User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2312 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Game is pretty decent until it breaks. This exact same thing happened in New Vegas. After a certain point the game becomes a little laggy. Then it gets worse. Then it gets painful to even attempt playing due to horrible framerate issues. If you are crazy enough to continue further, you'll eventually be rewarded with a completely unplayable game and may even damage your PS3. DONT BUY THIS GAME!
  2. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    This game was amazing for the little time it worked. If you plan on playing it for more then the main story line Do Not Buy Skyrim! By the time I hit 25hours I had massive lag after every 30mins. Probably less like 20mins. I sucked it up because we was promised a patch. By the time I hit 50 hours like 1000 resets later. I gave up all hope for this game. The freeze ups will kill your ps3This game was amazing for the little time it worked. If you plan on playing it for more then the main story line Do Not Buy Skyrim! By the time I hit 25hours I had massive lag after every 30mins. Probably less like 20mins. I sucked it up because we was promised a patch. By the time I hit 50 hours like 1000 resets later. I gave up all hope for this game. The freeze ups will kill your ps3 system. And gameplay is very stressful. Not to mention it corrupts data for alot of people. Get on youtube type Skyrim Ps3 Lag. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    What started out as a beautiful game turned into a horrible mess. There are too many quest-breaking bugs, glitches, and performance issues such as huge framerate drops, lag, and unresponsive menu interface. Avoid the PS3 version (or the game altogether) until they come out with a patch that actually fixes these issues, unless you want to spend $60+ to beta-test an unpolished game.
  4. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY SKYRIM! The game is broken, and not playable on the PS3. It is a fantastic game for the first couple of hours. But the frame rate will drop, until it is unplayable after some hours of gameplay.i can't believe a broken game could even win VGA...
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Well things could be differnent for Skyrim if it didn't have so many bugs and glitches,so many lags and freezes.Unfortunately that's not the case,Skyrim is not a bad game,it's a broken game and that's more depressing...
  6. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Well my game till patch 1.2 was so good,but that patch was a disaster.Skyrim freezing all the time,it's unplayable anymore.Lag was heavy sometimes but never freezing before the patch,i don't know what to do about it.Tips didn't help,swaping disks either...Skyrim takes a 0 from me.
  7. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Bethesda has created something so beautiful as Skyrim. but if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to enjoy it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim is that you can't play for more than minutes without game breaking lag and constant freezes that canBethesda has created something so beautiful as Skyrim. but if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to enjoy it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim is that you can't play for more than minutes without game breaking lag and constant freezes that can kill your ps3. Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    This is such a fantastic game... The lag is unbearable around 25+ hours in.afteThe game was hyped as you could play hundred's of hours on a single playthrough but sadly you wont get this satisfaction on ps3. They are saying the dlc for skyrim will be massive but this will just make the lag worse so I would have never bought this game if I knew what I know now. I am disapointed...
  9. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    There is just one thing you need to know, and that is DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR THE PS3!!! There is a game-breaking bug where once you reach around 6mb in your save file, the frame rate becomes so bad that it is literally unplayable. What should have been an utterly enjoyable piece of gaming heaven becomes a downright unplayable piece of garbage. Your best bet is to wait until this problemThere is just one thing you need to know, and that is DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR THE PS3!!! There is a game-breaking bug where once you reach around 6mb in your save file, the frame rate becomes so bad that it is literally unplayable. What should have been an utterly enjoyable piece of gaming heaven becomes a downright unplayable piece of garbage. Your best bet is to wait until this problem is fixed, though it's doubtful that it ever will. The fact that the game was released in this state is absolutely appalling. Surely Bethesda would've known about this bug, but they just decided to release it anyway and screw over the Ps3 users. This was a total waste of $60. The biggest disappointment of the year. Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Super awesome game, no seriously, quite easily best game ever from bethesda......but unfortunately broken due to memory leak issue or whatever it is. Once you reach a certain save file size it just takes a poop, for me it was 11mb to be completely unplayable on that profile. When they fix this broken game I will fix my broken score.
  11. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    THIS GAME IS BROKEN DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.It's an awesome game but why,why,why to has so many bugs and lags???WHY No fixes,no patches are going to face these problems.It will remain broken...
  12. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Where to start? Obviously, many users now know of the many bugs, glitches, borked gameplay issues, errors that have plagued various versions of SKYRIM. -From broken quest lines to missed triggers, flying horses, missing heads on player-toons, backward dragons and more, SKYRIM's reviews have also been blessed with 10s and desultory 0s, depending upon the multivariable motivations orWhere to start? Obviously, many users now know of the many bugs, glitches, borked gameplay issues, errors that have plagued various versions of SKYRIM. -From broken quest lines to missed triggers, flying horses, missing heads on player-toons, backward dragons and more, SKYRIM's reviews have also been blessed with 10s and desultory 0s, depending upon the multivariable motivations or largesse of individual reviewers.This game is unplayable... Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    I really wished all these Bethesda fan boys would stop giving the game 10's. The game is B-R-O-K-E-N on PS3, okay? Go rate the XBOX or PC version if you can't stand to see your precious game dropping to the score it deserves on THIS platform, which happens to be the PS3. Schmocks!
  14. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This would be a great game if it wasn't for the bugs, the framerate issues and the way it basically collapses in on itself the more you play it. If it worked, I'd give it a ten. Right now I'm giving Bethesda a zero, because this thing needed a lot more time in the oven before it was done. Don't sell me a broken product and expect to get away with it.
  15. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they get it fixed or you will be wasting your money.
  16. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game is a crap.DO NOT BUY this game.There are so many problems in the version of ps3 that makes it unplayable.You will regret if you buy it.You wouldn't buy a game that is just full of bugs.You cannot even complete quests because there bugged and the frame drops are constant along with freezes
  17. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game had so much potential, but alas, it was all wasted due to poor optimization for the PS3. If you want to play this game, buy it for the Xbox or PC, it works fine on those platforms, but if you only have a PS3, go stare at a microwave instead (this will be much more entertaining than trying to play this game at 10 frames per second and waiting through 2 minute load screens afterThis game had so much potential, but alas, it was all wasted due to poor optimization for the PS3. If you want to play this game, buy it for the Xbox or PC, it works fine on those platforms, but if you only have a PS3, go stare at a microwave instead (this will be much more entertaining than trying to play this game at 10 frames per second and waiting through 2 minute load screens after every minute of gameplay). I returned the PS3 copy for a PC one, and I haven't looked back. Expand
  18. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    The game started without a hitch. No lag, no broken quests then as soon as my file size reached 6 MB it all went to hell. While walking around town, I noticed my screen freezing and struggling to show my character and the surroundings. Restarting the game was my only option. Which fixed the problem temporarily. Things got progressively worse after 6 MB. My save file is currently at 12 MBThe game started without a hitch. No lag, no broken quests then as soon as my file size reached 6 MB it all went to hell. While walking around town, I noticed my screen freezing and struggling to show my character and the surroundings. Restarting the game was my only option. Which fixed the problem temporarily. Things got progressively worse after 6 MB. My save file is currently at 12 MB and it lags as hell.. Expand
  19. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    This game is completely broken on the ps3. The game will slowly wither away the more you play it, until it becomes absolutely unplayable. The lag starts around the 30 hour mark and gets progressively worse. If you must have this game, wait until it's patched or DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
  20. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    And the oscar for the most laggy game of all time goes to SKYRIM!!!What a disappointment was that?What a disaster?It's unplayable after some long hours of playing,you can't keep playing anymore it's broken really.Avoid this game,evade its lag and huge problems...
  21. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    Bethesda intentionally shipped a broken version of the game on PS3 and I would bet at this moment they have no idea of how to address the issue. The issue is lag. After a period of time playing the game and your save file size starts to exceed 7mb, The game will start lagging so bad that it becomes impossible to play. I have played this game today and it has crashed 7 times. Everyone whoBethesda intentionally shipped a broken version of the game on PS3 and I would bet at this moment they have no idea of how to address the issue. The issue is lag. After a period of time playing the game and your save file size starts to exceed 7mb, The game will start lagging so bad that it becomes impossible to play. I have played this game today and it has crashed 7 times. Everyone who is having these problems with Skyrim on thier PS3 should be trading their games in to keep Bethesda from taking money from customers and selling them a broken product Expand
  22. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    Skyrim is something unique in many ways,it's a fantastic huge epic world,one of the most massives on the consoles RPG standars.But there is a great deliverance between that and what hides beneath it.Dragons aren't so scary as the frame drops are,Freezing issues are more dangerous than dungeons and beware,beware my brave warriors the Skyrim itself problems can kill your beloved kingdom ofSkyrim is something unique in many ways,it's a fantastic huge epic world,one of the most massives on the consoles RPG standars.But there is a great deliverance between that and what hides beneath it.Dragons aren't so scary as the frame drops are,Freezing issues are more dangerous than dungeons and beware,beware my brave warriors the Skyrim itself problems can kill your beloved kingdom of PS3.Do not let this happen... Expand
  23. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    An incredible game when you first start, but the game degrades into a buggy mess the further you play, and the bigger your save file gets.
    I was hoping I wouldn't run into the same slow-down and bugs others people have complained about, (or that I've seen on youtube), and for the most part, the lag and slowdown wasn't that bad, the game was still playable. But then the crashing started.
    An incredible game when you first start, but the game degrades into a buggy mess the further you play, and the bigger your save file gets.
    I was hoping I wouldn't run into the same slow-down and bugs others people have complained about, (or that I've seen on youtube), and for the most part, the lag and slowdown wasn't that bad, the game was still playable. But then the crashing started. Crash after crash. Even with auto-saving turned off, I found the game would randomly freeze, with the auto-save msg at the top. (wait what?!) That's right, It was still auto-saving after I turned off ALL the auto-save options. I double, and triple checked. They were all disabled. There is a HUGE amount of bugs, new ones being discovered daily. It seems the PS3 players are beta testing for Bethesda..

