User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2538 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a 0 because Bethesda released a broken game on the Sony platform and appears to have gave little effort in optimizing their "NEW" engine on the PS3. Seems to me that it's the same old engine with no optimizations for the PS3's architecture and they released a broken game with issues that are so blatantly obvious that you have to wonder how these issues got past testing.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Fantastic fun game that does a great job immersing you into its world. It feels like it looks and I love the setting, coldy windy, norse mythology mixed with the deep story and background of Elder Scrolls.

    It rings familiar of Oblivion but the characters feel like real humans and while still not exactly pretty don't rip you our of the experience any longer. The simplified skilling system
    Fantastic fun game that does a great job immersing you into its world. It feels like it looks and I love the setting, coldy windy, norse mythology mixed with the deep story and background of Elder Scrolls.

    It rings familiar of Oblivion but the characters feel like real humans and while still not exactly pretty don't rip you our of the experience any longer. The simplified skilling system is perfect for me because i dont want to get my calculator out and permanently worry about messing up my "build". I can understand if you liked that part of the previous games you might be dissapointed by that. For me it balances out to a great value and I look forward to a long winter in Skyrim
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim graphic is a bit poor compared to other games in that area and let fall a few stitches. But we were there within hours and used to have for the rest of the game as a heavy drawback experienced, though for himself how important the graphics are.

    The graphics however, we have all had significant criticism. "Sure: For Elder Scrolls fans of the first hour, which did not even Oblivion,
    Skyrim graphic is a bit poor compared to other games in that area and let fall a few stitches. But we were there within hours and used to have for the rest of the game as a heavy drawback experienced, though for himself how important the graphics are.

    The graphics however, we have all had significant criticism. "Sure: For Elder Scrolls fans of the first hour, which did not even Oblivion, Skyrim will in many respects, not deep enough. Who Skyrim game itself looks like, however, no other conclusion than that this is a great rpg. The atmosphere of the game completely sucks you in and the story lines, with all the variety in it, strengthen it simply.

    Rarely have we seen a game world that is so profound as elaborated Skyrim. The written specifically for this game dragon language to how villagers respond to you, watch the game with details and use them. Skyrim is everything an RPG should be for us, and more extensive than we can ever show in a review. The game is true on all sides and balance combined with ditto quests and a few impressive moments that in itself is worth to play this game. Whoever feels a little bit of fantasy should not miss this game.

    Pros

    + Some views are superb
    + Open world, total freedom
    + Impressive moments, especially in the main quest
    + Many opportunities, many quests
    + Original quest lines
    + Better than Oblivion level system
    + Dragons, including their language
    + Shouts provide a powerful feeling

    Cons

    - Graphic moderate, especially animation and facial expressions of characters
    - Some minor bugs, as well by patch release to be solved
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Awesome game...I loved Oblivion, but that can't be compared to Skyrim. Prepare for a huge game, hundreds of quests and quite nice graphics for an open-rpg. However, what makes this game really outstanding and one of the best RPG's ever produced is the atmosphere. The soundtrack is legendary. Enough said, now buy and play ;)
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Despite the universal acclaim coming from all the usual gaming websites, this game is not as amazing as they would have you believe. We shouldn't be surprised really considering these sites get their revenue from advertising the very games they are reviewing (what a surprise, the game in the ad banner next to this review is getting a 9.5/10!!!). This game is broken. Glitches, like beingDespite the universal acclaim coming from all the usual gaming websites, this game is not as amazing as they would have you believe. We shouldn't be surprised really considering these sites get their revenue from advertising the very games they are reviewing (what a surprise, the game in the ad banner next to this review is getting a 9.5/10!!!). This game is broken. Glitches, like being hit and flying through the air and into some weird black boxy computer-land is, I presume, not part of the elder-scrolls story. Others, like NPCs having what look to be epileptic fits while they talk to a wall (instead of you), are completely ridiculous and show a lack of polish. It is sad to think that game-makers like Bethusda spend so much money on advertising when they could have instead channelled the funds into having programmers put together a game which doesn't look half-finished. If you have to buy this, then get it on PC where hopefully it will be fixed up with mods and/or patches. In the meantime, avoid.â Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Every inch is so rich and just simply amazing looking. I don't see how a game could get much better than this on current hardware. This is my favorite game of of this generation, and probably of all time for that matter. Characters, animation, effects, environments are all top notch. I have seen some odd ai behavior here and there, but that is to be expected in a gameThis game is awesome. Every inch is so rich and just simply amazing looking. I don't see how a game could get much better than this on current hardware. This is my favorite game of of this generation, and probably of all time for that matter. Characters, animation, effects, environments are all top notch. I have seen some odd ai behavior here and there, but that is to be expected in a game where you can do almost anything! It is so huge, I will be playing for many months to come. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    In good ...

    This game has a very serious problem ... It is impossible to stop playing! I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress! It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing. Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place
    In good ...

    This game has a very serious problem ...
    It is impossible to stop playing!

    I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress!

    It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing.

    Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place visited.

    For Odin ... I'm speechless ...
    Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    unbelievably massive game! outstanding graphics, amazing gameplay and the storyline is captivating, would definately recommend getting this game, top priority!!
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the kind of game that really stands. The attention to detail is mind blowing. People will be playing this for days and months. On the PC load times are nearly nonexistent, I have yet to havethe chance to really read or admire the load screens, which is both a good and bad thing as they are interactive and have lore bits. The graphics on ultra running at 1920x1080 are flooring.Skyrim is the kind of game that really stands. The attention to detail is mind blowing. People will be playing this for days and months. On the PC load times are nearly nonexistent, I have yet to havethe chance to really read or admire the load screens, which is both a good and bad thing as they are interactive and have lore bits. The graphics on ultra running at 1920x1080 are flooring. This is truly a HUGE jump over Oblivion in regard to visual fidelity. Melee combat is also vastly improved and solid feeling, magic has a definite weight to it in SkyrimFinally the amount of content... Like I said days, weeks of gameplay and huge replayability. If I had to choose one game to have the rest of my life and only one, it would be The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Expand
  10. hav
    Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I loved Morrowind and oblivion. This is no different. Absolutely sunning visuals and game play.

