The ICO & Shadow of the Colossus Collection Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This collection provides HD and 3D updates for PS2 classics Ico and Shadow of the Colossus.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    100
    If video games aren't art, then ICO & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is not a video game. It's a staggering compilation of two of the most creative, intimate and emotional pieces of interactive entertainment ever conceived.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    100
    Whether you're new to this unique pairing or you've played one or both before, this splendid collection is pretty much a compulsory purchase.
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    95
    ICO and Shadow of the Colossus are two of the greatest games ever made, and they're still as emotionally gripping and visually astounding as before. This is the closest you'll get to perfection in 2011.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    90
    A must buy for every single PS3 owner. The lack of extras is a shame, but the quality of the two original games and the good HD conversions grant to every Ueda fan what they're looking for. Enjoy this gem and wait for The Last Guardian.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 7, 2011
    90
    Both games are certifiable classics, and the HD visuals amplify all of the emotion Team Ico tenderly weaved into them. [Nov 2011, p.80]
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    These are brilliant, memorable, inventive and emotionally involving adventures, and the combination of remastered visuals, 3D options, Trophies and a $40 price tag make them more irresistible than ever.
  7. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    It's difficult avoid feeling nostalgia after playing Ico and Shadow of the Colossus again after all these years, and while the core of each experience withstands the test of time, the control issues that were easy to overlook the first time around simply can't be ignored today.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 86
  2. Negative: 6 out of 86
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong withLet me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong with that. Certain people can't watch a movie unless it has explosions, certain people can't watch Public Television because it educates rather than entertains, and certain people will pick this up on the recommendation of another and feel 100% cheated because it doesn't involve wanton killing, busty women, rampant foul language and guns.

    If you are one of these types of people, it's okay. I'm not going to judge you or your tastes. I'll just let you know that i feel sorry for you, because whatever "eye of the beholder" thing it takes to truly enjoy these games, you don't have it, and believe me, your life is worse because of that. You don't know what you've missed.

    Ico is definitely the harder game to get into, out of the two games in the collection. It will involve you solving puzzles and leading a girl to safety by escaping the castle where the both of you are imprisoned. It will involve her speaking in a language you don't understand, and it will tax the part of the brain that won't help you fire a gun. For those patient enough to brave the journey, you may find yourself with an incredibly emotional experience at the end of the road, and you'll be amazed a video game could make you feel that way. I'm trying to spoil as little as I can for you, and I'm sorry if this sounds a bit paltry, but this is the gist of the experience.

    On the other hand, Shadow Of The Colossus is the most beautifully haunting game I've ever played. It too is about solving puzzles, but the goal in this game is not to figure out how you'll escape a castle, it's how to kill sixteen giant beasts that dwarf you in scale. No other game has made me feel so overwhelmingly powerful by making me feel so insignificant throughout the entire process - the expansive overworld with no enemies or even epic travel music, the loneliness between your character and the horse he rides, it all seems so pointless until you find your next enemy. The silence is the calm before the storm, and that storm is the next giant beast you will have to locate, climb and somehow kill. It will give you a sense of wonder, dread and most of all, it will prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that video games deserve to be called an artistic medium. As I said, it won't be for everyone. But if you find yourself looking for something that could make you proud to own your PlayStation, and you don't mind not shooting a gun or scoring a goal, then you may find yourself in for the best games that the previous generation had to offer. There's a very good reason why the PlayStation 2 was the home of the best franchise titles of the last hardware generation, and that didn't have as much to to with Grand Theft Auto, Resident Evil, Madden, Final Fantasy or God Of War as it did games like Ico and Shadow Of The Colossus. Now, these games have been given a 1080p HD facelift, and given trophies for the player to earn as well. Any individual who considers themselves a gamer, in any sense of the term whether broad or niche, needs to try these two games. You may find that you don't like them, and like I said earlier, that's okay. Caviar isn't for everyone, and one man's delicacy can be another's poison. If you're in the mood for something besides controller McDonalds, though, this is your wake-up call.

    For those who do pick it up and find themselves lost in the most incredible worlds, your curiosity will be rewarded hundredfold. Then, you'll understand why people like myself are so excited for The Last Guardian...and chances are, you will be too after playing through these two games (and especially SotC). Don't pass this up, whatever you do.
    Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    The Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is a video game bundle that contains high-definition remasters of two masterpiece of PlayStation 2The Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is a video game bundle that contains high-definition remasters of two masterpiece of PlayStation 2 for the PlayStation 3. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This is a great chance for the new generation to experience two games that are timeless artistic masterpieces. Prepare to be amazed, you justThis is a great chance for the new generation to experience two games that are timeless artistic masterpieces. Prepare to be amazed, you just don't come across games of this quality nowadays. Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    These games ARE NOT art. They're just damn good games. Just because the art design of the game world, charcters, colossi are sublime; and theThese games ARE NOT art. They're just damn good games. Just because the art design of the game world, charcters, colossi are sublime; and the musical scores are perfect, and the stories are so well crafted into the actual gameplay does not mean we need to parade these games around like they are something other. I do consider Fumito to be an artist however. These are two innovative ass games point blank period. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Two Playstation 2â
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    8
    It's amazing how mood and atmosphere, combined with intriguing gameplay, can make a game timeless. Despite being ported over from the PS2,It's amazing how mood and atmosphere, combined with intriguing gameplay, can make a game timeless. Despite being ported over from the PS2, and the most recent of the two games included is 6 years old, one could still get completely immersed in this world. Granted, Ico has suffered a little more from aging, and even Colossus is starting to show its age (Colossus animations aren't quite as awesome as the mind's eye remembers them, and geography/geometry pop is more obvious in HD than ever before), but once you start playing, all technical criticisms seem to vanish and it's easy to get drawn into the gameplay. Both of these games were highlights of the PS2's game library, and they still hold up great today. My only criticisms are the aging factor (as I mentioned above) and the camera (though there are manual controls, it often has a mind of its own, and it's frequently stupid); the controls take some getting used to, and are not always intuitive, but they are very customizable so this can be negated. But so much is right with this collection: Both Ico and Shadow of the Colossus are presented in widescreen HD; though this serves to show some of the imperfections and limitations of the old platform, it also shows just how much detail they put into the games that wasn't even obvious on the PS2's limited resolution (which was, at best, 480p). Throw in 3D support (for those of you who have the setup) and these games are even better than before. That said, should you get them if you already have them? Yes! Definitely! Had they been priced at a full $60, I may be slightly harsher, but $40 is a great deal for both of these games presented as such, not to mention the handful of cool bonuses that come on the disc as well (a few documentaries and a couple of dynamic themes). If you liked the games before, you will like them just as much now, and if you've never played them before, you will probably be pleasantly surprised at just how awesome these games are (even if you are slightly underwhelmed at the technical aspects). Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Ico was boring so I turned it off after about an hour. I got towards the end of Shadow of the Collosus. Shadow is such a great concept...tooIco was boring so I turned it off after about an hour. I got towards the end of Shadow of the Collosus. Shadow is such a great concept...too bad it's executed poorly. The controls are immeasurable to wear it's hard to look around and the horse is just a mess to deal with. The camera freaks out nonstop so that I can't see anything. If you get knocked down in the game by an enemy then you cannot ever get back up before he hits you again. The nicest thing I can say about this gay is that it sucks. I will never play a Team ICO game again. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.