    The game at its core is beautiful, but with all these problems, it's BROKEN. This is the most unpolished buggiest game I have EVER played on a console. I play on a console to AVOID games crashing. Anyone on the fence about buying this game, goto the official Bethesda forums, the "Technical Issues" section for the PS3. Peruse some threads, and see for yourself just how insanely unfinished and broken this "GOTY" actually is...
    Expand
  24. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    The lack of acknowledgement by so many reviewers about how broken this game is for some people on PS3 only makes the fact that it is unplayable a bit curious about what happened with the PS3 version.Visit Beth forums and you will see why so many users here give it a zero.I will give it a zero too.The truth is not in the professional reviews,it's here and in the forums...
  25. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    Skyrim has serious game breaking frame drops that will prevent you from playing further when you would want to spend hours and hours there The save file grows to an enormous size and the game just freezes without having anything to do to help or improve the problem...
  26. Dec 15, 2011
    0
    AVOID THE PS3 VERSION!The game starts great but after a significant investment of time it becomes a lag ridden unplayable train wreck.Bethesda has a bad history with PS3 game development as Fallout 3 and the sequel Fallout New Vegas had the same issues.Bethesda does not develop games for the PS3 the do poor ports of the 360 versions and just spoon feed consumers lies saying they will fixAVOID THE PS3 VERSION!The game starts great but after a significant investment of time it becomes a lag ridden unplayable train wreck.Bethesda has a bad history with PS3 game development as Fallout 3 and the sequel Fallout New Vegas had the same issues.Bethesda does not develop games for the PS3 the do poor ports of the 360 versions and just spoon feed consumers lies saying they will fix it next patch and never do ie Fallout 3 and Fallout 3 NV. Expand
  27. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY skyrim on PS3 is broken.Come to forums and learn the truth.It has major problems on PS3.DO NOT BUY SKyrim.Bethesda failed.Click here to learn the truth http://www.lensoftruth.com/feature-bethesda-we-love-to-hate-you/ Game is unplayable
  28. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Patch 1.3 didn't save face.The problems keep coming.I would stay away from the ps3 version the game is unplayable after awhile and patch 1.2 isn't nothing but a bandaid work for a while but as soon as my file got around the 13 to 14mb mark. The lag was back and worse than be for the patch and also there are freeze's and hard lock's and no magic resistance after 1.2. The game was hyped asPatch 1.3 didn't save face.The problems keep coming.I would stay away from the ps3 version the game is unplayable after awhile and patch 1.2 isn't nothing but a bandaid work for a while but as soon as my file got around the 13 to 14mb mark. The lag was back and worse than be for the patch and also there are freeze's and hard lock's and no magic resistance after 1.2. The game was hyped as you could play hundred's of hours on a single playthrough but sadly you wont get this satisfaction on ps3. They are saying the dlc for skyrim will be massive but this will just make the lag worse so I would have never bought this game if I knew what I know now. Hopfully this will save some one the headache and disappointment i have been through. Expand
  29. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    This game will become unplayable after your save game file reaches around 6 MB, and they refuse to properly address the problem. It's broken and will be sustain being broken..Skyrim could be great but lag and freezes,took an arrown in its knee...
  30. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    BROKEN this game is BROKEN!!!!STAY AWAY FROM IT.Skyrim is broken,patch 1.3 and lag is still here,probably it will never be fixed,quests are still broken and they will never get fixed for sure,you will have to paly the game for scratch only for them,dragons are broken,where are my shouts????
  31. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    It's sad to admit this game has so many problems.I don't mean just bugs,there are game breaking issues all over this game.I was so excited when i bought it but know i think seriously sell it or put it on the shelf,there ano many options left...this game is unplayable...
  32. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Eventhough this game wasn't a mess,lags and freezes everywhere.There are still other problems.The combat system is extremely clunky, the AI is pretty low, the dragons aren't very impressive except when they're flying full speed backwards. This game is truly a circus gone wrong- physics is defied, mammoths fly, the ground vanishes, if you kill anything on a hill, loot it fast becauseEventhough this game wasn't a mess,lags and freezes everywhere.There are still other problems.The combat system is extremely clunky, the AI is pretty low, the dragons aren't very impressive except when they're flying full speed backwards. This game is truly a circus gone wrong- physics is defied, mammoths fly, the ground vanishes, if you kill anything on a hill, loot it fast because Skyrim's mountains are all coated in butter, and that five thousand pound giant you just killed is sliding to the bottom even if it is just a 10 degree incline... Expand
  33. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Patch 1.2 made things even worse.Patch 1.3 game still unplayable...This game doesn't deserve any kind of award.It's so buggy and laggy that's ends up being completely unplayable and Bethesda still ignores PS3 community completely.Do not involve with this game it's not worth it....
  34. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Bethesda sold PS3 users a game that is irreparably broken. I'm not talking about all of the patching issues, though those are certainly a shame. I'm talking about the unavoidable framerate issues. Now, I'm generally a huge Bethesda fan. Both Morrowind and Oblivion are two of my favorite games of all time and I have played both of them.I love Skyrim too,but PS3 version is unpalayable...
  35. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Total disaster...After a period of time playing the game,your save file size starts to exceed some MB,the game starts lagging as tutrtle that becomes unplayable to continue playing.I have played this game since the release and it has crashed so many times....
  36. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAG
    FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEZEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
    This game is broken,its full of bugs.60$ for nothing,such a failure...
  37. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    The more u play the game the more it lags till eventually becomes un-playable. and what makes it worse is bethesda are failing to acknowledge this game breaking flaw. all those who suffered bad lag in fallout should know this game is worse and happens a lot earlier.
  38. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    This game is broken.DO NOT BUY this game.LAGS FREEZES,it can ruin your ps3 and mess up your HDD.DO NOT buy this game until bethesda fix it.The craptastic framerate literally sucks every ounce of enjoyment out of the game for me. The lag pops up no matter what I'm doing, whether it be dragon hunting, exploration, or just hanging out at the thieve's guild. Instead of thinking about theThis game is broken.DO NOT BUY this game.LAGS FREEZES,it can ruin your ps3 and mess up your HDD.DO NOT buy this game until bethesda fix it.The craptastic framerate literally sucks every ounce of enjoyment out of the game for me. The lag pops up no matter what I'm doing, whether it be dragon hunting, exploration, or just hanging out at the thieve's guild. Instead of thinking about the game's positive points, I'm stuck thinking about stutters, freezes, online updates that somehow manage make the game even buggier. Expand
  39. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    This game is broken. The developer is not making any attempt to patch it, well none that it is being up front about. Developer suggests that you should upgrade your hard drive! Hello, its a console game. Developer says keep hard drive space ...100gb and its still broken. Jerks around the crashes and glitches. To put this onto the market knowing that it is broken is daylight robbery. Shame on you.
  40. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    PS3 owners should boycott Bethesda until they start releasing products that are done.This game is awful,it lags a lot and freezes after some hour of playing.Quests are borken too,but that's not the problem,the game is unplayable even if you just do free roaming...