    This draws from Morrowind's more graphic style and leans away from the quiet quaintness of Oblivion. It's a very very fun and detailed game.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    In good ... This game has a very serious problem ... It is impossible to stop playing! I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress! It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing. Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place visited.In good ... This game has a very serious problem ... It is impossible to stop playing! I'm at level 22 and level 100 in conjuration and the more it evolves into something, the more you see that still has much in progress! It is a work of art, where the vaunted Nordic is from the soundtrack to the buildings and clothing. Who loves the Norse mythology, will delight every new place visited. For Odin ... I'm speechless ... Expand
  12. Hyu
    Nov 11, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest game this decade. This game feels great, looks great and has a fantastic open world atmosphere. I hope it will win GOTY this year. It's sad to see all these MW3 fanboys giving it 0.
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Rofl at anyone saying negative things about this game, it's a masterpiece. Big improvement from Oblivion, go and buy this game. Not saying that people don't have opinions, but when I see "graphics are bad" it makes me a little disappointed. Forget that nonsense, the graphics are unreal for this type of game, don't believe what all those negative reviews say.
  14. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Only been playing a few hours and am completely hooked. Have never been a fan of the Fallout series or previous Elder Scrolls games but bought Skyrim hoping that this one would live up to the hype. It has. The amount of stuff there is to do on this game seems limitless. Great open world, solid gameplay (although using magic feels a lot more fluid than using weapons), and so much freedom ofOnly been playing a few hours and am completely hooked. Have never been a fan of the Fallout series or previous Elder Scrolls games but bought Skyrim hoping that this one would live up to the hype. It has. The amount of stuff there is to do on this game seems limitless. Great open world, solid gameplay (although using magic feels a lot more fluid than using weapons), and so much freedom of choice. I foresee myself spending hours and hours on Skyrim. Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    I am about 75 hours in with a 12 MB save file. I've had frame rate issues, crashing, PS3 freezes to the point you have to unplug. Things have gotten much better since I turned off ALL the auto save functions. I would advise doing the same if you want to continue. Still experience frame rate issues from time to time but not nearly as bad as it was when I was finishing the main quest, whichI am about 75 hours in with a 12 MB save file. I've had frame rate issues, crashing, PS3 freezes to the point you have to unplug. Things have gotten much better since I turned off ALL the auto save functions. I would advise doing the same if you want to continue. Still experience frame rate issues from time to time but not nearly as bad as it was when I was finishing the main quest, which ironically was a little too short considering how much content there is in the overall game. Unfortunately I'm addicted to this game and wish a final solution would come out from Bethesda. Actually thought about buying the game on Xbox and starting over , but I don't want to reward a company that just stuck it to me with this great yet frustrating game. They should not have shipped the game knowing it was this buggy on PS3, or delayed the PS3 rollout. For you PS3 folks turn off the auto-save. I have not crashed since doing this, just experience minor frame rate issues after fast traveling a long distance. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Such a beautifully executed game. The world sis immense, the people are fun to play, talk and mess with. Caves are challenging and rewarding. The new lock pick system is very nice. Creating your character is a lot more in depth and satisfying. the snow covered mountains and great views are outstanding. It could be the next LOZ:OOt.
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    this is the best game ever! this game is the phenom! it is "MUST BUY"!! i think battlefield 3 vs the elder scrolls v syrim wins SKYRIM !!
    the graphics i think it's not very good for this game!
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Paradna game free world happy as I am when I started this game ocakaval vyborne play was zazitok, completly fajna graphics happy environment paci me and strasne me surprised that it received from metacritic, 95, and from hracov 9,3 vynikajuce evaluation.Also congratulations to vyrobcom.
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is at the epitome of amazing RPG's. Games like Dark Souls and Mass Effect are close to the elder scrolls series but never succeed it. The graphics are tight, the gameplay (albeit still a bit floaty) has been improved vastly, the story not a great as morrowinds but has been improved from oblivions. And the general feeling of being able to have total freedom to do whatever youThis game is at the epitome of amazing RPG's. Games like Dark Souls and Mass Effect are close to the elder scrolls series but never succeed it. The graphics are tight, the gameplay (albeit still a bit floaty) has been improved vastly, the story not a great as morrowinds but has been improved from oblivions. And the general feeling of being able to have total freedom to do whatever you desire makes this a must have game. Expand
  20. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Amazing in short- the game is superb with freedom of choice, length of story etc etc... Bethesda seems to have nailed it. Everything is so refined from looking at a bottle of wine to climbing a mountain and every little step in between. Stop reading and buy it already...
  21. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Il est enfin la, le rpg ultime de betesda sur cette génération, j'adore, techniquement bon même si la version pc est bien meilleur, l'histoire du titre est classique mais reste interessante, comme d'habitude avec les elder scrolls, un grand jeu
  22. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is just amazing! I really enjoyed Oblivion loved it even. There is plenty to explore, many side missions that are available just by visiting cities. Some people have given this a bad score don't listen to them they have no idea what they are thinking. This is my favourite RPG game to date nothing in my mind can compere to it! The horses and water effects and how it works areThis game is just amazing! I really enjoyed Oblivion loved it even. There is plenty to explore, many side missions that are available just by visiting cities. Some people have given this a bad score don't listen to them they have no idea what they are thinking. This is my favourite RPG game to date nothing in my mind can compere to it! The horses and water effects and how it works are better than before. It is the same for the menus and how you level up and become better. If you get this game you will not be disappointed. Expand
  23. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    I played the game and thought to myself it was amazing until it got repetitive, the quests are pretty much the same and once you pass the story there is really nothing to do, you barley see a dragon and once you get 20 dragon souls that's it, it is very easy to level up and that's without all the glitches that help you level up, absolute garbage,this is not worth the $60,this game getsI played the game and thought to myself it was amazing until it got repetitive, the quests are pretty much the same and once you pass the story there is really nothing to do, you barley see a dragon and once you get 20 dragon souls that's it, it is very easy to level up and that's without all the glitches that help you level up, absolute garbage,this is not worth the $60,this game gets boring after an hour,same old same old,it also gets broken along the way, do NOT get it.. Expand
  24. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Its the Mother of all RPG's. I am in 60+ Hours and I am still amazed at what they did. This is a world on its own. The detail, the story arc, the gameplay, the adventure is just mind blowing. It does have an occasional bug here and there but nothing that will stop the adventure. Thank you Bethesda for setting the bar as high as this. I wanted to give it a 9.5 but since there was no optionIts the Mother of all RPG's. I am in 60+ Hours and I am still amazed at what they did. This is a world on its own. The detail, the story arc, the gameplay, the adventure is just mind blowing. It does have an occasional bug here and there but nothing that will stop the adventure. Thank you Bethesda for setting the bar as high as this. I wanted to give it a 9.5 but since there was no option I will say 10 compared to anything that is on the market. Do not deprive yourself from an epic adventure with a replay value of over 300+ hours. The soundtrack still makes me shiver and is stuck in my head. Expand
  25. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    so skyrim 1 word flawless. i used to think mass effect 2 was the best game ever until now skyrim is the BEST game ever made the story is amazing the combat is flawless fighting dragons is challenging yet still fun. this game will never end. my pick for game of the year and the best game ever made until mass effect 3 comes out.
  26. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    this game is made for people with no friends, its a PC **** game that has invaded the consoles. people say with pride I've been play for 800 hours I'm on my 9billionth guest. get a life. the game is broken i needs a patch, why release a unfinished game.
  27. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The first hour is a bit disapointing. That said, Skyrim offers a better experience in every ways than Oblivion or Fallout. I love being lost in this tremendous world. A game where we dont count hours...
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Totally amazing!! the most important game of the year. WE ARE FREE to do all we want to is this virtual world, you dont like the history missions? go and kill everybody, hunt, marry someone, investigate, read books... grat graphics for this game (we cant wait por u3 graphics) absolutly amazing music, and a great world. maybe it's not a game for everyone, but if you come to skyrim, feelTotally amazing!! the most important game of the year. WE ARE FREE to do all we want to is this virtual world, you dont like the history missions? go and kill everybody, hunt, marry someone, investigate, read books... grat graphics for this game (we cant wait por u3 graphics) absolutly amazing music, and a great world. maybe it's not a game for everyone, but if you come to skyrim, feel it's power, you'll see that this game is pure love.(sorry for my english) Expand
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Look. Doubtless you could spend a fair while nitpicking at all the negatives in the game, and admittedly, like ALL games there are a few. But it does not override the fact that this is a simply OUTSTANDING game that is easily up there with the biggest contenders this year, dare I say it even surpasses them by many miles. While some may see a broken, glitchy repeat, I see a game thatLook. Doubtless you could spend a fair while nitpicking at all the negatives in the game, and admittedly, like ALL games there are a few. But it does not override the fact that this is a simply OUTSTANDING game that is easily up there with the biggest contenders this year, dare I say it even surpasses them by many miles. While some may see a broken, glitchy repeat, I see a game that thrusts a truly mesmerising world into your fingertips and shouts, "Go forth, Explore this land we hath created for you!". Say goodbye to fast-travel, because the soundtrack and the sheer beauty of it will make you want to walk everywhere. Expand
  30. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This is the most awesome game in the world!
    It doesnot matter for what plataform you buy it, you will get the most amazing experencie in video games of all the time.
    And for all those people who complain about the PS3 bugs and glitches, just turn autosave off. It really worked for me!
  31. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Just perfect game.
    Good story, improved game play, very good facial animation and outstanding graphics.
    It is a way better game than oblivion!
    GOTY!!!
  32. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    As a new follower to the Elder Scrolls world - only played Oblivion, I can say, without a doubt, this is one of the better games I've EVER played. Period. The depth of the quests, the soothing sounds of the soundtrack, and the absolutely beautiful world created in Skyrim will resonate with me for a long time to come. I have sunk 30 hours in and I haven't even begun to scratch the surfaceAs a new follower to the Elder Scrolls world - only played Oblivion, I can say, without a doubt, this is one of the better games I've EVER played. Period. The depth of the quests, the soothing sounds of the soundtrack, and the absolutely beautiful world created in Skyrim will resonate with me for a long time to come. I have sunk 30 hours in and I haven't even begun to scratch the surface of how far the proverbial rabbit-hole goes. They took what was awesome from Oblivion, coupled it with the positive characteristics attached to the new Fallout series, and made one hell of a good game. True, they are some bugs, but nothing that detracts you from the games playability in the least. I even find some hilarious - like woolly mammoths that fly. So I never gave them two thoughts.

