The Fight: Lights Out PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2010
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    82
    The Fight: Lights Out is an ambitious fight simulator that sets out and accomplishes most of what it claims to do. Learning and fitness curves are high, but patience and realistic expectations produce some fine results.
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    80
    This game has a lot of good features like its great Move support, big scaled action and different combat styles. Strange evading and moving just don't seem to fit in.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 29, 2010
    78
    Realistic, addictive and brutally satisfying sometimes let down by the controls. [Jan 2011, p.88]
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    In conclusion, The Fight: Lights Out does push the PlayStation Move away from those cutesy children's games and gives more mature gamers an more adult option.
  5. Jan 1, 2011
    70
    Don't take a less-than-great score for The Fight: Lights Out as a slight against the overall product. Though there isn't enough here to warrant the purchase price (a PSN release would have been fine, really), but in short bursts it's a blast.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    Sure, it's not perfect, and you'll need to be pretty fit to get much out of it, but for £30 RRP (it's available for around £24 online) there's a solid game to enjoy here – and if you come away aching half as much as I did you can rest easy in the knowledge that you're doing yourself some good too.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    67
    Even though it may require some time and effort, The Fight: Lights Out is definitely worth a look... I think it earned a bit of respect.
  8. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    If it wasn't for the outdated Playstation Eye camera, this game could have been so much better. A killer app even...a thing Sony's new platform desperately needs.
  9. Game Informer
    Dec 20, 2010
    65
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 24, 2010
    60
    The Fight can still entertain a crowd for all the wrong reasons. [Christmas 2010]
  11. Jan 9, 2011
    56
    The idea of this fighting game is pretty cool, but there is one major problem. The game can be played with the PlayStation Move en that doesn't work. The whole game is pretty cool, but the controls that doesn't work are ruining it.
  12. 55
    Rocky Balboa you're not. The Fight: Lights Out is a sluggish game of boxing with less than impressive Move controls.
  13. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    Unfortunately we just found the system makes the fighting itself feel quite alien and unsettling. It's that feeling of only partial control you get when you're reaching in from behind someone and using their own arms to teach them perform a task, combined with those dreams you occasionally have where your punches are all weak and flaccid despite the fact you feel like you're putting enough energy behind them to punch the rings off Saturn. [December 2010 p79]
  14. Jan 9, 2011
    50
    The Fight was a very expected game, but the final version is so generic with poor controls.
  15. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    The Fight is a good attempt for a more serious motion controlled beat-em-up game, but it is not one I can see myself coming back to that often if at all.
  16. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    At first, The Fight seems sloppy and broken, but with practice and patience it eventually evolves into a decent fighting experience. It's still not great, or even that good, but it is at the very least playable.
  17. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    The Fight, then - possibly one of the better fighting games we will see for the Playstation Move, yet still utterly dull and repetitive. Consider giving it a rent, but nothing more.
  18. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    The Fight is an exhausting experience, and in more than just the physical sense of the word. Its structure invites boredom, there's no narrative to speak of, and more importantly, the Move controls lack responsiveness.
  19. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    The presentation feels generic, with washed-out grainy visuals and a tepid hip-hop soundtrack, while the fighting never really finds its balance.
  20. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    This fighting game offers some simple yet brutish fun, but poor controls and uninteresting presentation make it a struggle to get past the first few rounds.
  21. Dec 20, 2010
    48
    I still have hope that a game like this can really work and be really fun -- but The Fight: Lights Out isn't it. There are simply too many things wrong with this game to recommend it.
  22. Dec 19, 2010
    47
    Sadly, The Fight is all-air, focusing first on aesthetics, then content. Calibrating the Move before every match is just a pain, while combats doesn't give any satisfaction to the player: the character is too slow and his punches are so inaccurate. The game doesn't adapt itself to the player's ability, but it's just the opposite, with the player that must submit to pitiless rules and a bad implemented controller.
  23. Jan 3, 2011
    45
    The Fight seemed to be one of the most promising titles of PlayStation Move, but its promises have not been fulfilled.
  24. Play UK
    Dec 20, 2010
    42
    Poor design and an intrusive calibration mechanism result in a title that frustrates more than it excites. [Issue#199, p.91]
  25. Dec 19, 2010
    42
    It can end up being too much work for what amounts to not enough enjoyment.
  26. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 15, 2011
    40
    Danny Trejo cannot save the whole show. This "Move-controlled" fighting game is good only if you plan to work out your arms. Otherwise, you'll get bored in twenty minutes. [Issue#199]
  27. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2011
    40
    Lights out, indeed. [Jan 2011, p.82]
  28. Jan 4, 2011
    40
    With its poor controls, The Fight: Lights Out represents the most negative example of the Move line-up.
  29. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    Nearly 1000 milligrams of ibuprofen are coursing through my system while I finish this review, slightly dulling the pain of the strained muscles in my chest and torso that I endured at the hands of The Fight: Lights Out.
  30. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    The Fight is enjoyable despite some flaws. You have to be so cautious to play it the right way, so cautious to move your arms the right way, that you quickly lose that feeling of freedom.The gameplay is still fun and interesting when you decide to persevere.
  31. Dec 19, 2010
    36
    Maybe one day, they'll come out with a motion-controlled game that captures the frightful excitement and immediacy of being in a fistfight. But that day has yet to come. Not even the grizzled charmer Danny Trejo can salvage this trainwreck.
  32. games(TM)
    Jan 11, 2011
    30
    A tiring slog of a game that doesn't offer enough reward to justify the energy expenditure required to play it - even if it does keep account of how many calories you burn throughout. [Christmas 2010, p.113]
  33. Jan 5, 2011
    30
    Similar to Fighters Unleashed, the quality of a first generation attempt of a fighting game using motion controls is a dismal failure.
  34. Dec 19, 2010
    30
    Unfortunately, it's waned away in the final release due to lackluster controls and dull visuals that fail to appeal.
  35. Dec 19, 2010
    30
    It is uncertain whether a bit more time in development could have shaped The Fight: Lights Out into something mildly enjoyable, but as it stands the finished product is a mess that is not only frustrating to play -- it is also tiring and boring.
  36. Dec 19, 2010
    30
    It often seems like you're making more effort in the game than the developers did, with this miserable showcase for PlayStation Move.
  37. Edge Magazine
    Dec 19, 2010
    30
    There are minor things for which The Fight can take credit. The progression of skills is well-paced, its 'street' aesthetic pioneers a delightful new direction for extreme cheese, and your flailing proves quite the workout. [Christmas 2010, p.101]
  38. 20
    The entire game just feels uninspired and wonky.
  39. Dec 19, 2010
    20
    The Fight: Lights Out has very few redeeming qualities, none of which involve playing it, and it should be avoided at all costs. Don't play this game.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    I got the move system when it came out here in nz, and bought the obligatory sports champions and instantly fell in love with table tennis andI got the move system when it came out here in nz, and bought the obligatory sports champions and instantly fell in love with table tennis and frisbee ( disc golf ). Gladiator battles just didn't do it for me until I went and got a second controller ( which over here meant buying a second starter pack as the offensive stock management skills of the majority of ps3 stockists meant that the backorder list for the single controller was a month or more in the making ) and then finally started to have some fun. Albeit limited, easily repeated finishing moves that start with a rhythmic sweep jump thump. But it was fun...ish.

