Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 562 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ellie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for the last time, leading to a series of events that might forever change their lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    A bonus to the ingenious game is atmospheric, and although it brings nothing original, a return of the likeable heroes along with great gameplay is perfectly fine, even though it lasts for a couple of hours.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 111
  2. Negative: 17 out of 111
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    OMG ive waited so long for a game like this with female characters who are not just put in the plot because the game wants to be 'progressive' but is actually backwards because they're just there for the men.

    This took me back to teenage years and does it so well. People who say that games cant tell stories as well as books should play this and open their dumb minds. People who say this costs too much are just plain dumb because most dlc has 1 hour of story content but is then filled to 5 hours with repetitive combat. Bioshock dlc anyone??? This does the opposite and has 3 hours without any combat and then (i admit) fills the last half hour (only about 15%!!) with combat but that doesnt mean this game deserves anything less than 10.

    This was the only game ive ever played where i played it for the second time immediately after finishing it the first time. It's so good. No I didn't cry like I did in TLoU but there's a subtlety in the whole game. I hardly have to say how rare it is for a game to have this but enough from me! If you havent played it already do so. Trust me on this you wont regret it. Also PC snobs can go screw themselves but by not playing the game they already are by missing out on this masterpiece. I know its super early but this is the game to beat for goty this year.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    This piece of dlc is based around the main game, it is played out in flashbacks. It contains a few collectibles, art gallery to increase playtime. The game has naturally borrowed gameplay mechanics from the main campaign which work really well and user friendly. The game on my first playthrough took me 2 and a half hours to complete on survivor difficulty and is was a fresh and entertaining piece of dlc. It expertly portrays ellie as a funny and typical teenager, but a teenager with wisdom and a knack for survival. It fills out the missing parts from the main campaign and it ties up a lot of loose ends. I loved it and im going for another playthrough soon. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    The greatest piece of DLC I've ever played. LEFT BEHIND is a pure work of genius. It has all of the things that made THE LAST OF US one of the greatest game of all time. Whereas the prologue for the game focused more on Joel and his journey with Ellie. LEFT BEHIND shows you Ellie's life right before the beginning of THE LAST OF US. The story of Left Behind is masterfully written, giving more insight to Ellie's relationship with Riley, as well as showing you the unforgiving world of post-apocalyptic USA, one more time. The combat introduces Infected and humans in the same area, with you right in the middle. You can use the Infected to get the humans or use stealth to sneak past all of them. LEFT BEHIND is the new high point for DLC. It's worth nearly more than it's price and it's a definite must buy for fans. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This was maybe hte most anticipated DLC of the year, so Naughty Dog HAD to deliver, having the tough job of having to match the excellence of the full game in a "downloadable content" format. So choosing the prequel way, and throwing in the story of our favourite character, Ellie, Left Behind seem already the perfect choice.
    In here, we get to see two perspectives, or let's say, two Ellies. One is already with Joel, slaying her way out of a mall. The other one is with Riley, her best friend, who, if you finished the campaign, you know how that story is going to end. Both stories don't work together quite as well as the narration in the campaign did, but it still has the touching moments you expect, and the quirky and quotable dialogue.
    Gameplay is the same, intense, challenging and open-ended, but the DLC introduces a new feature into battle that is the one of "Mixed enemies". That means you have both, human enemies and infected, in a same room, giving you the choice of either going full-stealth one by one, or making them fight each other. Is a human near you? Throw a bottle near him, and let that clicker do its job. This makes the gameplay more tactical and surprisingly, more fun.
    And of course, it is a beautiful DLC, just as the game, it pushes the PS3 to limits we have never seen before. So, in the end, Left Behind is short and a tad expensive (14.99 USD) but its two hour journey provides fans exactly what they want: More The Last of Us, and also a heart-warming story about two girls in this post-apocalyptic world whose story is both touching and devastating.
    Collapse
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    This short DLC gives a lot more insight into Ellie's origins and does a good job of character development with Riley. It also fills in a gap in the original story. The environments are as detailed as before and there a few collectibles that aid in building up the story. The dialogue with Ellie and Riley is really well done. I think this DLC is meaningful and adds value to the TLOU story.

    If you are someone who played through the original game and didn't care about the story development, characters, or dialogue, you won't like this DLC. It's light on action and the focus is really on story development. The action is still good, just not really new.

    I think this DLC could have been a little longer and maybe had a little more action, but I recommend it to those who are big fans of all aspects of the original game. Those who value action over story may wish to skip this one, or may want to wait for a price reduction, if possible.

    I played this on Survivor difficulty and have all collectibles and conversations. It took almost 3 hours and a little replaying for mopping up some collectibles. I had already purchased this DLC via Season Pass.
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    0
    next to bioshock infinite this content was the most disappointing. it was short pointless and covered story we had already heard about plus they screwed with the story by throwing in a little romance that just reminded me of cliche action movies not the last of us i have come to love. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews