Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 701 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ellie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for theEllie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for the last time, leading to a series of events that might forever change their lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    A bonus to the ingenious game is atmospheric, and although it brings nothing original, a return of the likeable heroes along with great gameplay is perfectly fine, even though it lasts for a couple of hours.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 123
  2. Negative: 20 out of 123
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Any excuse I get into playing more, original content for the Last of Us, I'll be all over. And this is no exception. There's alot to loveAny excuse I get into playing more, original content for the Last of Us, I'll be all over. And this is no exception. There's alot to love about this short experience but there's a few things that don't really gel within the game. The game is goes from a series of flashbacks to present time, within the game, where you learn more about Ellie's motivations about why she's doing what she's doing. The introduction of the character of Riley, who we've only heard about till this point, was well done. The storyline about her and Ellie's final day together was, by itself, enough for admission for me. There's a particular stance that the writers took here with their relationship that I fully applaud, even though it feels a bit forced. I won't go into details about the biggest key moment in the DLC, but it's got alot of people talking about it right now, and for good reason. I do feel like the combat portions of the game probably didn't need to be there. I wish the DLC had just focused on Ellie and Riley instead of trying to force you through a part of the main story that wasn't really necessary. It was a great experience and just goes to remind you that this is the last bit of original content for the Last of Us, which is really sad. The game and story end on a high note, just like everything else involved with the game. This truly was one of, if not the, best game of the last generation and it goes out with a bang. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants some more Last of Us to play. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    This piece of dlc is based around the main game, it is played out in flashbacks. It contains a few collectibles, art gallery to increaseThis piece of dlc is based around the main game, it is played out in flashbacks. It contains a few collectibles, art gallery to increase playtime. The game has naturally borrowed gameplay mechanics from the main campaign which work really well and user friendly. The game on my first playthrough took me 2 and a half hours to complete on survivor difficulty and is was a fresh and entertaining piece of dlc. It expertly portrays ellie as a funny and typical teenager, but a teenager with wisdom and a knack for survival. It fills out the missing parts from the main campaign and it ties up a lot of loose ends. I loved it and im going for another playthrough soon. Collapse
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, itsA fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Expand
  4. PCR
    Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Left Behind reminded me why I loved The Last of Us so much. It was easily my favorite game of 2013, and possibly my favorite game of all time.Left Behind reminded me why I loved The Last of Us so much. It was easily my favorite game of 2013, and possibly my favorite game of all time. When the first and final single-player DLC, Left Behind, was announced, I couldn’t wait to jump back into the incredible world that Naughty Dog created.

    Left Behind takes place before the events of The Last of Us. You play as Ellie and are accompanied by your best friend, Riley. This takes place before Ellie ever met Joel. In addition to playing as a slightly younger Ellie in the events that took place before The Last of Us, the game also fills you in on what Ellie was up to while Joel was nearly bleeding to death during the campaign. At first, it may not make sense as to why the game shows these two events together, but it becomes more clear as the game progresses that there is a correlation, mostly emotional, between the two events.

    Playing as Ellie feels a lot different than playing as Joel, as one would imagine. Ellie can handle herself well, but she’s not as hardened of a killer as Joel is, obviously. Ellie dons her trusty switchblade, but don’t let that make you feel comfortable. I found that it’s better to be as stealthy as possible, especially when playing on Hard or Survivor difficulties.

    I absolutely love the relationship between Riley and Ellie that developed over just a couple hours. It made me think about my best friend growing up, and just how special a friendship between two teenage girls can be. It was nice to meet someone that Ellie cared about other than Joel, and it really made me realize why she is so scared to lose someone again. She needs Joel as much as he needs her.

    Final thoughts

    Gameplay: Like I said before, playing as Ellie feels much different than playing as Joel, and it’s definitely more difficult to play as Ellie. However, the combat is very refreshing, and it felt good to kill Infected again.

    Appearance: As expected, environments and all visuals are absolutely gorgeous. I really missed this world, as weird as that may sound. I know Ellie would kill for the opportunity to escape that world as soon as possible.

    Sound: The voice acting performed by Ashley Johnson and Yaani King is superb. Their friendship is absolutely beautiful, and this could not have been fully realized if not for the incredible acting performances. The music is borrowed from the main game’s soundtrack, and is beautiful, as always.

    Bottom line: Any fan of The Last of Us cannot afford to miss this brilliant story expansion. If you have not played the main campaign, please do not play this DLC; it will mean almost nothing to you. However, if you played and enjoyed the incredible universe that Naughty Dog created, do not miss out on Left Behind. At $14.99, it may seem a bit pricey for just over two hours of gameplay, but it’s worth every penny.
    Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    Left Behind keeps the good pacing of TLOU, wisely interleaving calm and tense moments. It has good action scenes, including some new coolLeft Behind keeps the good pacing of TLOU, wisely interleaving calm and tense moments. It has good action scenes, including some new cool combat mechanics (I bet we will see them in the forthcoming new multiplayer DLC). I really buy the silly childish playing part, it's refreshing and useful to set the mood of the player. The narrative quality matches the one of the original game. Clearly, this DLC is good and anyone who liked TLOU will like it. I only have a couple of criticisms: (a) even if it has some genuinely touching moments, in my case it didn't reach TLOU's peak emotional heights; (b) since it's a short experience (2-3 hours), the cost of each playing hour is double than in TLOU: $15/2.5h = 6 > 3 = $60/20h, not to mention TLOU multiplayer additional hours! You know, fan-oriented pricing policy consists in doubling... Finally, a (very minor) disappointment: Obviously, all players who completed TLOU expect some specific event to happen during this DLC. They won't be disappointed in this regard, but I think it's presented in a slightly inconclusive way, I expected a few more details before the scene ends! Do we need now a DLC of the DLC? Maybe at 4x price? ;-) Just kidding! Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    This short DLC gives a lot more insight into Ellie's origins and does a good job of character development with Riley. It also fills in a gapThis short DLC gives a lot more insight into Ellie's origins and does a good job of character development with Riley. It also fills in a gap in the original story. The environments are as detailed as before and there a few collectibles that aid in building up the story. The dialogue with Ellie and Riley is really well done. I think this DLC is meaningful and adds value to the TLOU story.

    If you are someone who played through the original game and didn't care about the story development, characters, or dialogue, you won't like this DLC. It's light on action and the focus is really on story development. The action is still good, just not really new.

    I think this DLC could have been a little longer and maybe had a little more action, but I recommend it to those who are big fans of all aspects of the original game. Those who value action over story may wish to skip this one, or may want to wait for a price reduction, if possible.

    I played this on Survivor difficulty and have all collectibles and conversations. It took almost 3 hours and a little replaying for mopping up some collectibles. I had already purchased this DLC via Season Pass.
    Expand
  7. May 21, 2015
    0
    Totally overhyped.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

See all 123 User Reviews