    I can't put this game down. If you love the Elder Scrolls series, the Fallout series, or any game in general, get this, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don´t have fill to beat Lord of rings war in north, is so weak,but deserve be bought for many fans and pepole that don´t know the serie,in the right way, i think that i´ll try to finish the game,that appear be so big. Expand
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    The atmosphere of the game and the open worldedness is everything you'd expect when getting a Elder Scrolls game. However for PC players, like myself, its a dissappointing console port. Bethesda didn't even optimize the menus for keyboard and mouse. I was hoping for more of a morrowind feel and got worse the oblivion feel. Even the graphics were really poor in my opinion obviously madeThe atmosphere of the game and the open worldedness is everything you'd expect when getting a Elder Scrolls game. However for PC players, like myself, its a dissappointing console port. Bethesda didn't even optimize the menus for keyboard and mouse. I was hoping for more of a morrowind feel and got worse the oblivion feel. Even the graphics were really poor in my opinion obviously made for 3 year old hardware like in consoles. Its not horrible as far a games go however PC gamers will proberbly have to wait for mods to fix a game mad without thought to the PC Expand
  35. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    Revised: Really buggy. There are a bunch of missions I can't finish because of bugs. These missions wont prompt you to do anything further and allow you to move on. These are minor side-missions however so the bulk of the game is still awesome. Although, the bogging down/fame rate issue on PS3 is really frustrating. My advice would be to buy this game on Xbox if you have the option.Revised: Really buggy. There are a bunch of missions I can't finish because of bugs. These missions wont prompt you to do anything further and allow you to move on. These are minor side-missions however so the bulk of the game is still awesome. Although, the bogging down/fame rate issue on PS3 is really frustrating. My advice would be to buy this game on Xbox if you have the option. My score went from a 9 to a 7 because of some of the mission crippling bugs. Expand
  36. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Sure to take out GOTY 2011, Skyrim is everything that I wanted to follow in this series after clocking up hundreds of hours wandering Vvardenfell and Cyrodiil respectively. Other than a few minor bugs and issues (that have not seriously affected the gameplay) this game is arguably the best RPG to come out of the gaming industry since its 2002 predecessor Morrowind. With none of the copy &Sure to take out GOTY 2011, Skyrim is everything that I wanted to follow in this series after clocking up hundreds of hours wandering Vvardenfell and Cyrodiil respectively. Other than a few minor bugs and issues (that have not seriously affected the gameplay) this game is arguably the best RPG to come out of the gaming industry since its 2002 predecessor Morrowind. With none of the copy & paste repetitiveness that is Oblivion, Bethesda has moved to better things with every character looking and sounding different (come on, in Oblivion I got déjà vu from the races looking and sounding exactly the same). With rich textures and images, that have literally stopped me from continuing my journey just to look at the wonderful details, I actually get the feeling that I am stalking a camp of bandits or fighting a monstrous, deadly dragon just because of the mechanics of the game. For those of you with doubts on whether or not to buy this game, seriously if you are anything like me you will spend the better part of a day playing it, only to sleep and dream about it until you are able to pick up on where you left off. Expand
  37. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging andGame plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging and there are a lot of side quests to do. Just like the previous entries in the series, Skyrim is more than a game, it is an immersive experience. It is impressive and the best game of its ilk since Oblivion. Expand
  38. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    As a fan of Morrowind and Oblivion I am happy with the direction Bethesada has taken the Elder Scrolls series. No problems with graphics or load times on my PS3. I really like what they've done with the advancement system, I feel like I can actually just play the game instead of worrying about which skill I'm advancing to get the optimal stat increase. I liked what Bethesada did withAs a fan of Morrowind and Oblivion I am happy with the direction Bethesada has taken the Elder Scrolls series. No problems with graphics or load times on my PS3. I really like what they've done with the advancement system, I feel like I can actually just play the game instead of worrying about which skill I'm advancing to get the optimal stat increase. I liked what Bethesada did with Fallout 3 and I have no problem with them borrowing some aspects from that game for Skyrim. The dual-wielding takes a little bit to get used to, but once you've got it down you can unleash some massive damage. Skyrim will provide several years of entertaining escapism. Expand
  39. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    A vast improvement from the last Elder Scrolls. With new graphics, better leveling system, better looking character models, and don't forget dragons. The combat system is even better and you can fight how you want to fight. Like duel-wielded swords, blunts, spells, and even shields. Third person view is actually better then previous games like oblivion or fallout but you will probablyA vast improvement from the last Elder Scrolls. With new graphics, better leveling system, better looking character models, and don't forget dragons. The combat system is even better and you can fight how you want to fight. Like duel-wielded swords, blunts, spells, and even shields. Third person view is actually better then previous games like oblivion or fallout but you will probably prefer 1st person. Since its a RPG. Its bound to have bugs and no surprise there are. But won't make the game frustrating. Also fighting dragons often will get boring or sometimes annoying. BUT GET THIS GAME Expand
  40. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I was lost for words while playing this game. It was a truly brilliant successor to Oblivion and more. The feel of immersion in the gameplay was so deep, I wouldn't be surprised if this game would claim people's lives. In my opinion, this has got to be one of the greatest RPGs of all time - Bethesda are video game geniuses. My only criticism is minor and should really be ignored asI was lost for words while playing this game. It was a truly brilliant successor to Oblivion and more. The feel of immersion in the gameplay was so deep, I wouldn't be surprised if this game would claim people's lives. In my opinion, this has got to be one of the greatest RPGs of all time - Bethesda are video game geniuses. My only criticism is minor and should really be ignored as everything else makes this game a unique and wonderful experience; the fact that this game is so huge and so complex, many gamers who are used to smaller and more compact games like the Call of Duty series and sports games like FIFA would probably feel a little too free and, as a result, bored - but for gamers with determination, imagination and an idea of what they want to do - this game is an infinite-size canvas. Expand
  41. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    If you like RPGs - you will LOVE Skyrim. Sure, there are glitches and bugs here and there (messy textures, floating NPCs etc...) but these are to be expected with this huge vast world to explore. I already spent ~18 hours playing and barely covered even 10% of the world and quests.

    In this day and age of repetitive multiplier games that involve killing each other in different settings
    If you like RPGs - you will LOVE Skyrim. Sure, there are glitches and bugs here and there (messy textures, floating NPCs etc...) but these are to be expected with this huge vast world to explore. I already spent ~18 hours playing and barely covered even 10% of the world and quests.

    In this day and age of repetitive multiplier games that involve killing each other in different settings (halo, mw3, bf3 etc..), it is so refreshing to just kick back and explore a vast fantasy world all by yourself.

    It brings back the reason we all like games - to be immersed in a new world and just have fun. Trust me, you will lose hours/days playing this w/o even noticing.

    Game of the year for me despite the 9/10.
    Expand
  42. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    9.9/10 i found this game to have a awesome story, awesome graphics and more content you can shake a stick at . a few tiny bugs on the PlayStation where the menu's weren't loading properly But still overall this has to be my favorite game of the year.
  43. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game really is amazing. They took everything that worked from oblivion, and made it stronger in every way possible. This is an incredible, huge and immersing game. If you have played Oblivion, Morrowind or any of the Fallout games - You need this. If you haven't ever played any of these games, now is the best time to start. Of course, Skyrim has it's minor glitches - but with a gameThis game really is amazing. They took everything that worked from oblivion, and made it stronger in every way possible. This is an incredible, huge and immersing game. If you have played Oblivion, Morrowind or any of the Fallout games - You need this. If you haven't ever played any of these games, now is the best time to start. Of course, Skyrim has it's minor glitches - but with a game this big, it would be impossible for it to not have them. 100% recommended buy. Expand
  44. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Haters gonna hate. to those of your complaining about the game? its the same people with any new release. cry and moan about how this that and the other. I swear some of the complaints i have seen must be hired critics or something cause seriously? shotty graphics? get a better computer, the game is not gonna look the same for everyone unless we're all running the same system? this gameHaters gonna hate. to those of your complaining about the game? its the same people with any new release. cry and moan about how this that and the other. I swear some of the complaints i have seen must be hired critics or something cause seriously? shotty graphics? get a better computer, the game is not gonna look the same for everyone unless we're all running the same system? this game brings so much more depth then the previous releases. two thumbs up for sure a recommended buy. Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    It's not often Games like this come along. But Skyrim's Amazing Gameplay Combines all the good elements of The nostalgic Morrowind and Popular Oblivion to make the perfect storm of RPG brilliance. The Main Quest Storyline is Clever, Original, and Fits Together Perfectly. I haven't finished many of the other quests yet, but I have been all over the Northern Providence. The Sky Is StunninglyIt's not often Games like this come along. But Skyrim's Amazing Gameplay Combines all the good elements of The nostalgic Morrowind and Popular Oblivion to make the perfect storm of RPG brilliance. The Main Quest Storyline is Clever, Original, and Fits Together Perfectly. I haven't finished many of the other quests yet, but I have been all over the Northern Providence. The Sky Is Stunningly beautiful for a Video Game and All the Cities and Dungeons are unique and you can very easily tell them apart. I have tried both the PC version and Xbox 360 Version and if this were a review for the xbox 360 version, the score would be somewhere around 6. The Graphics for Skyrim are amazing. If your computer can run it at it's highest, It is an amazing experience. Expand
  46. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    ps Maybe they should have a warning on the box "This game is still under construction"

    This industry needs regulating. What other industy could get away with fleecing several million people with a duff product?

