Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This collection provides HD and 3D updates for PS2 classics Ico and Shadow of the Colossus.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    100
    If video games aren't art, then ICO & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is not a video game. It's a staggering compilation of two of the most creative, intimate and emotional pieces of interactive entertainment ever conceived.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    100
    Whether you're new to this unique pairing or you've played one or both before, this splendid collection is pretty much a compulsory purchase.
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    95
    ICO and Shadow of the Colossus are two of the greatest games ever made, and they're still as emotionally gripping and visually astounding as before. This is the closest you'll get to perfection in 2011.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    90
    A must buy for every single PS3 owner. The lack of extras is a shame, but the quality of the two original games and the good HD conversions grant to every Ueda fan what they're looking for. Enjoy this gem and wait for The Last Guardian.
  5. Both games are certifiable classics, and the HD visuals amplify all of the emotion Team Ico tenderly weaved into them. [Nov 2011, p.80]
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    These are brilliant, memorable, inventive and emotionally involving adventures, and the combination of remastered visuals, 3D options, Trophies and a $40 price tag make them more irresistible than ever.
  7. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    It's difficult avoid feeling nostalgia after playing Ico and Shadow of the Colossus again after all these years, and while the core of each experience withstands the test of time, the control issues that were easy to overlook the first time around simply can't be ignored today.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 77
  2. Negative: 7 out of 77
  1. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    Shadow of The Colossus is the greatest game ever period (in my opinion) and when I saw the remastered HD version for PS3 I had to get itShadow of The Colossus is the greatest game ever period (in my opinion) and when I saw the remastered HD version for PS3 I had to get it (having ICO on the same bundle as well is a massive bonus).

    Shadow is as near to perfect as a game can get in my opinion. Is it the best looking game ever, no but the sheer sense of scale you feel as you travel the land is great and the scale and size of the colossi is breath taking when you come up against them.

    The game is essentially 15 boss battles with little to nothing to do in between other then travelling from the temple to hunt down these beasts now that may sound boring to some people but for me it wasn't you don't need to fight hoards of enemies the colossi are enemy enough and the stars of the show,

    As I said before the colossi are amazing to look at and you are just the small speck of a guy up against these giants with your only help being your trusty horse Agro (who is amazing!) and the puzzle/strategy element is trying to figure out just how you will bring them down. It was odd as well in a game where the colossi are labelled as the enemy for you I felt slightly guilty each time as I downed them and they fell to the ground.
    Even though the controls can be a little annoying at first and the graphics are not amazing but it just didn't matter to me for some reason as the gameplay was amazing and I wanted to defeat these 15 colossi to see what would happen in the end. It's simply my favourite game ever.

    I had never played ICO before so it was a bonus this was included and I must say although I did not like it as much as SOC it's a great game and very enjoyable.
    Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Two masterpieces on one disk in HD it's just amazing! If you do not play on PS2 can not skip, and if the game is able to do it on the bigTwo masterpieces on one disk in HD it's just amazing! If you do not play on PS2 can not skip, and if the game is able to do it on the big screen with the best texture a great reason to buy. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong withLet me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong with that. Certain people can't watch a movie unless it has explosions, certain people can't watch Public Television because it educates rather than entertains, and certain people will pick this up on the recommendation of another and feel 100% cheated because it doesn't involve wanton killing, busty women, rampant foul language and guns.

    If you are one of these types of people, it's okay. I'm not going to judge you or your tastes. I'll just let you know that i feel sorry for you, because whatever "eye of the beholder" thing it takes to truly enjoy these games, you don't have it, and believe me, your life is worse because of that. You don't know what you've missed.

    Ico is definitely the harder game to get into, out of the two games in the collection. It will involve you solving puzzles and leading a girl to safety by escaping the castle where the both of you are imprisoned. It will involve her speaking in a language you don't understand, and it will tax the part of the brain that won't help you fire a gun. For those patient enough to brave the journey, you may find yourself with an incredibly emotional experience at the end of the road, and you'll be amazed a video game could make you feel that way. I'm trying to spoil as little as I can for you, and I'm sorry if this sounds a bit paltry, but this is the gist of the experience.

