Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 608 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ellie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for the last time, leading to a series of events that might forever change their lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    A bonus to the ingenious game is atmospheric, and although it brings nothing original, a return of the likeable heroes along with great gameplay is perfectly fine, even though it lasts for a couple of hours.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 117
  2. Negative: 19 out of 117
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    OMG ive waited so long for a game like this with female characters who are not just put in the plot because the game wants to be 'progressive' but is actually backwards because they're just there for the men.

    This took me back to teenage years and does it so well. People who say that games cant tell stories as well as books should play this and open their dumb minds. People who say this costs too much are just plain dumb because most dlc has 1 hour of story content but is then filled to 5 hours with repetitive combat. Bioshock dlc anyone??? This does the opposite and has 3 hours without any combat and then (i admit) fills the last half hour (only about 15%!!) with combat but that doesnt mean this game deserves anything less than 10.

    This was the only game ive ever played where i played it for the second time immediately after finishing it the first time. It's so good. No I didn't cry like I did in TLoU but there's a subtlety in the whole game. I hardly have to say how rare it is for a game to have this but enough from me! If you havent played it already do so. Trust me on this you wont regret it. Also PC snobs can go screw themselves but by not playing the game they already are by missing out on this masterpiece. I know its super early but this is the game to beat for goty this year.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    This piece of dlc is based around the main game, it is played out in flashbacks. It contains a few collectibles, art gallery to increase playtime. The game has naturally borrowed gameplay mechanics from the main campaign which work really well and user friendly. The game on my first playthrough took me 2 and a half hours to complete on survivor difficulty and is was a fresh and entertaining piece of dlc. It expertly portrays ellie as a funny and typical teenager, but a teenager with wisdom and a knack for survival. It fills out the missing parts from the main campaign and it ties up a lot of loose ends. I loved it and im going for another playthrough soon. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    Only 2 hours long but very good.
    Combat doesn't feel forced. Amazing details.
    One of the best dlc out there. This is not day-one dlc that
    you will find on some other games, this is dlc what took time and effort to make. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    to be honest its not a total 10/10 game but it deserves 9. i'm gonna give a quick review. the last of us left behind DLC explains a lot and gives the story of last of us complete support. and the 2 hour game goes around 3 hours if you are onto exploration. still not bad for a DLC. the short story is a small package but a nuclear bomb itself. and no need to listen to haters who say "I LOVE TLOU" but gives 0 ratings. there are always fake reviews to spoil the credibility of the game. as you can see there are no negative critic ratings this proves the capability of TLOU: LB. no fan can give a score under 8 because the game is built by one of the most reputed gaming developers Naughty Dog. this DLC pack has all it needs!!! -1 because i wished it was 3 hours long then it would had summed up around 4 hours. anyways for the price i think this is the best DLC so far Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    A solid expansion to the already amazing "The Last of Us." It's a great addition to the story of the main game, allowing us to learn more about the beloved Ellie, whom we fell in-love with during the original story. I would love to see more of this. Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    0
    next to bioshock infinite this content was the most disappointing. it was short pointless and covered story we had already heard about plus they screwed with the story by throwing in a little romance that just reminded me of cliche action movies not the last of us i have come to love. Collapse

See all 117 User Reviews