User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2101 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    Skyrim = the game with two faces. For the first 20-40 hours of gameplay, it seems generally fine with some bugs and glitches here and there, and then, the lag hits. The further your character progresses, the less time it takes for game-breaking lag to occur. Your followers start to go haywire, sometimes following you, sometimes deciding to hide in trees. Summoned creatures get in your way while in dungeons and won't let you pass, forcing you to kill them. The perks system is really unbalanced: you have perks that aren't worth messing with at all and then perks that really eventually make your character too powerful and the game too easy on the normal (adept) difficulty level. Horses disappear and re-appear at will while riding through the mountains. I've experienced dead dragons move into one of the stormcloak camps, nowhere near where it was originally killed. After about 30 hours of gameplay, I decided to start leveling up my pickpocket skills, but guess what? Despite me never stealing or getting caught by various NPCs, the game constantly tells me I've already been caught trying to steal from each and every one. Thinking this was a problem with my save game, I loaded up several previous save game files, and it was messed up on all of them. Bethesda tech support may tell you to clear the cache, or they may tell you to delete and reinstall game data, which in a lot of cases, creates 'double dragon' syndrome, where two or more dragons can fly around and attack at any given time. Patch 1.02 created dragons that fly backwards, get stuck in the mountains, and ones that are apparently invincible. Virtually every quest in the game can be broken, including the main quest, making this a game that may not be able to be beaten for some. A game that can not be beaten deserves a score of zero, but I'm giving this a score of a 3, because the actual game design, for the most part, is pretty good. I'm done with this game until it can be fixed (which according to bethesda will NOT be fixed in the 1.03 patch). Mods at the official bethesda forums have told people to let bethesda enjoy their holiday and stop harping on them, a 31 day holiday that no one else in the country takes and not to expect anything until January. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Skyrim, a world that is broken & truly flawed.
    If you are a PS3 owner I cannot recommend that you buy this game, the sheer amount of bugs, glitches & very poor programing from developer Bethesda simply destroy what could have been an amazing game. DO NOT believe the hype & inflated critic reviews, believe the gamers who forked out there hard earned cash, who actually played the game &
    found it to be unplayable... Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Despite of the first GREAT hours inside the world of Skyrim, it soon became a torture, where I couldnt play in that awesome open world, swing my axe in glory. The lagfest started and made it unplayable. Instead of telling people not to buy, I would recommend waiting for at least 3 more patches before buying it. A game that should be GOTY became the most shameful frustration of the year.
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    The only reason I gave this a one is because I love the story and the lore. I wanted to give this game a higher score, but the state of the PS3 version is disappointing and completely unacceptable. I did not expect to be playing a $60 slideshow with music. I understand that the PS3 is a harder platform to develop for and a completely bug free game is pretty much impossible, but that doesn't mean you release a game that has this type of game breaking bug. Frankly, I feel like I've been ripped off. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I would give this game a 10, but my game due to the file size bug has become unplayable for me, i can play for quite some time if i turn ALL autosaving off, which is just right down frustrating to do, saving after i open every door and sell every little item is rediculous.... especially with no quick save function, i cant even have more than 1 save file for my playthrough.... if i do the game crashes and forces me to do a hard restart which we all know can be damaging to your console system as well. As it is.... unplayable = 0 score. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. The graphics are good, and it's a lot of fun to play. I see a lot of people complaining about problems with the PS3 version, but I haven't seen most of it. My game started to stutter after 60 hours and a 9mb+ save file, and the patch fixed it. It's froze once in the whole time I've been playing, and I haven't had any broken quests or NPC's. The combat is a a lot of fun, I love having magic in one hand and a sword in the other. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    ***Skyrim becomes unplayable on PS3 after a certain amount of time, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME ON PS3***

    This game becomes unplayable after your save reaches a certain size. What hurts the most is that this punishes the players who spend the most time on this game by making it unplayable.

    I wanted to love this game. It was beautiful. It was epic. It was breathtaking. Unfortunately the only
    breath it takes now is roars of rage from my lungs through constant crashing and fear of burnout on my 1 month old ps3. Because of the way it was designed, Skyrim slowly degrades until it no longer works. Lag, slowdown of frame rate, 10 minute load screens, disappearing NPCs and near constant crashes are only the tip of the ice burg of what this game becomes at the 40+ hour mark.

