• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2007
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. The terrible music and pointless battle animation do nothing to help out what is already a well balanced card game.
  2. Delve deep to find an interesting, thought-provoking and entertaining strategy game. [Dec 2007, p.58]
  3. 70
    A surprisingly fun first effort that is well worth looking into if you're a fan of collectible card games.
  4. The Eye of Judgment is a game made for a very specific crowd, and may bring in a few new gamers. Just don't go in expecting anything too revolutionary or complex.
  5. In short, if you're a big fan of trading card games Eye of Judgment is worth the money. If you're not but you're planning to get a PlayStation Eye anyway, you might as well get a great game into the bargain.
  6. A fun little strategy card game that should never have gone collectible . The Playstation Eye addition feels a bit gimmicky, as well. I’d enjoy this title with a complete card set, or even as a tabletop game, but the CCG-meets-clunky-Eye setup is a turnoff.
  7. It is solidly the best card-based game on any platform, but compared to the refined mechanics of its collectible brethren and the fully-fleshed features of its digital brothers, it doesn’t fully grasp the inner nerd - neither the card nor video game player - within us all.
  8. 65
    The concept for Eye of Judgment remains brilliant, the game itself (with enough cards) is brilliant, it's just that it's going to cost a lot of money before you can make any proper progress in it. [Issue#159, p.90]
  9. The Eye of Judgement is a unique approach to strategy gaming that successfully merges two form of strategy gaming. Gimmick or not, the Eye of Judgement is an interesting idea that doesn’t fully play out to the mass market.
  10. There's no denying that the technology has serious potential, it's just a shame that the first game to use it ends up being a busted flush. [Dec 2007, p.100]
  11. It's a first step towards a great game, but it's not that game just yet.
  12. Expensive and almost impossible not to cheat in singleplayer. [Dec 2007, p.119]
  13. As a card game The Eye of Judgment succeeds. As a video game it fails.
  14. Not implementing any kind of reward system at all is surely a huge oversight. [Dec 2007, p.133]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This game had me entranced from the moment I heard about it all of those years ago. I'd have to say that this game reminds me of chess andThis game had me entranced from the moment I heard about it all of those years ago. I'd have to say that this game reminds me of chess and poker all rolled into one delightful package. I bought all three expansions of this game and nearly all of the cards. The cards by the way are beautiful and a collector's dream. I have recently even began playing this game again in 2011 and 2012, but was so angry and disappointed that the servers were turned off. This game never reached its full potential due to the nature of many gamers today that want instant gratification instead of learning, strategy and forethought. I would have supported this game for ever. Instead it now has been relegated to playing at home with buddies that cannot possibly beat me or the AI with no banter. I really wished that this game was made into more of an epic story with plots, twists, amazing music and beautifully rendered cut scenes. But I still give this game a 10 and would give it a higher rating if I could. I love originality, immersion and intelligence. This game has all. Full Review »
  2. aspentitan
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible game but unfortunately it is left unfinished and requires future sets to balance the existing sets. One of my favorite This is an incredible game but unfortunately it is left unfinished and requires future sets to balance the existing sets. One of my favorite games on the ps3. The ability to customize and create your own deck(s) makes this game highly replayable for years. I was lucky enough to get in on this game from the start and have all the cards but this may be difficult for new players to buy (and is expensive, but worth it- $600+). If you can though, and like card battle this is a near perfect game apart from the balancing issues which are possible depending on opponent deck creation. Full Review »
  3. CameronT
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, boasts a growing community and great customisation. The ability to unlock more decks will keep you trying to improve, and An excellent game, boasts a growing community and great customisation. The ability to unlock more decks will keep you trying to improve, and the expansions don't look like they'll stop coming soon. Plenty of room to grow, however needs a better reward system and more multiplayer interactivity outside of full games. Full Review »