Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Building on the universe created in the high-octane, star-studded movies, The Expendables 2 Videogame invites gamers on an adventure to rescue an extremely valuable, kidnapped billionaire. It's all business, until all hell breaks loose and the explosive mix of testosterone and kerosene detonates in a massive fireball that never lets up. The adventure concludes right where the new movie begins, creating a continuous story experience for fans of the Expendables' hard-boiled brand of action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 15 out of 18
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    55
    The Expendables 2 should have been better, especially since the game just needed to get a good handle on shooting. Instead, a bevy of technical snafus and odd design decisions drag down the experience and uphold the belief that licensed games are rarely more than mediocre. The game isn't horrible, but shooting fans can certainly find a better title to play before settling for this.
  2. Aug 5, 2012
    55
    It's never anything special. There's lots of action, but it's not exciting. There's an upgrade system, but it's uninteresting. There's a lot of content, but it's just the same stuff again and again.
  3. Another videogame based on a popular motion picture, another bad review score. Even though it has no shortage of bullets, The Expendables 2: The Videogame fails to hit the bulls-eye. This 4 player co-op shooter is no action hero.[October 2012, p.79]
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    30
    The controls are clunky, the graphics are student project-basic, the plot isn't worth discussing and the levels so repetitive you'll have seen all it has to offer within half an hour.
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    29
    As a fan of competent twin stick shooters, I found nothing at all in The Expendables 2 that would warrant me to recommend this game in any way. Boring gameplay, drab levels and poorly produced content are the headliners here; avoid at all costs, even if you are a fan of the movies. There are better games in this vein to spend your money on and one of them, Tomb Raider: Guardian of Light, is even free at the moment if you have a Playstation Plus subscription.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    20
    Between the cut down roster of famous faces from the movie's cast, frustrating control mechanics and noticeable lack of polish, the movie tie-in gives few reasons to invest your time and money in a download.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Aside from the seamless drop-in, drop-out co-op, this is one of the worst videogames I've had the displeasure of playing in a long time. It looks awful, controls horribly, and the plot is nonexistent.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Sep 9, 2012
    7
    Technical slag is evident in this game, won't deny that. There are only a few Games with offline multiplier (1-4). Especially if you have bunch of expendables ready for a gaming weekend. This is a good game not just for what it holds, but for its story line being close to the movie makes it more enjoyable. Collapse
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    From a technical standpoint (graphics, sound, etc) it's a bit mediocre but the game play is just a goofy fun action game. You can play co-op on the same console or over xbox live, which is where you'd get your money's worth if you purchased it. It's not terrible but it's not ZOMG Amazing either. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    What went wrong? A crap game to the roots, had a lot of potential and kept me involved for 4 hours. So it could be worse. (I guess!) When I bought this game I was completely and utterly let down by the awful programming and bugs, saying that the voice acting was decent but virtually everything else was not. Excluding the brilliant camera angle. Don't buy unless a real loner or expendables fan. Same thing! Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    1
    This game is so bad! I can hardly believe it...Ubisoft should be ashamed of publishing this... The gameplay is very, VERY repetitive, the Graphics definitely can't be called current-gen, not even ps2-era graphics, for God's sake! The voice-over stinks of amateurism, but the controls are good. Don't get me started on the bugs and stupid scripts... I've played the PC version as well, and it's the same stupid, repetitive and bland experience... AVOID at all cost! Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    1
    I bought this game on psn because I thought it might be a good time just blowing stuff up and shooting lots of soldiers. You know, a game that you would play to almost 'relax' and take your mind off things and not have to worry about puzzle solving or anything like that. Well, it has lots of stuff blowing up and it does have lots of soldiers to shoot, so why am I scoring it a '1'?

    Easy. The graphics are not that bad actually. That's where the score comes in. It's not higher because this is just one component of the game. The sound is just passable. Nothing fancy at all and the voice work is poor. The controls, for what they are, work okay. The big thing is, and this actually destroys the fun factor, is that you never quite know where you are shooting. This is BAD in a shooter. Because of this, you feel disconnected from the action, like you aren't really doing anything. As expected then, this lowers the fun factor in the game to practically zero. There are some 'on rail' sections to break up the on foot action, but it doesn't matter. I'll go and see the movie, and I'm sure I'll enjoy it like I enjoyed the first one. But this game is an adventure I didn't enjoy. This game is Expendable.
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    0
    This game looks like its made with the butt, gameplay, movement, graphics, everything.
    I played the trial version with a friend, he got
    distracted with something a few minutes, he didnt die, looks horrible and sometimes the apc that you have to destroy with a rpg its indestructible.

    Its a crapy game
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2012
    0
    Do not bother with this game. This game has to be the worst game i have ever played . Such a bad shooter. Do not waist your time on this game. booo 0/10 Expand

See all 8 User Reviews