• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Fight: Lights Out Image
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grab your PlayStation Move motion controllers and step into the dark and gritty underground of bare knuckle brawling in The Fight: Lights Out. The power to climb to the top of the underground scene is in your hands. The only rule is that there are no rules - you decide how to take down your next challenger. Get them in a headlock and throw elbows to the skull, or go ballistic by swinging with all-out haymakers. Use the PlayStation Move motion controllers to dominate opponents with accurately tracked strikes. Do you have what it takes to rule the underground? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    82
    The Fight: Lights Out is an ambitious fight simulator that sets out and accomplishes most of what it claims to do. Learning and fitness curves are high, but patience and realistic expectations produce some fine results.
  2. Jan 1, 2011
    70
    Don't take a less-than-great score for The Fight: Lights Out as a slight against the overall product. Though there isn't enough here to warrant the purchase price (a PSN release would have been fine, really), but in short bursts it's a blast.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    This fighting game offers some simple yet brutish fun, but poor controls and uninteresting presentation make it a struggle to get past the first few rounds.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    42
    Poor design and an intrusive calibration mechanism result in a title that frustrates more than it excites. [Issue#199, p.91]
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    40
    With its poor controls, The Fight: Lights Out represents the most negative example of the Move line-up.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    20
    The Fight: Lights Out has very few redeeming qualities, none of which involve playing it, and it should be avoided at all costs. Don't play this game.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    I got the move system when it came out here in nz, and bought the obligatory sports champions and instantly fell in love with table tennis and frisbee ( disc golf ). Gladiator battles just didn't do it for me until I went and got a second controller ( which over here meant buying a second starter pack as the offensive stock management skills of the majority of ps3 stockists meant that the backorder list for the single controller was a month or more in the making ) and then finally started to have some fun. Albeit limited, easily repeated finishing moves that start with a rhythmic sweep jump thump. But it was fun...ish.

    So today I went and got this new fighter offering. Mixed reviews weren't going to stop me, especially a pathetic 3/10 from 2 equally pathetic sources, both eager to either copy someone elses review and not actually do any work to get the free games sent to them or just plain suck at anything that actually requires a slither of real world co-ordination. A game where the whole mechanic involves controlling a virtual fighter by actual fighting speeds and moves, is of course going to require more effort than finger flicking.

    Now I'm not fit nor do I have a visible waistline in the favourable sense, and the wife thought it hilarious watching me repeatedly flailing at an imaginary foe and cursing at my lack of stamina, but I've not had more fun since I bought the move set. Standing with shoulders aching, arms numb and sweat running all over stuff you dont need descriptions of, This game made me feel like I'd actually made an effort for a change.

    You can add your vital stats to the system, as in your scary weight/height/age combo, and it'll generate a BMI ( which was fairly accurate, if you were to refer to a chart ) plus it'll actually tell you how much the game has done for your beer gut using kcal readouts. my first fight gave a whopping 94 infact. Mostly as I was standing flailing like a sick monkey. Its tough to get to grips with where you are actually supposed to be punching and how to duck at first, despite Danny giving perfect instructions during the training sessions. I'm also a fan out 4th wall breakage ( ie; the boss telling you to read the codex freq off the cd case way back in psx metal gear solid; or to change your controller plug in the same game ), so its neat seeing him act all serious holding two move controllers and gently waving them around to demonstrate movement. I can only imagine the outtakes. But if you actually fight the guy on the screen it works.

    Lag is non existent if you set the game up properly, I'm sick of hearing about missing targets. If you can't follow calibration instructions then move isn't for you.

    There are some things that could make this game better, such as having more retarded moves being accepted as being more than a slight irritation. But then I have seen a couple of moves in video reviews that I look forward to so who knows.

