• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2010
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    82
    The Fight: Lights Out is an ambitious fight simulator that sets out and accomplishes most of what it claims to do. Learning and fitness curves are high, but patience and realistic expectations produce some fine results.
  2. Games Master UK
    Dec 29, 2010
    78
    Realistic, addictive and brutally satisfying sometimes let down by the controls. [Jan 2011, p.88]
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    80
    This game has a lot of good features like its great Move support, big scaled action and different combat styles. Strange evading and moving just don't seem to fit in.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    In conclusion, The Fight: Lights Out does push the PlayStation Move away from those cutesy children's games and gives more mature gamers an more adult option.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 77
  2. Negative: 12 out of 77
  1. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    I got the move system when it came out here in nz, and bought the obligatory sports champions and instantly fell in love with table tennis andI got the move system when it came out here in nz, and bought the obligatory sports champions and instantly fell in love with table tennis and frisbee ( disc golf ). Gladiator battles just didn't do it for me until I went and got a second controller ( which over here meant buying a second starter pack as the offensive stock management skills of the majority of ps3 stockists meant that the backorder list for the single controller was a month or more in the making ) and then finally started to have some fun. Albeit limited, easily repeated finishing moves that start with a rhythmic sweep jump thump. But it was fun...ish.

    So today I went and got this new fighter offering. Mixed reviews weren't going to stop me, especially a pathetic 3/10 from 2 equally pathetic sources, both eager to either copy someone elses review and not actually do any work to get the free games sent to them or just plain suck at anything that actually requires a slither of real world co-ordination. A game where the whole mechanic involves controlling a virtual fighter by actual fighting speeds and moves, is of course going to require more effort than finger flicking.

    Now I'm not fit nor do I have a visible waistline in the favourable sense, and the wife thought it hilarious watching me repeatedly flailing at an imaginary foe and cursing at my lack of stamina, but I've not had more fun since I bought the move set. Standing with shoulders aching, arms numb and sweat running all over stuff you dont need descriptions of, This game made me feel like I'd actually made an effort for a change.

    You can add your vital stats to the system, as in your scary weight/height/age combo, and it'll generate a BMI ( which was fairly accurate, if you were to refer to a chart ) plus it'll actually tell you how much the game has done for your beer gut using kcal readouts. my first fight gave a whopping 94 infact. Mostly as I was standing flailing like a sick monkey. Its tough to get to grips with where you are actually supposed to be punching and how to duck at first, despite Danny giving perfect instructions during the training sessions. I'm also a fan out 4th wall breakage ( ie; the boss telling you to read the codex freq off the cd case way back in psx metal gear solid; or to change your controller plug in the same game ), so its neat seeing him act all serious holding two move controllers and gently waving them around to demonstrate movement. I can only imagine the outtakes. But if you actually fight the guy on the screen it works.

    Lag is non existent if you set the game up properly, I'm sick of hearing about missing targets. If you can't follow calibration instructions then move isn't for you.

    There are some things that could make this game better, such as having more retarded moves being accepted as being more than a slight irritation. But then I have seen a couple of moves in video reviews that I look forward to so who knows.

    Worth the money, and more fun than sit-ups.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I give this a 9/10. I bought it for the fighting, most of all the exercise & fun at the same time which it really is and then some. I haveI give this a 9/10. I bought it for the fighting, most of all the exercise & fun at the same time which it really is and then some. I have been having a ball on this game, the fighting is intense, the gym workouts you need to do with your character to level up are a hard workout and you burn a lot of calories. It has me feeling on day two like i've been training at the gym for 2 hours the day before hurting all over the place, mid/upper back arms core shoulders & lats. I know why IGN gave this a 3/10 as the guy was probably not trying to hard cause he didn't want to sweat out his office clothes for the whole day at work you sweat up really fast playing this game. I don't know if anyone has improved there character much, but I have 33+ points on all stages, speed, strength, agility etc on the character and it now is A LOT more responsive than standard, punches are faster they land more and it just works and i'm only 3 out of 12 levels in so far. That's the idea of working your ass off in the gym is so your character can throw pretty damn accurate punches, and the movement is very accurate too, takes a bit to get used too but once you get it you can duck in to jab the guy in the face and duck out again landing very good accurate punches. Or set up a few powerful hooks, smash him with a Elbow to the face and then grab the guy around the head, smash em with the other hand if you want to get dirty, and doing it all with your own actions ROCKS! and is a hard work too. I've already pushed out over 800 calories in 2 days and you can input your height and weight & age so it gives you semi accurate numbers on energy burnt. It is a great game to get fit on that is FUN for us guys that like fighting & moving. For those who don't want to move and exercise or play hard then why did you buy the MOVE? This game works it tracks your movements you just need to learn how to move and punch properly. The head tracking is crap but the game works perfectly without it. Do you really expect to play a fighting game that tracks your whole body movement without it being a full body workout. I think the IGN guy who gave it a 3/10 doesn't like to exercise much. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    The critics are wrong. This game is great if you have two move controllers. Good exercise and lots of fun. I would recommended this game toThe critics are wrong. This game is great if you have two move controllers. Good exercise and lots of fun. I would recommended this game to people who like a work out. Full Review »