  41. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    Skyrim had the potential to be the game of the decade but not any more.I have to mention that still after three patches there are many problems.After my save game data reach 7 MB, the game have become so laggy that it's still after 3 patches unplayable.This game is broken...
  42. Dec 18, 2011
    0
    The lag slowly creeps up on you and when the file continues to grow it increasingly becomes more noticeable. What starts out as a great came essentially becomes a bad game as you continue to progress and enjoy this game. You hard efforts are essentially rewarded with framerate issues and horrible lag making you regret getting the game in the first place. I personally recommend you dontThe lag slowly creeps up on you and when the file continues to grow it increasingly becomes more noticeable. What starts out as a great came essentially becomes a bad game as you continue to progress and enjoy this game. You hard efforts are essentially rewarded with framerate issues and horrible lag making you regret getting the game in the first place. I personally recommend you dont even rent the game because of its problems, so dont buy this game. This game clearly didnt get the proper Q/A it needed otherwise Id be giving it a good review Expand
  43. Dec 19, 2011
    0
    This WOULD be an amazing game if it actually worked. The PS3 version is riddled with crippling lag that only rears its head after your save file increases to around 8mb. Then comes the slideshow, the crashing, the freezes, and the grief at loosing a character and plot line you were invested in. The worst part is that Bethesda is trying to shut their eyes and ignore the problem. BeThis WOULD be an amazing game if it actually worked. The PS3 version is riddled with crippling lag that only rears its head after your save file increases to around 8mb. Then comes the slideshow, the crashing, the freezes, and the grief at loosing a character and plot line you were invested in. The worst part is that Bethesda is trying to shut their eyes and ignore the problem. Be warned. Your money will be taken, you will feel mad, the company that released this buggy mess will scorn you. Abandon hope all ye who enter here. Plus if you keep playing it through the crashes it could destroy your PS3. Expand
  44. Dec 19, 2011
    0
    A truly broken game on the PS3 Console. Terrible lag and framerate issues, broken quests, several broken features eg. Homes/Mannequins - It is very clear to me that this product was rushed out for its PR Grabbing Release Date. Couldn't even finish the main story as the game was literally running at 5 frames per second. Add on terrible customer service and some shameless business practicesA truly broken game on the PS3 Console. Terrible lag and framerate issues, broken quests, several broken features eg. Homes/Mannequins - It is very clear to me that this product was rushed out for its PR Grabbing Release Date. Couldn't even finish the main story as the game was literally running at 5 frames per second. Add on terrible customer service and some shameless business practices on the part of Bethesda Softworks / Zenimax for releasing a game they must have known was broken when it was sold to its consumers, and you have a recipe for disaster. They still haven't fixed it after almost 2 months. I returned my copy on the basis of manufacturers fault, recommend others experiencing these issues do the same. In Closing: Do NOT buy this game. Expand
  45. Dec 19, 2011
    0
    Game is broken, simple as that. After the latest and useless patch, 1.3 , my game freezes instantly and I won't even play it now because I'm worried that too many hard shutdowns will damage my PS3. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
  46. Dec 20, 2011
    0
    I ended up buying it on 360 after beeing scared away from the PS3 version, and I've been having MAJOR MAJOR performance issues. They include extreme texture pop-in (like minutes late for environments and characters), frame rate drops, and most concerning frequent and REALLY violent system crashes. The first 6-8 hours were fine, but everything went downhill afterwards. It's really taken theI ended up buying it on 360 after beeing scared away from the PS3 version, and I've been having MAJOR MAJOR performance issues. They include extreme texture pop-in (like minutes late for environments and characters), frame rate drops, and most concerning frequent and REALLY violent system crashes. The first 6-8 hours were fine, but everything went downhill afterwards. It's really taken the enjoyment out of the game for me. A friend of mine has it on 360 and has sited similar issues (but it doesn't crash as frequent). I asked a few of my buddies about their experience with their PS3 copies (which they've been playing constantly) and one has had no major problems while the other told my the slowdown issues he's experiencing render the game unplayable. I've messaged a lot of my XBL/ PSN friends about their experience with both versions, and it's a 50/50 split on both sides with people siting only minor (and expected) bugs and people who are having their enjoyment gutted. I guess the game in general is flawed. My 360 version man... I'm afraid it'll kill my system. Expand
  47. Dec 20, 2011
    0
    I am a self confessed Elder Scrolls addict, and purchased the game at 8 'o' clock, morning of the release day. From the very get-go I was amazed, astounded and delighted by nearly every aspect of the game and enjoyed it thoroughly. This lasted about 4 days, the entire time of which I felt that this was a game more than worthy of Game of the Year from developers who deserved their award asI am a self confessed Elder Scrolls addict, and purchased the game at 8 'o' clock, morning of the release day. From the very get-go I was amazed, astounded and delighted by nearly every aspect of the game and enjoyed it thoroughly. This lasted about 4 days, the entire time of which I felt that this was a game more than worthy of Game of the Year from developers who deserved their award as Developers of the Year also.
    This was until my game progressively became unplayable. I'm not talking bugs or even the occasional quest breaking glitch. I have played and enjoyed many of Bethesda's games and understand that with a game of this scale and complexity these are issues that, although sometimes infuriating, are to be expected.
    What is not expected is that after hours of playtime, the game's framerate progressively slowed to a crawl, particularly in densely populated areas - which are some the central hubs of the most integral parts of the game. Whereas most developers reward extensively playing a game, Bethesda seems to have gone the alternate route and actively punished PS3 owners for putting large amounts of their free time into a game that ultimately treats you to a slideshow after days of accumulated playtime. It seems highly unlikely that this would not have been noticed in pre-sale quality assurance, and much more likely that it was simply ignored in favour of not losing sales after a delayed release.
    This either complete lack of quality assurance or failure to act on Bethesda's part is compounded by the utter lack of support in the aftermath. After a day-one patch which fixed minor issues, 2 patches have been released since - the first well over a week after the lag problem was reported, which addressed yet more minor issues, but instead of fixing anything only seemed to intensify the problem, introducing a whole new host of problems - backwards flying dragons to name but one. This culminated in the third and final patch for this year, which seems to be dedicated more to fixing the things broken by patch 2 than any of the already outlying problems. The only noticeable change was that despite any and all previous issues, an hour after downloading the update I had my first loading screen full-on freeze.
    This had, and still has, the potential to be if not Game of the Year, then possibly Game of the Decade. As it lies, this is a truly amazing game that has been left broken and ruined either by the laziness or malice of the developers that have made little to no effort to correct their errors, and offered nothing in the way of explanation or apology for those who wasted full-price on a game that shouldn't have even been released.
    Expand
  48. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    This is unacceptable.This game is unplayable after 40 hours,and lots of quests can't be done because of bugs.The frame drops are so constant that you can't continue.But Bethesda knew about these issues specific to the PS3 prior to release, which is why they did not give game review sites copies of the PS3 version. Surely some of these sites would have played beyond the ~6MB save fileThis is unacceptable.This game is unplayable after 40 hours,and lots of quests can't be done because of bugs.The frame drops are so constant that you can't continue.But Bethesda knew about these issues specific to the PS3 prior to release, which is why they did not give game review sites copies of the PS3 version. Surely some of these sites would have played beyond the ~6MB save file limit, encountered major performance problems, and gave this game a 0.This is really a disgrace by Bethesda and is a total insult to fans of the series. Expand