    Worth the money, and more fun than sit-ups.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Wow! What a great game! Can't believe the negative reviews from the "experts". Just goes to show that you should not base your purchasing decisions purely on review scores. I am very happy with the game - it is a ton of fun and a GREAT workout as well! One tip - check ome of the developer tips videos on Youtube. It explains how to get the best out of the game - and probably why the "expert" reviewers got this one VERY wrong. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    First of all, this has to be the most worst reviewed game of all time. I'm not into conspiracy theories, but I'm beginning to think that there is some conspiracy surrounding this game. As someone who is a boxing fan with experience in boxing, I think I have a good background to make a good review of this game. The only let-down is maybe that the character is not translucent. Apart from that everything works --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Anyone who doesn't think that this game is 1:1 tracking, I dare them to actually calibrate the controls correctly. Something professional reviewers can't seem to do. There is an option in sparring to have a passive opponent. An opponent that doesn't throw punches. This is a great opportunity to see how good the controls are. And THEY ARE 1:1 tracking.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I was amazed at how my on-screen character was mimicking everything I did. Even rotating my wrists, crossing them over. Crazy. And I had head-tracking enabled. Something I don't think one proffesional reviewer managed to do. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I did jabs, straights, uppercuts, long hooks, short hooks. I did them weak, I did them strong. The game picks it up!. You throw a weak punch you don't do any damage, you throw three uppercuts in a row and your opponent is knocked spark out. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I've seen videos of people at demos and they are playing this game like it's Wii boxing. This is not an arcade game. This is a true fight simulation. You cannot stand infront of your tv flapping your hands about. You have to put some effort in. You have to sweat. You have to pretend your in a real fight. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I've seen professional reviewers in videos not having the correct stance, not throwing punches correctly. And then they wonder why their on screen character is not doing it correctly. It's not the game that is broken, it's the ones that are playing it. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I've also seen professional reviewers not going into the training routines. You have to level up your character. If you start the game from the beggining, you start with a character that is weak and sloppy. But if level him up by doing the training routines then all that becomes fixed. Something most reviewers of this game missed. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    And the online? A hell of a lot of the bad reviews had no mention of the online. The online is fun and addictive and the only thing stopping you from playing more is that the game will eventually tire you out. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If your a boxing fan, an MMA fan, or general fight fan. Then you will love this game. It's also a great workout and I'd advise anyone who gets this game to stretch before you play. Because you will be hurting the next day if you don't. No matter how fit you are. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you don't like sweating and being physical. Then this game is not for you. This game isn't perfect. As a gamer I'd give it 8/10. But this game offers something that no other on the market has. a WORKOUT. An intense and fun one at that. That's why it get's 10/10 overall. Awesome game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    Thank god for user reviews. If I hadn't read them I would probably not have picked this game up. That would have been a shame since this is easily one of the best games out for move right now. The game is really fun and a great workout. This game will keep you busy for many hours since it is one of the few move titles with online play. There are lots of cheaters online though so don't count on getting a platinum on this game. The main reason the reviewers didn't like the game was because when you start out the character doesn't have his stats maxed out. As you do the workouts in the gym you can level up your fighters speed, power, stamina, heart, chin and technique. The fighter will become more responsive and a better fighter as you level him up. One thing that makes the fight interesting is that you can bet on the matches. There are different ways to win the fight and consequently affect how much you will win on a bet. Some of the bets are a regular win, clean win ( Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    All the USER reviews on Metacritic are right on point. This game takes patience to set up, and tinkering to master. Once you master the setup, it's all gravy from there. I've enjoyed this game immensely. Of course in any review from this game you've heard of the physical aspect, which is a huge bonus. On top of the physicality the 1:1 motion tracking has been superb. In most reviews I've read, the reviewers claim the head tracking is terrible, but admittedly they also said the game rated their lighting as 'terrible'. Again, patience and tinkering gives you outstanding tracking. As far as the multiplayer goes...it's great. There's even a betting system (spectator/participant). I have 4 games for the Move (Sports Champions, The Fight, Tumble, MiniGolf) and I'd rank them exactly in that order. The Fight is an extremely underrated game (especially for the price point) and if you're patient enough, you can milk every penny spent on it. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    I don't know if the metascore might have been higher (or lower) if more reviewers had bothered to take a look at this seriously underrated game, but it's certainly a shame if the mostly terrible reviews are going to put off many or most of the 2x Move owners who had been looking forward to a fighting game, and might even do the same for other developers considering Move controlled fighting games.

    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    People here must have really low standards, i bought it last week just because people here said it was not as bad as in the reviews, wrong, half of the moves don't respond right even though i calibrate my move wands constantly, one match you are doing fine, but if one wand gets out of sight just once, it will pull the calibration out of balance and your are screwed. Talking about screwing, they screw you big time with the cheats, you buy like one for 99 cent, but you can only use it 10 times or you have to buy it again! And for like stamina it barely works! I also bought the gimme all kind of dlc, so i could max my character, but it didn't help at all. One match you knock one out easy, the next one you get owned again by A.I that has a harder head than a steel beam even though you max out to the top.

    The camera positions are awful, you can choose different angles, but not one can give you correct info on where you should hit your opponent, with the standard camera angle you can't even see what your opponent is doing below the waist. Doing dirty moves is also messed up for most of them, I'm performing them perfectly and sometimes the system still does not performs them correctly, i also tried to do them in different speeds. Thank god i bought this game out of the bargain bin and not spend 60 euro's when it was released.

    I like how you really have to work for it, but you have to work for it too much. A little less would have been nicer. Let's hope IF we get a The Fight 2, they will learn from their mistakes.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews