The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2494 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim does not only equal its legendary predecessor Oblivion; it surpasses it. The immense and atmospheric world and insane amount of content will have gamers captivated for months, while the more dynamic level structure and improved fighting possibilities won't allow for a single boring moment. Plus, Skyrim has dragons. Epic!
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    95
    It's a mesmerizing game that draws you into an finely crafted fictional space packed with content that consistently surprises.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    93
    The folks at Bethesda have built themselves quite a world, and while not perfect it is a joy to inhabit for a couple of hundred hours.
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  7. I love this game, I really do, but I can't give it the score I want in its current state. That would be unfair to anyone forking out £40 for a something that might work. It might not. The most amazing game of the year is in there somewhere. I really hope Bethesda can get it out.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews. Maybe because haven't played any Elder Scrolls games prior to Skyrim, I'm not able toI don't understand why there are so many bad reviews. Maybe because haven't played any Elder Scrolls games prior to Skyrim, I'm not able to compare it, however, the apparent issue is probably that all the other reviews are just complaining about bugs. Also, there was some link set up on a popular website that was entitle "Post Problems about Skyrim Here", and, because of that, this page has probably attracted the attention of many people who are frustrated by the glitches and are unable to enjoy Skyrim to it's fullest. However, if you are able to play (with minor glitches at least, no doubt), Skyrim is a game with a beautiful environment that I found myself enjoying multiple playthroughs of more than any other game I've played. Although the game might be getting a little stale for me, I'm especially excited for the new DLC coming in September, called Dawnguard. All these factors added together gives this game a perfect 10. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a really good game despite the few problem i found.No games are perfect and with a few patches,this game should be good to play.TheySkyrim is a really good game despite the few problem i found.No games are perfect and with a few patches,this game should be good to play.They work so hard to develop this game unlike cod mw3 Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Awesome game...I loved Oblivion, but that can't be compared to Skyrim. Prepare for a huge game, hundreds of quests and quite nice graphics forAwesome game...I loved Oblivion, but that can't be compared to Skyrim. Prepare for a huge game, hundreds of quests and quite nice graphics for an open-rpg. However, what makes this game really outstanding and one of the best RPG's ever produced is the atmosphere. The soundtrack is legendary. Enough said, now buy and play ;) Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    I would love to give Skyrim a 10, I really would. I wanted so badly for it to be a ten. I was actually planning on giving it a 13/10, and thenI would love to give Skyrim a 10, I really would. I wanted so badly for it to be a ten. I was actually planning on giving it a 13/10, and then having the bugs drag it back down to a 10/10, but I can't even do that. With over 110 hours in, I've had my fair share of fun, but can't really recommend this game to newcomers. Cons:
    The difficulty fluctuates wildly, so much so that I almost prefer Oblivion's leveling system. The framerate is all over the place. The load times are at least 3 times longer than Oblivion's. The game crashed 50ish times over the course of 100 hours. The graphics are pretty from a distance, but get ugly fast as you get close. Most disappointing is the physics and the game engine. It is essentially the same as Oblivion, which was dated even in 2006. Also, the melee combat is crap. Hitting someone in the foot does the same damage as hitting them in the head. The special moves are the same ones as in Oblivion. Pros:
    Magic is more fun to use, shouts are a blast(pun intended). Smithing weapons is incredibly addictive and fun.
    Warnings:
    Don't do the enchanting/fortify restoration/alchemy exploit on the PS3. It is fun, and works to a point, but whilst making a fortify enchanting 20000000% potion, my PS3 YLOD'ed. For reals. Most people would say "it was just a coincidence, games don't make your system crash, time does", this is **** Bethesda games are the only games my ps3 has ever crashed while playing. Oblivion, Fallout 3, Fallout New Vegas, all have had horrendous framerate issues and tons of crashes. While playing Skyrim, my PS3 fan has never been more erratic. **** coding says I. /end rant
    Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    Skyrim has much potential but the game has too many flaws to be given a 10. Fix the flaws Bugthesda! Broken quests, bugs and reoccurring lagSkyrim has much potential but the game has too many flaws to be given a 10. Fix the flaws Bugthesda! Broken quests, bugs and reoccurring lag kills immersion and shouldn't be tolerated by consumers. Sell me a game that works as advertised. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    I was extremely excited for Skyrim and it is one of the very few games I have ever bought on day 1. However, while Skyrim many be anI was extremely excited for Skyrim and it is one of the very few games I have ever bought on day 1. However, while Skyrim many be an incredible game on other platforms, the simple fact that Bethesda released Skyrim on PS3 is a joke, but not funny. Skyrim is a hopeless mess. It is extremely buggy (glitches that prevent players from completing or even starting quests are absurdly common), but for such an amazing base game, I would overlook those bugs. However, it also freezes constantly. The larger my save file got, the more it frequently it froze. Just when I was completely into playing Skyrim, when it was fast becoming one of my favorite video games of all time, the freezing got so bad that I had to stop playing. Some days, it would be freezing up once every five minutes, and that is not an exaggeration. I had to save constantly to keep from losing progress, and I wound up spending 40% of my time with Skyrim actually playing the game, and 60% of my time with Skyrim rebooting my PS3 after it froze, saving to avoid losing too much progress, or watching loading screens. Which brings me to another problem. Loading screens in Skyrim pop up very frequently and are unacceptably long, far longer than loading screens in previous Bethesda PS3 games like Fallout 3, leading me to believe long loading screens are not the result of Bethesda being unable to fix the problem, but rather the result of them being too lazy to do so. Skyrim should have been delayed. Sure, everyone who was going to buy the PS3 version, myself included, would have complained about it, but at the end of the day, we would have realized that if Bethesda delayed Skyrim, they did it because they had more work to do and the delay would make the final product better. Instead of delaying Skyrim, Bethesda shipped an incomplete, shoddy mess of a game. And then, did they do what they did with Fallout: New Vegas- patch it into a playable state? No. They released a few patches that fixed a few of the countless glitches and dealt with the lag, but they did nothing about the constant freezing, the absurd loading times, or the vast majority of the glitches. Now, the number of patches Bethesda releases has tapered off dramatically. Why? Maybe because Bethesda cares less about working on fixing their broken product and more about milking more profits from DLC, which PS3 owners didn't get. We missed Dawnguard and Hearthfire completely. We're getting Dragonborn, but, frankly, I am not that excited. All Dragonborn is is Bethesda trying to get PS3 owners to pay more money to get more shoddy product. Also, every Bethesda employee working on Skyrim DLC is an employee who should be working on game patches instead. Glitches, freezes, no DLC- Skyrim on the PS3 is a gamer nightmare. Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Well my game till patch 1.2 was so good,but that patch was a disaster.Skyrim freezing all the time,it's unplayable anymore.Lag was heavyWell my game till patch 1.2 was so good,but that patch was a disaster.Skyrim freezing all the time,it's unplayable anymore.Lag was heavy sometimes but never freezing before the patch,i don't know what to do about it.Tips didn't help,swaping disks either...Skyrim takes a 0 from me. Expand

See all 1058 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.