    Any game that becomes unplayable because of developer fault deserves a score of 0. For shame to Bethesda for releasing a broken game. You can't play it, you can't enjoy it, it becomes a blank disc.
    Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Out of all the ps3 games I have ever owned this has giving me the most anger, to which I feel the only score that can be represents it is 0.......how can the multiple other games that are released on the ps3 platform work so flawless (yes I know its a big open world) but surly this should have been tested before release and be found all the game breaking bugs (my ps3 has frozen up on more than 10 occasion's in the past 2 weeks) the quest's are bugged that the user could get so far into the game and not progress any further...the framrate drop (from what it began very smooth) to a jerky mess...excuse the next paragraph but caps lock is needed...ahem HOW CAN A PUBLISHER/DEVELOPER RELEASE WHAT IS CLEARLY A *&^&^%$$ PIECE OF %^$$£@$ IS THEIR NOT TESTER'S FOR THIS???? HOW DO SO MANY GAME SITES AND MAGAZINES GIVE SO HIGH SCORES????WHO IS PAYING WHO HERE????.....deep breath.......Their is no denying that the game (when it works) is great but to give it anything higher than a 0 would be misleading to give something that is broken anything higher....which this game is clearly....now i must go and chase that backward flying dragon ffs grrrrrrrrrr Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! the game is broken, after you reach 6 mb in save file the game starts to lagg, after 8 mb you cant do nothing because the lag is so bad you cant play the game. the devopers dont even give us aswers and the historial of games is a mess. if you are thinking in buying this , DONT DO IT
  10. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I didn'tknow that mamoth can fly...That LAG can kill a game...that a dragon can go backwards like helicopter...That coldness comes from the freezes of PS3 and not Skyrim weather...
  11. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    The publisher doesn't care for the PS3.I want my money back.This thing is unplayable unfortunately.It's a gross.After your save hits 6 MB lag and freezes will be your amusement.
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Love the game, hate the problems. My game is very much unplayable at the moment. It freezes and crashes at least once an hour. The frame rate is so glitchy it is unplayable. The patch did nothing at all. Wish I had bought it for my XBox now. I would have if I'd of known the issues, but I like the PS3 controller a lot better than the Xbox one. I'm so far in my game there is nooooo way I'm starting over on the Xbox, not to mention Bethseda doesn't deserve my money twice when they f'd up the PS3 version so badly. How can you release it in this condition? If they can't fix it within a few months I say refund all PS3 purchasers. Hurt them where it counts, their pockets. I cannot recommend this game on any platform because I have only played it on PS3 and it is after a certain point unplayable. I hear Xbox is having a few issues of it's own too. Expand
  13. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    They obviously have not learned anything from New Vegas... After a while the game becomes utterly unplayable. My savefile is now around 9mb, and the lag is terrible... Just did the Azura quest, and the framerate inside Ilinalta's Deep was ridiculus.. i guess 10-15 fps.. And when dragons attac it is more like watching powerpoint slides! Waste of 40£
  14. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Poteva essere un gioco stupendo...ma è afflitto da troppi problemi!! Sembra una versione beta: Lag esasperanti, bugs vari e hanno pure avuto il coraggio di rilasciare una patch che ha solamente creato ulteriori problemi! Non vi fidate dei voti delle recensioni della critica, ascoltate gli utenti. non buttate i vostri soldi!! Far uscire un gioco in queste condizioni è una presa in giro, una vera e propria TRUFFA! Expand
  15. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    My save file is only at about 4MB right now, so I have yet to see the major lag issues (the game has crashed about 3 times, though) I am scoring this game a zero here as a gesture of solidarity with other PS3 Skyrim players who are experiencing this problem. I think it is unethical that Bethesda would release a game in such a condition. It is a tragedy because, like others, I feel that this would have been one of the greatest video games ever made. Now, I'm off to to wait for the inevitable onset of lag, as if I were sitting with a terminally ill loved one. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    Skyrim has much potential but the game has too many flaws to be given a 10. Fix the flaws Bugthesda! Broken quests, bugs and reoccurring lag kills immersion and shouldn't be tolerated by consumers. Sell me a game that works as advertised.
  17. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    Don't let the MetaCritic's "critics" fool you into buying this game !!! It does not deserve a 93 score !!!
    There are huge technical/programming problems that disable this game for many PS3 owners. Bethesda withheld the PS3 reviewer copies, to delay the truth until they could sell as many of the broken games as they could. I feel MetaCritic is ignoring the horrible technical issue in their
    score. If the PS3 version did not have these lethal software problems, it would easily deserve the 93 score. The patches have been ineffective and Bethesda does not appear to be forthcoming with real solutions, or to be willing to take responsibility for the consumer deception that has occurred. It could have been an awesome gaming experience if Bethesda had done their jobs well. Expand
  18. Dec 6, 2011
    2
    Sigh... I wanted to love this game as much as I did Morrowind and Oblivion and I did right up until the point my PS3 seemed to choke to death. Sure a reboot clears the problem for a short amount of time but the ugly problem of display lag appears again to taunt you one more time. What I have played is fantastic, it is only the framerates and broken quest lines that are the deal breaker for me. I never expected zero bugs, just not such glaringly obvious ones. Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2011
    2
    This game would be so much fun but unfortunately it is broken on PS3 and unplayable after a while. Screw you Bathesda for knowingly releasing a full-price AAA game that gets unplayable after a certain amount of time. I will never buy a game of yours for more than 15$ again. I had the same issues wuth Fallout 3 and Fallout NV and tried to ignore it because the I liked the games - but this time it is just too much. Expand
  20. Feb 9, 2012
    0
    This may be good on the pc, but on ps3 it's nearly broken. The fact that the main issues still aren't fixed is ridiculous. I haven't even gotten far and i'm already bored.
  21. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    It's disappointing. I really want to like this game, but it is simply too broken to be considered game of the year. Do yourselves a favor and stay away from the PS3 version.
  22. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I had such a bad experience playing Skyrim that I thought there was something wrong with my new PS3. It's too bad Skyrim PS3 is still being sold in stores and being sold to customers who don't know any better and also to people buying gifts for Christmas which unless these problems are fixed, will result in disappointment. If they can't properly address the problems Bethseda should take it off the shelves and reinburse customers. To those saying we "got our money's worth" I think that's the most ridiculous thing I ever heard. People playing the PC and Xbox versions aren't being told to just play a certain number of hours and then give up in frustration. This game advertises and reviews as being an epic game you can put a lot of hours into. As such I at least expect to be able to finish it without encountering game destroying slowdown. Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! the game is not fit for purpose, should never have been released in its current state Pre patch and now even worse post patch, The lag will escalte during your game play ultimately making the game un playable.

