, effects, environments are all top notch. I have seen some odd ai behavior here and there, but that is to be expected in a gameThis game is awesome. Every inch is so rich and just simply amazing looking. I don't see how a game could get much better than this on current hardware. This is my favorite game of of this generation, and probably of all time for that matter. Characters, animation, effects, environments are all top notch. I have seen some odd ai behavior here and there, but that is to be expected in a game where you can do almost anything! It is so huge, I will be playing for many months to come. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    In good ...

    This game has a very serious problem ... It is impossible to stop playing! I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress! It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing. Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place
    In good ...

    This game has a very serious problem ...
    It is impossible to stop playing!

    I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress!

    It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing.

    Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place visited.

    For Odin ... I'm speechless ...
    Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    In good ... This game has a very serious problem ... It is impossible to stop playing! I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress! It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing. Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place visited.In good ... This game has a very serious problem ... It is impossible to stop playing! I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress! It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing. Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place visited. For Odin ... I'm speechless ... Expand
  12. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    I am about 75 hours in with a 12 MB save file. I've had frame rate issues, crashing, PS3 freezes to the point you have to unplug. Things have gotten much better since I turned off ALL the auto save functions. I would advise doing the same if you want to continue. Still experience frame rate issues from time to time but not nearly as bad as it was when I was finishing the main quest, whichI am about 75 hours in with a 12 MB save file. I've had frame rate issues, crashing, PS3 freezes to the point you have to unplug. Things have gotten much better since I turned off ALL the auto save functions. I would advise doing the same if you want to continue. Still experience frame rate issues from time to time but not nearly as bad as it was when I was finishing the main quest, which ironically was a little too short considering how much content there is in the overall game. Unfortunately I'm addicted to this game and wish a final solution would come out from Bethesda. Actually thought about buying the game on Xbox and starting over , but I don't want to reward a company that just stuck it to me with this great yet frustrating game. They should not have shipped the game knowing it was this buggy on PS3, or delayed the PS3 rollout. For you PS3 folks turn off the auto-save. I have not crashed since doing this, just experience minor frame rate issues after fast traveling a long distance. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is at the epitome of amazing RPG's. Games like Dark Souls and Mass Effect are close to the elder scrolls series but never succeed it. The graphics are tight, the gameplay (albeit still a bit floaty) has been improved vastly, the story not a great as morrowinds but has been improved from oblivions. And the general feeling of being able to have total freedom to do whatever youThis game is at the epitome of amazing RPG's. Games like Dark Souls and Mass Effect are close to the elder scrolls series but never succeed it. The graphics are tight, the gameplay (albeit still a bit floaty) has been improved vastly, the story not a great as morrowinds but has been improved from oblivions. And the general feeling of being able to have total freedom to do whatever you desire makes this a must have game. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Il est enfin la, le rpg ultime de betesda sur cette génération, j'adore, techniquement bon même si la version pc est bien meilleur, l'histoire du titre est classique mais reste interessante, comme d'habitude avec les elder scrolls, un grand jeu
  15. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    this game is made for people with no friends, its a PC **** game that has invaded the consoles. people say with pride I've been play for 800 hours I'm on my 9billionth guest. get a life. the game is broken i needs a patch, why release a unfinished game.
  16. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This is the most awesome game in the world!
    It doesnot matter for what plataform you buy it, you will get the most amazing experencie in video games of all the time.
    And for all those people who complain about the PS3 bugs and glitches, just turn autosave off. It really worked for me!
  17. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging andGame plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging and there are a lot of side quests to do. Just like the previous entries in the series, Skyrim is more than a game, it is an immersive experience. It is impressive and the best game of its ilk since Oblivion. Expand
  18. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It's not often Games like this come along. But Skyrim's Amazing Gameplay Combines all the good elements of The nostalgic Morrowind and Popular Oblivion to make the perfect storm of RPG brilliance. The Main Quest Storyline is Clever, Original, and Fits Together Perfectly. I haven't finished many of the other quests yet, but I have been all over the Northern Providence. The Sky Is StunninglyIt's not often Games like this come along. But Skyrim's Amazing Gameplay Combines all the good elements of The nostalgic Morrowind and Popular Oblivion to make the perfect storm of RPG brilliance. The Main Quest Storyline is Clever, Original, and Fits Together Perfectly. I haven't finished many of the other quests yet, but I have been all over the Northern Providence. The Sky Is Stunningly beautiful for a Video Game and All the Cities and Dungeons are unique and you can very easily tell them apart. I have tried both the PC version and Xbox 360 Version and if this were a review for the xbox 360 version, the score would be somewhere around 6. The Graphics for Skyrim are amazing. If your computer can run it at it's highest, It is an amazing experience. Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    TES Skyrim is nothing short of breath taking. From the initial battle in Helgen, to the open world you delve into just a few hours into the game. The map is MASSIVE, with a nearly unlimited amount of things to do. This is truly a sandbox style game with no linear game play element.

