User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2555 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I don't know how good or bad this game is on PC, and I don't know why there are PC Reviewers on the PS3 page. Skyrim on PS3 is amazing and I am having a ton of fun playing it and creating my character how I want to play him. I can't wait to play it again with a different type of character. Very few games can give you this many hours of gameplay. Buy it!!
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    To me this game is the pinnacle of RPG gaming this generation. Everything about it is above and beyond what was great about Oblivion and Morrowind. For the people concerned that the new "streamlining" has removed RPG depth, I can say that I didn't experience that at all. The leveling and perk systems are deep and varied and have significant effects on gameplay- much more so than some ofTo me this game is the pinnacle of RPG gaming this generation. Everything about it is above and beyond what was great about Oblivion and Morrowind. For the people concerned that the new "streamlining" has removed RPG depth, I can say that I didn't experience that at all. The leveling and perk systems are deep and varied and have significant effects on gameplay- much more so than some of the aspects of leveling in Oblivion. If you are a PC gamer you will no doubt be waiting anxiously for mods to alter the user interface, but if that's the case leave your bad reviews for the PC version. For the consoles, the menu scheme is terrific and a HUGE improvement over Oblivion. The game is huge, it's as beautiful as it can possibly be using the old console hardware, the quests are varied and much more fleshed out than in Oblivion. Easily a 10/10 and my choice for Game of the Year for 2011. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is considered a legend in the world and we need more like this game on ps3 and xbox 360 and pc !!
    waaooooooooooo best game RPG
    This game is considered a legend in the world and we need more like this game on ps3 and xbox 360 and pc !!
    waaooooooooooo best game RPG
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is fan-fuggin-tastic! If you love the series and or Bethesda RPG games you will definitely love this game! This game is better than expected. All the negative reviews I have read so far are about minor little things that people have blown out of proportion. Some glitches do exist but as a gamer I accept these and sometimes have fun with them (like the flying in the air one,This game is fan-fuggin-tastic! If you love the series and or Bethesda RPG games you will definitely love this game! This game is better than expected. All the negative reviews I have read so far are about minor little things that people have blown out of proportion. Some glitches do exist but as a gamer I accept these and sometimes have fun with them (like the flying in the air one, that's just funny and kinda cool the view you get!) Others like freezing and texture issues are minor. I had the game freeze in the opening sequence, but I restarted and it has worked great ever since. I didn't let a minor occurrence ruin anything that this wonderful game has to offer. The graphics aren't the best in the biz but the best in the series. The lighting is finally quite gorgeous for the series and adds a visual bonus (some shadows!). Combat is actually quite good and fun. Duel wielding isn't as polished as say bioshock but I have never thought it was broken or awful. The menu took a bit to get used to but now I am popping in and out of it on the fly and using the favorites like none other. The locations are fantastic and the story is great. This is one of the best games out there to date and if you skip over this title you are missing a huge experience that surprises you around every mountain peak. So I say go buy this game (rent only if you can keep for a month minimum) and enjoy it, play it and experience it. Don't cry that your game froze once and a single texture was blurry or not loaded. Because all games have issues and this one is no different. So overall it's not perfect in every possible way but it is still 99% there. so i give the game a 9.9 since it isn't perfect. But that rounds up to 10. so 10/10 because I am having too much fun playing Skyrim instead of whining over minor annoyances. That's all, I can't wait to get back into it after writing this. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Im playing the game since yestarday ... and i must say that is incredible ! No dought ! Is goty 2011, big map, big history, all is big, all work, all have life, i love this game! Goty 2011!!!
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I love videogames. I love a LOT of videogames actually, in fact I am the kind of guy who gives perfect scores out pretty easily I mean just this year, Dark Souls, Deus ex, Uncharted, and Portal. They were all phenomenal in my eyes, but Skyrim is just everything I love about videogames on a whole nother level. It is not the perfect game but to hell with the idea ofI love this game. I love videogames. I love a LOT of videogames actually, in fact I am the kind of guy who gives perfect scores out pretty easily I mean just this year, Dark Souls, Deus ex, Uncharted, and Portal. They were all phenomenal in my eyes, but Skyrim is just everything I love about videogames on a whole nother level. It is not the perfect game but to hell with the idea of perfection, I love this game. If you hate this game, I love this game. I have never loved a game this much in my life. Don't just take my word for it, the love is everywhere. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    The only Elder Scrolls game I had played before Skyrim was Morrowind, and I hated it. Luckily, Skyrim is amazing and I love it. Immense world, limitless things to do, so many ways to play the game, good perk and leveling system, fun combat... so good. I played Skyrim for a week straight and still want more.