    Let me tell you that this game is **** up, slow and glitchy. Bethesda are known for creating buggy games and it continues here for the PS3.
  47. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Such a shame. I love the game and hate the problems. I'm having a problem with the framerate, the framerate is so low that I could trip over it, making it unplayable. PS3 version of the game is broken. Anyone who is thinking about buying, DO NOT BUY!
  48. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    Skyrim traded game play for story and for that I was rather disappointed but at the same time I can't exactly stay that way when no other game out today can even come close with either element. A good story will keep you enthralled for a short time(longer in the case of the elder scrolls games with their multiple story lines) but the game play with what hooks you for years. The main questSkyrim traded game play for story and for that I was rather disappointed but at the same time I can't exactly stay that way when no other game out today can even come close with either element. A good story will keep you enthralled for a short time(longer in the case of the elder scrolls games with their multiple story lines) but the game play with what hooks you for years. The main quest line was much better executed than the past games and also worked to tie in the secondary quest lines as well but this also led to things being somewhat more restrictive. But onto the game play if you look at the history of the series things have been getting dumbed down or condensed if you want a nice way to say it. Skyrim is no exception and in some cases accelerated the process from oblivion. not least of all was how stupidly east they made it to level up if you know how to exploit you can nearly level a skill up to a hundred(the max) just by casting a spell on yourself while you are traveling to and through your first main story quest. Exploiting the smithing skill is even faster if you have the money to do it and contrary to the past games where doing this is likely to leave you weak in other skill areas, in skyrim there is little to no disadvantage there. There are plenty of new features that were a welcome addition but not enough to make up for all the others that were dumbed down. The attention to detail also suffered greatly but looking at the time scale that the game was developed in I can't put too much blame on them for failing to uphold their original standard. The bottom line is that I expected much better from Bethesda but compared to the rest of the market it is still leaps and bounds ahead, these reviews on the other hand on average are ignorant and at best full of knee jerk reactions. I urge anyone reading these to take them with a grain of salt as few other games out there offer a better technical experience anymore and none offer the same level of gameplay, Expand
  49. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    let me just start of by saying that this game is probaly one of the best rpg's i have ever played. All you people reading this review are probaly "thinking hold on a sec how can you make such a bold statement".This game has exceeded my expectations skyrim is filled with massive amounts of quest which are all fun and interesting in their own way. skyrim also has a perk system which lets youlet me just start of by saying that this game is probaly one of the best rpg's i have ever played. All you people reading this review are probaly "thinking hold on a sec how can you make such a bold statement".This game has exceeded my expectations skyrim is filled with massive amounts of quest which are all fun and interesting in their own way. skyrim also has a perk system which lets you play the way you want to play as. Todd Howard wasnt lieing when he made that statement.The graphics are visually impressive aswell. This is a must have for any role playing fan,also this is Bethesdas best work. well bye everyone I gotta go back to playing skyrim Expand
  50. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Bethesda is well known by their massive huge worlds that are tantalizing to explore from begining to the end. What is left in here is a masterpiece that is impossible to resist. Hats off
  51. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    This game is straight up amazing. Haven't had this much fun with a game in forever. Tons of explorable areas even outside quests. The quests are fun as hell too. All sick classes for all kinds of players. No complaints
  52. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    this could had been the game of the year without any problem, but the unpolished textures, boring dialogs, lot of bugs and glitches. dropped it to a normal low game. some graphic treatment for example like assasins creed brotherhood and some better gameplay would put it in another leavel. too much hype for this. we are entering 2012 boys, we need top notch graphs! not this messy system!!
  53. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, very immersive, it's not perfect due to some small issues like minor popins, some ugly textures (only if you look for them honestly) and some bad shadows, but personally, they don't take anything away from the game for me. It lets me do what I want to do. You have to try it and see it for yourself, don't trust any review you read because this game isn't for everyone, but theGreat game, very immersive, it's not perfect due to some small issues like minor popins, some ugly textures (only if you look for them honestly) and some bad shadows, but personally, they don't take anything away from the game for me. It lets me do what I want to do. You have to try it and see it for yourself, don't trust any review you read because this game isn't for everyone, but the ones it is for, it's almost perfect. Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Skyrim's amazing, even with the bugs. The game offers so much, and you can do so much. It's an immense world and you're put in there to do whatever the hell you want. There are so many benefits to free roam, and there's so much beauty to see in the game that it's stunning.
  55. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    when game was only announced my only hope was that it will be on same level as obsidian's New Vegas (that was good enough game). But now I can honestly say, Skyrim is better. It even better than Morrowind an eve Daggerfall (my previously best game in TES). Bethesda fixed most mistakes of their Oblivion and Fallout 3 and deliver us, in my opinion, best RPG at this moment. I don't wantwhen game was only announced my only hope was that it will be on same level as obsidian's New Vegas (that was good enough game). But now I can honestly say, Skyrim is better. It even better than Morrowind an eve Daggerfall (my previously best game in TES). Bethesda fixed most mistakes of their Oblivion and Fallout 3 and deliver us, in my opinion, best RPG at this moment. I don't want describe all new features - new great dialogues, non-linear quests (that really on close level to witcher 2) all these aspects made on very high level, so you just need to play and enjoy. But there three main themes that people are afraid of: simplification of rpg system, graphic and one I called "It is the same oblivion". I don't understand people who blame skyrim about this. New RPG system is not simplified - it become more variate and more organically fits into gameplay. Yes there are less skills but I like it very much (in spite of me as big fan of most hardcore system as it was in Daggerall). Graphics... all who say that graphics is bad and same as in oblivion, first I advise play in Skyrim couple hours then asap play in Oblivion (without graphic mods) to compare. Second I advise to understand - it is ONE HUGE WORLD, where you can't just make fake stage where game strictly controls you - where you can see and where not (like COD, Uncharted and even Witcher and ME sometimes). BUT even with all this difficulties game looks great on consoles from 2006! Also if you play on good modern PC there are lots of additional graphic options like additional shadows, Ambient occlusion etc., that make picture even better.
    My main poit is - this isn't "same as Oblivion", it is BIG step forward in all aspects and best game in TES for me now. This game shows what other series like DA, ME of Witcher can't - big really living world
    Expand
  56. Jan 10, 2012
    2
    Sadly my previous review must drop from mixed to negative, this game just doesnt stack up against other TES games (Morrowind) this game just isnt what it should be,short story, non-immersive gameplay, worse bugs than morrowind, and HORRIBLE voice actors! The first time I played Morrowind, yeah it was hard, but it really stood out and i put 300+ hours into it, I tried this game, I REALLYSadly my previous review must drop from mixed to negative, this game just doesnt stack up against other TES games (Morrowind) this game just isnt what it should be,short story, non-immersive gameplay, worse bugs than morrowind, and HORRIBLE voice actors! The first time I played Morrowind, yeah it was hard, but it really stood out and i put 300+ hours into it, I tried this game, I REALLY wanted to like it I really did, but this game is just too awful to get anything else, its overall a bad game! Expand
  57. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    great game yes they're are bugs those will be sorted out, the only reason its not a perfect 10 is the bugs and the lack of real polish on the main quest
  58. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    TES Skyrim is nothing short of breath taking. From the initial battle in Helgen, to the open world you delve into just a few hours into the game. The map is MASSIVE, with a nearly unlimited amount of things to do. This is truly a sandbox style game with no linear game play element.

    Dragon encounters are incredibly fun, yet challenging and the amount of different NPCs provides enough
    TES Skyrim is nothing short of breath taking. From the initial battle in Helgen, to the open world you delve into just a few hours into the game. The map is MASSIVE, with a nearly unlimited amount of things to do. This is truly a sandbox style game with no linear game play element.

    Dragon encounters are incredibly fun, yet challenging and the amount of different NPCs provides enough variety to keep things fresh.

    Being a huge RPG fan, with Dragon Age Origins being one of my favorite games, Skyrim is quickly breaking that favoritism and becoming my new favorite game. I can absolutely see myself dumping 150+ hours into this game without batting an eye.