    The main quests is bugged and chances are if it bugs out on you to bad you cant do a thing and so far neither has Bethesda. They refuse to acknowledge the
    extent of the lag issues still saying it only effects a few people. This game will corrupt your ps3 hard drive, crash your ps3, and freeze up forcing you to reboot the ps3. potentially causing further damage. STAY AWAY FROM THIS GARBAGE. Expand
  24. Doz
    Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Its a little bit like having to give back a puppy you love, this game. Huge expectations are met in the first 30hrs then the lag sets in (for us ps3 users) and the love very quickly disappears. I've waited quite a while hoping Bethesda would at least make a public statement but the veil of secrecy and lack of acknowledgement only compounds the problem. Sad.
  25. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This game consists of an excellent blu-ray,LAG,lag,bugs,freezes,lag,bugs,freezes and lag and lag,lag,lag,lag and lag.Did i tell you that skyrim has lag?LAG.DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
  26. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    this game is broken... it lags and un-playable after all the effort i i put into it... i cant beleive they would let this happen... dont expect much this game is prolly worth 20 bucks tops... and thats being generous. dont buy it new, or youu will be sorry you gave the company that ripped you off thier money.
  27. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    It maybe be game is now a very very bad broken game , DO NOT BUY this on the PS3 until a patch is released that fixes it ! Come to the bethesda forums to see and talk with all of us we think we are deceived
  28. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.DO NOT LISTEN TO LIES.LAG problems are still very serious,there conastt freezes after your save hits 6-10 MB and after that you cant continuw playing.This game deserves a 0 at the present state
  29. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS game.This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  30. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Unfortunately this game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they get it fixed or you will be wasting your money.
  31. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY! Game was released with too many issues to count. Can potentially cause corrupted data in hard-drives due to freezing and crashing, thus killing the PS3 system. Quests can NOT be completed due to dialogue not triggering. Framerate is the equivalent of a Powerpoint presentation.
  32. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    While it's no doubt that the fundamental game-play of Skyrim is amazing, the issues revolving around it make the game absolutely disgusting. You'll go from astonished to disappointed as your game becomes more and more unplayable. While no game is perfect, Skyrim is about as broken a game as you can get. The lag issues are not isolated, it will eventually happen to everyone, it all depends on how much change occurs in your game world. When it comes down to it, DON'T buy it for PS3, OR XBOX for that matter (Some people are starting to report lag issues on it as well), PC is the only possible "stable" version through it's myriad of community mods. Don't listen to the reviews, a broken game is what you'll get, and you'll feel cheated after doing so. Expand
  33. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Great game untill the lag and freezing kicks in. This game has put my PS3 in to recovering corrupt files mode several times a day. I won't let Skyrim anywhere near my PS3 untill it's fixed, if it's ever fixed...
  34. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Sigh, what to say about this game? Buried in there is perhaps one of the greatest RPGs in history. Unfortunately, in its current state you'll never get to experience it. To say the game is glitchy is an understatement of epic proportions. It freezes, quests are broken, houses pop up, dragons fly backwards, and that's not even mentioning the largest issue. The game cannot handle system memory properly, and so rapidly grinds to a shuttering halt. Your frame rate will drop down to literally 0 fps at times. It becomes unplayable. Completely and totally unplayable. To add insult to injury, Bethesda the developers give little to no communication and insist that somehow "most" players do not experience this. I have yet to find a single person I know on this platform who can play the game. It really should be recalled. Do yourself a favor, stay away, and spend your money on any number of other worthy games. Such a complete and total shame. Expand
  35. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    Works perfectly well for me! I would call myself a casual gamer with a daytime job. So I usually play during evenings and have reached level 13 during 14 hour game time. The game contains smooth graphics, interesting story and landscape , huge landmass. A lot of features for a RPG and if you love RPGs, this is a must buy! I rather walk around then use any means of fast-transport and I recommend it! The nature and world is stunning to live in and plot your way to fortune and fame. Expand
  36. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Is this a joke? Where is my refund? How is it you can release such a giant piece of crap to the world and get away with it? This game is broken beyond all belief.

    Yes I had fun with it for quite a few hours, but once that god forsaken lag kicked in, rendering the game unplayable, reality kicked in. This is an extremely shallow RPG, everything is dumbed down to unreasonable levels and
    there's no variety in any of the skills. Enemy AI is rubbish, pathing is a joke.

