User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    The Godfather II is a pretty decent game. Not the best game there is, of course, but it is effective and makes the player feel that he has a family at your service and ready for action. The gameplay is good, and the story is linear, the game tries to do many things and I think many of these things do successfully. The game does not have good graphics, but coming from EA, one would notThe Godfather II is a pretty decent game. Not the best game there is, of course, but it is effective and makes the player feel that he has a family at your service and ready for action. The gameplay is good, and the story is linear, the game tries to do many things and I think many of these things do successfully. The game does not have good graphics, but coming from EA, one would not expect much, but overall it's a very good game and a good experience for the player. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    The Godfather II is a pretty decent game. Not the best game there is, of course, but it is effective and makes the player feel that he has a family at your service and ready for action. The gameplay is good, and the story is linear, the game tries to do many things and I think many of these things do successfully. The game does NOT have good graphics, but coming from EA, one would notThe Godfather II is a pretty decent game. Not the best game there is, of course, but it is effective and makes the player feel that he has a family at your service and ready for action. The gameplay is good, and the story is linear, the game tries to do many things and I think many of these things do successfully. The game does NOT have good graphics, but coming from EA, one would not expect much, but overall it's a very good game and a good experience for the player. Expand
  3. EoinF
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    Love it. Loved the first one, and now it brings back the exact same gameplay, something people who loved the first one wanted all along for it's sequel.
  4. PeterH
    Jun 11, 2009
    7
    The Godfather II is a decent game. It's good fun for a while but it gets repetitive and a bit boring after playing for a few hours. If you finish it then there is not enough to make you want to play it again.
  5. RickS
    Apr 16, 2009
    2
    Godtather 2 has dated visuals and terrible AI. The cities are small and dull. The controls feel clunky and awkward both on foot and in car. Voice acting is horrible. Definately some good, but not original, ideas that were not executed well. Having to take your made men online to upgrade their weapon licenses' was a terrible idea. I suppose they did this realising their game was too Godtather 2 has dated visuals and terrible AI. The cities are small and dull. The controls feel clunky and awkward both on foot and in car. Voice acting is horrible. Definately some good, but not original, ideas that were not executed well. Having to take your made men online to upgrade their weapon licenses' was a terrible idea. I suppose they did this realising their game was too short hoping this would increase its longevity. The first game was amazing, I played through it twice on both the ps2 and ps3. If this game wasn't a sequel I may have been more forgiving but it's definately a huge step back from the original. EA hasn't let me down this much since Mercenaries 2. Don't mess up Dead Space 2. Expand
  6. LuigiC
    Apr 15, 2009
    9
    By no means a perfect game, though through its creatively original concepts, it certainly offers a thrilling ride and succeeds in its aim to capture the experience of being a Don. There are technical problems, such as crew members seemingly unable to enter a car smoothly, but these can be overlooked when summarising the game as an overall package. The weapon variety is certainly plentiful By no means a perfect game, though through its creatively original concepts, it certainly offers a thrilling ride and succeeds in its aim to capture the experience of being a Don. There are technical problems, such as crew members seemingly unable to enter a car smoothly, but these can be overlooked when summarising the game as an overall package. The weapon variety is certainly plentiful and the gameplay is addictive as the player takes control of rackets and compounds to exercise total authority over all 3 cities in the game. The main expansion upon The first Godfather game is the inclusion of Dons view, an intuitive new feature that allows the player to strategically control their business. This feature offers just enough strategy to award the player a sense of responsibility over their financial books and other miscellanies through thankfully not enough to turn a 3rd person shooter into an accountancy simulator. Graphics are bordering on cartoonish though they do bestow a certain charm upon the game, complemented by excellent sound which recreates the lively atmosphere of the 1950's. Godfather 2 is technically not a great game, but the originality which excludes it from being yet another GTA clone offers the player a fantastic experience which undeniably captures the criminal underworld through the eyes of a Don, whilst letting the player re-enact their mafia fantasies in true mobster style. Expand
  7. MohamedKhazaal
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    After playing Godfather I, I knew I had to pickup The Godfather II, and I'm glad I did. I recommend this game to anyone interested in action. The gameplay is fun and the storyline is great. The cutscenes look really good too. The game gets you to be a little strategic later on, so it can be a little tough, unlike other website reviews that said it was too easy.
  8. SeanG
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    To describe the second installment to EAs crime family would be to describe a amazing, engaging, thrilling,inovating crime sandbox game. Mixed with a dash of sandbox and a pinch of tactics is a great idea, sure there are 1 or 2 problems but are so quickly mached out by the things you can do and achieve and as Juan P said to make money for your family you can mugg people (kill people), rob To describe the second installment to EAs crime family would be to describe a amazing, engaging, thrilling,inovating crime sandbox game. Mixed with a dash of sandbox and a pinch of tactics is a great idea, sure there are 1 or 2 problems but are so quickly mached out by the things you can do and achieve and as Juan P said to make money for your family you can mugg people (kill people), rob banks, take over rackets and shops ,do favours for people. The black hand or back hand i cant remember is better then some games completely based around fighting games. But also the execution moves are great and a bit sick more then most the bat and the tommy gun execution moves. Plus there is a ONLINE MODE!!!!!!! woohoo and its not completely terrible!!!!. Every kill and every cent you earn goes strate to your single player family, its played in completely third person. You play any member of your family and you take there skills online and you make them better. If you liked the first game by this game if you like the godfather movies by this game i could not even describe what this game is like its a missing piece in the godfather but now the gap is filled a master piece dear i say. Expand
  9. JuanP
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    With the inclusion of creating your family, running several Crime Rings and organizing crimes Godfather II takes an existing sandbox game, and upgrades it to an open-world strategy Mobster game. We loved how many different ways it was to make money (bank heists, favors etc.) because it is, after all, the root of all evil. Be sure to enjoy the story mode and complete side missions since With the inclusion of creating your family, running several Crime Rings and organizing crimes Godfather II takes an existing sandbox game, and upgrades it to an open-world strategy Mobster game. We loved how many different ways it was to make money (bank heists, favors etc.) because it is, after all, the root of all evil. Be sure to enjoy the story mode and complete side missions since there are plenty of XBox 360 Achievements and PS3 Trophies to rack up. From the comfort of my sofa, I rigged bombs onto moving cars, sniped Police officers from atop billboard signs and roamed the streets of Cuba. Where else but in Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 53
  2. Negative: 5 out of 53
  1. 100
    It isn't the best open-world game out there, but it does a sublime job of capturing what it feels like to be the head of a virtual crime family. [Apr 2009, p.81]
  2. Godfather II is a good action videogame that is remarkably improving the good work of its predecessor. A brilliant mixture of action, strategy and resources management, with extraordinary ideas in its concept but with a technical side that needs to be more polished.
  3. Repetition is the biggest flaw in the game, but it doesn’t ruin the experience, by any means. As mentioned earlier the graphics are a lot crisper, the gunplay is a lot tighter, and the managerial side of the game isn’t without the odd moment of satisfaction. The Godfather ii is a decent enough sequel of a decent enough game, diehard fans of the movie should hit it up, to everyone else: this is an offer you can refuse, if you’d like to.