    My only complaints would be the few bugs and that the melee combat still feels too
    The only Elder Scrolls game I had played before Skyrim was Morrowind, and I hated it. Luckily, Skyrim is amazing and I love it. Immense world, limitless things to do, so many ways to play the game, good perk and leveling system, fun combat... so good. I played Skyrim for a week straight and still want more.
    My only complaints would be the few bugs and that the melee combat still feels too much like you're just trading blows instead of stylishly fighting. Overall, amazing game. One of my favorites of all time.
    Expand
  8. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    First off, I put over 135 hours into this game so far and the game runs as good as the first day that I started playing it. -This is most likely because of the update that I installed recently, but it's also because I create a new save file every-time that I save until I run out of save slots and simply start overwriting them-. Anyways, aside from what most "user" critics say, Skyrim in myFirst off, I put over 135 hours into this game so far and the game runs as good as the first day that I started playing it. -This is most likely because of the update that I installed recently, but it's also because I create a new save file every-time that I save until I run out of save slots and simply start overwriting them-. Anyways, aside from what most "user" critics say, Skyrim in my opinion feels like the smoothest game to come from Bethesda in a very long time (smother than Oblivion and Fallout). Now there are a few bugs, but that barley even scratches the surface of this masterpiece. The graphics are better, the main story feels more significant, and combat has even improved. So honestly I would give this game atleast an 8-9 considering the minor flaws, but seriously? Even if Skyrim's bug were as bad as people claim they are, giving a game like this a 0 is just childish nonsense. Grow up people. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    Stunning. From the first scene to the very last. The game is so expansive You don't need to play the main quest. You don't even need to play ANY quests. The graphics and sound are exquisite . The magic system is awesome and the world is very believable. If I had to pick out negatives. I'd say the combat system ( especially when using weapons) is clunky. The menu system is not as fluid asStunning. From the first scene to the very last. The game is so expansive You don't need to play the main quest. You don't even need to play ANY quests. The graphics and sound are exquisite . The magic system is awesome and the world is very believable. If I had to pick out negatives. I'd say the combat system ( especially when using weapons) is clunky. The menu system is not as fluid as it could be. If they had employed the hot key system that Fallout had then It would have been a lot simpler and useable. The main menu system in regard to levelling up IS useful and visually absorbing however. The game difficulty is a strange one. At first I found it too hard , now most encounters are far too easy. Yes I could raise the difficulty , but that would mean the one or two characters that I do meet who are very powerful would seem unbalanced. Dragons are not nearly as powerful as I had anticipated. I do have a team of four however and my character levelled up greatly in his wanderings before I even started the main missions. Perhaps to my detriment as I now find even bosses to be a two second affair. Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Before i begin, i need to say that for all of those who have problems with the game lagging and freezing, there is a light for you. Bethesda heard your complaints and have announced a patch to fix it after Thanksgiving. Now, I should start by saying i wasn't the biggest fan of Oblivion. I didn't hate it, but i got it late, this year actually for the 5th anniversary. I saw what Skyrim wasBefore i begin, i need to say that for all of those who have problems with the game lagging and freezing, there is a light for you. Bethesda heard your complaints and have announced a patch to fix it after Thanksgiving. Now, I should start by saying i wasn't the biggest fan of Oblivion. I didn't hate it, but i got it late, this year actually for the 5th anniversary. I saw what Skyrim was doing and got excited to see if they would deliver that fantasy experience that Lord of the Rings got me into when i was a kid. And im happy to say it did, every bit of it. It toke everything that I though Oblivion did ok at and made it great. Character animations are more natural, but still a bit stiff, though i let that pass when i can kick a Drugars ass in a cave. The open world feeling is there, with beautiful environments and sounds that are a joy to just sit back and listen to. Combat is miles above Oblivions, with hit detection, blood on your weapon of choice and some final finishes strait from Fallout 3, one of my all time favorite games. Magic is more fun in this game than any i have played, and a level up system that is much more natural than The Elder Scrolls past games. The story is very good as well, with some memorable characters and fantastic moments. Side missions can range from the simple retrieve this and that, to crazy "Didn't see that coming" missions. The only thing i can say that is wrong that DOESN'T involve small glitches that Bethesda is working on is some of the textures. This is a big picture game, and that big picture is amazing. But get up close to a mountain and tree and you can see the polygons and rough edges.Though the game isn't meant to be examined up close, its meant for you to look out over a cliff and see the mist at the top of a mountain, or the gloom of a cave. The only way you can hate this game is to go out and find the glitches, but sometimes a game is made from the glitches and laughing about them. Skyrim is the love letter from Bethesda. Did you love Oblivion? Here is a better story, graphics, combat, pretty much everything that is still the game you love. Did you love Fallout 3? We have the questing, finishers, and feel from that game. Did you love Fallout: New Vegas? We have the weight feel and spectacular writing from that game as well. A truly amazing game, one that you shouldn't hate because of its few short-comings, but should be loved for listening to the customer and giving them what they have wanted for 5 long years. Expand
