Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The legendary 3-on-3 fighting game series that united rival brawlers from SNK Playmore's classic arcade franchises celebrates its 15th Anniversary in style with the release of The King of Fighters XII. For the first time in its history, this epic martial arts showdown has undergone a complete graphical overhaul. The antiquated character sprites used over the past 14 years have been dropped in favor of all-new, high-resolution fighters fluidly animating across painstakingly detailed, 100% hand-drawn backgrounds. [SNK Playmore] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 48
  2. Negative: 10 out of 48
  1. 82
    Short on content but solid technically. [Issue#182, p.76]
  2. Right now, there’s way too little here to recommend a full-price purchase to anyone. Die-hards should only buy it when it hits the $20-30 range, and everyone else will likely be satiated by a rental. What’s here is done quite well, but there just isn’t enough of it.
  3. So when it’s all said and done, The King of Fighters XII isn’t going to be placed on a mantle above all other fighting games. It lacks proper net code and not everyone is going to enjoy the pixilated graphics.
  4. The fighting at the center of King of Fighters XII is totally fine, but with everything surrounding that action coming off so half-cocked, there are a lot of annoying little barriers to enjoying that fighting.
  5. 60
    King of Fighters XII is fun to play when you're fighting a buddy locally, but everything else about the game is seriously lacking.
  6. It's hard to decide what's more offensive, the massive changes made to the core gameplay that kept this series different or the complete lack of options outside of the useless online play. Either way, fans of and newcomers to the series both lose.
  7. With 22 fighters, this stands as the worst-attended KOF game to date, and as the series still largely relies on team battles, the limited mix-and-match options are particularly annoying.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. JuanDiez
    Sep 2, 2009
    8
    Just like I thought! It keeps the original flavour of the series, but playable on a PS3. For me it is a must. I have enjoyed SF IV, BlazBlue and then this KoF. Each one has its pros and cons, but definately I am able to find a time to play each title without being bord. Expand
  2. ghostbinder
    Jul 29, 2009
    6
    Having been burnt out playing Street fighter 4 and not really feeling Blazblue.Though ill admit Blazblue is a well polished game,just not my cup of tea.I decided to buy this game.Now ill admit im not the biggest King of fighters fan.Ive always been a street fighter player.I wanted something different so i thought why not?and so far im really enjoying it.Maybe its because im a king of fighters newbie.But i like the simplified gameplay.Its not a button masher by any means but you don't have to memorize a million moves either to enjoy yourself.Its fun and that's the most important thing to me.I will say though that i haven't tried online yet.(have heard some bad things)and the lack of single player modes is a real downner.But if you're a looking for another 2d fighting fix,gameplay wise its a good game.Its at least a solid rental. Expand
  3. ReyS
    Jul 27, 2009
    5
    -----PROS AND CONS----- - Bare bones fighter with bare bones gameplay modes to choose from (Arcade, Versus, Online, Gallery, Practice, Options). This is pretty lame, considering that KOF XI had more to offer in terms of it's selection, and other franchises put so much into their single-player campaigns to keep the replay value up. (Tekken, Virtua Fighter, Guilty Gear XX, Soul Calibur...) -KOF was originally about 3v3 TEAM play. Regardless if there is no real storyline in this year's game, there was usually reason in the KOF universe for characters to be there and to team up. No teams nor reasoning in this one. One on one fighting only... with no endings! This is a straight arcade port. -All gameplay additions from past years such as tag-ins, LSDMs, or extra DMs have been exempt from this year's game as well. Even though the arguement that the game has been reverted and there is no storyline, it still does make it right to lose better movelists, nor totally change a character's movelist due to an non-existant storyline (Iori, I'm looking at you...) +The only 2 possible lifelines to this fighter are (1), the totally graphical overhaul of it. Animation is incredibly fluid and smooth compared another game in it's genre, "BlazBlue". It is at least on par with, if not better than, Street Fighter 3: Third Strike in terms of fluidity and motion of characters and moves. (2) The other save would be the online portion, but by now, most big name fighting franchises are making this a staple of any fighter that comes out these days. Expand
  4. Darkstrike
    Oct 6, 2009
    4
    As a long time fan who has played every single title in the series since 94', I am thoroughly disappointed in the latest over-hyped and under-delivering iteration. The movelists are paltry compared to the hugely enjoyable predecessors (not to mention the exclusion of many fan-favourite characters). The excuse that every single character has been painstakingly redrawn does not make up for the many shortcomings of this game (no final/mid boss, no intuitive training mode, among others). However, based on the game play, potential remains for the next KOF to make it up to its fans. Collapse
  5. Thom,LordofKittens
    Jul 30, 2009
    3
    What a let down... This isn't KOF... Character designs are great, but everything that made the series great is missing. No Cheesy Boss, no endings, no nothing... Animation is great until you realize how many moves were cut from characters, and how few characters there are. Very, very disappointed. Expand
  6. DanH
    Jul 28, 2009
    3
    Many years ago, when my brother and I first got a PlayStation for Christmas, there were a handful of games that helped define our impressions of fighting games; among them was King of Fighters '95. Though plagued with loading times, the crisp animation, catchy music, and massive amount of interesting characters, teams, and locales let me know that the arcades had finally come home. Fast forward to July 2009. After loading up KoFXII, aware the series had opted for "quality over quantity" with characters--in theory--I eagerly established a team of the original Fatal Fury dudes, with Terry as my frontman. Bizarre anime-esque newsreel interludes aside, I fought off through five (just five?) stages of enemies, only to learn at the end...that no memorable cheap-yet-satisfying to trounce SNK boss laid in wait to force me to use that continue service once more. Baffled, I thought back to Capcom vs. SNK 2, and how if you did poorly, you were denied the chance to fight a final boss. "Clearly, this was the case," thought I, as I proceeded to play through once again, with increased gusto! Six plus minutes later, yet again the last match was followed by nothing more than the credits...and my time, like I cared. Funny, Ignition (the publisher who will live in infamy with me from now on) didn't indicate on their website--amongst this shocker--all of the following absentee features that make KoF...well, KoF: No final boss, no character intros/outros, only one win pose, only 6 stages (2 are effectively palette-swapped), no special effects when finishing a foe with a super, no arcing story, no teams...no nothing... With some 5 teams of 3 characters each still represented, and a few stragglers, it honestly feels like this game was published incomplete, like the deadline was a sword of Damocles, threatening doom. Well, the doom falls upon the unfortunate KoF fan who--like me--spends $60 to find they bought an incomplete game. (Don't even get me started on Iori.) The Critical Counter and "Clashing" mechanics seem well enough at first, thought the clashing seems subverted by the ubiquitous roll, and the critical counters cannot be comboed into; rather, you must be in relatively close range, and your hard punch/kick must somehow have priority over whatever they are being countered with--not likely if light attacks are being used. I don't even mind that they're trying something new with this idea, but it's implementation seems tacked on. This is the worst King of Fighters title I have ever played. (Say what you will about Eolith, I personally liked KoF 2001.) With a renaissance of 2D-fighters this year on next-gen consoles, it will be a long time before Ignition gets one more of my dollars. Expand
  7. JerseyChris
    Aug 1, 2009
    1
    The essence of KOF had is missing... Don't buy this game, just rent it!!! I rented my copy and on the 2nd day finished all the characters. No Boss! No Plot! No Story! No Ending! No Secret Characters! & NO GOOD!!! The only good thing is the detailed graphics... :( Expand

See all 10 User Reviews