Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    70
    There’s a scene in Left Behind proving that Naughty Dog not only has ambition to elevate games to the rank of art form, but simply does it. [05/2014, p.64]
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    70
    Left Behind barely scratches the itch I’ve been hoping to claw at since I put the controller down last summer. It's a bite-sized extension of the characters and lives fans connected with so deeply.
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    70
    Left Behind extends The Last of Us with a good (but short!) story and some enjoyable gameplay additions.
  4. Feb 13, 2014
    70
    The Last Of Us' story was pretty much perfect in terms of what it wanted to achieve. This does nothing to build on or take away from that.
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 693 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 123
  2. Negative: 20 out of 123
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, itsA fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I rated 10 on the main game , but this DLC showed me everything... that when a developer gets to be very perfect here comes **** I know not everyone shares my opinion . I 've become very attached to the first game , and never crossed my mind that one day Ellie had a lesbian impulse with her best friend . Playing DLC I noticed that affection between the two girls was natural , but the relationship was intensify. And then suddenly, Ellie kisses Riley . It may be an innocent kiss, but I have my doubts . The problem is that in my opinion totally changed my perspective on the character in the main campaign . Why the hell would do that one DLC ? Okay , there is a fenomenal narrative and scenarios so well made , but the key factor here is not it. Ellie gay ? Is it? A revelation of such importance in a DLC ? This kind of issue should be addressed early on in the campaign. Here we go ..... if Ellie and Riley shared a strong feeling among them , why not Ellie took his own life , knowing was infected and her had only the time as enemy? In my opinion the writer had a serious problem in considering the history in the main campaign or they wanted from the beginning to present Ellie as gay .

    The issue is that the DLC changed my eyesight on the character in the story, I mean, the game played with your conscious presenting two perspectives, when the first was practically defined (creating another completely useless).
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    1
    If you've played Last of Us, you've already played this DLC. No, seriously, you've played it already.

    The narrative of the game is easily
    If you've played Last of Us, you've already played this DLC. No, seriously, you've played it already.

    The narrative of the game is easily noticeable as that's the only real new thing it has to offer. It's a ONE HOUR glimpse into Ellie's past. Remember that friend of hers she talked about, and the incident leading up to her infection? Well, this is it. You get to experience a brief moment in her life before s**t went south. So, what was Naughty Dog's answer to all the boring dialog scenes you have to sit through? Replay some moments of the original game of course! :D That's right folks, you get to enjoy playing that area of the game where Ellie is looking after Joel...again. Granted, it's not exactly the same moments from the original, but close enough that it feels like deja vu rather than deja new. While this part of the DLC may appear to be the foil to an otherwise boring task, rightfully so...that's exactly what it is. It's unoriginal, unnecessary, and it reeks of a cash grab. For all the things that Naughty Dog could have done, they chose to cut corners instead. Sadly, diehard fans and non-paying-for-this-content reviewers are not going to be the people to caution you against a purchase like this. So consider that one can purchase a theater ticket for less and squeeze more time out of the experience than this.
    Full Review »