  49. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.Skyrim suffers from serious problems.Unfortunately, these problems aren't very evident in the early hours, leading players to put in a lot of wasted time on a game they will wish they never started or had purchased.There are huge frame drops after your save file hits a certain number of MBs and after that say goodbye to your game,it becomes unplayable really...PatchesDO NOT BUY THIS GAME.Skyrim suffers from serious problems.Unfortunately, these problems aren't very evident in the early hours, leading players to put in a lot of wasted time on a game they will wish they never started or had purchased.There are huge frame drops after your save file hits a certain number of MBs and after that say goodbye to your game,it becomes unplayable really...Patches or tips won't help much and other bugs make matters worse Expand
  50. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    Could be the best RPG ever, but it is far from it due to the fact it is unplayable. Lag became too much for me after about 25hours, barely even scratched the surface of what the game has to offer before it broke. Shouldn't be sold as a playable game until all issues are addressed.
  51. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    Somewhere i have read "This game will surely pick up Game of the Year awards by sites who have been paid off in advertising dollars." and i agree completely.Unfortunately,this game is BROKEN.It has so many bugs and frame drops that it ends up being unplayable.It could be a wonderful game but this is not the case...
  52. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    First and foremost,if you have already order this game and you can cancel,do it now,because you will regret it later.Skyrim supposed to be the RPG of the year,for me one of the decade and i really believed it was until i had the first heavy frame drop.That's after that point my game became unplayable,and i coudn't do nothing to save it.I tried autosaves off,cleaning space to my HDD,noFirst and foremost,if you have already order this game and you can cancel,do it now,because you will regret it later.Skyrim supposed to be the RPG of the year,for me one of the decade and i really believed it was until i had the first heavy frame drop.That's after that point my game became unplayable,and i coudn't do nothing to save it.I tried autosaves off,cleaning space to my HDD,no nothing helped.I 've read about SSD drives but it's not worth to get one,it was Bethesda's duty to offer us a playable game,i don't care if it was bad or good,i wanted to be playable and it's not.A 0 for me. Expand
  53. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    This game is broken for PS3 and is a ticking time bomb for becoming unplayable. For me this took 60 hours and it will vary for all users. Do not buy this game in its current form as you are just throwing your hard earned dollars down the drain and into the coffers of Bethesda.
  54. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    shame
    Bethesda sells a broken game, does not give any explanation and worst they knew that sold an unfinished game...
    42 days have passed, zero replies, zero solutions.
  55. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    Runs fine at first, but then turns into a stuttering slide-show mess complete with random freezes. And this is on top of the hundreds of broken quests that leave you angry enough to go on the internet and complain.
  56. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    **** this ****en fairytale game who the **** wants to fight with little ****en trolls dont buy this game its for little **** also why is this game of the year it should not even be in the top 100000000000000 games
  57. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    This game is broken,avoid it in any case.To release a game that has this type of game breaking bug,it's absurd.The game drops way down to a 0/10, as it becomes unplayable after you reach a certain save file size.
  58. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Skyrim has been getting nominations for game of the year, I think it would deserve it but there are some major problems.After a certain point the game becomes a little laggy. Then it gets worse.Finally,it gets painful to even attempt playing due to huge frame drops
  59. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Why this happened?Skyrim, has enjoyed massive sales, skewing reviews, and growing condemnation from irate gamers and a limited number of gaming publications and sites, late to the party, due to an avalanche of bugs and broken content.On the PS3 situation is beyond of being unplayable.Many users and reviewers have touted argumentation that a game with as much vision as Skyrim would be boundWhy this happened?Skyrim, has enjoyed massive sales, skewing reviews, and growing condemnation from irate gamers and a limited number of gaming publications and sites, late to the party, due to an avalanche of bugs and broken content.On the PS3 situation is beyond of being unplayable.Many users and reviewers have touted argumentation that a game with as much vision as Skyrim would be bound to have anomalies and glitches. Expand
  60. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    Skyrim could have been a masterpiece. Beautiful scenery, phenomenal quests, fantastic controls, and an intriguing storyline, that is, until you reach the bugs. The lag makes the game absolutely unplayable. After constant hard resets, soft resets, and creating over ten characters, I'm calling this game and Bethesda, a disgrace. It's utterly unbelievable that a company could release such anSkyrim could have been a masterpiece. Beautiful scenery, phenomenal quests, fantastic controls, and an intriguing storyline, that is, until you reach the bugs. The lag makes the game absolutely unplayable. After constant hard resets, soft resets, and creating over ten characters, I'm calling this game and Bethesda, a disgrace. It's utterly unbelievable that a company could release such an unfinished product. They didn't even preview the game on the PS3! They claim to have tested it many times with bots for weeks to find any bugs. How in the world could that be possible when I can create a character and in less than an hour, be plagued by them? This has happened with Oblivion, Fallout, and now Skyrim. It took them nearly a year to fix most of the bugs in Oblivion, yet there are some that they still have not fixed and have given up on. Get your crap together Bethesda and do what is right by the consumer. If this isn't fixed soon, it will undoubtedly be the last product I will every buy from Bethesda. Expand
  61. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    There so many problems in the PS3 version and they are so serious that it's as if we, the customers, paid to be Bethesda's beta testers... because its obvious very little time was spent on the PS3 "port" prior to release. And to top it all off, the more time you spend playing the game, the further you get, and the larger your save file grows... the choppier and less playable the gameThere so many problems in the PS3 version and they are so serious that it's as if we, the customers, paid to be Bethesda's beta testers... because its obvious very little time was spent on the PS3 "port" prior to release. And to top it all off, the more time you spend playing the game, the further you get, and the larger your save file grows... the choppier and less playable the game becomes. To the point where the game becomes an unplayable slideshow.Don't buy this game Expand
  62. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    You will love this game but not for too long...After some time 20,30,60.70 hours it doesn't matter,you will regret buying it.Trust me.I 've enjoyed ths game so much but not any more.It became unplayable.Patch 1.3 didn't fix anything and patch 1.4 won't make difference because i'll sell it.I am done with Skyrim.
  63. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    Please do not be fooled by the critic reviews. There are so many bugs to the Playstation 3 version of Skyrim. Bethesda does not care about it at all. If you happen to own an Xbox as well as a Playstation 3, get Skyrim for the Xbox.
  64. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    They stole my money with one game that doesn't work after 1 GB of saving!! And I have to reset the console many times... I would like my money back!!
  65. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    Game of the year? Studio of the year?