    OH GOD THAT LEVEL SCALING - god forbid if you decide to train a skill like alchemy to 100. You will get steamrolled by a butterfly.
    Expand
  37. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    People that give this game a decent rating, haven't played it long enough. This lag issue is NOT isolated. Everyone not experiencing lag simply has not done enough things in the game yet. Work arounds are available, and offer varying levels of help, but do not actually fix the lag. Eventually it will be unplayable, if you buy this, you are buying a timebomb. And guess what? Thanks to constant freezing and harddrive thrashing, it can take your PS3 with it. This release was absolutely criminal, and the way bethesda has handled it is worse. Expand
  38. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I really love this game. It's great! It's one of the best games i have ever played... BUT... It's broken!! The game starts to lag once the savegame gets to big. It's the third time Bethesda sold me a game that's not working well with the ps3. Thanks a lot once again. If you're thinking about buying this game DON'T! Sorry Bethesda, as i truely love your games, they should work!! I can't believe that this game has been sold to the public in the state which is in. I really hope that you will be able to fix the mess you got us into!! Expand
  39. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I have been waiting for Skyrim for so long and was stunned by this game. Beautifull graphics, nice story and good gameplay. But when my saves reached 6MB the game literaly started to fall apart. Dragons stopped to attack, quest are bugged, drawing range droped with the framerate going down. My PS3 is threatened by constant crashes and as far as I'm informed â
  40. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I'm an asian player, I've been playing Skyrim (my first western RPG btw) on ps3 since day 1, actually got a copy on Nov 10th in the Netherlands. As of this moment, 296hrs in, 15mb save file, I hate to say I love this game but can no longer bear the lagging issue. I said to myself multiple times during the playthrough that I was a tolerate person and I would be grateful if the developer was able to fix the slideshow problem, however, their response is absurd even post patch1.2 (http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/topic/1300559-skyrim-what-were-working-on/). Considering ridiculous time I put into the game, I feel I was cheated, it is not a finished product and its very likely i will never be. Most of time when I was playing Skyrim, rather than enjoying it I worried about losing my progress if the game freezes next minute or so, plus countlessly reboot my ps3 every 30 minutes in order to lessen the lagging issue for a short period of time. You know what I'm saying here, if you happen to be the lucky one who hasn't experienced the issue, I ensure that you will ...eventually...!

    There is an old saying in my country: If you can't get the job done, don't start it! I lost my faith in this game, and its developer - Bethesda. I know its not objective to give a game Zero score, but we are emotional beings, I want to make a point here and I wish my point has been well made - Bethesda doesn't deserve any respect from my Asian community. It is very sad how this will be ended, I'm sure Bethesda will throw us another patch and another and another, but don't insult my intelligence, you won't and won't be able to fix the problem. So, not another Euro, Dollar, Yen, Pound, Yuan...goes on!

    PS. When I say 'my Asian Community', I mean a large group of Asian gamers who bought Skyrim ps3 version, they are my friends live in the Netherlands. Word of mouth will spread across several continents even faster than you think, Bethesda!
    Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2011
    4
    Skyrim is a beautiful game, full of fantastic vista's and well voiced characters with depth and emotion. The UI is a joy, devoid of any distraction to the enjoyment of the game and the music carries you along on the adventures you'll have.

    Then you lag and stutter and eventually your beloved PS3 says enough is enough and crashes. Once you start having to check your HDD for errors after
    playing the game, you quickly decide not to risk it and instead go play something else.

    Skyrim really should have been a 10 from me, but the issues surrounding the lag and broken quests which can so easily infect your save game meaning that 40 hrs of game play is down the drain means I simply cannot say it is fit for purpose.

    4 out of 10 is all I can give it and even then I think that is misleading, as you cannot complete the game nor explore most of it without encountering the issues noted above.
    Expand
  42. Dec 7, 2011
    2
    This game is brilliant. The design, the atmosphere... It's amazing. Easily one of the best games this generation. But it seems that I bought it on the wrong system. I can understand a couple day one hiccups, but seriously Bethesda? This is ridiculous. I have had to restart the game twice now simply because a game breaking bug would happen during the main quest line, rendering completion of the story impossible. That, coupled with the amount of time I have stared at a blank screen while resetting my ps3 because Skyrim froze is just the tip of the iceberg. Sound cutting out, textures vanishing, saves getting corrupt, this version has it all. Even then, if I turn a blind eye to the fact that the ps3 version obviously wasn't tested enough (show me a Bethesda rep who says otherwise and I'll show you a liar) the worst part is that you released it knowing full well about these issues. I mean, why else would you not send out ps3 review copies to popular review sites? I think that is worse then the game being so broken, but I digress....

    I hope that you see this user rating and read these reviews, and happen across mine. You already have my money for this game, and the only reason I am holding onto the unplayable frustration that is Skyrim is because I know the masterpiece it can be with the proper steps taken to improve it. I was looking forward to Prey 2, but I will not be purchasing it now. I know I alone will not make a difference, but I can only hope that my fellow gamers and I can send a message to all developers out there who think this is okay, in hopes of bettering the industry we all love.
    Expand
  43. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Unfortunately, this game is broken on the PS3. While it works fine out of the box, once your save file hits a certain size or you have played enough hours, frame rate drops drastically, at some points freezing completely. See the video at Digital Foundry for examples.

    Official statements from Bethesda have suggested that these issues will be "improved", but not resolved. Initial
    patches have created additional bugs in addition to those already existing. Expand
  44. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    While I have not experienced the lag yet I have encountered numerous quest bugs that have left me wondering how this game made it past beta. I do not recommend purchasing this game for the Playstation 3.
  45. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    There are too many issues with this game and should never have been released until they were fixed. The lag was bad but the longer I played the worse it got, now they game will not play. I load the game play for 5 min and freeze. So as of now Bethesda I have a $60 paper weight.
  46. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Bethesda has decided that they are going to treat PS3 users as Beta testers so they could release this game for the Christmas Season. I have tried calling them, e-mailing them asking for resolutions to the lag issues.