    I HIGHLY recommend this game if you are into RPGs with fantastic history and story lines.
    Expand
  59. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    It's important to think about the terms 'vision' and 'commitment' when evaluating your own experience of Skyrim. Those two terms do not always mean 'new' or 'innovative' as some may expect, but instead connote selection, judgment, taste, quality, and balance; all of which are apparent in Skyrim. Using tools developed during the creation of other titles, Bethesda set out to realize theIt's important to think about the terms 'vision' and 'commitment' when evaluating your own experience of Skyrim. Those two terms do not always mean 'new' or 'innovative' as some may expect, but instead connote selection, judgment, taste, quality, and balance; all of which are apparent in Skyrim. Using tools developed during the creation of other titles, Bethesda set out to realize the Elder Scrolls world more completely than ever before. The vision of the game demanded that Bethesda focus on mood, atmosphere, immersion, lore, and story, and the effects of this choice can be felt in nearly all the systems of the game. Combat is simple because the objective of the game is not to be a fantasy combat simulator, while crafting is simple because the game is not meant to model the workings of a pseudo-medieval society engaged in various handicrafts and manufacture. Skyrim is meant to display the incredible breadth of imagination and creation that is possible with a well-funded AA title; the scope of the title is something that other developers cannot match and I believe that 'scope' is the mission of this title - as well as its defining factor. All other systems in the game have been constrained and simplified to support this feeling of scope. Therefore, attacking Skyrim with the philosophy of 'kill everything, loot every dungeon' is going to drive you absolutely crazy. If you rate the entertainment value the game will provide after completing every challenge, it would probably be a 2 out of 10: you're in for a lot of tedium. You're not meant to grind combat for 20 hours during your playthrough, because that limits the scope of your experience. Furthermore, such an attitude violates the very spirit of an RPG: no character would ever stand around whacking monsters to achieve a '100' score in one handed weapons. Similarly, walking around picking flowers for alchemy will get fairly boring after the novelty wears off. However, the character would improve themselves so that they could kill an interesting Giant Frost Spider and see what goods lay behind the beast. The alchemy, combat, item, and crafting systems all model ancillary experiences to the main pleasure of exploring one of the most fully realized game worlds to come along, ever. If you focus on the secondary aspects of the game, your experience will be similarly second-rate. Picking goals that are important to you and playing to achieve them is just as important as following the main story line. However, the game does fall down somewhat in choosing to drastically simplify combat, as combat is the way that your character interacts with most of the game world's non-human speech incapable characters. If Bethesda had applied their vision of scope to the behaviors of creatures and vampires, where every encounter is both dangerous and different, then Skyrim would become something akin to religion or life-experience rather than mere game. I imagine a scenario where Bethesda purchases and integrates From Software's talent for deep combat into the next Elder Scrolls title. Maintaining Skyrim's amazing level of scope and adding an additional layer of danger, difficulty, and tenseness present in Dark Souls or Demon Souls would be a peerless combination. In summary, the fantastic far outweighs the flubbed in Skyrim. Everything from the graphics (they are clearly good enough), to the amazingly reactive soundtrack, to the little side conversations that happen around you as you stroll through a town, supports the feeling that you are involved in the goings-on of this land called Skyrim. As a player, you have a choice, and also a responsibility, to make your hours in the land of Skyrim count. Part of the charm and the difficulty of open world games is that there's no guiding hand to prevent you from ruining your own experience. The developers have made freedom readily available and if you want your play experience to be: 'I sifted through countless barrels in the hopes of finding a Doomsword! Then I gathered every flower in a four square mile radius to try all possible combinations!' your experience will be eclipsed by a player who reports 'Using whatever tools I had on hand, I slew a mighty dragon and gained the fabled power of the Voice...' Expand
  60. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This is the best game ever. You can do anything you want go anywhere you want and kill Dragons. No other game on the ps3 has done this much in a single game. Overall its just an amazing game.
  61. May 3, 2014
    9
    After the slow start on PS3, the patch fixed most issues and the game is very good. There is so much to do, and while some things will become repetitive, this is still worth picking up. Hundreds of hours of potential gameplay.
  62. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Oblivion stole about 300+ hours from my life and I have no doubt in my mind that Skyrim will do the same. I picked the game up on the PS3 and so far it looks absolutely beautiful, despite a few lazy textures the game is wonderful to look at. One of my favorite elements of the Elder Scrolls games is the rich immersion into the lore of the world and the unique way the story is told andOblivion stole about 300+ hours from my life and I have no doubt in my mind that Skyrim will do the same. I picked the game up on the PS3 and so far it looks absolutely beautiful, despite a few lazy textures the game is wonderful to look at. One of my favorite elements of the Elder Scrolls games is the rich immersion into the lore of the world and the unique way the story is told and Skyrim exceeded all my story expectations. I've already wasted at least 2 hours reading the in game story books. The world is so immersive that you may find yourself whispering to your friends on the couch while sneaking, or wanting to let out a battle cry after one of the many dragon fights, the game takes you in and doesn't let go. The combat took what we all loved from oblivion and improved the movements a lot, the magic feels fresh and new with the ability to dual wield spells and weapons, get ready to feel like a bad ass.

    All good things aside there were some issues you may want to be ready for. There is some texture issues with the environments, noticed mostly on the cobblestone streets but its easy to ignore, graphical lag can occur every now and then. Many players fear the dreaded game freeze and I have to admit, I have had to restart my console to resolve one myself but so far its a one time thing. The voice acting has improved and the characters feel more real but there's still some pretty cheesy dialogue this also pretty rare.

    Overall I'm going to go with about a 9, if Bethesda can spit out a few bug fixing patches in the near future my rating may go up, mainly because my only problems with the game are technical issues, and that its going to steal my social life away for god knows how long.
    Expand
  63. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Game is broken. Do not buy this until or if they fix the issues plaguing the ps3 version of this game.

    I have completely lost trust in Bethesda for pushing this game out the door with this many flaws. Unplayable lag and stutter. Playstation crashes. Very upset with Bethesda.
  64. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    First off. The setting. It evokes classic Tolkien literature... and also Star Wars. I will get to that in a minute. Beautiful, with just a hint of mourning, of... shattered glass as it were, reflecting the blood of fallen men, men who sacrificed much for very little. It seeps into you, but alas, this world is... provocative, in an almost childish, demeaning way. I brought up Star Wars. TheFirst off. The setting. It evokes classic Tolkien literature... and also Star Wars. I will get to that in a minute. Beautiful, with just a hint of mourning, of... shattered glass as it were, reflecting the blood of fallen men, men who sacrificed much for very little. It seeps into you, but alas, this world is... provocative, in an almost childish, demeaning way. I brought up Star Wars. The reason is thus- the game is... spacey, for lack of a better word. As the combat take place in zero-g, you are reminded of weightlessness... the kind Luke Skywalker must have felt when he became Darth Vader. The swords also glow, reminiscent of the glowing beams of the revered franchise. This lack of originality is simply stunning. On to combat. As my (many) fencing lessons have taught me, sword-fighting is an art, an art that this game fails to adequately replicate. It lacks... the feel, the- dare I say- sensual nature of clanging metal and dented armor. There is no "Riposte", no "Taliae", no "Pos Wershe" as it were. Instead we are left without the proper... tools, as it were to properly execute a more daring style of fighting. Graphics now. Chop, chop. They are pretty, but only insofar as a beautiful, but aged woman is while gazing into her rippling reflection on a cloudy summer evening. Much like this game, she pauses to reflect, as the game pauses with lag. Her movements are stilted, like the movements of NPCs in the game. She also takes up a lot of space... All in all, I dare say... this game is like a martini, without the olive, or the umbrella... a travesty, as it were. A beautiful travesty. Expand
  65. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,Awesome,
  66. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest game rver made. Breathtaking graphics/art design, epically good and perfectly fitting soundtrack. They took everything that worked best in the elder scrolls and fallout to make the best game they have ever done. Dont let the trolls fool you, the critics are right for once.
  67. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE! You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE!
    You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder everyone? Go help village people?

    To steal from another review, It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games. Its exactly that. Go do your PC, Xbox or PS3 proud and GET THIS GAME! Even if your not into this sort of stuff, it just may convert you.

    Oh and, there ARE bugs, just thought you should know. Nothing game breaking.
    Expand
  68. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    è veramente un gioco assurdo. Ti rapisce in un modo incredibile erano anni che un gioco non mi appassionasse tanto. Merita veramente di essere comprato perchè vale tutti i soldi che costa.
  69. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I didn't dislike Oblivion but I didn't like it either. I was aprehensive about buying Skyrim. I was used to most elderscrolls game with their shoddy hit detection and sub-par 1st person and 3rd person views. This game has changed my opinions of the Elderscrolls games. The character customization has changed radically since previous installments. The detail has gotten better and the modelsI didn't dislike Oblivion but I didn't like it either. I was aprehensive about buying Skyrim. I was used to most elderscrolls game with their shoddy hit detection and sub-par 1st person and 3rd person views. This game has changed my opinions of the Elderscrolls games. The character customization has changed radically since previous installments. The detail has gotten better and the models look more realistic. Expand
  70. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a hugeFirst off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  71. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Ps3 buyers deserved a better version. Like a programmer said "programming for the PS3 is what separates the good programmers from the bad programmers". So i don't need to say anything else.. Check this: http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-11-13-skyrim-triple-format-comparison-gallery-comparison-gallery What a disappointment.