    Yeah, while all of Bethesda's PS3 fans are sitting on their $60 coaster, they are on a nice vacation over the holidays. Why should they care that they knowingly sold a broken product, they already have our money. Absolutely pathetic. This version of the game deserves nothing more than a 0. It is unplayable. Anyone giving it a higher score has either
    Game of the year? Studio of the year?

    Yeah, while all of Bethesda's PS3 fans are sitting on their $60 coaster, they are on a nice vacation over the holidays. Why should they care that they knowingly sold a broken product, they already have our money.

    Absolutely pathetic. This version of the game deserves nothing more than a 0. It is unplayable. Anyone giving it a higher score has either never played the PS3 version, or hasn't played it long enough to realize it's completely broken.

    Bethesda can fix this game with another patch (Or they'll face lawsuits), but it doesn't matter. They've already shown how incompetent and uncaring they are towards their fans.
    Expand
  66. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    I can not in good conscience recommend this game to anyone for the ps3. Do a simple search for Skyrim ps3 and see how many people suffer from the 'isolated' lag issue only a 'few people are experiencing'. It is not a matter of if you will face these problems it's a matter of when.

    I've had the game since 11/11/11. It was amazing at the beginning but has deteriorated into a picture
    I can not in good conscience recommend this game to anyone for the ps3. Do a simple search for Skyrim ps3 and see how many people suffer from the 'isolated' lag issue only a 'few people are experiencing'. It is not a matter of if you will face these problems it's a matter of when.

    I've had the game since 11/11/11. It was amazing at the beginning but has deteriorated into a picture slideshow. It's impossible to navigate through any of the cities with the lag hitting even out in the wilderness nowhere near any hold.

    The fixes to help gameplay? Turn off auto-save? I would not recommend this as the game will regularly freeze at loading screens causing a data loss based on how long it's been since the last manual save.

