The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2522 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim does not only equal its legendary predecessor Oblivion; it surpasses it. The immense and atmospheric world and insane amount of content will have gamers captivated for months, while the more dynamic level structure and improved fighting possibilities won't allow for a single boring moment. Plus, Skyrim has dragons. Epic!
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    95
    It's a mesmerizing game that draws you into an finely crafted fictional space packed with content that consistently surprises.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    93
    The folks at Bethesda have built themselves quite a world, and while not perfect it is a joy to inhabit for a couple of hundred hours.
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  7. I love this game, I really do, but I can't give it the score I want in its current state. That would be unfair to anyone forking out £40 for a something that might work. It might not. The most amazing game of the year is in there somewhere. I really hope Bethesda can get it out.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews. Maybe because haven't played any Elder Scrolls games prior to Skyrim, I'm not able toI don't understand why there are so many bad reviews. Maybe because haven't played any Elder Scrolls games prior to Skyrim, I'm not able to compare it, however, the apparent issue is probably that all the other reviews are just complaining about bugs. Also, there was some link set up on a popular website that was entitle "Post Problems about Skyrim Here", and, because of that, this page has probably attracted the attention of many people who are frustrated by the glitches and are unable to enjoy Skyrim to it's fullest. However, if you are able to play (with minor glitches at least, no doubt), Skyrim is a game with a beautiful environment that I found myself enjoying multiple playthroughs of more than any other game I've played. Although the game might be getting a little stale for me, I'm especially excited for the new DLC coming in September, called Dawnguard. All these factors added together gives this game a perfect 10. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Broken game, I reached 49 hours of play time and now my save file is so large that the game has a fps of 0.

    I want a refund. ** COMPLETELY
    Broken game, I reached 49 hours of play time and now my save file is so large that the game has a fps of 0.

    I want a refund.

    ** COMPLETELY BROKEN ON THE PS3 ** The game contains an issue which has thousands of people complaining, from IGN to the official Bethesda boards. The game is big, it's ambitious, and it's amazing, but it's just not set up right on the PS3 system. Look at the links below, where a Fallout New Vegas developer explains why. http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/topic/1303536-new-vegas-developer-comments-on-ps3-lag-issues/ http://uk.ps3.ign.com/articles/121/1213924p1.html http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-vs-ps3-skyrim-lag http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUoDfO1pWto ** PLEASE NOTE ** The game may be worth picking up on the Xbox 360 or the PC, but until Bethesda completely fixes this issue for the PS3 version, people must be warned.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Awesome game...I loved Oblivion, but that can't be compared to Skyrim. Prepare for a huge game, hundreds of quests and quite nice graphics forAwesome game...I loved Oblivion, but that can't be compared to Skyrim. Prepare for a huge game, hundreds of quests and quite nice graphics for an open-rpg. However, what makes this game really outstanding and one of the best RPG's ever produced is the atmosphere. The soundtrack is legendary. Enough said, now buy and play ;) Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    6
    Great graphics and atmosphere, INCREDIBLE sound (music), one of the bigger maps to explore, maybe the biggest, ...BUT:

    POOR exciting. After
    Great graphics and atmosphere, INCREDIBLE sound (music), one of the bigger maps to explore, maybe the biggest, ...BUT:

    POOR exciting. After playing some hours, I began to feel bored. Why so many dragons and why so easy to kill? Why a tigger is a harder enemy than a dragon?
    Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    1
    Bethesda released beta software on the PS3. I'm amazed I can make my file saves grow by simply saving them over and over without doingBethesda released beta software on the PS3. I'm amazed I can make my file saves grow by simply saving them over and over without doing anything in the game. They have serious memory leak issues. They need to use a tool like purify on their software to find the issue. After my file size grew to 7MB or more lag hits and now I'm seeing freezes forcing a PS3 reboot. I have turned off auto-save and still the problem persists. Its so bad that I even had freezes happen when I go to manually save my game state. Boy this is a fiasco. I guess I'll go back to another PS3 game that has no issues. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2015
    0
    What the **** is this **** And just to think that I spent 20 euros on this ****ing game. I throught my 15 years I only have heard good thingsWhat the **** is this **** And just to think that I spent 20 euros on this ****ing game. I throught my 15 years I only have heard good things about Elder Scrolls. But no! This game is **** there I said. I mean this game is totally messed up. It´s a game from 2011 but it´s graphics make it look like it is from 2003! I mean even Ride to Hell: Retribution has better graphics than this **** and is one of the worst games ever! It´s gameplay is totally ****ed up, there is no tutorial explaining you fully what you can do, the only tutorial in the game is reserved to walking and fighting, that´s the only things the tutorial at the beginning teaches you! The combat is BROKEN, BROKEN, like the rest of the game. You have a hard time just aiming to strike the enemy. Another thing, if I might ask why is this game a Pegi 18? For Christ`s sake, this game isn`t bloody nor violent, it is so dissapointing to be mad of a frachise that probably is better than this. I resolved to give a chance to Elder Scrolls, I did. I swear that I did .Perhaps the main reason that I didn`t understood the story was because I had never previously playded an Elder Scrolls game, but that is no excuse. The developers need to be ready for this situations! There Elder Scrolls are not in every supermarket or in every game store, so the developers need to find a way to briefe in the beginning of the game of what happened in the previous ones, am I wrong? Not to mention, the ****ing bugs and glitchs. Really my advise to you people out there that want to buy this game, forget it. Save your money for other things, I mean, buy another RPG, like Dragon Age, that is infinitly superior to this abomanation! Stay far away as possible from the game. And of course needless to say that I didn´t even playde an hour of this game, because all this problems that I mentioned can be found in the first half hour, even less. Jus don`t be fool as I was, save your money and buy other games, GOOD GAMES! As for you critics of the 100% and 10 out of 10 I would like so much to make you buy game for twice the amount of money I paid for. It was 20 euros, 20 euros and I had a great Lego game beside it. IT`S **** THERE I SAID! Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they getThis game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they get it fixed or you will be wasting your money. Expand

See all 1028 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.