    Although the more you play the more you wanna play:)
  72. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    My first review how should i start it?with the negative's or the positive's well i guess will start with the positive's.the opening scene had me instantly drawn in my eyes' were basically glued to the screen.The beautiful scenery i was moving the analog stick left,right,up,and down looking at the world around me.I promise not to do any spoiler's so let's move on to the next positive theMy first review how should i start it?with the negative's or the positive's well i guess will start with the positive's.the opening scene had me instantly drawn in my eyes' were basically glued to the screen.The beautiful scenery i was moving the analog stick left,right,up,and down looking at the world around me.I promise not to do any spoiler's so let's move on to the next positive the design.I found myself spending about 20 min deciding what i wanted to be and how i wanted to look it was very exciting.After my character was done being designed and a few very special moment's that i promised not to ruin i was on my way doing whatever i want which brings me to what i wanted to talk about next the combat.With a sword in my left in a fist full of lighting in right i was on my way into the beautiful world that is skyrim.I ran into a pack of feisty wolves i made quick work of them me taking a might slash with my dagger killing one of the three instantly.pleased with my first kill exploring i switch to the lighting zapping the wolf until it had dies one more wolf i decided then to dual wield lighting holding down the attack button's for both hand's i unleashed a powerful blast between my hand's instantly killing him.Listen i could go on and on and on and on about how much fun i was having.But time for the negative's...here i go basically it is flawless only minor glitches that do not distract from the overall feel of the game.This game is a gem very beautiful you want to treasure it forever you heard it from theinformer go get this game. Expand
  73. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I should give this game a 0 for hor the addiction level! This game is awsome! This is a game thats worth $60. Unlike other games that just release the same game every year to *Cough Mw3 Cough*
  74. Feb 12, 2012
    7
    This game is dull. There I said it! I walked away from this game and have yet to put it back in after I played for several days. I put it down to play some Bioshock and Demon's Souls and haven't picked it back up in almost a month. I will comend Bethesda for making such a huge open world for me to explore but that's all they did. The made a huge world with a bunch of things to do, butThis game is dull. There I said it! I walked away from this game and have yet to put it back in after I played for several days. I put it down to play some Bioshock and Demon's Souls and haven't picked it back up in almost a month. I will comend Bethesda for making such a huge open world for me to explore but that's all they did. The made a huge world with a bunch of things to do, but none of them have anything outstanding to offer. Its and issue of quality over quantity, and this game is defenately going for quantity. Sidequests are so numerous that it is hard for me to care about any one of them, because I just wanted the reward. Even the overall story is bogged down by a lack of immediacy. I didn't give a $#!+ about the story, I was too busy doing missions for the Companions Guild (Which for the record is the only set of events that I cared for). Switching gears for a second I will the say that the scenery is great eye-candy... if you're far away. Up close a lot of the rock textures look pretty lazy and remind me of an old PS2 game. It can be forgiven because of how big this game is, but it still needs to be said. Then there's the combat. Sweet Jesus, what is this crap! There is no skill when talking about the combat in this game, (Unless your using arrows, but even then that's pushing it) everything is stat based. All you do is swing your sword around like a moron until your enemy's dead. No dodge mechanics, a block that only works if your stats are high enough, and enemies that take 25 swings to kill when they can kill you in 3 hits. There were multiple occasions in which the I had exploit the enemy's A.I. to win, and that's never fun. What is fun though are the dragons, though repeditive, are loads more fun to kill than some of the other enemies. I love the enchantment, blackmithing, and alchemy systems in the game and make me feel like I'm actually making progress and getting better at something as opposed to just swinging my sword like a moron. I also love the dungeon crawling aspect and looking for new caves and mines to steel various articles of clothing off of the recently deceased. Ultimately, would I recomend this game? Yes. Is it a good game? Yes. Is it one of the greatest games of all time? No. Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to play more Bioshock. Expand
  75. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece.

    The game play (while not perfect) is the best in the series, the new mechanic that lets you equip something in each hand makes for some truly fantastic strategies to slay your enemies (or prevent yourself from being massacred). The graphics have been HUGELY improved since TES IV, but many people are complaining just because the time gap between TES IV and V transcurred in
    A masterpiece.

    The game play (while not perfect) is the best in the series, the new mechanic that lets you equip something in each hand makes for some truly fantastic strategies to slay your enemies (or prevent yourself from being massacred). The graphics have been HUGELY improved since TES IV, but many people are complaining just because the time gap between TES IV and V transcurred in a single generation of consoles, and you just can't expect a difference like say, Morowind vs Oblivion. The landscapes feel way better, with every detail looking like it was placed there, and not generated randomly by an algorithm. I will not spoil anything but every bit of Skyrim is just a marvel (although, I haven't finished the main quest thus far). The only minor disappointment is the lack of any multiplayer component, but seeing how rich this world is I really don't care.

    The Elder's Scrolls V: Skyrim, RPG of the year and a serious contender for GoTY
    Expand
  76. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. I lost a whole day to this game and I have barely scratched the surface. I love the levelling system as it makes you use different approaches for different dungeons, just so your character levels. The dragons make for for an exciting encounter but only if you are an archer in my experience. I tried hitting one with magic and one handed weapons but I got my rearAbsolutely amazing. I lost a whole day to this game and I have barely scratched the surface. I love the levelling system as it makes you use different approaches for different dungeons, just so your character levels. The dragons make for for an exciting encounter but only if you are an archer in my experience. I tried hitting one with magic and one handed weapons but I got my rear handed to me. Dungeons fit the mood and the variation in quests will keep me amused for months. Thank you Bethesda (Take note Infinity ward) Expand
  77. Nov 17, 2011
    5
    Dont get me wrong. im enjoying it and playing through it all. but its been hyped up too much. as another reviewer says, it is basically fallout in a different setting. combat is rubbish. bring back VATs. its an RPG, so give me my RPG style combat if you cant do it properly. Dark souls definitely wins on combat. This game is 10% (excellent) story, 10% (rubbish) combat, 30% (compulsive)Dont get me wrong. im enjoying it and playing through it all. but its been hyped up too much. as another reviewer says, it is basically fallout in a different setting. combat is rubbish. bring back VATs. its an RPG, so give me my RPG style combat if you cant do it properly. Dark souls definitely wins on combat. This game is 10% (excellent) story, 10% (rubbish) combat, 30% (compulsive) looting, 50% (boring) travelling Expand
  78. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    It's okay but massively overhyped. For someone who isn't used to top-notch graphics, the visuals are mind-breaking, though the terrain is a bit one-sided and tends to be composed mostly of snowy plains and forests. Combat is great, skill system isn't really balanced, though it doesn't matter that much because you don't play against other people.
  79. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a really good game despite the few problem i found.No games are perfect and with a few patches,this game should be good to play.They work so hard to develop this game unlike cod mw3
  80. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I don't know where to start. This is one of those games where you can play for hours and still have more to do. The amount of content sets the bar for gaming. The game looks amazing with just a few pop ups but this is a HUGE game and I can't emphasize that enough. This game let's you choose your path it does it well and I would go as far to say it's GAME OF THE YEAR and more......... BESTI don't know where to start. This is one of those games where you can play for hours and still have more to do. The amount of content sets the bar for gaming. The game looks amazing with just a few pop ups but this is a HUGE game and I can't emphasize that enough. This game let's you choose your path it does it well and I would go as far to say it's GAME OF THE YEAR and more......... BEST GAME EVER MADE this is a hefty feat but it simply is a masterpiece there was a lot of work put into this game and it shows. BUY THIS GAME Expand
  81. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim, like Bethesda's Fallout 3 and Oblivion before it, will inevitably receive a certain amount of criticism. This will generally focus on these things: 1. Bugs
    2. The graphics
    3. The combat system And all of these criticisms will be completely accurate. Skyrim's graphics pale in comparison to some other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. Its combat system looks
    Skyrim, like Bethesda's Fallout 3 and Oblivion before it, will inevitably receive a certain amount of criticism. This will generally focus on these things: 1. Bugs
    2. The graphics
    3. The combat system
    And all of these criticisms will be completely accurate. Skyrim's graphics pale in comparison to some other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. Its combat system looks pitiful next to the combat systems of some other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. It has many more bugs than other (much smaller and simpler) games of this generation. Do you see what I'm getting at here? To judge Skyrim on the basis of these elements is as redundant as criticizing Grand Theft Auto for having simpler driving mechanics than Gran Turismo. To focus on these elements is to completely miss the point. Bethesda have built a bigger, deeper, more intricate world than anything our consoles have seen before. Then they stuck me in the middle of it and dared me to do whatever the hell I felt like. This is a game in which I've struck out with the aim of infiltrating a fortress in the dead of night, only to find myself spending 20 minutes seeing how many inanimate objects I could balance on the corpse of a giant spider. A game in which a misplaced arrow during an epic battle with a dragon somehow escalated into a very messy swordfight with half a dozen Haafingar guards, all because I really didn't want to give up an enchanted ring I may or may not have pickpocketed from a sleeping woman whose house I had broken into some days earlier. It's game in which I made my housekeeper (okay okay "housecarl" sorry, Lydia) fight the ghost of a legendary assassin because he just wouldn't shut up, and it's a game that made me stop dead in my tracks and utter a terrible expletive the first time I looked up at the sky on a clear night. If you're simply after some hack-'n'-slash action with an EXP. meter, you could do a lot better than Skyrim. But if your interests and desires as a gamer are multifarious enough to appreciate what Bethesda are doing (and if you can look past the terrible fault of having the same jump button as Fallout 3 did, which seemed to bother one reviewer a surprising amount), then it could very well become your favourite thing.
    Expand
  82. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is as expected, the best RPG of all time and possibly best game ever. There is so much content in this game that will keep you busy for hours and hours and don't get bored with the 100s of quests and places to explore. The gameplay is fantastic, how you can put one weapon or spell in one hand and a different one in the other which gives plenty of choice. TheThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is as expected, the best RPG of all time and possibly best game ever. There is so much content in this game that will keep you busy for hours and hours and don't get bored with the 100s of quests and places to explore. The gameplay is fantastic, how you can put one weapon or spell in one hand and a different one in the other which gives plenty of choice. The choosing classes at the beginning is scrapped now you just level up skills by using that skill more than others which is more realistic. Levelling up is a blast and feels really rewarding and there are loads of perks under each skill to choose from. The only fault I would give this game is the noticeable glitches and bugs with the occasional freezing but that's to be expected with a game at this size. I would rather a massive game with loads to do and i can overlook the bugs. But really no game is perfect but this is not far from it. I rated this game 10 because i think it is higher than 9 but no game is perfect so I would go inbetween with 9.5/10. Some reviews are too harsh and are never pleased and rate things down massively for little things when this is definitely the best game in my collection! Expand
  83. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you love RPG games this one is the best at this moment!;) The only thing i didn't gave it 10 is that it's somethimes in cities get slower and laggy...;)
  84. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I have been a fan of the Elders Scrolls series since I played Morrowwind and its expansions on the original Xbox. I continued the series going into Oblivion with knowledge that bugs may be apparent due to the extensiveness of the quest and the amount of open world changes the game tries to keep track of, those issues where apparent in Morrowwind and not so much as Oblivion, but now we areI have been a fan of the Elders Scrolls series since I played Morrowwind and its expansions on the original Xbox. I continued the series going into Oblivion with knowledge that bugs may be apparent due to the extensiveness of the quest and the amount of open world changes the game tries to keep track of, those issues where apparent in Morrowwind and not so much as Oblivion, but now we are on to Skyrim the company's latest console attempt and by far the worse in terms of bugs. When the game runs perfectly it is a masterpiece that shines above its predecessors in every way and I recommend everyone plays this entry, because I know in my heart Bethesda will bring out a patch. Now to justify the reasons for playing this buggy journey are excellent combat controls (I'm not a fan of the new favorite system, but it works. I wish they would have let you map your selection to the D-pad instead.), massive amounts of quests, a beautiful open-world, great music score, and an excellent story (possible the best story so far in the series). Another thing to point out is the interactions with characters seem more approaching in this game, you feel like you want to speak to the NPC's. This is the perfect example of a Diamond in the Rough. Expand
  85. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I gave it a 7 mostly based on the PC version. Save your money and avoid the console port over crap and get it for the platform it was meant for, which is the PC. I'm not even sure why people get games like this for a console, worse graphics, dumbed down control's, no chance of modding and a HIGHER overall price.
  86. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Do a search for PS3 and skyrim and youll see that its a horribly broken mess on this console. bethesda doesnt seem to care because all the good press means its still selling hand over fist and there is no money to be made in patching the game.
  87. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate. The few flaws, which are rather prevalent in this type of game, can be forgiven for all the things the game does well. Beautiful graphics, amazing music and a well written story make this a must have for anyone looking to go beyond the insipid boom-fests that most other games deliver.
  88. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    What a fantastic game. Skyrim feels like Bethesda are finally beginning to achieve what they've been trying to get right for over ten years, refining those elements that made Fallout 3 and Oblivion so enjoyable whilst avoiding many of the issues present in those titles.