    So today I went and got this new fighter offering. Mixed reviews weren't going to stop me, especially a pathetic 3/10 from 2 equally pathetic sources, both eager to either copy someone elses review and not actually do any work to get the free games sent to them or just plain suck at anything that actually requires a slither of real world co-ordination. A game where the whole mechanic involves controlling a virtual fighter by actual fighting speeds and moves, is of course going to require more effort than finger flicking.

    Now I'm not fit nor do I have a visible waistline in the favourable sense, and the wife thought it hilarious watching me repeatedly flailing at an imaginary foe and cursing at my lack of stamina, but I've not had more fun since I bought the move set. Standing with shoulders aching, arms numb and sweat running all over stuff you dont need descriptions of, This game made me feel like I'd actually made an effort for a change.

    You can add your vital stats to the system, as in your scary weight/height/age combo, and it'll generate a BMI ( which was fairly accurate, if you were to refer to a chart ) plus it'll actually tell you how much the game has done for your beer gut using kcal readouts. my first fight gave a whopping 94 infact. Mostly as I was standing flailing like a sick monkey. Its tough to get to grips with where you are actually supposed to be punching and how to duck at first, despite Danny giving perfect instructions during the training sessions. I'm also a fan out 4th wall breakage ( ie; the boss telling you to read the codex freq off the cd case way back in psx metal gear solid; or to change your controller plug in the same game ), so its neat seeing him act all serious holding two move controllers and gently waving them around to demonstrate movement. I can only imagine the outtakes. But if you actually fight the guy on the screen it works.

    Lag is non existent if you set the game up properly, I'm sick of hearing about missing targets. If you can't follow calibration instructions then move isn't for you.

    There are some things that could make this game better, such as having more retarded moves being accepted as being more than a slight irritation. But then I have seen a couple of moves in video reviews that I look forward to so who knows.

    Worth the money, and more fun than sit-ups.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I give this a 9/10. I bought it for the fighting, most of all the exercise & fun at the same time which it really is and then some. I haveI give this a 9/10. I bought it for the fighting, most of all the exercise & fun at the same time which it really is and then some. I have been having a ball on this game, the fighting is intense, the gym workouts you need to do with your character to level up are a hard workout and you burn a lot of calories. It has me feeling on day two like i've been training at the gym for 2 hours the day before hurting all over the place, mid/upper back arms core shoulders & lats. I know why IGN gave this a 3/10 as the guy was probably not trying to hard cause he didn't want to sweat out his office clothes for the whole day at work you sweat up really fast playing this game. I don't know if anyone has improved there character much, but I have 33+ points on all stages, speed, strength, agility etc on the character and it now is A LOT more responsive than standard, punches are faster they land more and it just works and i'm only 3 out of 12 levels in so far. That's the idea of working your ass off in the gym is so your character can throw pretty damn accurate punches, and the movement is very accurate too, takes a bit to get used too but once you get it you can duck in to jab the guy in the face and duck out again landing very good accurate punches. Or set up a few powerful hooks, smash him with a Elbow to the face and then grab the guy around the head, smash em with the other hand if you want to get dirty, and doing it all with your own actions ROCKS! and is a hard work too. I've already pushed out over 800 calories in 2 days and you can input your height and weight & age so it gives you semi accurate numbers on energy burnt. It is a great game to get fit on that is FUN for us guys that like fighting & moving. For those who don't want to move and exercise or play hard then why did you buy the MOVE? This game works it tracks your movements you just need to learn how to move and punch properly. The head tracking is crap but the game works perfectly without it. Do you really expect to play a fighting game that tracks your whole body movement without it being a full body workout. I think the IGN guy who gave it a 3/10 doesn't like to exercise much. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    The critics are wrong. This game is great if you have two move controllers. Good exercise and lots of fun. I would recommended this game toThe critics are wrong. This game is great if you have two move controllers. Good exercise and lots of fun. I would recommended this game to people who like a work out. Full Review »