    On the other hand, Shadow Of The Colossus is the most beautifully haunting game I've ever played. It too is about solving puzzles, but the goal in this game is not to figure out how you'll escape a castle, it's how to kill sixteen giant beasts that dwarf you in scale. No other game has made me feel so overwhelmingly powerful by making me feel so insignificant throughout the entire process - the expansive overworld with no enemies or even epic travel music, the loneliness between your character and the horse he rides, it all seems so pointless until you find your next enemy. The silence is the calm before the storm, and that storm is the next giant beast you will have to locate, climb and somehow kill. It will give you a sense of wonder, dread and most of all, it will prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that video games deserve to be called an artistic medium. As I said, it won't be for everyone. But if you find yourself looking for something that could make you proud to own your PlayStation, and you don't mind not shooting a gun or scoring a goal, then you may find yourself in for the best games that the previous generation had to offer. There's a very good reason why the PlayStation 2 was the home of the best franchise titles of the last hardware generation, and that didn't have as much to to with Grand Theft Auto, Resident Evil, Madden, Final Fantasy or God Of War as it did games like Ico and Shadow Of The Colossus. Now, these games have been given a 1080p HD facelift, and given trophies for the player to earn as well. Any individual who considers themselves a gamer, in any sense of the term whether broad or niche, needs to try these two games. You may find that you don't like them, and like I said earlier, that's okay. Caviar isn't for everyone, and one man's delicacy can be another's poison. If you're in the mood for something besides controller McDonalds, though, this is your wake-up call.

    For those who do pick it up and find themselves lost in the most incredible worlds, your curiosity will be rewarded hundredfold. Then, you'll understand why people like myself are so excited for The Last Guardian...and chances are, you will be too after playing through these two games (and especially SotC). Don't pass this up, whatever you do.
    Collapse
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll333llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll222llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll333llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll222lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll333lllllllllllllllllllllllll Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    These games are an excellent example of where art combines with console gaming. Both games have the look of De Chirico and Dali in theirThese games are an excellent example of where art combines with console gaming. Both games have the look of De Chirico and Dali in their artwork, and there is an existential depth to the story that goes beyond the usual gaming fare . In Ico the initial abandonment and ultimate friendship of the two characters is achingly beautiful, capturing the essence of childlike innocence and at its heart this is the reason Ico has such a resonance.
    Don't expect to be meeting or talking to other characters, because they are notable by their absence. Sound of wind, running water and birdsong are the predominant sounds that accompany Ico in his adventures, making this a haunting ,moving experience.
    These are not state- of -the -art -next -gen -graphics to be sure, but Shadow of the Colossus still looks gorgeous and the originality of the game-play has enough to keep you interested. With its remastered HD makeover, ( when are we going to get 1080 HD as standard on PS3 games! ) this collection is well worth the purchase price even if you have played it before on Ps2.
    There are some problems however with camera points of view and counter intuitive controls that can make both games frustrating and episodic rather than flowing but this does little to detract from an innovative, beautiful gaming experience.
    Strongly recommended
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Un juego que busca innovar y que con una buena base e ideas implementa algo novedoso. Pero la cosa no salió muy bien, la verdad se vuelveUn juego que busca innovar y que con una buena base e ideas implementa algo novedoso. Pero la cosa no salió muy bien, la verdad se vuelve algo repetitivo, aburrido y no engancha mucho...igualmente hubiera sido un gran juego de enganchar mas y no ser tan lento...solo lo recomiendo a los que le gustaron el juego, para los amantes de tipo puzzles, pero para los demás no, no me gusto el juego y eso que al principio me agrado la idea, pero se quedó en un quiero y no puedo... Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    Shadow of the Colossus was horrible. The controls were bad and unwieldy. The sound track was good and the graphics were OK but that does notShadow of the Colossus was horrible. The controls were bad and unwieldy. The sound track was good and the graphics were OK but that does not excuse the game for its poorly designed controls. The game was so horrible that it has killed my love for the PlayStation 3. I would not recommend this game at all. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.