    Easily Bethesda's greatest achievement yet and without a doubt one of the best open world RPG titles ever released.
  89. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Outstanding. I HATE rpgs... seriously, i can't stand them... but this game... wow. So much to do, so much to explore, and the game is freaking gorgeous!
  90. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, i love every moment i play it, reading other comments saying there is problems lags and glitches with it, i have not found any problems with the game, to continue it is a fun and entertaining game, i love how you can changed from 3rd to 1st person at a click of a button, and the leveling system is awesome. I didnt think the game could be this great considering peopleThis game is amazing, i love every moment i play it, reading other comments saying there is problems lags and glitches with it, i have not found any problems with the game, to continue it is a fun and entertaining game, i love how you can changed from 3rd to 1st person at a click of a button, and the leveling system is awesome. I didnt think the game could be this great considering people told me it was like runescape. they were right but like a runescape completely remodeled regraphitized ( idk if that a word but better graphics lol) and just the whole outline of the land scape is made to perfection. also it is harder to just increase strength or magic or range in the game you need all three and even better is that it is cut down even further to that the way u use these items such as 2 handed weapons has its own leveling system 1 handed weapons has its own leveling system and magic has many different categories such as destruction, regeneration (not actually what its called cant remember), etc. the story line i find good it could be better because it seems like one mission after another which can be boring but at the end of the day i found this game to be astonishing Expand
  91. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    This game brought me back to gaming after a year long hiatus from gaming. To be perfectly honest, little has changed within that period of time in the gaming world. Bethesda should be ashamed for releasing another lackluster title after Oblivion. The UI is awkward to say the least, the textures are a mixed bag depending on your location, the game play is boring as usual, the storylineThis game brought me back to gaming after a year long hiatus from gaming. To be perfectly honest, little has changed within that period of time in the gaming world. Bethesda should be ashamed for releasing another lackluster title after Oblivion. The UI is awkward to say the least, the textures are a mixed bag depending on your location, the game play is boring as usual, the storyline is boring as usual, the graphics are substandard for a 2011 game, the audio is less than satisfying and seems very similar to Oblivion. The game continues to suffer from frame rate, pop-up, and graphical issues. The fighting controls and movement is outdated and clunky. This is inexcusable in 2011. The one shining star is the atmospheric conditions that add to the immersion of the game. I am thoroughly disappointed in this game after reaching level 15. If you are interesting in wasting time exploring a less than interesting world this game is for you. Bethesda, thanks for ruining a much over hyped gaming experience. It is an average game at best. Expand
  92. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    If you love character-building and adventuring, then I don't think I could recommend a game any higher than Skyrim. Though it has some flaws, none of them are deal breakers. The two most common glitches are the pop-up while out in the wilds, and occasional slow-down while in battle. But honestly, I've had the frame-rate drop maybe twice in about 20 hours of adventuring, for me it's beenIf you love character-building and adventuring, then I don't think I could recommend a game any higher than Skyrim. Though it has some flaws, none of them are deal breakers. The two most common glitches are the pop-up while out in the wilds, and occasional slow-down while in battle. But honestly, I've had the frame-rate drop maybe twice in about 20 hours of adventuring, for me it's been absolutely acceptable. I've been space-launched by the giants a few times as well, but it doesn't matter because the result would be death either way. Just know that this game has a huge beautiful world to explore, and is deep into the character building. If that's your sort of thing, you have no reason not to buy this. Tonnes of secrets, etc. Expand
  93. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best RPG ever created. Period. The only complaint I have is that Skyrim is too good. I find it hard to hope that anything will come along that can beat it. Magnificent~! The Nordish world feels alive, vibrant, and not contrived. It would have been easy for Bethesda Soft to mimic LOTR. Instead they created a compelling world with wonderful content, awe inspiring magic,This is easily the best RPG ever created. Period. The only complaint I have is that Skyrim is too good. I find it hard to hope that anything will come along that can beat it. Magnificent~! The Nordish world feels alive, vibrant, and not contrived. It would have been easy for Bethesda Soft to mimic LOTR. Instead they created a compelling world with wonderful content, awe inspiring magic, and dragonborn "shouts" ! The music is tremendous. The graphical achievements are unparalleled. Only Oblivion compares to the scope and sense of non-linear adventure. The dragons, weather, and water effects are amazing... I have no complaints, only applause. A standing ovation for the Bethesda Soft team. I myself am a .NET software engineer. So, I know what time and effort must have went into this project. Bravo~!!! Expand
  94. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    If you don't like long reviews - I like Skyrim. A lot. It's the Game of the Year and more. If you aren't playing it, you are missing out on hands-down the best game I've ever played. Period. Full stop.

    I created an account here specifically because I was SHOCKED at the scores for Skyrim and because I wanted to add my voice to the chorus who loved it. So take what follows for what
    If you don't like long reviews - I like Skyrim. A lot. It's the Game of the Year and more. If you aren't playing it, you are missing out on hands-down the best game I've ever played. Period. Full stop.