  11. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Yes it lags. No I don't care. It doesn't matter because it's an amazing game. I have been absorbed into this game and I can't get out. It doesn't matter that there are glitches. I still deserves a 10/10 because in NO way can it get a 0 very VERY few games deserve a 0. IGN haven't ever given out a 0. What did you do? Plan this attack? Did you all decide to dislike it at once? Listen.Yes it lags. No I don't care. It doesn't matter because it's an amazing game. I have been absorbed into this game and I can't get out. It doesn't matter that there are glitches. I still deserves a 10/10 because in NO way can it get a 0 very VERY few games deserve a 0. IGN haven't ever given out a 0. What did you do? Plan this attack? Did you all decide to dislike it at once? Listen.
    Graphics: 9.0
    Sound: 10
    Story: 9.0
    Presentation: 8.5
    Length: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    You can do anything at all. I don't know what I'll get other than hates but I'll still say it: Game of the Year.
    Expand
  12. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    To the idiot who creates hundreds of user accounts and then posts his 0 rating. Please be a little more creative. Each and every review sounds exactly the same. Glitches, stuttering, broken, ok, yea we got it. I'm sure your proud of yourself that you have completly skewed the rating. You also have way too much time on your hands. Get a life! Oh and by the way, I give Skyrim a 9 rather thanTo the idiot who creates hundreds of user accounts and then posts his 0 rating. Please be a little more creative. Each and every review sounds exactly the same. Glitches, stuttering, broken, ok, yea we got it. I'm sure your proud of yourself that you have completly skewed the rating. You also have way too much time on your hands. Get a life! Oh and by the way, I give Skyrim a 9 rather than a 10 because if the stuttering. Unlike the idiot who sits around all day creating new names I appreciate all the positives the game has to offer. Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    At first, I was REALLY skeptical about whether or not Bethesda could live up to their promises. I played over 150 hours of Oblivion, and I was really absorbed into it. Long story short, once I heard that theme play on the main menu, I knew this game would be amazing. So far, I've put a lot of time into the game and merely scratched the surface. In my opinion, this IS one of the best gamesAt first, I was REALLY skeptical about whether or not Bethesda could live up to their promises. I played over 150 hours of Oblivion, and I was really absorbed into it. Long story short, once I heard that theme play on the main menu, I knew this game would be amazing. So far, I've put a lot of time into the game and merely scratched the surface. In my opinion, this IS one of the best games ever made. It took what Morrowind and Oblivion had added them together in a perfect package. Man, I feel sorry for those COD fans below. I spent longer exploring the world, ignoring the main quest than it took them to complete MW3's. Please, go back to playing your rehashed piece of garbage. I've got a whole world to get back to! Expand
  14. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game lags but as I write this the serious issues have been patched, even before they werent serious. This game is absolutly beautiful and you owe it to yourself to play it
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    the sequel of oblivion is better, bigger ,and more amazing than elder scrolls IV ,dont miss up a dragon or a giant you don´t gonna like it enjey a beatifull , world full of live.
  16. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    ............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................The best adventure game ever made.
  17. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is a difficult game to review. It has been the bearer of the single worst technical glitch that I have ever seen in a game. After I invested a large amount of time in it, the game re-payed me by becoming totally unplayable. The frame-rate dropped to a virtual standstill and the game would crash repeatedly. The result of which led Skyrim to become an unexpected dust-gatherer. But...Skyrim is a difficult game to review. It has been the bearer of the single worst technical glitch that I have ever seen in a game. After I invested a large amount of time in it, the game re-payed me by becoming totally unplayable. The frame-rate dropped to a virtual standstill and the game would crash repeatedly. The result of which led Skyrim to become an unexpected dust-gatherer. But... I recently returned to Skyrim after a few months away to find the problems patched and the game actually playable again. Can I let bygones be bygones? Can I set aside all that frustration and truly accept Skyrim for what it is and not what it once was? If it wasn't one of the best RPG's of all time, the answer would be a huge NO. But it is, so maybe I can. Skyrim offers unparalleled depth and an almost infinite playtime. You can loose yourself in this world for whole days without batting an eye. It is, quite simply, one of the most immersive, brilliant games ever made. Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Its literally breathtaking.