    I believe Bethesda knew of this problem. 1. Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas, using a similar engine and supervised by Bethesda, had the same problems with lag later in the game. The problem was never fixed.

    2. Reviewers, such as IGN, received PC and XBOX-360 copies of Skyrim only. No-one was given a copy of the PS3 to try prior to release.

    Three patches so far and the problem persists. I fear that if their record holds true the lag will never be fixed, we will simply see 'working to improve' or 'attempting to reduce' lag, so that when it fails they can simply say at the end of the day 'we tried'. Do not buy this.
    Expand
  67. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Don't buy this game. It won't work properly and you'll be left feeling ripped off, betrayed and frustrated. I will happily rescind my rating when the game-breaking bugs are patched, but until then, this game deserves nothing more than a big fat donut.
  68. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    It was highly unethical for Bethesda to release this as a PS3 port, they should be stripped of their business licence! The game is utterly unplayable, and this AFTER becoming thoroughly hooked to it's infectious gameplay!
  69. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely broken for the PlayStation. Anyone with a decent gaming rig should be hard pressed to buy this game for PC before they consider buying this for PlayStation. The problem is not with the game itself but rather with the huge amount of game breaking bugs that it contains. If your save file size gets past about 8 megs you should expect to experience significant lag inThis game is absolutely broken for the PlayStation. Anyone with a decent gaming rig should be hard pressed to buy this game for PC before they consider buying this for PlayStation. The problem is not with the game itself but rather with the huge amount of game breaking bugs that it contains. If your save file size gets past about 8 megs you should expect to experience significant lag in the gameplay which makes the game just about unplayable. To give you an idea of how long it takes to get to that size of a save file I would say that it comes to about 4 hours of gameplay. Obviously no where near enough time to explore everything this game has to offer. Anyone who has ever played games by this developer will know that this are problems that continue to pop up in every title they release. Next time, SERIOUSLY wait a few days to see if a Bethesda game is worth getting because so far every game I have ever bought from them ends up containing game breaking lag.I have only played the game for a few hours since I can't get any further and I am seriously disappointed and wish I had my money back. Expand
  70. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    Played Elder Scrolls since ES1: Arena. This will be my last. Game is broken on PS3 and I'm out $60. Done with Bethesda. Will buy from game companies that actually know how to develop games that work. I don't think buying the game and having to wait for a patch to be able to play it is viable. This game should not have been released.
  71. Jan 17, 2012
    0
    I swear to god, I´ll never buy a Bethesda game again, you know why? Because they are pros in creating a big fu***ing hype for a game that s*cks and then just leave it there. I spent 60 bucks on this broken game and I don´t see Bethesa working to solve the PS3 lag issue. They just don´t care, just leave the st*pid gamer that invested his money on theirI swear to god, I´ll never buy a Bethesda game again, you know why? Because they are pros in creating a big fu***ing hype for a game that s*cks and then just leave it there. I spent 60 bucks on this broken game and I don´t see Bethesa working to solve the PS3 lag issue. They just don´t care, just leave the st*pid gamer that invested his money on their game and start developing another piece of f**king sh*t game. Skyrim is not fun, even without the lag issue it would still s*ck big time, the game is repetitive and superficial. I hope Bethesda burns for what they did to us. Expand
  72. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    Horribly broken , boring game for PS3. I have no clue why people from PC are reviewing PS3 version, so you can ignore those reviews as they're not for the PS3 version. Beth has once again released a BROKEN port to the PS3, showcasing their ineptitude at coding for PS3. Waste of 60 bucks, waiting for a fix THAT THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO! Go check the forums or Fallout 3, they NEVER fixedHorribly broken , boring game for PS3. I have no clue why people from PC are reviewing PS3 version, so you can ignore those reviews as they're not for the PS3 version. Beth has once again released a BROKEN port to the PS3, showcasing their ineptitude at coding for PS3. Waste of 60 bucks, waiting for a fix THAT THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO! Go check the forums or Fallout 3, they NEVER fixed it and abandoned it. PLus they're rude to customers asking for answers , very arrogant bunch of people. GOTY pfff, wonder how much that cost? Maybe it is on other platforms, but now we see why they DIDN'T give any review site PS3 copies!! They just wrote reviews based on the 360 and PC. Expand
  73. Jan 29, 2012
    0
    critics need to start being held accountable for giving great reviews on absolute broken piece of **** wasted my time with this game and my money thanks to the critics, this came doesnt deserve a score of 100 ever!!!!
  74. Feb 2, 2012
    0
    The game is unforgivably buggy. Unless you got lucky with your PS3 and had a Hard Drive fast enough you are stuck with unplayable lag that Bethesda had to be aware of. I was lucky and had a fast Solid State Drive but that just means that I had to endure a fair amount of hard locks later in the game. The final nail in the coffin though was the final boss fight was just a repeated easierThe game is unforgivably buggy. Unless you got lucky with your PS3 and had a Hard Drive fast enough you are stuck with unplayable lag that Bethesda had to be aware of. I was lucky and had a fast Solid State Drive but that just means that I had to endure a fair amount of hard locks later in the game. The final nail in the coffin though was the final boss fight was just a repeated easier boss fight from earlier in the game. Expand
  75. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    This game is absolute garbage in its current condition. I made a metacritic account for the sole purpose of making prospective buyers aware of the total garbage they could be purchasing

    Great game - but completely unplayable on the ps3
  76. Feb 29, 2012
    0
    Shallow, boring, buggy mess that bribed it's way to the top. I played it for 60 hours and never gonna take it in the hands again. The quest writing is disaster it's as boring as it can get. The story is one of the dumbest stories I ever saw in RPGs. It's poor mainstream game made, that doesn't stand to the name of ES
  77. Feb 22, 2012
    0
    so disappointed.. it's a dismal game and fuil of bugs.. no good characters... storyline is nothing.. everything looks like it's copied into all the other quests..extremely repetitive.. can't finish quests.. it's really one of the worst i've played.. what happened?? i loved oblivion.. wasted $60+taxes..
  78. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    Mix the animations of Fallout 3 (2008), the Engine of Oblivion (2007), a big world full of uninteresting stuff to do and with no impact in the game's universe and you get Skyrim.

    I would give 1 for the Soundtrack, but the Bugs represent such a disrespect for the gamer (that many people seem to forget that it's a consumer afterall). In my very first attempt to play it i've got really
    Mix the animations of Fallout 3 (2008), the Engine of Oblivion (2007), a big world full of uninteresting stuff to do and with no impact in the game's universe and you get Skyrim.