    This game doesn't work. Don't buy it at all if you can help it.
  47. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Please DO NOT buy this game. Do not buy it on the PC the 360 and for the love of god! Do not buy it on the PS3. This game will cause your PS3 to crash and give a possibility of killing your PS3's hard drive. And for people who say there is no problem. They haven't gotten far enough for the problems to start if they already haven't. THEY WILL START AND YOU WILL BE FREAKING OUT. Returned my copy to Amazon & will never be buying another Bethesda product. And this was my first game from them so what a fitting end. Expand
  48. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    This game, when it works, is a masterpiece and my favorite game of the year easily. Unfortunately, the game only lasts for a fraction of time before it becomes unplayable. If the broken quests don't get you then the lag will. Nothing like paying $60 for a game you can't play.
  49. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Just like Fallout 3, and Fallout New Vegas, this game is completely broken and unplayable. It will freeze and lag if you play it long enough. Bethasda ignored this problem with the Fallouts and will not fix it for Skyrim either. buyer beware!
  50. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Feel totally ripped off, trusted Bethesda after some buggy releases in the past but watching interviews I truly thought they had learnt their lesson... but no. Spent £130 on the collectors edition, managed to do most of the game but there was just no enjoyment, I was constantly worried that the game might crash or become so laggy it was unplayable so tried to rush as much as I could, after about 90 hours and a 13mb save file the game did become totally unplayable. I urge people not to buy Skyrim if they are on the fence, the problems with the game affect everyone eventually. Total rubbish Expand
  51. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    This game is BROKEN! Don't buy the game on any platform... In fact, stay away from Bethesda games, they are all broken!!! (Rage = FAIL, Fallout = FAIL, Skyrim= FAIL). The most frustrating thing about it is that Bethesda ignores the problems and the community! Check the forums!
    Kind Regards,
    Shred.
  52. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I thought I was home free. I played the game for a good 40 hours, but then the lag started the slideshow. This game is not playable in its current state. Bethesda should be ashamed of themselves sell a game thats not fit for retail. They even say there isnt even a problem. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME no matter what anyone says-dont give in the the pretty comercials and the marketing hype, that is the only thing bethesda is good at! Expand
  53. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an amazing game. Easily one of the best titles of 2011. However the PS3 version is absolutely unplayable past a certain hour/savegame size. I am at 45 hours and can no longer visit cities without having framerate dip to 0-5 fps. Combat can no longer occur without you dieing (because you can't move) or the game freezing. Bethesda has released a patch that said it fixed the lag for the majority of users. This is not a true statement. Between forums and personal friends that have bought skyrim on PS3 no one has been able to play the game past 40-50 hours without severe hardware crashing lag. Expand
  54. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Great game, terrible port. Skyrim is a beautiful game, and like its predecessors, the glitches in the game are something that we've grown to tolerate. In a game that has the sheer size of Skyrim, glitches are unavoidable and often adds a bit of unpredictable and often hilarious edge to the game. What is not hilarious though is when your game effectively has a time limit, and which after that point turns into a powerpoint slideshow. And to make matters worse, when a game has a fault of this magnitude that affects a huge portion of the PS3 players, you would think Bethesda would issue some kind of statement of apology. Instead they refute claims that a large portion of players are experiencing problems, take 3 weeks to issue a patch that only makes matter worse to another large portion of the people who were initially facing problems, and then tells them that a fix will not be coming in the near future. A company clearly fuelled by monetary gain and no care for what they see as a problematic and ungrateful player base. It is such a shame as the game is beautiful on the other two platforms, and also on the PS3 while it still works. Expand
  55. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The game, in itself, is great. So much fun, so many hours of great gaming.
    But...the PS3 version is not a finished product. It was shipped with gamebreaking bugs.
    I guess this has to do with money, ofc.
    But no matter what deadlines they had, no matter what business contracts and agreements the developers and publishers had to stick with, they should have been honest.
    You dont screw
    hundreds of thousand of people on their money, and expect to get out of it clean.

    I bought the PS3 version, 30 hours in I couldnt take it anymore.
    It looks very bad compared to the other platforms, the perfomance is just awful.
    I tried to return it, but they wouldnt let me.
    It ended up on the shelf, and I "bought" the PC version.

    Now I could say, stick to the 360/PC, just keep away from the PS3 version and you should be alright.
    But no, dont buy it all.
    First of they dont deserve your money (many devs/publishers dont, but an example must be made at some point).
    Second, they keep putting out patches that makes things worse, bugs etc.
    In the end you shouldnt feel safe, whatever platform you choose chances are you end up having alot of problems with the game.

    Dont buy.
    Atleast wait until the prices have dropped alot, and they have fixed all the bugs.
    If they ever do.