    so youve read the critic reviews which has scored this game in the 10s and 9s . with players finally getting thei hands on this game. Its going to be difficault to pin down everything this game has to offer. Beacuase its so damn huge. The first time i ever played the series was Oblivion , i had just recently purchased a PS3 in 2007, and was looking for the
    Its literally breathtaking.

    so youve read the critic reviews which has scored this game in the 10s and 9s . with players finally getting thei hands on this game. Its going to be difficault to pin down everything this game has to offer.
    Beacuase its so damn huge.

    The first time i ever played the series was Oblivion , i had just recently purchased a PS3 in 2007, and was looking for the best titles available. I picked up oblivion , and RPGs were never my thing. Oblivion elderscrolls IV changed that forever. It took soo many hours from me and my bro, that we would argue over whos turn it was on their. Great game , a great laugh and one of the best titles ever to be released on next generation.

    i loved Bethstedas FALLOUT 3 series too.

    NOW SKYRIM
    after seeing the trailers and the build up to the game, it was certain that this game was going to be improved in every way.

    as soon as i played my first half hour, i saw how much more mature, serious and Epic the game looked, felt and sounded. IT seems much more serious. The game starts with you as a prisnor , i will not spoil the plot lines. But the game kicks off in a overwhelming EPIC fashion.
    You eventually set foot into the world, and you stand their overwhelmed by the gorgeous environemnt, lush trees, and mountain ranges, and the weather and air. The game engrosses you into the world of Skyrim. Next minute you are making your way into your first town.
    At this point i as an experianced RPG player was jaw dropped at how the atmosphere and the look of the game played out.

    The characters no longer are cartoony , they move with much better animations , and talk in a much more manner. At one point it makes you feel part of a large conversation. And it just worked sooo well.

    GAMEPLAY.

    - animations soo much better , its great watching your character fight in third person , and the finishes are satisfying to watch.
    -you now can be more than one class, magic and combat.. you choose you decide.
    -the open world really makes you feel part of the enviornment ,

    GRAPHICS
    -EPIC .......


    SOUND
    EPIC....


    for example you can hear dragons , randomly .... and you will look up ! and around to find nothing. It will scare you ... the sound of beasts lurking in the forests...

    at one point i hear a roar from the sky , and nothing is their ..

    Now you as a person who wants to experiance next gen gaming RPGS...
    this game is going to literally take your mind INTO SKYRIM.. fallout 3 is able to do that , but SKYRIM does it on another level.
    This game is going to give you an experiance.. its going to do what games suppose to do , a form of escapism. for an hour or more, you will not be yourself, you will be your character in SKYRIM.

    ive played the game for two hours, and already im overwhelmed by the amount of story, plot, and the sheer size of the game.
    This is going to keep you for more than a year.. depending how you play it. the DLC . and again creating a new charcter in a new race.