    Dragon encounters are incredibly fun, yet challenging and the amount of different NPCs provides enough
    TES Skyrim is nothing short of breath taking. From the initial battle in Helgen, to the open world you delve into just a few hours into the game. The map is MASSIVE, with a nearly unlimited amount of things to do. This is truly a sandbox style game with no linear game play element.

    Dragon encounters are incredibly fun, yet challenging and the amount of different NPCs provides enough variety to keep things fresh.

    Being a huge RPG fan, with Dragon Age Origins being one of my favorite games, Skyrim is quickly breaking that favoritism and becoming my new favorite game. I can absolutely see myself dumping 150+ hours into this game without batting an eye.

    I HIGHLY recommend this game if you are into RPGs with fantastic history and story lines.
    Expand
  20. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Game is broken. Do not buy this until or if they fix the issues plaguing the ps3 version of this game.

    I have completely lost trust in Bethesda for pushing this game out the door with this many flaws. Unplayable lag and stutter. Playstation crashes. Very upset with Bethesda.
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    First off. The setting. It evokes classic Tolkien literature... and also Star Wars. I will get to that in a minute. Beautiful, with just a hint of mourning, of... shattered glass as it were, reflecting the blood of fallen men, men who sacrificed much for very little. It seeps into you, but alas, this world is... provocative, in an almost childish, demeaning way. I brought up Star Wars. TheFirst off. The setting. It evokes classic Tolkien literature... and also Star Wars. I will get to that in a minute. Beautiful, with just a hint of mourning, of... shattered glass as it were, reflecting the blood of fallen men, men who sacrificed much for very little. It seeps into you, but alas, this world is... provocative, in an almost childish, demeaning way. I brought up Star Wars. The reason is thus- the game is... spacey, for lack of a better word. As the combat take place in zero-g, you are reminded of weightlessness... the kind Luke Skywalker must have felt when he became Darth Vader. The swords also glow, reminiscent of the glowing beams of the revered franchise. This lack of originality is simply stunning. On to combat. As my (many) fencing lessons have taught me, sword-fighting is an art, an art that this game fails to adequately replicate. It lacks... the feel, the- dare I say- sensual nature of clanging metal and dented armor. There is no "Riposte", no "Taliae", no "Pos Wershe" as it were. Instead we are left without the proper... tools, as it were to properly execute a more daring style of fighting. Graphics now. Chop, chop. They are pretty, but only insofar as a beautiful, but aged woman is while gazing into her rippling reflection on a cloudy summer evening. Much like this game, she pauses to reflect, as the game pauses with lag. Her movements are stilted, like the movements of NPCs in the game. She also takes up a lot of space... All in all, I dare say... this game is like a martini, without the olive, or the umbrella... a travesty, as it were. A beautiful travesty. Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I gave it a 7 mostly based on the PC version. Save your money and avoid the console port over crap and get it for the platform it was meant for, which is the PC. I'm not even sure why people get games like this for a console, worse graphics, dumbed down control's, no chance of modding and a HIGHER overall price.
  23. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is just breathe taking. Everything is done to such a epic scale that you just sit there watching going" Oh my gosh did that really happen? That was so epic!". This game pulls you into its world and you forget that it's a game. There is so much to do that you will forget about the main story. It is a must buy game.
  24. Dec 5, 2011
    5
    I love this game, I really do. You should always expect bugs with a game this size. However, the bugs here are absolutely game-breaking. Lag so bad, if your save reaches over 10mb, you probably won't be able to fight anything. Quest bugs that make finishing the game impossible. The game's big hype, dragons, will fly backwards and won't fight you. It could be GOTY, if they just took time toI love this game, I really do. You should always expect bugs with a game this size. However, the bugs here are absolutely game-breaking. Lag so bad, if your save reaches over 10mb, you probably won't be able to fight anything. Quest bugs that make finishing the game impossible. The game's big hype, dragons, will fly backwards and won't fight you. It could be GOTY, if they just took time to iron out the game breaking bugs before release. Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    bugs here and there, but overall a great package that will last a very long time. i was a big fan of fallout 3, and this is very similar but with dragons!
  26. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This is quite possibly one of the best video games I have ever played. So much to see and do, explore and experience. I have put in almost an entire week worth of playing and still haven't done it all, it is amazing and should be played. The is nothing more awesome then charging down a field with an axe in hand chasing after a dragon while yelling at the top of your lungs. The music asThis is quite possibly one of the best video games I have ever played. So much to see and do, explore and experience. I have put in almost an entire week worth of playing and still haven't done it all, it is amazing and should be played. The is nothing more awesome then charging down a field with an axe in hand chasing after a dragon while yelling at the top of your lungs. The music as always for a Bethesda game, is incredible. The combat, is fun, (Fireball is a particularly fun spell to see your enemies get blown back when they are defeated) and engaging. The game is everything I would hope it to be and in some ways, more. However, the bugs, particularly on PS3 are annoying. Most of the time they are small and silly, like the pile of twitching dragon corpses in the College of Winterhold that I've seemed to acquire that pending on when you load the area are in different locations or in the walls. But others, like the frame rate drop can make the game unplayable for a period (when it gets really bad I restart the game which fixes the problem for a time, but still, it shouldn't happen.) So, hopefully the forthcoming patches will fix the issues, but until then I can only give the game a 9 out of 10 rather then the 10 out of 10 I want to give. Expand
  27. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    In my first 100 hours of this game I have joined a cult of cannibals, killed over 10 dragons, plundered countless dungeons, assassinated several political officials, became a werewolf, and became the head of a band of thieves.â
  28. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    I purchased this game because i was looking forward to a good story with some solid fun gameplay. The whole dragon theme really drew me in. After spending about 10 hours with the game i must admit that i sold the game. I like the idea behind skyrim, the game however is just not fun to play. The graphics are below standard. The animations are stiff and jerky. The battles are stiff andI purchased this game because i was looking forward to a good story with some solid fun gameplay. The whole dragon theme really drew me in. After spending about 10 hours with the game i must admit that i sold the game. I like the idea behind skyrim, the game however is just not fun to play. The graphics are below standard. The animations are stiff and jerky. The battles are stiff and clumsy. I don't care that i have all this freedom to roam and side missions. The gameplay is simply too rigid and frustrating to enjoy. I played the mass effect games and finished both. This game might appeal to alot of gamers because of the freedom it gives gamers but if you want videogames to be fun to play while offering you freedom look elsewhere. Expand
  29. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    SKYRIM...HOLY S**T