    I would give 1 for the Soundtrack, but the Bugs represent such a disrespect for the gamer (that many people seem to forget that it's a consumer afterall).
    In my very first attempt to play it i've got really upset. After i've pimped up my character and chosen it's race, he's conducted to a death penalty. While i'm waiting for my head to sliced a dragon appears, and everyone runs... and i'm waiting to get control of the character, and i've waited almost 10 minutes. Even if the Dragon was cliping it wings in front of me giving me a hope that it's suppose to be like that, i just gave up after 10m.

    After 1 year ladies and germs, the PS3 version still faces issues.

    Game of the Year of 2008 perhaps... but never in 2011... not in my book (Fallout won in 2008 with better design and a plot much more interesting than Skyrim). But well... it seems that are a lot of guys that need to live a second life to compensate their lack of skills in other social departments. And i'm possibly one of those dudes, but please feed me something good. The RPG genre evolved with the concept of Skyrim, but the execution doesn't live up to the expectations and it's a shame.

    Neverthless... it's GOTY of 2008, so it should be mandatory for any real gamer to try it.
    I know i will... in 2013, when the number of bugs are reduced to 162.
    Expand
  79. May 7, 2012
    0
    Complete BS on how Spike VGA's gave this game "GOTY" where it was broken on the PS3 version. I'm getting sick and tired of this company and their glitch fest's. Skyrim fans are just as bad as the Call of Duty fans..
  80. May 20, 2012
    0
    Ohhee mah gawd! Dis gaeme is sawh klicthee like der r zo man3 bugz i ceant evne play da gam cuz it so bugge bad gam! dew note bi it!!!!!!!8 it so bad it dum zo bugge
  81. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    DO NOT, under any circumstances buy this game for the PS3, unless it's $20 or below. This is the worst version out to date, and it's funny how these pig headed publishers/Bethesda still prices this game as the 360 version. This game is still plague with major problems even with the patch. There still sound bugs, freezing, getting stuck in walls, and cracks, flying animals, glitches,DO NOT, under any circumstances buy this game for the PS3, unless it's $20 or below. This is the worst version out to date, and it's funny how these pig headed publishers/Bethesda still prices this game as the 360 version. This game is still plague with major problems even with the patch. There still sound bugs, freezing, getting stuck in walls, and cracks, flying animals, glitches, animation issues, must I go on? If your smart with your money, you'll wait for a dramatic price drop, or a complete edition for cheap, or just avoid this game on the PS3 all together. WTF are these main critics doing giving this a 9-10 for the PS3 version is beyond my understanding. Don't buy into the lies. Expand
  82. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    If you play this game before you play Oblivion, it's a ten. If you play Oblivion, Skyrim is as boring as hell. This game has fantastic graphics, of gray, gray and more gray. The quests are plentiful, but dull. Kill bandits, vampires, etc. but nothing intresting. In Oblivion, the vast variety of quests was amazing, from uncovering the secrets of a merchant with low prices, to the who dunnitIf you play this game before you play Oblivion, it's a ten. If you play Oblivion, Skyrim is as boring as hell. This game has fantastic graphics, of gray, gray and more gray. The quests are plentiful, but dull. Kill bandits, vampires, etc. but nothing intresting. In Oblivion, the vast variety of quests was amazing, from uncovering the secrets of a merchant with low prices, to the who dunnit style quest from the Dark Brotherhood. Skyrim as a better combat system, dazziling gray, and an addiction factor. The bugs don't bother me, but it's the fact that after I got the platinum trophy I felt like nothing had changed. You never make any progress, the plot is foolish, and the gimick of dragons added nothing to the gameplay. This is coming from someone who invested 500 hours into Skyrim, then played Oblivion, I wish I never played oblivion, if I hadn't I could still love Skyrim. Expand
  83. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    I was extremely excited for Skyrim and it is one of the very few games I have ever bought on day 1. However, while Skyrim many be an incredible game on other platforms, the simple fact that Bethesda released Skyrim on PS3 is a joke, but not funny. Skyrim is a hopeless mess. It is extremely buggy (glitches that prevent players from completing or even starting quests are absurdly common),I was extremely excited for Skyrim and it is one of the very few games I have ever bought on day 1. However, while Skyrim many be an incredible game on other platforms, the simple fact that Bethesda released Skyrim on PS3 is a joke, but not funny. Skyrim is a hopeless mess. It is extremely buggy (glitches that prevent players from completing or even starting quests are absurdly common), but for such an amazing base game, I would overlook those bugs. However, it also freezes constantly. The larger my save file got, the more it frequently it froze. Just when I was completely into playing Skyrim, when it was fast becoming one of my favorite video games of all time, the freezing got so bad that I had to stop playing. Some days, it would be freezing up once every five minutes, and that is not an exaggeration. I had to save constantly to keep from losing progress, and I wound up spending 40% of my time with Skyrim actually playing the game, and 60% of my time with Skyrim rebooting my PS3 after it froze, saving to avoid losing too much progress, or watching loading screens. Which brings me to another problem. Loading screens in Skyrim pop up very frequently and are unacceptably long, far longer than loading screens in previous Bethesda PS3 games like Fallout 3, leading me to believe long loading screens are not the result of Bethesda being unable to fix the problem, but rather the result of them being too lazy to do so. Skyrim should have been delayed. Sure, everyone who was going to buy the PS3 version, myself included, would have complained about it, but at the end of the day, we would have realized that if Bethesda delayed Skyrim, they did it because they had more work to do and the delay would make the final product better. Instead of delaying Skyrim, Bethesda shipped an incomplete, shoddy mess of a game. And then, did they do what they did with Fallout: New Vegas- patch it into a playable state? No. They released a few patches that fixed a few of the countless glitches and dealt with the lag, but they did nothing about the constant freezing, the absurd loading times, or the vast majority of the glitches. Now, the number of patches Bethesda releases has tapered off dramatically. Why? Maybe because Bethesda cares less about working on fixing their broken product and more about milking more profits from DLC, which PS3 owners didn't get. We missed Dawnguard and Hearthfire completely. We're getting Dragonborn, but, frankly, I am not that excited. All Dragonborn is is Bethesda trying to get PS3 owners to pay more money to get more shoddy product. Also, every Bethesda employee working on Skyrim DLC is an employee who should be working on game patches instead. Glitches, freezes, no DLC- Skyrim on the PS3 is a gamer nightmare. Expand