    The games sheer size is literally astounding , im personally taking this journey slower , and much more laid back . I dont want to rush things, its one of those games where you want enjoy fully.

    People complaining about bugs and glitches really are trying hard to find negatives in this game... Bugs and glitche can be eradicated through updates, and these bugs dont even matter when you have a phenomenal world to explore. Of course in a game soo big their are going to be annoying bugs and glitches. However as i learned on oblivion some can be very Funny , espeically talking to some elf whos stuck in the wall.

    SKYRIM is probably one of the best games ever to be made. its phenomenal , this is a gem. i only needed two hours and think to myself ... How did they do this so well. I mean lush enviornments, huge world to explore. gameplay and combat which really has much depth to it. I mean i loved oblivion .. but skyrim improves on everything that oblivion developed. SO after almost 5 years we have a game which really makes oblivion look almost last gen .. its been worth the wait .

    IT NEEDS TO BE PLAYED. ..........
    IT NEEDS TO BE EXPERIANCED. ive played Oblivion, fallout 3 ,FNV, DRAGON AGE.. all great RPGS.. Skyrims looks and atmoshphere take you somewhere else. its an addictive game..... but one you will keep . the only reasons why you wont like this game, is if RPGS are not your type of thing, or you dont like exploration and a deep world. But then you are missing out on a great experiance. And to some of those who say that the game is taking from fallout 3 with swords and magic LOL. seriously i think ive heard similiar rubbish when fallout 3 came out, when it was " Oblivion with guns". complete and utter crap ! . I loved fallout , but this game blows it out the water, the animations , smooth and fluid gameplay. and the graphics, make this game one of the definitive experiances of this generation.
    Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Sure it has bugs, but I cannot conceive of a game with 67,000+ square MILES of explorable terrain that wouldn't. The game is seemingly endless in possibilities; the graphics, sound, gameplay, and combat are unparalleled. This is truly one of the greatest games of all time. Anyone who complains about the bugs is looking for something to be wrong. They do not greatly impact the game atSure it has bugs, but I cannot conceive of a game with 67,000+ square MILES of explorable terrain that wouldn't. The game is seemingly endless in possibilities; the graphics, sound, gameplay, and combat are unparalleled. This is truly one of the greatest games of all time. Anyone who complains about the bugs is looking for something to be wrong. They do not greatly impact the game at any point that I have seen (and I've had the game since release.) If you can overlook a few minor glitches, most of which do not even affect you anyway, this is by far the best RPG I have ever played. Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Skyrim Skyrim Skyrim, a really great game from Bethesda. I love the Nordic World and the Quest. The Witcher 2 an Skyrim are the best RPG of the Year. Thanks Bethesda.
  21. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Possibly the most epic/best game ever made. I've never seen a game as beautiful as Skyrim before. It is even better than I imagined it would be. What makes Skyrim such an epic game? What makes it so damn good? What makes it so damn... beautiful?

    The environment and the soundtracks is so good that you wish you could just live there. As you play, you won't even notice that you've been
    Possibly the most epic/best game ever made. I've never seen a game as beautiful as Skyrim before. It is even better than I imagined it would be. What makes Skyrim such an epic game? What makes it so damn good? What makes it so damn... beautiful?

    The environment and the soundtracks is so good that you wish you could just live there. As you play, you won't even notice that you've been playing for 12 hours straight. Skyrim's not just a game, but another world. I nearly cried at the end of the story line. But even though you have completed the story line, you have PLENTY of other things to do. Go slay some dragons, learn all the shouts, do side-quests, buy a house or get married. Endless possibilities! With over 300+ hours of playtime, I think that this is one of those must have games.