    Pros: -THIS GAME IS HUGE! Out of the all the games I played this year even some that I consider better than this, Skyrim is the only game I am playing that even after finishing important task there is still more to do. My Quest log is flooded with Side Quests and I just bought the game two days before this review. Not to mention there is DLC planned. Say goodbye to real
    SKYRIM...HOLY S**T

    Pros:
    -THIS GAME IS HUGE! Out of the all the games I played this year even some that I consider better than this, Skyrim is the only game I am playing that even after finishing important task there is still more to do. My Quest log is flooded with Side Quests and I just bought the game two days before this review. Not to mention there is DLC planned. Say goodbye to real life.
    -Presentation is outstanding. Soundtrack is amazing and makes me pumped up. Graphics are gorgeous especially when played on a suped up PC.
    -Combat is fun and dynamic. I don't exactly know how much combat has changed but overall, fighting in the game is a blast.
    -The ability to do whatever you want. Spoiler-Free Example: I was told to kill someone, but when I approached him he had backup, and I was weak. Then he convinced me to help him which meant trapping and arresting the person that told me to kill him. It was at this moment that I felt that I made the wrong decision, I could no longer do the good deed that I wanted. However, when the trap was initiated, he was all alone, and it was at this moment I realized that I can kill this guy. Problem solved...This game kicks ass.

    Cons:
    -This game is too big...I not negating points but the game's massive scale does become overwhelming after a while especially when traveling in the game takes a great amount of time.
    -NPCs are lifeless. Compare the NPCs in this game to the NPCs in Mass Effect 2. In ME2, NPCs were presented through cutscenes and had human like movements making you immersed in the actual game and it's world even if the conversations were from third-person perspective. In Skyrim, when you commit a crime, guards approach you in their battle stance while you stand still in your tracks. Come on Bethesda, haven't we come to that point in gaming were we actually want to care about what we are fighting for. Even in the first Dragon Age, your character was silent and yet I felt more engrossed in the game.
    -The User Interface is hard to use and has steep learning curve. The ability to preview your character is no longer available for some odd reason. -Bethesda's Bug infamous launch bug problem, however, these can be fixed.
    -While the game has some beautiful graphics, a lot of character models are unattractive and could've use a bit more clean-up. -Some of the voice acting, while excellent, is weird in the sense that character are trying to do accents and are failing.
    -While improved from it's predecessors and advances the series forward, the game doesn't contain anything that could influence the way we play games unlike other games that I have played this year.

    Overall, if you are a gamer then go purchase Skyrim, no questions asked. I myself am not a fan of most RPGs and yet this game is addicting. If you are a casual gamer, then forgive me because I can't recommend this game to you even if you want to try. GOTY? To you maybe, for me no. Game that will ruin my life? Yes.
    Expand
  30. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. I sit and play it for hours but it only feels like a few minutes. All of the side quests make you feel like you are doing something important and that you really can influence this world. If you are not playing this game you are missing out.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]