  84. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    the story its cool but when you start playing it you get stuck, they dont help you, like most of the gamers hate the long quests like if you are on x place the quest says you need to go to y place or like a place 500miles away from you.
  85. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Skyrim has gathered a wealth of acclaim since it was released. Acclaim that would lead a gamer to believe this game is as close to perfect as it can get. It clearly is not.
    The main plot of Skyrim can be summed up in three words; 'You kill dragons'. That's it. The game makes a damn fine effort to cover up this most lackluster plot by putting a plethora of side quests and explorable areas
    Skyrim has gathered a wealth of acclaim since it was released. Acclaim that would lead a gamer to believe this game is as close to perfect as it can get. It clearly is not.
    The main plot of Skyrim can be summed up in three words; 'You kill dragons'. That's it. The game makes a damn fine effort to cover up this most lackluster plot by putting a plethora of side quests and explorable areas into the game. They seem neat at first, but quickly become 'run through dungeon, grab items, use shortcut at the end to exit.' There are a few unique ones that really held my attention but the majority bored me.
    The game play is mediocre at best. Though it promises to be varied by offering a few different approaches, it quickly becomes an annoyance. It only becomes interesting once you get to a high level and enemies become more resistant to your best skills. But then, this is after at least twenty hours of playing and what's the point of levelling up if enemies counter skills you focus on.
    The soundtrack was largely forgettable and the voice acting is laughable.
    Everything feels so rigid in Skyrim. I am constantly reminded I am playing a game, by completely uninteresting NPCs with the same VO, lackluster gameplay and glitches. Skyrim isn't the worst game, far from it in fact. It's an average game filled with average content that begs your attention but ultimately fails to hold it.
    Expand
  86. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    0. It's broken. IT DOES NOT WORK. The game breaks itself more every patch and nothing seems to get fixed. The combat is boring and repetitive, and that is 50% of the game right there. Skills are all but useless, magic and shouts render everything just plain brokenly easy, there is no specialization, the story could have been great but was poorly executed, the voice actors were awful, the0. It's broken. IT DOES NOT WORK. The game breaks itself more every patch and nothing seems to get fixed. The combat is boring and repetitive, and that is 50% of the game right there. Skills are all but useless, magic and shouts render everything just plain brokenly easy, there is no specialization, the story could have been great but was poorly executed, the voice actors were awful, the civil war aspect was so shallow and boring that it should have been removed, there is no character development being as dialogue is basically "yes/no" and "good/also good". there was NO choice in the story, crafting and alchemy were there only for the sake of existing, and the game crashed frequently.
    Overall, two words describe this game: broken, and stupid. It is broken, the game is both buggy and poorly designed at best. Also, it has no depth. Your character is a cardboard cut out, the story is rushed through, it is FAR too easy, and for some reason carries none of the great changes made in Fallout 3 and New Vegas from Oblivion. This game is awful, do not even pirate this game (if you maybe want the PC version), it is not worth the hard drive space.
    Expand
  87. Sep 19, 2013
    0
    C'est moche, y a des bugs de partout, un monde ouvert WHAAA un MONDE OUVERT OU y a rien... les combat pas épique pour deux sous, des animation de combat mais y a 2 a l'épée!! coup vertical et coup horizontal!! l'histoire ce contredit, et la difficulté fait peine a voir.On s ennuis mais avec c'est dragons en carton qui meurt alors qu'on frappe comme un débile a 1métre de la patte duC'est moche, y a des bugs de partout, un monde ouvert WHAAA un MONDE OUVERT OU y a rien... les combat pas épique pour deux sous, des animation de combat mais y a 2 a l'épée!! coup vertical et coup horizontal!! l'histoire ce contredit, et la difficulté fait peine a voir.On s ennuis mais avec c'est dragons en carton qui meurt alors qu'on frappe comme un débile a 1métre de la patte du dragon qui...fait rien pour te tuer de toute façon..voila 0/10 Expand
  88. Apr 6, 2015
    0
    What the **** is this **** And just to think that I spent 20 euros on this ****ing game. I throught my 15 years I only have heard good things about Elder Scrolls. But no! This game is **** there I said. I mean this game is totally messed up. It´s a game from 2011 but it´s graphics make it look like it is from 2003! I mean even Ride to Hell: Retribution has better graphics than this ****What the **** is this **** And just to think that I spent 20 euros on this ****ing game. I throught my 15 years I only have heard good things about Elder Scrolls. But no! This game is **** there I said. I mean this game is totally messed up. It´s a game from 2011 but it´s graphics make it look like it is from 2003! I mean even Ride to Hell: Retribution has better graphics than this **** and is one of the worst games ever! It´s gameplay is totally ****ed up, there is no tutorial explaining you fully what you can do, the only tutorial in the game is reserved to walking and fighting, that´s the only things the tutorial at the beginning teaches you! The combat is BROKEN, BROKEN, like the rest of the game. You have a hard time just aiming to strike the enemy. Another thing, if I might ask why is this game a Pegi 18? For Christ`s sake, this game isn`t bloody nor violent, it is so dissapointing to be mad of a frachise that probably is better than this. I resolved to give a chance to Elder Scrolls, I did. I swear that I did .Perhaps the main reason that I didn`t understood the story was because I had never previously playded an Elder Scrolls game, but that is no excuse. The developers need to be ready for this situations! There Elder Scrolls are not in every supermarket or in every game store, so the developers need to find a way to briefe in the beginning of the game of what happened in the previous ones, am I wrong? Not to mention, the ****ing bugs and glitchs. Really my advise to you people out there that want to buy this game, forget it. Save your money for other things, I mean, buy another RPG, like Dragon Age, that is infinitly superior to this abomanation! Stay far away as possible from the game. And of course needless to say that I didn´t even playde an hour of this game, because all this problems that I mentioned can be found in the first half hour, even less. Jus don`t be fool as I was, save your money and buy other games, GOOD GAMES! As for you critics of the 100% and 10 out of 10 I would like so much to make you buy game for twice the amount of money I paid for. It was 20 euros, 20 euros and I had a great Lego game beside it. IT`S **** THERE I SAID! Expand
  89. Sep 7, 2014
    0
    this is game has a ton of glitches. very bad combat. graphics are fairly good but thats compromised by the glitches. this is definitely an overrated game. many critics giving a perfect score, so im leveling that up with my score 0/10.
  90. Sep 22, 2014
    0
    Unkillable NPCs. Unkillable NPCs. Unkillable NPCs. Unkillable NPCs. Unkillable NPCs. Unkillable NPCs.

    Score Breakdown: Unkillable NPCs -100/10, Total Score 0/10
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]