    Haven't you played Skyrim yet? What are you waiting for? Go buy it right now! You won't regret it.
    Expand
  22. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This game is still being played, however on a pc not the ps3 due to lack of support. It is still playable, but there are several broken quests that cannot be completed. This game is so huge it should be rated on a scale of 0..15 not 10. I would still give it a 15 out of 15 because of the sheer beauty of the game on the PS3. it plays a bit soft though, I'm playing at the highest levelThis game is still being played, however on a pc not the ps3 due to lack of support. It is still playable, but there are several broken quests that cannot be completed. This game is so huge it should be rated on a scale of 0..15 not 10. I would still give it a 15 out of 15 because of the sheer beauty of the game on the PS3. it plays a bit soft though, I'm playing at the highest level and am challenged somewhat but not the Demons Souls level of challenge. Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game has almost instantly grown to be one of my favorite games I have ever played. This by far is the best game in the series, taking lore, graphics, world, AI, gameplay, quests, characters, you name it to a whole new level. Even as it started it felt far superior to any Bethesda game released so far, the intro level alone had me hooked like a child that has opened up a christmasThis game has almost instantly grown to be one of my favorite games I have ever played. This by far is the best game in the series, taking lore, graphics, world, AI, gameplay, quests, characters, you name it to a whole new level. Even as it started it felt far superior to any Bethesda game released so far, the intro level alone had me hooked like a child that has opened up a christmas gift. Combat this time around has been more versatile and as sleek as ever, everthing feels weighted, magic effects are wonderful and diverse, bows and arrows along with stealth have improved. There are even finishing moves! The world ACTUALLY feels alive this time around, which is fresh change from the crap we got with Oblivion, animals hunt each other, people brawl and work and chat, and every place has a different- exotic feel that I could compare to Morrowind... but done much better even still. There are goodies for old fans as well, Dwemer ruins, Falmer, Sanguine, etc, etc. If you're looking for an Open world RPG to play, this is absolutely THE BEST one on the market, and although it is full of bugs and glitches, the positives outweigh the negatives so much I couldn't just give it a 9/10, it deserves a 10/10.
    If you like to explore, fight, role play, fantasy, open world, anything of this nature, I would definitely buy it.
    Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  25. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is epic in scope. Customization options are terrific, and within the framework of the game are only limited by your time investment. Exploration is remarkable, with numerous memorable locations.
  26. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    Note: I have a ps3 slim with lots of space on my hard drive and have auto saves turned off. It runs just fine
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This game is masterful. The graphics, combat, lore, and the leveling up system is just amazing. There's nothing more satisfying than
    Note: I have a ps3 slim with lots of space on my hard drive and have auto saves turned off. It runs just fine
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This game is masterful. The graphics, combat, lore, and the leveling up system is just amazing. There's nothing more satisfying than seeing your character get super powerful and decimate all who dare meet you in combat. WARNING: This game may become your life
    Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected with such an incredibly large game. I'm still in awe at how huge the world is, how many quests there are, and how much there is to do. There is so much life in this game and the detail is jaw-dropping; I didn't like Morrowind or Oblivion because their worlds felt dead to me and I was never inspired to explore or quest...This game is amazing! Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected with such an incredibly large game. I'm still in awe at how huge the world is, how many quests there are, and how much there is to do. There is so much life in this game and the detail is jaw-dropping; I didn't like Morrowind or Oblivion because their worlds felt dead to me and I was never inspired to explore or quest... Skyrim is different. The dungeons are unique and creative, the boss fights are fun, and the quests are exciting! People interact with you constantly, making the world feel alive. On top of all of that you have the massive, beautiful environments plus all of the stuff you normally get with Elder Scrolls games (professions, great music, etc.) What am I doing even writing this review? I should be playing Skyrim! Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    An awesome game, very fun. One of the only games that I've played that lived up to its hype. The game play is awesome and fun, the graphics are good not the best but still beautiful. The music fits perfectly with the scenic of the game, the only complaint I have is some of the sound effects sound low quality.
  29. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I've never seen the Trolls so organized! Is this the beginning of the end for user reviews?

    A critical flaw for Metacritic... I'm saving my endearing review for 1up, who'll screen. This is clearly in the top 5 video games of all time. Minor flaws, who cares. So does your wife.
  30. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I will never again trust user reviews on Metacritic. Some of the guys here are idiots. The technical problems have been patched ffs! Skyrim is an amazing game that you never want to quit! There is so much to do and you can immerse yourself in it for hours upon hours! One of the best open-world RPG's ever, simply put.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]