The Last of Us: Left Behind PlayStation 3

The Last of Us: Left Behind Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 856 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ellie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for theEllie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for the last time, leading to a series of events that might forever change their lives. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Last of Us - Story Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    A bonus to the ingenious game is atmospheric, and although it brings nothing original, a return of the likeable heroes along with great gameplay is perfectly fine, even though it lasts for a couple of hours.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 128
  2. Negative: 15 out of 128
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, itsA fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This DLC is a nice little side story about Ellie's past and "present" which many would recognize from the main story. I also wondered what and how Ellie patched up Joel by herself and it was cool to be able to play it out. The DLC is not long, rather it is super short, and not too long and dragged out to become boring or stale. Two stories ran parallel to each other with the player (you) participating in both "time lines". I thought this was pretty cool, but I have seen this technique used in other games. Regardless, it was fun and a nice little touch after the main events of The Last of Us. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Simply incredible! the graphics are amazing even on LOW 720p! and On a PS3 console! Story is great! tense is there, gameplay is good as well.Simply incredible! the graphics are amazing even on LOW 720p! and On a PS3 console! Story is great! tense is there, gameplay is good as well. This is one of the better DLC I have ever played! Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    The greatest piece of DLC I've ever played. LEFT BEHIND is a pure work of genius. It has all of the things that made THE LAST OF US one of theThe greatest piece of DLC I've ever played. LEFT BEHIND is a pure work of genius. It has all of the things that made THE LAST OF US one of the greatest game of all time. Whereas the prologue for the game focused more on Joel and his journey with Ellie. LEFT BEHIND shows you Ellie's life right before the beginning of THE LAST OF US. The story of Left Behind is masterfully written, giving more insight to Ellie's relationship with Riley, as well as showing you the unforgiving world of post-apocalyptic USA, one more time. The combat introduces Infected and humans in the same area, with you right in the middle. You can use the Infected to get the humans or use stealth to sneak past all of them. LEFT BEHIND is the new high point for DLC. It's worth nearly more than it's price and it's a definite must buy for fans. Expand
  5. PCR
    Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Left Behind reminded me why I loved The Last of Us so much. It was easily my favorite game of 2013, and possibly my favorite game of all time.Left Behind reminded me why I loved The Last of Us so much. It was easily my favorite game of 2013, and possibly my favorite game of all time. When the first and final single-player DLC, Left Behind, was announced, I couldn’t wait to jump back into the incredible world that Naughty Dog created.

    Left Behind takes place before the events of The Last of Us. You play as Ellie and are accompanied by your best friend, Riley. This takes place before Ellie ever met Joel. In addition to playing as a slightly younger Ellie in the events that took place before The Last of Us, the game also fills you in on what Ellie was up to while Joel was nearly bleeding to death during the campaign. At first, it may not make sense as to why the game shows these two events together, but it becomes more clear as the game progresses that there is a correlation, mostly emotional, between the two events.

    Playing as Ellie feels a lot different than playing as Joel, as one would imagine. Ellie can handle herself well, but she’s not as hardened of a killer as Joel is, obviously. Ellie dons her trusty switchblade, but don’t let that make you feel comfortable. I found that it’s better to be as stealthy as possible, especially when playing on Hard or Survivor difficulties.

    I absolutely love the relationship between Riley and Ellie that developed over just a couple hours. It made me think about my best friend growing up, and just how special a friendship between two teenage girls can be. It was nice to meet someone that Ellie cared about other than Joel, and it really made me realize why she is so scared to lose someone again. She needs Joel as much as he needs her.

    Final thoughts

    Gameplay: Like I said before, playing as Ellie feels much different than playing as Joel, and it’s definitely more difficult to play as Ellie. However, the combat is very refreshing, and it felt good to kill Infected again.

    Appearance: As expected, environments and all visuals are absolutely gorgeous. I really missed this world, as weird as that may sound. I know Ellie would kill for the opportunity to escape that world as soon as possible.

    Sound: The voice acting performed by Ashley Johnson and Yaani King is superb. Their friendship is absolutely beautiful, and this could not have been fully realized if not for the incredible acting performances. The music is borrowed from the main game’s soundtrack, and is beautiful, as always.

    Bottom line: Any fan of The Last of Us cannot afford to miss this brilliant story expansion. If you have not played the main campaign, please do not play this DLC; it will mean almost nothing to you. However, if you played and enjoyed the incredible universe that Naughty Dog created, do not miss out on Left Behind. At $14.99, it may seem a bit pricey for just over two hours of gameplay, but it’s worth every penny.
    Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    The little gameplay you get is FANTASTIC. However, it's so short I was actually shocked. My biggest problem is, why did we have to play asThe little gameplay you get is FANTASTIC. However, it's so short I was actually shocked. My biggest problem is, why did we have to play as Ellie in the "present" time? That's what we spent all of The Last of Us doing. I really wish the whole DLC should have played out before TLOU and not just half. Other than that, incredible, but you get like one hour of worthwile gameplay. Lazy. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    A poorly written afterthought that was overly reliant on her relationship with her friend. If you played Last of Us, there is nothing new.A poorly written afterthought that was overly reliant on her relationship with her friend. If you played Last of Us, there is nothing new. When I say nothing new I mean nothing period. The game is the same and you know EXACTLY what happens. Nothing is added to the narrative and nothing is helpful in filling out the backstory. This DLC was a waste of time, it was a waste of my time and money and it was a waste of Naughty Dogs time. The only thing that people remotely talk about is that two girls kiss. Its there to either shock you, make you feel good, or to push an agenda, nothing more. This DLC ANGERED me and I am upset that I had to pay for it, regardless of the price.
    The combat itself is all the same. They force you to fight in a large and excessive enemy rush that seems tacked on and unnecessary. Even the often referred to ability to coax survivors into fighting infected is badly programmed at best. The enemies clearly seem unintended to fight one another so it becomes a joke to watch them flail around in a mock fight.
    You'll love this DLC if you fall into the trap of whatever message they seem to think they are trying to share. Pulling at the heart strings of the consumer does not make for a good game or good writing. Otherwise don't waste your time.
    Expand

See all 128 User Reviews