The Last of Us: Left Behind PlayStation 3

The Last of Us: Left Behind Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 749 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ellie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for theEllie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for the last time, leading to a series of events that might forever change their lives. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    A bonus to the ingenious game is atmospheric, and although it brings nothing original, a return of the likeable heroes along with great gameplay is perfectly fine, even though it lasts for a couple of hours.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 125
  2. Negative: 21 out of 125
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    To be honest I would give street cleaner simulator a 10 if the driver was Ellie.
    It is way too short and end is a little bit disappointing,
    To be honest I would give street cleaner simulator a 10 if the driver was Ellie.
    It is way too short and end is a little bit disappointing, how come Ellie didn't have to kill Riley? How did naughty dog miss such a powerful scene?
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Some people said there's no sense on putting Ellie helping Joel and Ellie and Riley having fun in the same DLC. I'd rather say this was aSome people said there's no sense on putting Ellie helping Joel and Ellie and Riley having fun in the same DLC. I'd rather say this was a perfect idea. Ellie and Riley were like sisters (if you played the DLC, you'll know they're more than friends) and one cared about the other, something that friends in real life usually don't. It compares Ellie's past friendship with her relationship (more like father-daughter) with Joel and tell us how far would Ellie go for somebody she loves. Ellie is more human the most of the real humans.
    I'd give it a 11/10, but that's not possible. So... 10/10, a masterpiece DLC for a masterpiece game
    Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, itsA fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was maybe hte most anticipated DLC of the year, so Naughty Dog HAD to deliver, having the tough job of having to match the excellence of the full game in a "downloadable content" format. So choosing the prequel way, and throwing in the story of our favourite character, Ellie, Left Behind seem already the perfect choice.
    In here, we get to see two perspectives, or let's say, two Ellies. One is already with Joel, slaying her way out of a mall. The other one is with Riley, her best friend, who, if you finished the campaign, you know how that story is going to end. Both stories don't work together quite as well as the narration in the campaign did, but it still has the touching moments you expect, and the quirky and quotable dialogue.
    Gameplay is the same, intense, challenging and open-ended, but the DLC introduces a new feature into battle that is the one of "Mixed enemies". That means you have both, human enemies and infected, in a same room, giving you the choice of either going full-stealth one by one, or making them fight each other. Is a human near you? Throw a bottle near him, and let that clicker do its job. This makes the gameplay more tactical and surprisingly, more fun.
    And of course, it is a beautiful DLC, just as the game, it pushes the PS3 to limits we have never seen before. So, in the end, Left Behind is short and a tad expensive (14.99 USD) but its two hour journey provides fans exactly what they want: More The Last of Us, and also a heart-warming story about two girls in this post-apocalyptic world whose story is both touching and devastating.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me just star this by saying, if you enjoyed The Last of Us (like everyone else), then you need to get this. It's story is excellent, its gameplay is top-notch, and, even with the PS4 on the market, it still looks gorgeous. That being said, I have a few caveats that stop me from giving it a 10/10. It is a tad short, for starters. Normally length is not a problem for me, but I feel as though the conclusion with the two girls was cut short. Some of the combat, while awesome, felt a little forced as well. Also, the "reveal". I going to try to say this in as spoiler free a way as possible, but here goes nothing. I don't like what they did with the reveal, mostly because I don't like it when a character is suddenly and dramatically changed in an way that had no foreshadow or hint. Heck, if anything, we were led to believe the opposite. But even so, I would have been fine with it if it had been developed (as in Gone Home). To me, it felt like a cop out, and attempt to add more depth and characterization where there already was so much. Otherwise, the story was brilliant, and perfectly written. I loved all three hours with this, and I can't think of a better game to say goodbye to my PS3 with. $20 (on the season pass) well spent. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2014
    8
    I played this for ps4.. but yeh.. It was really good, I liked it a lot, not as actiony or intense as I would have liked, but a really goodI played this for ps4.. but yeh.. It was really good, I liked it a lot, not as actiony or intense as I would have liked, but a really good reason for some dlc, I liked it, sometimes it felt a bit odd when I kept flashing back as I didn't really understand why, I liked the water gun fight, heck knows why they havent mad that into multiplayer yet? but yeh. really good stuff. Expand
  7. May 21, 2015
    0
    Totally overhyped.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

See all 125 User Reviews