    I created an account here specifically because I was SHOCKED at the scores for Skyrim and because I wanted to add my voice to the chorus who loved it. So take what follows for what it's worth.

    Skyrim feels like nothing short of a triumph of modern gaming. It is huge, interesting, and immersive like nothing that's come before, and more importantly, it is as deep as the ocean. I have put more than 50 hours into this game and I haven't even scratched the surface. It is as deep as the World of Warcraft except single player, if that makes sense. And every second is just a breathtaking testament to how much attention the design team paid to EVERYTHING. Characters interact in realistic ways - when I slayed a dragon on the main street of a town, two NPCs (a shopkeeper and another that I had seen walking around the town for days before) died forever and for the next week (in game) every one in town was in awe of the dragon fight and skeleton...it was a procedurally generated event (I *think*) that FELT scripted, which is the highest compliment I think I can pay. When the line blurs between story events designed by a truly outstanding creative team and story events designed by the game engine, that's a very good sign.

    The graphics are lush and beautiful, the music and sound design is awe-inspiring. It makes the real world pale in comparison. Seriously.

    The deepness in the game is truly stunning. I could (and have!) spent hours just creating weapons and armor with Smithing, hours Enchanting, hours practicing Alchemy...and that is all in excess of the tens of storylines, each epic, each deep, each amazing. The only complaint I have about the storylines and immersion of the game is that it sometimes seems like too much...it's hard to stay focused because there's just so much going on.

    It is the most open experience I've ever had in any game, ever. That includes tabletop games, run by good GMs, who could literally respond to every thought and whim in real-time (and didn't have to generate a beautiful 3D world as well). The closest comparison that I can make, that almost no one will understand, is this: if you created a Rogue-like game, with infinite procedurally generated dungeons and combined it with the kind of 3D environments that you see on next gen consoles...that's awfully close to what Skyrim is. It scratches that itch very, very well. The difference of course is that the environment in Skyrim is hand designed - every inch of every game map has been touched by a designer, and it shows.

    It's the first game that I would argue is almost past the point of art - it's so immerse, calling it art cheapens it. It really is just a triumph in every way.

    So to show that I'm not completely blind, here are the things I don't like - I have several times seen glitches and errors pop up...but usually after I had been playing the game for six hours at a stretch or greater. I restarted my console and went on without a problem. Once or twice I've even had a 'hard' freeze on my console, but recovered with really no data loss. The inventory/magic menu system is elegant but not particularly user friendly - it can feel cumbersome, especially in the middle of a fight. This is due primarily to the huge number of things in your inventory, though. And I'm not sure how it could be better, just to say that it can be clunky at times. The combat system is tricky because it's deeper than it appears to be....you can't just walk up to a better-equipped opponent and wail away. Rather than stand in front of them and button mash, to not be instantly slaughtered you have to move, almost like a high level boxer, feinting and reacting to your opponents attacks. Probably fewer than 1 in 50 combat situations fall into this category, though. And for every shockingly hard combat, there are also multiple ways to win - sometimes a magical item, sometimes a spell, and sometimes through sneaking and surprise. Again, creativity from the player is encouraged.

    None of these minor problems distract from an overall amazing experience.

    I am not a typical Skyrim player. I didn't even know about the game until the day before its release, and got so stoked up that I actually went to the midnight release (my first time ever doing so). I went in with no particularly high expectations - maybe that's why some users are unimpressed? I just wanted a cool game to play. But Skyrim has exceeded everything I could have even imagined.

    Buy it now. It's not a game, it's an alternate reality.
    Expand
  95. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played this year!

    Not been a fan of RPGs much but Skyrim has changed my mind. Days feel like minutes when I play this. It feels endless when playing with probably over 1000s of random objectives to do. Trophies are time-consuming but if, like me, you love the game, it will take no time to get Platinum :D The only problem I've had with the game is it is quite
    One of the best games I've played this year!

    Not been a fan of RPGs much but Skyrim has changed my mind. Days feel like minutes when I play this. It feels endless when playing with probably over 1000s of random objectives to do. Trophies are time-consuming but if, like me, you love the game, it will take no time to get Platinum :D
    The only problem I've had with the game is it is quite buggy and freezes/lags every hour or so. I'm about 90% sure this will be Game of the Year :)
    Expand
  96. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is just breathe taking. Everything is done to such a epic scale that you just sit there watching going" Oh my gosh did that really happen? That was so epic!". This game pulls you into its world and you forget that it's a game. There is so much to do that you will forget about the main story. It is a must buy game.
  97. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. Above and beyond oblivion and I loved that game. Graphics are very nice, game is seemingly endless with tons of play time, amazing scenery, and beautiful music. Recommend to anybody who enjoys RPGs.
  98. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I actually didn't buy the game on release, i got talked into it by friends, i am not a big fan of rpgs which has it's base in first person... So i started the game and i was sure i was gonna hate it... However i have never in my 20 years of gaming been more pleasently surprised, the third person mode is actually playableand the game has beautiful surroundings, the choices in playstyle areI actually didn't buy the game on release, i got talked into it by friends, i am not a big fan of rpgs which has it's base in first person... So i started the game and i was sure i was gonna hate it... However i have never in my 20 years of gaming been more pleasently surprised, the third person mode is actually playableand the game has beautiful surroundings, the choices in playstyle are massive, it's the best game i have ever played, it have also turned me from a trophy junkie to a good game junkie.... Great work, music and everything Expand
  99. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. I am a person who was prejudiced against this game from before iteven came out. I do not like any previous Bethesda games really, with the massive world, detailed RPG elements and lack of a solid storyline unattractive qualities in a game. Skyrim is different. Easily accessablle menus and systems make the game seem less daunting, while also providing moreThis game is a masterpiece. I am a person who was prejudiced against this game from before iteven came out. I do not like any previous Bethesda games really, with the massive world, detailed RPG elements and lack of a solid storyline unattractive qualities in a game. Skyrim is different. Easily accessablle menus and systems make the game seem less daunting, while also providing more content than there was to be had in previous game. Gorgeous graphics (especially in the constellation skill building system- wow!) and an astouding attention to detail are but one reason to play the hell out of this thing. It is more additive than any shooter I have played (and I have burned hundreds of hours playing CoD games alone) with the mind-boggling number of quests and options for customization allowing the player to make their own Skyrim. If you want to only play the main storyline, you can, but I can assure you, you will be missing out. The greatest achievement here is the choice given to the player- you can explore the universe however and as extensively as you want. A barebones playthrough, or an every-nook-and-cranny approach (or anything in between) are equally possible and fun. To me, storyline is the most important part of games, and this game has a respectable plotline. While certainly not up there with the Bioware games (Mass Effect, KOTOR, check them out, they are amazing) the gameplay is more than enough to make this a splendid experience for anyone. The only reason I give this a 9 instead of a 10 is the occaisional glitches and bugs. This is unfortunately an issue, and you will sometimes get stuck in a corner or have some other problem, but it is extremely ppolished in comparison to previous games, particularly the laggy and bug-ridden Fallout New Vegas. No matter what your thoughts on previous Bethesda titles are, GET SKYRIM. No matter what games you like, GET SKYRIM. I promise you you will love this game to death, and you might well be playing it for that long too. Expand
  100. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    This game can become very boring very quickly and in a very unspectacular way, if I were to sum it up in one word (no it would not be dragons but) grinding. I looked at my quest list because I didn't like the one I was on and they all involved going into a cave and getting something stupid like someones sword. Depite bethesda saying each dungeon was different and hand crafted there allThis game can become very boring very quickly and in a very unspectacular way, if I were to sum it up in one word (no it would not be dragons but) grinding. I looked at my quest list because I didn't like the one I was on and they all involved going into a cave and getting something stupid like someones sword. Depite bethesda saying each dungeon was different and hand crafted there all overly similar and long, sometimes and hour long (true story). The combat feels very floaty and if it weren't for the blood and health bar I would be convinced I wasn't doing anything. But those are the two biggest problems I can think of. Oh wait I just remembered the graphics, which look fine close up and far away look terrible mid distance you can see the repetitive layer square of mud repeat itself with over and over. apart from those three thing it's just little things like every shop keeper saying the same thing and a few glitches. I'm not going to mention frame rate (even though I have the disease) because unlike most reviewers I'm aware it doesn't effect everyone and they're supposed to be working on a patch. In fact the problems happen around 40 hours in which is conveniently the time you get completly bored of it and cringe at the thought of spending another ten minutes there. The best thing about the game doesn't even require you to buy the game but instead listen to people experiences which is what made me want it so much (turns out they were over exagerating). I like the thought of this game but after playing it you'll be questioning how over hyped this game was. It might just be me because the only RPG games I have played before were mass effect 2 and deus ex but try stealing it of a friend for the weekend, they'll probably be more then happy to not have to think about it. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]