    (Sorry for any bad english)
    Expand
  56. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    the game was really good for the time i did get to play it, but after i played the game for 20-25 hours i began to experience terrible lag, and i ended up selling this game back to gamestop. big disappointment.
  57. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Super awesome game, no seriously, quite easily best game ever from bethesda......but unfortunately broken due to memory leak issue or whatever it is. Once you reach a certain save file size it just takes a poop, for me it was 11mb to be completely unplayable on that profile. When they fix this broken game I will fix my broken score.
  58. Dec 7, 2011
    2
    Plays ok at first then stutters more and more as the save file grows. Patch is released and reduces stutter mainly by clearing corpses and simplifying some graphics. Now machines can just hard freeze at random in any area post patch. This could have been a great game but the bugs are killing it, avoid it for now.
  59. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    "chunkyman" here from the Bethesda Forums. This game is glitchy and laggy as hell for the PS3. Severe, multiple bugs are also present throughout. One example is companions disappearing. Another is textures not loading. Sometimes whole dungeons don't load any of the textures and everything is black. My favorite bug is having the houses in the game dump all of your items on the floor. This game is borderline unplayable. Expand
  60. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    Fantastic, really genuinely great, right up until the point when it comes unstuck and becomes unplayably bugged. Don't believe the "professional" reviews, which are all of the X360 build (excepting one single publication which gave the PS3 version 7/10). Wait for the patches that fix the game and then buy it used; you'll save yourself stress, time and money.
  61. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I bought this game on the day of its release. Played it for a week to which it lagged and then froze ........... do not buy it. Plus if you do not believe what people are saying. Then rent it for two weeks and understand what people are experiencing. : -(
  62. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    I will never again buy Bethesda games on day one release because Bethesda has shown they cant fix bugs. When your save file grows to about 6 MB the game will possibly lag right there. The lag slowly creeps up on you and when the file continues to grow it increasingly becomes more noticeable. What starts out as a great came essentially becomes a bad game as you continue to progress and enjoy this game. You hard efforts are essentially rewarded with framerate issues and horrible lag making you regret getting the game in the first place. I personally recommend you dont even rent the game because of its problems, so dont buy this game. This game clearly didnt get the proper Q/A it needed otherwise Id be giving it a good review. Expand
  63. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Skyrim for the PS3 is pretty much broken. The more you play it, the laggier and buggier it becomes. This goes directly against what was the games intention - to offer hundreds of hours of action RPG fun. And when they tried to fix the lag, they broke the game even further. The lag is still there, but now we also got magic resistance not working and backwards flying dragons that spaz out and cause severe lag and crashes. And then there are all the quests that don't work either. In a game that's largely about playing for a long time, about magic, quests and dragons, **** all of these up is just... No... Nonono... Expand
  64. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    I gave this game 1 /10 cause it was supposed to be a 9/10 or a 10/10 if it wasn't crippled wit bug and lag when playing at a high level. We now know why bethesda did not ship any ps3 version to the testers, because the game is broken. Such a shame, If I would have known I might have bought it on PC, very very disapointed by Bethesda on the PS3 version....
  65. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The game was good. However i don't care how good it was since now the framerate is going worse every minute i play the game. 60 (euros in my case) was the price i paid for the game. When i pay that amount i fully expect that i can play the game from start to finish without it breaking down. If you have a good PC you wont face these issues. If the game industry wants me to support them it has to tidy up A LOT. Why spend 60 dollars/pounds/euros on a game that "might" get patched in the future. I really am considering getting a good gaming PC and then never again paying anything for Bethesdas games. Expand
  66. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    A waste of time.
    Unprofessional and moronic. I bought the PS3-version expecting it to be superior, there were no reviews out but I hoped that I would still be good.
    But not that was merely Bethesda's ploy to put the consumers and the reviewers in the dark about a broken game. Disappointed.
  67. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Unfortunately what started out as a very good game is now a Ã
  68. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    This game is a crap.DO NOT BUY this game.There are so many problems in the version of ps3 and Beth talks about PC modding.They won't fix PS3 version.Lag and freezes will remain...
  69. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    I have changed my review of this game from a 3 to an 8 because the majority of the game seems to be working correctly now. I no longer see frame rate drops that make the game unplayable. Also a lot of the quest bugs have been fixed. There is still some glitches, but overall most of the major problems have been fixed. This game is an amazing game full of hundreds of hours of open world fun. If the new patch really fixed the frame rate drops for as long as everyone wants to play the game, whether its 2 hours at a time or 10 I believe everyone who likes massive open world games should buy this. Expand
  70. Dec 8, 2011
    1
    Game froze up after about an hour of playing and it only gets worse as if i try to re log into it. to sum it up this game is busted beyond fixing. Going to take it back as soon as i can
  71. Dec 7, 2011
    4
    It's a bitter disappointment that I'm having to give Skyrim a negative review. For the first 30 or so hours of gameplay my time in this game's world was one of the most entertaining I've ever had on a console. The openness of the world was simply amazing. For nearly all of that play time I had barely even touched the main quest. I simply wandered the countryside and completed side quests as I discovered them. I enjoyed the character building system, beautiful graphics and engrossing dungeon delving. Sadly after about 30 hours the framerate starting dropping. At first it was only a small annoyance but as my game time approached the 50 hour mark it got to the point that walking through a town was nearly impossible around 30 minutes after starting a new game session. The game would stutter so badly that it would actually pause for a few seconds at a time. Rebooting the PS3 resolves the issue temporarily, but after about 30 minutes it happens all over again. Bethesda released patch 1.2 which was supposed to resolve the issue and I have to say that it did make it better. I can now go about 45 minutes to an hour before the stuttering makes the game unplayable again. Unfortunately since patch 1.2 the game will now randomly crash with a hard freeze at any time. I've now stopped playing the game because of the frustration losing progress every time the game freezes. I hope to revisit it again in the future after the technical issues have been resolved. At this point I can not recommend playing this on the PS3 in its current state. Expand
  72. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    First things first: The game itself is brilliant. Unfortunately not on Ps3 though. While some may argue whether or not you can rate a game 0 when the first 50 hours were awesome, or if you should take into account THAT you were able to play it for 50 hours whereas other games don't even last as long, it simply and ultimately comes down to the fact that this is a faulty product and does not deliver what the company promised. As Ps3 users we are more or less used to get the bad ports and with Skyrim it is no different. The graphics and general performance is the worst out of the 3 platforms, but that's not really an issue. Skyrim is still a good looking game, even gorgeos at times. And while it has some annoying yet bearable drops in framerate every now and then, the biggest game breaker is the massive 'lag' or stuttering that people are most likely to experience at some point. Imagine it to run with 0-5 frames per second. Since the latest update, a lot of other issues have arisen too. First and foremost the freezes which lock up your Ps3 and will eventually corrupt your hard drive. Add in occasionally broken main quests which prevent you from completing the game, a lot (read: a LOT) of other bugs and Bethesda's track record of how they dealt with bugs in previous games for Ps3, shake the whole thing and decide on your own if you really want to try the nicely looking yet somehow fishy smelling result. My advice: Don't. Just don't. You might get sick. Now, if you think we're just trolls, there's an easy way to find out. Just take a look to the right and read the official review from PSOM UK, or hit up youtube and type in "Skyrim Ps3 lag", check IGN who are currently investigating, go to the official Bethesda forums, heck, inform yourself any way you like, but don't believe those who gave the game a perfect 10 to know about ANYTHING. We are just here to warn you. *** Rated 0 because the game is fundamentally broken on Ps3. ***

