Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 15 out of 18
  1. Aug 5, 2012
    55
    It's never anything special. There's lots of action, but it's not exciting. There's an upgrade system, but it's uninteresting. There's a lot of content, but it's just the same stuff again and again.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    55
    The Expendables 2 feels like a natural extension of its source material, but it's likely to please only a certain breed of old-school game fan.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    20
    Archaic and lethargic, The Expendables 2 seems far more likely to break a hip than a sweat.
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    55
    The Expendables 2 should have been better, especially since the game just needed to get a good handle on shooting. Instead, a bevy of technical snafus and odd design decisions drag down the experience and uphold the belief that licensed games are rarely more than mediocre. The game isn't horrible, but shooting fans can certainly find a better title to play before settling for this.
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    16
    You know what would have would have made this game so much better, other than more development time? If they'd waited until the Blu-ray/DVD/digital version was released and then gave you a digital copy of the movie when you bought the game.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    20
    Between the cut down roster of famous faces from the movie's cast, frustrating control mechanics and noticeable lack of polish, the movie tie-in gives few reasons to invest your time and money in a download.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    29
    As a fan of competent twin stick shooters, I found nothing at all in The Expendables 2 that would warrant me to recommend this game in any way. Boring gameplay, drab levels and poorly produced content are the headliners here; avoid at all costs, even if you are a fan of the movies. There are better games in this vein to spend your money on and one of them, Tomb Raider: Guardian of Light, is even free at the moment if you have a Playstation Plus subscription.
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    35
    One of the worst games I've played in a long time. And it's not necessarily because of the clunky controls, vapid shooting, or myriad of other issues that are at play here. The Expendables 2 Videogame just isn't fun. It's a long and tedious slog through the mud and a thousand enemy corpses, where time is the only thing that separates you from the end credits.
  9. Sep 14, 2012
    40
    The Expendables 2 Videogame is a title also absolutely not recommended to fans of the film or of the genre. Unfortunately, the production does not enchant in any area and suffers from very evident design problems.
  10. Aug 17, 2012
    30
    The Expendables is a great Hollywood concept that could easily make a great video game but sadly this isn't it.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Considering the obvious lack of effort that went into The Expendables 2: Videogame, it seems nothing could have saved this one.
  12. Aug 26, 2012
    20
    Lacking in excitement, polish, star power, and any sort of fun. Avoid this excuse for a movie tie-in. [Oct 2012, p.104]
  13. This four-player top-down shooter is a one-note type of game, an ear-shattering drone of gunfire punctuated with occasional soundbites. You're on the ground, shooting guys. Then you're in a chopper, shooting guys. The repetition and lack of character kills any hope the XP system had for making this brown square of a game engaging. Play alone and suffer the AI. Play with mates and... actually, don't. [October 2012, p79]
  14. Aug 3, 2012
    40
    This is most definitely a lazy, slapped together, overly expensive waste of time that nobody need bother play. And yet, for some bizarre reason, all I could think about while playing The Expendables 2 was that it didn't have to be this way.
  15. Aug 22, 2012
    30
    The controls are clunky, the graphics are student project-basic, the plot isn't worth discussing and the levels so repetitive you'll have seen all it has to offer within half an hour.
  16. 45
    Has all the ingredients to be good but it fails to bring it all together and ends up being a mediocre experience at the very best.
  17. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Aside from the seamless drop-in, drop-out co-op, this is one of the worst videogames I've had the displeasure of playing in a long time. It looks awful, controls horribly, and the plot is nonexistent.
  18. Another videogame based on a popular motion picture, another bad review score. Even though it has no shortage of bullets, The Expendables 2: The Videogame fails to hit the bulls-eye. This 4 player co-op shooter is no action hero.[October 2012, p.79]
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    1
    I bought this game on psn because I thought it might be a good time just blowing stuff up and shooting lots of soldiers. You know, a game that you would play to almost 'relax' and take your mind off things and not have to worry about puzzle solving or anything like that. Well, it has lots of stuff blowing up and it does have lots of soldiers to shoot, so why am I scoring it a '1'?

    Easy. The graphics are not that bad actually. That's where the score comes in. It's not higher because this is just one component of the game. The sound is just passable. Nothing fancy at all and the voice work is poor. The controls, for what they are, work okay. The big thing is, and this actually destroys the fun factor, is that you never quite know where you are shooting. This is BAD in a shooter. Because of this, you feel disconnected from the action, like you aren't really doing anything. As expected then, this lowers the fun factor in the game to practically zero. There are some 'on rail' sections to break up the on foot action, but it doesn't matter. I'll go and see the movie, and I'm sure I'll enjoy it like I enjoyed the first one. But this game is an adventure I didn't enjoy. This game is Expendable.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    0
    Do not bother with this game. This game has to be the worst game i have ever played . Such a bad shooter. Do not waist your time on this game. booo 0/10 Full Review »
  3. May 31, 2013
    0
    This game looks like its made with the butt, gameplay, movement, graphics, everything.
    I played the trial version with a friend, he got
    distracted with something a few minutes, he didnt die, looks horrible and sometimes the apc that you have to destroy with a rpg its indestructible.

    Its a crapy game
    Full Review »