    PS: You're probably confused because people are telling different save file sizes at which the lag begins. That's because it's not directly related to the size nor to the hours spent. It's related to how much you've done in the game. The engine keeps track of everything you do and since everyone plays at their own pace, it greatly varies for everyone when the stuttering will finally occur. Come to the official forums if you want to know more.
    Expand
  73. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    I had high hopes for this one after playing Fallout 3 and New Vegas, but it disappoints again. This is strike 3 and they need to answer for it. This game will become unplayable after your save game file reaches around 6 MB, and they refuse to properly address the problem. It's broken and will remain broken. Don't buy it.
  74. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    This game started out amazing, but its technical issues have made it almost unplayable. I only say almost because I could probably play it if I completely turned my playstation off and then turned it back on to load. Needless to say this is ridiculous and prevents any kind of immersion or getting comfortable. Ignoring these problems, the game is unplayable because there is no guarantee that it will not freeze and require a hard reset even if i stop every thirty minutes. This cannot be good for my PS3 so I am uncomfortable playing it. Aside from the major frame rate and crashing problems, there are tons of broken quests, items that won't leave inventory (and thus are permanent weight), horses disappear forever (even unique ones), etc. Bethesda seems to say the earliest any of these smaller problems will be fixed is January, but they have been silent about any prospect of fixing the serious problems. If you have more than one platform DO NOT play it on PS3, if you only have PS3 don't buy this until GOTY comes out and even then I would check to see if the problems are fixed (skeptical) first. It is really a shame because it had so much potential, but releasing this game like this without any warning or acknowledgment of its fatal problems is inexcusable and completely irresponsible. Expand
  75. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! the game is broken, after you reach 6 mb in save file the game starts to lagg, after 8 mb you cant do nothing because the lag is so bad you cant play the game. the devopers dont even give us aswers and the historial of games is a mess. if you are thinking in buying this , DONT DO IT
  76. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    ** COMPLETELY BROKEN ON THE PS3 *To those who continue to think this page is being flooded by trolls: On the 5th of December, this page was linked on the forums for the hundreds (and possibly thousands) of PS3 users who are fed up with Bethesda's attitude towards releasing games (releasing a buggy game knowing full well it was buggy with the intention of 'fixing it later' instead of delaying the release to fix everything they could)...it's BROKEN Expand
  77. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Well i really enjoyed this game for some time.But now after 5 minutes it gets laggy.No i have no money to buy a SSD.No patch 1.2 did not solve anything.This game is a mess.DO NOT BUY this game.It's a mess, a real mess
  78. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    What does New Vegas AND Skyrim have in common? Well, I ALMOST pre-ordered both, BUT DIDNT! Hahahhahaaa (Mandark laugh). What does Skyrim and the show the Exterminators have in common? BUhhhhhhhGS! Shame on you Bethesda. Theres a reason why ign didnt get a copy of skyrim for ps3 right away...you know what you did.
  79. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I am sad and furious because now my game lags and freezes.I can't continue playing any more with this LAG. :( It's an awesome game but unplayable eventually.Beth can't keep doing that.It's a shame :( where is some dignity
  80. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    "The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. " well that would be the case but unfortunately lags,serious bugs and freezings keep this game from being a must....
  81. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    What happened to Dignity? Did it go away again? Just like some worn out trend. Well I still defend emotions. What happened to Honesty? I don't see it in the top ten. I only see it in what has been. 'cause I still defend Devotion. Don't want to rest, Don't want to breath. We don't want to hear about life. Don't want to hear a spokesman. I don't want to test on what you believe, The god damn singer wrote the song!
    Don't want to hear a spokesman.

    all rights to Goldfinger.Shame on you Beth!!!Skyrim is broken
    Expand
  82. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The ROCK SAYS that Bethesda better fix this broken game or he is going to shove it up their ROODY POO CANDY A$$

    Seriously though, the game is broken. If you do not believe me or the countless others who are complaining, then you haven't either 1. played long enough or 2. experienced enough content. Once your save file reaches a certain size (typically around 9mb with 40+ hrs invested),
    you will experience lag that ruins the experience. We have the power to make Bethesda fix this, so sign up and review if you haven't. Expand
  83. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    All the potential in the world, virtually none of it delivers in its current state. The PS3 version of this is absolutely broken and Bethesda's handling of this issue is even worse. Now we know why no professional review companies were given a copy of PS3 pre-launch like Xbox and PC were and we also know why no PS3 game footage was shown prior to release. This game is abysmal.
  84. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    This is one of, if not the biggest game ive ever played. It has a good story too but does not flow as well as it needs to. If you want a gaming experience that absorbs you from morning till night this is your game. Just be prepared bugs, unfluid vocals and a game you can jack yourself up in a million ways. but the fact is is that skyrim is a game that although is flawed gives enough content and billions of ways to have one hell of a day. It couldve been the best game i ever played, but its bugs and unfluidity hold it back from being the best game ive ever played. The best though and the reason everyone should get this game is that it has something for everyone. Just explore for a few hours and youll find your place. It is a game big enough for everyone. Expand
  85. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The truth is that Bethesda rushed this game to all hell, and let a massive memory leak bug disallow further progress for an RPG fan who loves to explore. And there's dozens of bugs that have been overlooked, but Bethesda doesn't care. They got their damn money off of us PS3 players without consideration of letting us play comfortably.
    I will admit this is Oblvion 2.0, its a ton of fun and
    the leveling system actually feels like a leveling system, but what good is a game promising over 300 hours of content when passing 50 hours presents game breaking bugs.
    Shame on you Bethesda, and please dismiss Pete Hines, he speaks and tries to "debunk" facts with his behind.
    Expand
  86. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    It's broken. Do not buy this game on the Playstation 3 until it is fixed (and we can only hope that it will be). The frame rate sinks to incredibly terrible numbers and it becomes essentially impossible to play once your save game reaches 10mb or so, which usually happens within anywhere from 60-100 hours.
  87. Dec 7, 2011
    3
    Part 1: A definite 'buy' If you want to amuse your friends with Dragons that fly spastically backwards, Weapon racks that fail to activate (oh hold on... that is Whiterun only... my Windhelm one activates and places the weapons 'through' the wall), Mannequins that have their assorted body parts that vanish when adding your armor for display, Book shelves that no longer activate to hold books and of course my favorite... LAGGGGGGGGGGGG. Expand
  88. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    The game was great at first, but then the lag set in and made it unplayable. It's a problem that has occurred in several of Bethesda's games, and yet they neglected to fix it again. Once again their patches fix nothing and the game is simply broken. Please save your money.
  89. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  90. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS game.This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game
  91. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Fix all the bugs and lagging. Then we'll talk -__- i was so excited for this game to...dissapointing. I wish Bethesda actually realeased a half way decent game with a few bugs...but this. The game would probably be amazing aside from the never ending list of problems. Why release a game thats nowhere ready to be played?
  92. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Currently, it's just a version of the game full of game-breaking bugs and glitches that will hinder your experience and make you wish for a refund. I'll update the score if ever they release a proper version that fully works!
  93. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is a crap.DO NOT BUY this game.This game doesnt deserve the reviews.PS3 copy is broken and laggy as hell.Freezes and lags all the time.Beth lies to us.Come to the forums to talk about it and tell your problems.This thing is unplayable.
  94. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    I would give this game a 10, but my game due to the file size bug has become unplayable for me, i can play for quite some time if i turn ALL autosaving off, which is just right down frustrating to do, saving after i open every door and sell every little item is rediculous.... especially with no quick save function, i cant even have more than 1 save file for my playthrough.... if i do the game crashes and forces me to do a hard restart which we all know can be damaging to your console system as well. As it is.... unplayable = 0 score. Expand
  95. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken broken and broken.You cant enjoy it.Full of lag,freeze and serious bugs.Stay away from it till gets fixed.DO not buy this game,it worths a 0.It's unplayable.Ps3 tips by Beth don't work.Needs fixing
  96. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Skyrim was a wonderful game.But Beth doesn't care about PS3 version.It's unplayable with many bugs,hororfull lag and crappy frezees.DO NOT BUY this game.It's not woth it.Needs fixing.
  97. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    The game is very buggy all round and it has major lag if you invest any amount of time at all into it, which you will end up doing if you do buy it! A shame because otherwise its a fantastic game, get it for pc or 360, or better yet wait until the problems are hopefully fixed and pick it up second hand nice and cheap!
  98. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Extremely poor, broken game. It's almost unplayable on the PS3 and the developer have no intentions of completely fixing it. The game should never have been released in this state.
  99. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken.DO NOT BUY this game.LAGS FREEZES,it can ruin your ps3 and mess up your HDD.DO NOT buy this game until bethesda fix it and according to this http://www.reddit.com/r/skyrim/comments/mza05/skyrim_ps3_framerate_fallout_new_vegas_developer/ it won't be fixed...
  100. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Skyrim is not what it seems.It's a laggy laggy laggy game on the PS3.Patches dont help.DO NOT BUY it.It freezes and lags as hellIt can ruin your PS3.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]